CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT01740154Updated Dec 6, 2018Results posted

Sunitinib Malate Related Fatigue in Patients With Metastatic Kidney Cancer

An interventional study of transcranial magnetic stimulation and electromyography in Fatigue, Recurrent Renal Cell Cancer and Stage IV Renal Cell Cancer, sponsored by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-12-06.

Sponsored by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center · Not applicable, Interventional, and Supportive care

Why this study was terminated
Slow Accrual
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
13
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this research study is to determine how sunitinib (sunitinib malate) causes fatigue. Patients will be asked to complete a brief questionnaire (survey) to rate their levels of fatigue every two weeks while they are participating in this research study. The questionnaire takes approximately 10-15 minutes to complete and is 9 questions. A series of physical measurements for fatigue will be performed before the first dose of sunitinib and again (4) weeks later to see if there are any changes in physical level of fatigues

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the mechanisms associated with sunitinib related fatigue by recording EMG signals during a submaximal elbow contraction, twitch force and TMS prior to and at the end of 4 weeks of sunitinib in metastatic RCC patients.

OUTLINE:

Patients receive sunitinib malate orally (PO) daily for 4 weeks. Patients undergo neuromuscular testing at baseline and on day 28 and complete fatigue assessment at baseline and on days 14 and 28.

.

02

Conditions studied

  • Fatigue
  • Recurrent Renal Cell Cancer
  • Stage IV Renal Cell Cancer
03

In context

Carcinoma, Renal Cell

1,965 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Renal Cell; 378 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 13 is below the median of 42 across 1,480 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Renal Cell.

Browse Carcinoma, Renal Cell studies →

Lead sponsor

Case Comprehensive Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 484 studies on the registry; 59 are open to participants now.

Of its 74 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 45 (61%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically proven renal cell cancer with metastases; pathology from either primary or metastatic tumor; no histologic subtype restriction
  • Evidence of measurable disease according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.1 or evaluable disease
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance score 0 to 1
  • Hemoglobin >= 9 gram/dL
  • Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) fatigue levels pre-treatment \< 2
  • Signed and dated informed consent

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Greater than 2 previous systemic treatments for RCC
  • Heart failure, New York Heart Association (NYHA) class 3 and 4
  • Unstable angina (defined as ongoing use of nitrates or cardiac ischemia in the prior 6 months)
  • Arrhythmia uncontrolled by medication
  • Hypertension (> 160/90 mmHg) not controlled with medical management
  • Brain metastases or previous cranial radiation, leptomeningeal cancer
  • Surgery within 2 weeks of study entrance
  • History of stroke, myasthenia gravis, multiple sclerosis, polyneuropathy
  • Pregnancy or breast feeding
  • Central-nervous system active medications, intake or withdrawal of which lowers seizure threshold (determination made in consultation with study's responsible treating physician)
  • Any history of epilepsy, convulsion or seizure
  • Medication-resistant epilepsy in a first-degree relative
  • Cochlear implants or internal pulse generators or cardiac pacemakers or intracardiac lines
  • Metallic implants in the vicinity of discharging coil in the head or cervical spine
  • Unexplained fainting spells/syncope or multiple concussions
  • History of severe head trauma (followed by loss of consciousness)
  • Implanted brain or spinal cord electrodes/stimulation
  • Medication infusion device
  • Frequent/severe headaches or severe migraines
  • Past or current medical history of diagnosed or undiagnosed tinnitus
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
13 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Supportive care (sunitinib malate, neuromuscular testing)

    Patients receive sunitinib malate PO daily for 4 weeks. Patients undergo neuromuscular testing at baseline and on day 28 and complete fatigue assessment at baseline and on days 14 and 28.

    Procedure: transcranial magnetic stimulation · Procedure: electromyography · Other: survey administration · Drug: sunitinib malate

Interventions

  • Proceduretranscranial magnetic stimulation

    Undergo TMS

    Also known as: TMS

  • Procedureelectromyography

    Undergo EMG

    Also known as: EMG

  • Othersurvey administration

    Ancillary studies

  • Drugsunitinib malate

    Given PO

    Also known as: SU11248, sunitinib, Sutent

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Changes of Muscular (Peripheral) Fatigue Maximal Twitch Force (MTF)

    The MTF will be elicited by supramaximal-intensity electrical stimulation of the muscle before and after the sustained contraction (SC). If the muscle is fatigued at the end of the SC, the MTF will be reduced because the ability of muscle to generate force declines with fatigue. If the sunitinib treatment results in minimal muscular fatigue, the MTF will not have as much reduction in the 2nd as that in the 1st session.

    Time frame: Baseline and 28 days

  2. Change in EMG Amplitude and Power Frequency

    EMG amplitude will increase (for low-intensity SC) and mean power frequency (MPF) decrease with muscle fatigue. The EMG signals recorded during the SC, its amplitude and MPF will be analyzed to determine their changes at the end vs. beginning of the SC. If the sunitinib results in minimal muscular fatigue, the amount of EMG increase and MPF decrease will be reduced in the 2nd compared with those the 1st session.

    Time frame: Baseline and 28 days

  3. Changes in Motor Evoked Potential (MEP) by TMS

    TMS illustrates the changes in corticospinal excitability occurring in association with fatigue. Central muscle evoked response (MEP) will be elicited using transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) using single stimulus pulses applied to the scalp overlying the primary motor cortex.

    Time frame: Baseline and 28 days

07

Results

Posted Dec 6, 2018
Limitations and caveats
Data not collected for outcomes.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneSupportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
Started13
Completed12
Not completed1
Withdrew: Adverse event1

Outcome measures

PrimaryChanges of Muscular (Peripheral) Fatigue Maximal Twitch Force (MTF)

The MTF will be elicited by supramaximal-intensity electrical stimulation of the muscle before and after the sustained contraction (SC). If the muscle is fatigued at the end of the SC, the MTF will be reduced because the ability of muscle to generate force declines with fatigue. If the sunitinib treatment results in minimal muscular fatigue, the MTF will not have as much reduction in the 2nd as that in the 1st session.

Time frame:
Baseline and 28 days

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryChange in EMG Amplitude and Power Frequency

EMG amplitude will increase (for low-intensity SC) and mean power frequency (MPF) decrease with muscle fatigue. The EMG signals recorded during the SC, its amplitude and MPF will be analyzed to determine their changes at the end vs. beginning of the SC. If the sunitinib results in minimal muscular fatigue, the amount of EMG increase and MPF decrease will be reduced in the 2nd compared with those the 1st session.

Time frame:
Baseline and 28 days

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryChanges in Motor Evoked Potential (MEP) by TMS

TMS illustrates the changes in corticospinal excitability occurring in association with fatigue. Central muscle evoked response (MEP) will be elicited using transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) using single stimulus pulses applied to the scalp overlying the primary motor cortex.

Time frame:
Baseline and 28 days

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)0/13 (0%)1/13 (7.7%)12/13 (92.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventSupportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
PainGeneral disorders1/13
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventSupportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
FatigueGeneral disorders12/13

Baseline characteristics

Patients accrued on study

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(participants)Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
40-49 years1
50-59 years5
60-69 years5
70-79 years2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
Female3
Male10
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino12
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White13
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Supportive Care (Sunitinib Malate, Neuromuscular Testing)
United States13
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 6, 2018, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01740154
Lead sponsor
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 4, 2012
Start date
Sep 2012
Primary completion
Mar 2014
Completion
Mar 2014
Results posted
Dec 6, 2018
Last update
Dec 6, 2018

Study contacts

Brian Rini, MD
principal investigator · Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion