A Phase 2 interventional study of Eribulin and Doxorubicin in Breast Neoplasms, Breast Cancer and Breast Tumors, sponsored by Emory University. Terminated at 4 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2016-10-03.
Sponsored by Emory University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
Previous studies have shown that chemotherapy has the same effect on treating breast cancer whether you receive it before or after surgery. Receiving chemotherapy before surgery, rather than after surgery, may allow the patient to have less extensive surgery. The purpose of this study is to identify new treatment regimens with better response rates and to find out if the combination of eribulin followed by doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide can shrink the size of the patient's breast tumor and allow you to preserve your breast. Additionally, by receiving chemotherapy before surgery, the investigators will be able to determine if your cancer is responsive to chemotherapy.
This is a phase 2, single-arm, open label study. Patients with Her2-negative, locally advanced breast cancer will be enrolled on the study prior to receiving neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Patients will receive 4 cycles of neoadjuvant eribulin followed by 4 cycles of dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide (AC).
All patients will have a baseline biopsy prior to study entry to determine eligibility. Patients will undergo repeat breast imaging and optional biopsy after completing 4 cycles of eribulin. Patients will then receive 4 cycles of dose-dense AC. Patients will undergo repeat breast imaging followed by surgical resection within 30 days of completing last cycle of chemotherapy. Patients who are not surgical candidates after completion of chemotherapy will be asked to undergo optional repeat biopsy prior to receiving additional treatment at the discretion of the investigator. Patients will continue to be followed per standard practice guideline after surgery
Clinical response will be determined by clinical breast examination prior to each cycle of chemotherapy and by breast imaging performed at baseline, after completion of eribulin, and prior to surgery. Pathologic complete response (pCR) will be determined at the time of surgical resection. Correlative biomarker studies will be performed on tumor samples at the completion of the clinical trial.
12,815 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,920 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 7 is below the median of 72 across 9,494 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.
Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →Emory University is the lead sponsor of 1,405 studies on the registry; 233 are open to participants now.
Of its 233 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 176 (76%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Adequate organ function within 2 weeks of study entry:
Exclusion Criteria:
Neoadjuvant eribulin followed by dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide Eribulin Day 1 and Day 8 of a 21 day cycle x 4 cycles: Day 1: Eribulin 1.4mg/m² IV Day 8: Eribulin 1.4mg/m² IV Dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide every 14 days x 4 cycles: Day 1: Doxorubicin 60mg/m² IV Day 1: Cyclophosphamide 600mg/m² IV Day 2: Pegfilgrastim support 6mg sc at least 24 hours after chemotherapy at the discretion of the investigator.
Drug: Eribulin · Drug: Doxorubicin · Drug: Cyclophosphamide · Drug: Pegfilgrastim
Patients will receive 4 cycles of neoadjuvant eribulin followed by 4 cycles of dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide (AC).
Also known as: Halaven
Neoadjuvant eribulin followed by dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide
Also known as: Adriamycin
Neoadjuvant eribulin followed by dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide
Also known as: Cytoxan
Growth factor support (pegfilgrastim) can be given at the discretion of the investigator. Administration of pegfilgrastim is required 24 to 48 hours following administration of dose-dense doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide.
Also known as: Neulasta
Pathologic Complete Response Rate at the Time of Surgery
Patients will receive treatment for 20 weeks with primary outcome measured at the time of surgery. Surgery is typically 4-6 weeks after completion of chemotherapy, so patients will be on study for 24 weeks on average. Response was measured by pathologist's standard of care assessment of extent of residual disease. If the patient had no evidence of invasive or in situ residual disease present in the breast and lymph node (i.e. ypT0N0), then this was defined as a pathologic complete response (pCR). Reported is the number of participants showing pCR.
Time frame: Average of 24 weeks
Toxicity of Chemotherapy Regimen (Number of Participants With Any Adverse Events)
Toxicity of chemotherapy at each physician visit using Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Effects (CTCAE) criteria.
Time frame: Through 20 weeks of chemotherapy
This study was open to accrual from October 2011 to June 2015. Enrolled participants were from Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University and Emory University Hospital Midtown.
| Milestone | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| Started | 7 |
| Completed | 7 |
| Not completed | 0 |
Patients will receive treatment for 20 weeks with primary outcome measured at the time of surgery. Surgery is typically 4-6 weeks after completion of chemotherapy, so patients will be on study for 24 weeks on average. Response was measured by pathologist's standard of care assessment of extent of residual disease. If the patient had no evidence of invasive or in situ residual disease present in the breast and lymph node (i.e. ypT0N0), then this was defined as a pathologic complete response (pCR). Reported is the number of participants showing pCR.
| participants | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) | 1 |
| No pCR | 5 |
| Unknown | 1 |
Toxicity of chemotherapy at each physician visit using Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Effects (CTCAE) criteria.
| participants | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| Toxicity of Chemotherapy Regimen (Number of Participants With Any Adverse Events) | 2 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide | — | 0/7 (0%) | 2/7 (28.6%) |
| Event | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| NeuropathyNervous system disorders | 2/7 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/7 |
| InsomniaGeneral disorders | 1/7 |
| RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/7 |
| AnorexiaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/7 |
| HemorrhageBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/7 |
| HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/7 |
| Elevated ALTMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/7 |
| Elevated ASTMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/7 |
| HypercalcemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/7 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 7 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| Female | 7 |
| Male | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 6 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 3 |
| White | 2 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Eribulin+Doxorubicin+Cyclophosphamide |
|---|---|
| United States | 7 |
This study is terminated, as verified in Sep 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drugs tested here: Eribulin · Doxorubicin · Cyclophosphamide