ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00939770Updated Jun 9, 2020Results posted

Crizotinib in Treating Younger Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Solid Tumors or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Crizotinib and Laboratory Biomarker Analysis in Recurrent Childhood Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, Recurrent Malignant Solid Neoplasm and Recurrent Neuroblastoma, sponsored by Children's Oncology Group. Completed at 28 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 1 Year to 21 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-06-09.

Sponsored by Children's Oncology Group · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
122
Ages
1 Year to 21 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase 1/2 trial the studies side effects and best dose of crizotinib and to see how well it works in treating young patients with solid tumors or anaplastic large cell lymphoma that has returned after a period of improvement or does not respond to treatment. Crizotinib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. (Phase 1 completed 2/15/13)

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To estimate the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and recommend a Phase 2 dose of Crizotinib administered orally twice daily to children with relapsed/refractory solid tumors and anaplastic large cell lymphoma (ALCL). (completed 2/15/13) II. To define and describe the toxicities of Crizotinib administered on this schedule.

III. To characterize the pharmacokinetics of Crizotinib in children with refractory cancer.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To preliminarily define the anti-tumor activity of Crizotinib within the confines of a Phase 1 study. (completed 2/15/13) II. To obtain initial Phase 2 data on the anti-tumor activity of Crizotinib in children with relapsed/refractory neuroblastoma and ALCL.

III. To preliminarily examine the relationship between anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) status (e.g, the presence of a mutation, duplication, amplification, and/or translocation) in patients with neuroblastoma (NB) or ALCL and response to Crizotinib.

IV. To preliminarily examine the relationship between minimal residual disease (MRD) status and clinical response to Crizotinib in patients with ALCL.

V. To use a questionnaire to gather preliminary information on the palatability of the oral solution formulation of Crizotinib.

VI. To evaluate for potential alterations in bone growth in pediatric patients.

OUTLINE: This is a phase 1 dose-escalation study (completed 2/15/13) followed by a phase 2 study.

Patients receive crizotinib orally (PO) twice daily (BID) on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up periodically.

02

Conditions studied

  • Recurrent Childhood Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma
  • Recurrent Malignant Solid Neoplasm
  • Recurrent Neuroblastoma
  • Refractory Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma
  • Refractory Malignant Solid Neoplasm
  • Refractory Neuroblastoma
03

In context

Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic

228 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic; 27 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 122 is above the median of 40 across 195 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic.

Browse Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic studies →

Lead sponsor

Children's Oncology Group is the lead sponsor of 447 studies on the registry; 35 are open to participants now.

Of its 12 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 11 (92%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
1 Year to 21 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients receiving the formulated capsules must have a body surface area (BSA) >= 0.63 m\^2 at the time of study enrollment
  • Patients must have had histologic verification of malignancy at original diagnosis or relapse
  • * Phase 1 (Part A1) - COMPLETE: Patients with relapsed or refractory solid tumors or anaplastic large cell lymphoma (excluding patients with primary or metastatic central nervous system [CNS] tumors or patients with primary cutaneous ALCL)
  • * Phase 1 (Part A2) - COMPLETE: Patients with confirmed ALK fusion proteins, ALK mutations, ALK amplification (defined as greater than 4-fold increase in the ALK signal number as compared to reference signal number on chromosome 2q arm) or MET proto-oncogene, receptor tyrosine kinase (MET) mutation or amplification; testing to confirm the presence of ALK fusion proteins, ALK mutations, ALK amplification or evidence of MET mutation or amplification for eligibility purposes must be performed as a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA)-certified assay; ALK immunohistochemistry can be used as a surrogate for fluorescent in situ hybridization (FISH) for patients with inflammatory myofibroblastic tumors (IMT) or ALCL
  • ** Note: Evidence for MET mutation or amplification is defined as:

    • Positive for c-Met amplification by FISH; or
    • Positive for known c-Met kinase domain activating mutations including V1110L, H1112L, H1112Y, H1124D, M1149T, T1191I, V1206L, L1213V, V1238I, M1268T, P1009S, T1010I, R988C, V941L, but excluding Y1248C, Y1248H, Y1248D, and Y1253D; or
    • Chromosomal translocations that lead to altered transcriptional regulation of c-Met and/or hepatocyte growth factor (HGF) including metastatic alveolar soft part sarcoma, clear cell sarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, or translocation associated renal cell carcinoma)
  • * Phase 1 (Part A3) - COMPLETE: Patients with relapsed or refractory neuroblastoma, with or without bone marrow involvement, who are not eligible for Part A1 or A2 or cannot enroll on Part A1 because of stratum suspension or lack of available slots (these patients will be enrolled at one dose level below the dose level at which patients on Part A1 are actively enrolling)
  • * Phase 2 (Part B): Patients with ALK+ relapsed or refractory neuroblastoma
  • * Phase 2 (Part C): Patients with ALK+ relapsed or refractory ALCL (excluding patients with primary cutaneous ALCL)
  • * Phase 2 (Part A2): Patients with diagnoses other than neuroblastoma or ALCL with confirmed ALK fusion proteins, ALK mutations, ALK amplification (defined as greater than 4-fold increase in the ALK signal number as compared to reference signal number on chromosome 2q arm) or MET mutation or amplification; testing to confirm the presence of ALK fusion proteins, ALK mutations, ALK amplification or evidence of MET mutation or amplification for eligibility purposes must be performed as a CLIA-certified assay; ALK immunohistochemistry can be used as a surrogate for FISH for patients with IMT
  • Disease status:

    • Phase 1 (Part A): Patients must have either measurable and/or evaluable disease
    • Phase 2 (Part B): Patients with neuroblastoma must have proven ALK+ disease with either measurable and/or evaluable disease as indicated below:

      • Measurable tumor on magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), computed tomography (CT) scan or X-ray obtained within 2 weeks prior to study enrollment
      • Evaluable tumor by meta-iodobenzyl guanidine I 123 (MIBG) scan and/or bone marrow involvement with tumor cells seen on routine morphology
    • Phase 2 (Part C): Patients must have proven ALK+ disease with either measurable or evaluable disease
  • Performance level: Karnofsky >= 50 for patients > 16 years of age and Lansky >= 50 for patients =\< 16 years of age); Note: patients who are unable to walk because of paralysis, but who are up in a wheelchair, will be considered ambulatory for the purpose of assessing the performance score
  • Patients must have fully recovered from the acute toxic effects of all prior anti-cancer therapy:

    • Myelosuppressive chemotherapy:

      • Solid tumors: Patients with solid tumors must not have received chemotherapy within 3 weeks of enrollment onto this study (6 weeks if prior nitrosourea)
      • Lymphoma: Patients with lymphoma who relapse during standard maintenance therapy are eligible at time of relapse; for patients with ALCL who relapse while they are receiving cytotoxic therapy, at least 14 days must have elapsed since the completion of cytotoxic therapy; Note: cytoreduction with hydroxyurea can be initiated and continued for up to 24 hours prior to the start of Crizotinib
  • At least 7 days since the completion of therapy with a growth factor
  • At least 7 days since the completion of therapy with a biologic agent; for agents that have known adverse events occurring beyond 7 days after administration, this period must be extended beyond the time during which adverse events are known to occur; the duration of this interval must be discussed with the study chair
  • At least 7 days or 3 half-lives, whichever is longer, must have elapsed since prior treatment with a monoclonal antibody
  • >= 2 weeks (wks) for local palliative radiation therapy (XRT) (small port); >= 6 weeks must have elapsed since treatment with therapeutic doses of MIBG; >= 6 months must have elapsed if prior total body irradiation (TBI), craniospinal XRT or >= 50% radiation of pelvis; >= 6 wks must have elapsed if other substantial bone marrow (BM) radiation
  • Bone marrow/stem cell transplant or infusion without TBI:

    • Part A1 or Part C: No evidence of active graft vs host disease and >= 3 months must have elapsed since stem cell transplant or infusion
    • Part A2, Part A3, or Part B: No evidence of active graft vs host disease and >= 6 weeks must have elapsed since stem cell transplant or infusion
  • At least 42 days after the completion of any type of immunotherapy, e.g. tumor vaccines
  • Patients must not have received prior therapy with Crizotinib
  • Patients on Part A1 or Part C of the study:

    • For patients with solid tumors or ALCL without bone marrow involvement:

      • Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 1,000/mm\^3
      • Platelet count >= 75,000/mm\^3 (transfusion independent, defined as not receiving platelet transfusions within a 7 day period prior to enrollment)
      • Hemoglobin >= 8.0 g/dL (may receive red blood cell [RBC] transfusions)
    • Patients with known bone marrow metastatic disease:

      • Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 750/mm\^3
      • Platelet count >= 25,000/mm\^3 (may receive platelet transfusions)
      • Hemoglobin >= 8.0 g/dL (may receive RBC transfusions)
      • Not known to be refractory to RBC or platelet transfusions Transfusions are permitted to meet both the platelet and hemoglobin criteria; Note: patients with known bone marrow metastatic disease are not evaluable for hematological toxicity for the purposes of dose escalation
  • Patients eligible for Part A2, Part A3, or Part B of the study must meet the hematologic criteria below for enrollment:

    • Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 750/mm\^3
    • Platelet count >= 25,000/mm\^3 (may receive platelet transfusions)
    • Hemoglobin >= 8.0 g/dL (may receive RBC transfusions)
    • Not known to be refractory to red cell or platelet transfusions Transfusions are permitted to meet both the platelet and hemoglobin criteria
  • Creatinine clearance or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate (GFR) >= 70 ml/min/1.73 m\^2 or a serum creatinine based on age/gender as follows:

    • 1 to \< 2 years: 0.6 mg/dL
    • 2 to \< 6 years: 0.8 mg/dL
    • 6 to \< 10 years: 1 mg/dL
    • 10 to \< 13 years: 1.2 mg/dL
    • 13 to \< 16 years: 1.5 mg/dL (male), 1.4 mg/dL (female)
    • >= 16 years: 1.7 mg/dL (male), 1.4 mg/dL (female)
  • Bilirubin (sum of conjugated + unconjugated) =\< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age
  • Serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase (SGPT) (alanine aminotransferase [ALT]) =\< 110 U/L; for the purpose of this study, the ULN for SGPT is 45 U/L
  • Serum albumin >= 2 g/dL
  • Corrected QT interval (QTc) =\< 480 msec
  • All patients and/or their parents or legal guardians must sign a written informed consent; assent, when appropriate, will be obtained according to institutional guidelines
  • Patients taking the capsule formulation must be able to swallow capsules; feeding tube administration is allowed for patients receiving the oral solution (OS)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Pregnant or breast-feeding women will not be entered on this study; pregnancy tests must be obtained in girls who are post-menarchal; males or females of reproductive potential may not participate unless they have agreed to use an effective contraceptive method
  • Patients receiving corticosteroids who have not been on a stable or decreasing dose of corticosteroid for the prior 7 days are not eligible
  • Patients who are currently receiving another investigational drug are not eligible
  • Patients who are currently receiving other anti-cancer agents, with the exception of hydroxyurea for patients with ALCL, are not eligible
  • As Crizotinib is an inhibitor of cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4), patients chronically receiving medications known to be metabolized by CYP3A4 and with narrow therapeutic indices including pimozide, aripiprazole, triazolam, ergotamine and halofantrine are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable) is allowed
  • Patients chronically receiving drugs that are known potent CYP3A4 inhibitors within 7 days prior to study enrollment, including but not limited to, ketoconazole, itraconazole, miconazole, clarithromycin, erythromycin, ritonavir, indinavir, nelfinavir, saquinavir, amprenavir, delavirdine, nefazodone, diltiazem, verapamil, and grapefruit juice are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable), e.g. 2% ketoconazole cream, is allowed
  • Patients chronically receiving drugs that are known potent CYP3A4 inducers within 12 days prior to study enrollment, including but not limited to carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, rifabutin, rifampin, tipranavir, ritonavir, and St. John's wort are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable) is allowed
  • Patients with known interstitial fibrosis or interstitial lung disease are not eligible
  • Patients with a known history of myocardial infarction or cerebrovascular accident are not eligible
  • Patients with central nervous system (CNS) tumors or known CNS metastases are not eligible; patients with a history of CNS metastases that have been surgically resected are eligible only if the baseline evaluation shows no evidence of current CNS metastases; patients with any evidence of CNS metastases on baseline evaluation are not eligible, regardless of whether the lesions have been previously treated and/or appear stable
  • Patients who have an uncontrolled infection are not eligible
  • Patients who in the opinion of the investigator may not be able to comply with the safety monitoring requirements of the study are not eligible
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
122 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (crizotinib)

    Patients receive crizotinib PO BID on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Drug: Crizotinib · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Other: Pharmacological Study · Other: Questionnaire Administration

Interventions

  • Given PO

    Also known as: MET Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor PF-02341066, PF-02341066, PF-2341066, Xalkori

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

  • OtherPharmacological Study

    Correlative studies

  • OtherQuestionnaire Administration

    Ancillary studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Maximum-tolerated Dose and Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Crizotinib

    The descriptions and grading scales found in the revised National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0 will be utilized for adverse event (AE) reporting. The MTD/RP2D is defined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience dose limiting toxicity.

    Time frame: 28 days

  2. Number of Participants With Toxicities of Crizotinib

    The descriptions and grading scales found in the revised NCI CTCAE version 4.0 will be utilized for AE reporting.

    Time frame: Up to 30 days post-treatment

  3. Steady State C Max of Crizotinib

    Mean with standard deviation of peak of serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 (day 15- 28) pre-dose, 1, 2,4, 6-8 hours post dose

  4. Steady State C Average of Crizotinib

    Mean with standard deviation of average serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hours post-dose

  5. Steady State AUC of Crizotinib

    Mean with standard deviation of area under the serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hours post-dose

  6. Steady State Clearance of Crizotinib

    Mean with standard deviation of the elimination of crizotinib at steady state by dose level.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hour post-dose

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Solid Tumors or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL))With Response to Crizotinib

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR

    Time frame: Up to 8 years

  2. Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Neuroblastoma or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL)) With Response to Crizotinib

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR

    Time frame: Up to 8 years

  3. Number of Participants With Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)

    MRD status will be reported descriptively. The relationship between MRD status and clinical response to treatment will be examined in children with ALCL.

    Time frame: Up to 8 years

07

Results

Posted May 5, 2020

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Started68231238111410
Completed10311000
Not completed58201137111410
Withdrew: Adverse event11006211
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy46139168111
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up00001000
Withdrew: Physician decision00207106
Withdrew: Protocol violation00001000
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject01526022

Outcome measures

PrimaryMaximum-tolerated Dose and Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Crizotinib

The descriptions and grading scales found in the revised National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0 will be utilized for adverse event (AE) reporting. The MTD/RP2D is defined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience dose limiting toxicity.

Time frame:
28 days
Reported as:
Number · mg/m²/dose BID
Maximum-tolerated Dose and Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Crizotinib
mg/m²/dose BIDPart A
Maximum-tolerated Dose and Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Crizotinib280
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Toxicities of Crizotinib

The descriptions and grading scales found in the revised NCI CTCAE version 4.0 will be utilized for AE reporting.

Time frame:
Up to 30 days post-treatment
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Toxicities of Crizotinib
ParticipantsPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A:PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A:PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A:PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A:PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2:Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Number of Participants With Toxicities of Crizotinib67231138111410
PrimarySteady State C Max of Crizotinib

Mean with standard deviation of peak of serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 (day 15- 28) pre-dose, 1, 2,4, 6-8 hours post dose
Reported as:
Mean · ng/mL
Steady State C Max of Crizotinib
ng/mLDose Level 3Dose Level 4Dose Level 5Dose Level 6
Steady State C Max of Crizotinib294 ± 0601 ± 118717 ± 201972 ± 210
PrimarySteady State C Average of Crizotinib

Mean with standard deviation of average serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · ng/mL
Steady State C Average of Crizotinib
ng/mLDose Level 3Dose Level 4Dose Level 5Dose Level 6
Steady State C Average of Crizotinib246 ± 0469 ± 114582 ± 173731 ± 228
PrimarySteady State AUC of Crizotinib

Mean with standard deviation of area under the serum concentration curve at steady state by dose level.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · ng•h/mL
Steady State AUC of Crizotinib
ng•h/mLDose Level 3Dose Level 4Dose Level 5Dose Level 6
Steady State AUC of Crizotinib2950 ± 05630 ± 13706990 ± 20808770 ± 2740
PrimarySteady State Clearance of Crizotinib

Mean with standard deviation of the elimination of crizotinib at steady state by dose level.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 (day 15-28) pre-dose, 1, 2, 4, 6-8 hour post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · mL/min/m2
Steady State Clearance of Crizotinib
mL/min/m2Dose Level 3Dose Level 4Dose Level 5Dose Level 6
Steady State Clearance of Crizotinib735 ± 0652 ± 159736 ± 255731 ± 223
SecondaryNumber of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Solid Tumors or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL))With Response to Crizotinib

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR

Time frame:
Up to 8 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Solid Tumors or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL))With Response to Crizotinib
ParticipantsPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BID
Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Solid Tumors or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL))With Response to Crizotinib0070191
SecondaryNumber of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Neuroblastoma or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL)) With Response to Crizotinib

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR

Time frame:
Up to 8 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Neuroblastoma or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL)) With Response to Crizotinib
ParticipantsPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Number of Participants (Relapsed or Refractory Neuroblastoma or Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL)) With Response to Crizotinib17
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)

MRD status will be reported descriptively. The relationship between MRD status and clinical response to treatment will be examined in children with ALCL.

Time frame:
Up to 8 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)
ParticipantsPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Number of Participants With Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)005090010

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 3 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BID0/6 (0%)3/6 (50%)6/6 (100%)
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BID0/8 (0%)6/8 (75%)8/8 (100%)
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BID3/23 (13%)18/23 (78.3%)23/23 (100%)
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BID2/12 (16.7%)10/12 (83.3%)12/12 (100%)
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID2/38 (5.3%)33/38 (86.8%)38/38 (100%)
Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BID1/11 (9.1%)11/11 (100%)11/11 (100%)
Phase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID1/14 (7.1%)13/14 (92.9%)14/14 (100%)
Phase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID0/10 (0%)10/10 (100%)10/10 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 113
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations2/63/810/236/1218/387/1110/1410/10
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/62/85/231/125/380/114/145/10
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations3/63/87/232/129/381/116/145/10
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations2/62/83/231/127/380/114/145/10
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations1/62/83/233/129/381/114/145/10
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders2/61/82/230/122/380/111/141/10
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/62/84/230/121/380/112/140/10
Tumor painNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/62/80/230/121/380/111/140/10
Infections and infestations - Other, specifyInfections and infestations0/60/85/231/122/380/111/141/10
Hearing impairedEar and labyrinth disorders0/61/81/231/123/381/113/140/10
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 297
Most frequent other events
EventPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m2/Dose BID
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations6/63/820/2311/1233/388/1112/149/10
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders6/66/820/238/1233/3811/1113/147/10
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations6/64/821/2311/1233/3811/1114/148/10
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders3/63/815/236/1225/389/1111/1410/10
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders4/62/820/239/1229/3811/1113/1410/10
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders5/66/821/239/1231/389/1110/148/10
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations4/63/820/237/1231/3810/1112/148/10
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders5/62/816/235/1224/383/117/144/10
Creatinine increasedInvestigations5/62/815/235/1216/386/119/143/10
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders5/64/818/235/1230/385/1111/148/10

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDTotal
<=18 years67211134101410113
Between 18 and 65 years012141009
>=65 years000000000
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDTotal
Median8.5 (5 to 12)12 (6 to 20)8 (1 to 21)11.5 (3 to 20)9 (1 to 21)10 (2 to 20)5.5 (3 to 14)9.5 (6 to 15)9 (1 to 21)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDTotal
Female23962558260
Male451461366862
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDTotal
Hispanic or Latino0012621113
Not Hispanic or Latino5821728813898
Unknown or Not Reported1013410111
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 100 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 130 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 165 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1:Part A: PF-02341066 215 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 1: Part A: PF-02341066 365 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part B: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDPhase 2: Part C: PF-02341066 280 mg/m²/Dose BIDTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000000000
Asian011011116
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000000000
Black or African American1000511311
White5619825812487
More than one race000000000
Unknown or Not Reported0134710218
08

Study locations

28 sites
  • Children's Hospital of Alabama
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Cancer Center
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • Children's Hospital of Orange County
    Orange, California 92868, United States
  • UCSF Medical Center-Parnassus
    San Francisco, California 94143, United States
  • UCSF Medical Center-Mission Bay
    San Francisco, California 94158, United States
  • Children's Hospital Colorado
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Children's National Medical Center
    Washington D.C., District of Columbia 20010, United States
  • Children's Healthcare of Atlanta - Egleston
    Atlanta, Georgia 30322, United States
  • Lurie Children's Hospital-Chicago
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • Riley Hospital for Children
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • National Institutes of Health Clinical Center
    Bethesda, Maryland 20892, United States
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • C S Mott Children's Hospital
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • University of Minnesota/Masonic Cancer Center
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • NYP/Columbia University Medical Center/Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45229, United States
  • Nationwide Children's Hospital
    Columbus, Ohio 43205, United States
  • Oregon Health and Science University
    Portland, Oregon 97239, United States
  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15224, United States
  • St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
    Memphis, Tennessee 38105, United States
  • Vanderbilt University/Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • UT Southwestern/Simmons Cancer Center-Dallas
    Dallas, Texas 75390, United States
  • Baylor College of Medicine/Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Seattle Children's Hospital
    Seattle, Washington 98105, United States
  • Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226, United States
  • Hospital for Sick Children
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 1X8, Canada
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Bartlett JA, Culver N, Santangelo M, Prpich A, Long E, Sagawa K, Shanker R, Xu H, Wilner K. Development of a Taste-Masked, Dose-Flexible, Multiparticulate Pediatric Dosage Form: Case Study of Crizotinib, a Challenging Pediatric Formulation. Pharmaceut Med. 2026 May;40(3):193-207. doi: 10.1007/s40290-026-00604-2. Epub 2026 Apr 1. PubMed 41920422 ↗
  • Foster JH, Voss SD, Hall DC, Minard CG, Balis FM, Wilner K, Berg SL, Fox E, Adamson PC, Blaney SM, Weigel BJ, Mosse YP. Activity of Crizotinib in Patients with ALK-Aberrant Relapsed/Refractory Neuroblastoma: A Children's Oncology Group Study (ADVL0912). Clin Cancer Res. 2021 Jul 1;27(13):3543-3548. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-20-4224. Epub 2021 Feb 10. PubMed 33568345 ↗
  • Balis FM, Thompson PA, Mosse YP, Blaney SM, Minard CG, Weigel BJ, Fox E. First-dose and steady-state pharmacokinetics of orally administered crizotinib in children with solid tumors: a report on ADVL0912 from the Children's Oncology Group Phase 1/Pilot Consortium. Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2017 Jan;79(1):181-187. doi: 10.1007/s00280-016-3220-6. Epub 2016 Dec 28. PubMed 28032129 ↗
  • Mosse YP, Lim MS, Voss SD, Wilner K, Ruffner K, Laliberte J, Rolland D, Balis FM, Maris JM, Weigel BJ, Ingle AM, Ahern C, Adamson PC, Blaney SM. Safety and activity of crizotinib for paediatric patients with refractory solid tumours or anaplastic large-cell lymphoma: a Children's Oncology Group phase 1 consortium study. Lancet Oncol. 2013 May;14(6):472-80. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(13)70095-0. Epub 2013 Apr 16. PubMed 23598171 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol, analysis plan and consent form · Jul 27, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 9, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00939770
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 15, 2009
Start date
Sep 21, 2009
Primary completion
Dec 31, 2018
Completion
Dec 31, 2018
Results posted
May 5, 2020
Last update
Jun 9, 2020

Study contacts

Yael P Mosse
principal investigator · COG Phase I Consortium

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: Crizotinib

Start the discussion