CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00789776Updated Jan 31, 2020Results posted

Fludarabine Phosphate, Cyclophosphamide, Total-Body Irradiation, and Donor Bone Marrow Transplant Followed by Donor Natural Killer Cell Therapy, Mycophenolate Mofetil, and Tacrolimus in Treating Patients With Hematologic Cancer

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Allogeneic Bone Marrow Transplantation and Cyclophosphamide in Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Aggressive Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, sponsored by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center. Completed at 3 sites in United States. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-01-31.

Sponsored by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
41
Allocation
Not applicable
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase I/II trial studies the side effects and best dose of donor natural killer (NK) cell therapy and to see how well it works when given together with fludarabine phosphate, cyclophosphamide, total-body irradiation, donor bone marrow transplant, mycophenolate mofetil, and tacrolimus in treating patients with hematologic cancer. Giving chemotherapy, such as fludarabine phosphate and cyclophosphamide, and total-body irradiation before a donor bone marrow transplant helps stop the growth of cancer cells. It may also stop the patient's immune system from rejecting the donor's stem cells. When the healthy stem cells from a donor are infused into the patient they may help the patient's bone marrow make stem cells, red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets. Giving an infusion of the donor's T cells (donor lymphocyte infusion) may help the patient's immune system see any remaining cancer cells as not belonging in the patient's body and destroy them (called graft-versus-tumor effect). Sometimes the transplanted cells from a donor can make an immune response against the body's normal cells. Giving mycophenolate mofetil and tacrolimus after the transplant may stop this from happening.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Identification of the maximal feasible dose of NK cells that can be infused one week after nonmyeloablative, human leukocyte antigen (HLA)-haploidentical hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT). (Phase I)

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

Once the maximal feasible dose has been identified, accrual will be limited to the cohort containing this cell dose to determine:

I. Incidence of relapse. (Phase II)

II. Incidence of grades III-IV acute graft-versus-host disease (GVHD). (Phase II)

III. Incidence of non-relapse mortality. (Phase II)

OUTLINE: This is a phase I, dose-escalation study of donor NK cell therapy followed by a phase II study.

CONDITIONING: Patients receive fludarabine intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on days -6 to -2 and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days -6 and -5. Patients undergo total-body irradiation on day -1.

DONOR BONE MARROW TRANSPLANTATION: Patients undergo donor bone marrow transplantation on day 0.

POST-TRANSPLANTATION IMMUNOSUPPRESSION: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 3 and mycophenolate mofetil orally (PO) thrice daily (TID) on days 4 to 40, followed by a taper until day 84 in the absence of GVHD. Patients also receive tacrolimus IV continuously or IV once daily (QD) over 1-2 hours or PO twice daily (BID) on days 4 to 84, followed by a taper until day 180 in the absence of GVHD.

DONOR NK CELL INFUSION: Patients undergo donor lymphocyte infusion of NK cells on day 7.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 6 months, 1 year, 1.5 years, and then every year thereafter.

02

Conditions studied

  • Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
  • Acute Myeloid Leukemia
  • Aggressive Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
  • Previously Treated Myelodysplastic Syndrome
  • Recurrent Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
  • Recurrent Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia, BCR-ABL1 Positive
  • Recurrent Indolent Adult Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Recurrent Mantle Cell Lymphoma
  • Recurrent Plasma Cell Myeloma
  • Recurrent Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
  • Refractory Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
  • Refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Refractory Plasma Cell Myeloma
  • Refractory Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
  • Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia
03

In context

Lymphoma

5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 41 is close to the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.

Browse Lymphoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 537 studies on the registry; 79 are open to participants now.

Of its 57 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 45 (79%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Child (0–17), Adult (18–64), Older adult (65+)
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients with the following hematologic malignancies will be permitted although other diagnoses can be considered if approved by Patient Care Conference (PCC) and the principal investigators:
  • Aggressive non-Hodgkin lymphomas (NHL) and other histologies such as diffuse large B cell (DLBC) NHL - a) not eligible for autologous HCT, b) not eligible for high-dose HCT, c) after failed autologous HCT, or d) be part of a tandem auto-allo approach for high risk patients
  • Mantle cell NHL must be beyond first complete response (CR)
  • Low-grade NHL with \< 6 month duration of CR between courses of conventional therapy
  • Chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) must have either

      1. Failed to meet National Cancer Institute (NCI) Working Group criteria for complete or partial response after therapy with a regimen containing FLU (fludarabine phosphate) (or another nucleoside analog, e.g. 2-chlorodeoxyadenosine [2-CDA], pentostatin) or experience disease relapse within 12 months after completing therapy with a regimen containing FLU (or another nucleoside analog)
      1. Failed FLU- CY (cyclophosphamide)-rituximab (FCR) combination chemotherapy at any time point; or
      1. Have "17p deletion" cytogenetic abnormality and relapsed at any time point after any initial chemotherapy
  • Hodgkin lymphoma - must have received and a) failed frontline therapy, b) not be eligible for autologous HCT, or c) or be part of a tandem auto-allo approach for high risk patients
  • Multiple myeloma or plasma cell leukemia must have received more than one line of prior chemotherapy; consolidation of chemotherapy by autografting prior to nonmyeloablative HCT is permitted
  • Acute myeloid leukemia (AML) must have \< 5% marrow blasts at the time of HCT
  • Acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL) must have \< 5% marrow blasts at the time of HCT
  • Chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) accepted if they are beyond chronic phase (CP)1 and if they have received previous myelosuppressive chemotherapy or HCT and have \< 5% marrow blasts at time of transplant
  • Myelodysplasia (MDS)/myeloproliferative syndrome (MPS) - (> intermediate 1 [int-1] per International Prognostic Scoring System [IPSS]) after > or = 1 prior cycle of induction chemotherapy; must have \< 5% marrow blasts at time of transplant
  • Waldenstrom's macroglobulinemia must have failed 2 courses of therapy
  • Patients must be expected to have disease controlled for at least 60 days after HCT
  • Patients for whom HLA-matched unrelated donor search could not be initiated or completed due to insurance reasons, concerns of rapidly progressive disease, and/or discretion of attending physician are eligible for this protocol
  • DONOR: Related, HLA-haploidentical donors who are identical for one HLA haplotype and mismatched for any number of HLA-A, -B, -C, DRB1 or DQB1 loci of the unshared haplotype
  • DONOR: Marrow will be the only allowed hematopoietic stem cell source
  • DONOR: Haploidentical donor selection will be based on standard institutional criteria, otherwise no specific prioritization will be made amongst the suitable available donors; donors will not be selected based on killer cell immunoglobulin-like receptor (KIR) status

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with available HLA-matched related donors
  • Patients eligible for a curative autologous HCT
  • Significant organ dysfunction that would prevent compliance with conditioning, GVHD prophylaxis, or would severely limit the probability of survival:

      1. Symptomatic coronary artery disease or ejection fraction \< 35% or other cardiac failure requiring therapy (or, if unable to obtain ejection fraction, shortening fraction of \< 26%); if shortening fraction is \< 26% a cardiology consult is required with the principal investigator (PI) having final approval of eligibility
      1. Diffusion capacity of the lung for carbon monoxide (DLCO) \< 40% total lung capacity (TLC) \< 40%, forced expiratory volume in one second (FEV1) \< 40% and/or receiving supplementary continuous oxygen; the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (FHCRC) study PI must approve enrollment of all patients with pulmonary nodules
      1. Liver function abnormalities: patient with clinical or laboratory evidence of liver disease will be evaluated for the cause of liver disease, its clinical severity in terms of liver function, bridging fibrosis, and the degree of portal hypertension; the patient will be excluded if he/she is found to have fulminant liver failure, cirrhosis of the liver with evidence of portal hypertension, alcoholic hepatitis, esophageal varices, a history of bleeding esophageal varices, hepatic encephalopathy, uncorrectable hepatic synthetic dysfunction evinced by prolongation of the prothrombin time, ascites related to portal hypertension, bacterial or fungal liver abscess, biliary obstruction, chronic viral hepatitis with total serum bilirubin > 3 mg/dL, or symptomatic biliary disease
  • Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) seropositive patients
  • Patients with poorly controlled hypertension despite multiple antihypertensive medications
  • Fertile females who are unwilling to use contraceptive techniques during and for the twelve months following treatment, as well as females who are pregnant or actively breast feeding
  • Fertile males who are unwilling to use contraceptive techniques during and for the twelve months following treatment
  • Patients with active non-hematologic malignancies (except non-melanoma skin cancers) or those with non-hematologic malignancies (except non-melanoma skin cancers) who have been rendered with no evidence of disease, but have a greater than 20% chance of having disease recurrence within five years; this exclusion does not apply to patients with non-hematologic malignancies that do not require therapy
  • Active infectious disease concerns
  • Karnofsky performance score \< 60 Lansky performance score \< 60
  • Life expectancy severely limited by diseases other than malignancy
  • Patients with a diagnosis of chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML)
  • Central nervous system (CNS) involvement with disease refractory to intrathecal chemotherapy
  • Patients with AML, MDS, ALL, or CML must not have presence of circulating leukemic blasts detected by standard pathology
  • Patients with aggressive lymphomas (such as DLBC) must not have bulky, rapidly progressive disease immediately prior to HCT
  • Patients who have received a prior allogeneic HCT must have no active GVHD requiring immunosuppressive therapy for at least 21 days prior to start of conditioning
  • DONOR: Children less than 12 years of age.
  • DONOR: Children greater than or equal to 12 years of age who have not provided informed assent in the presence of a parent and an attending physician who is not a member of the recipient's care team
  • DONOR: Children greater than or equal to 12 years of age who have inadequate peripheral vein access to safely undergo apheresis
  • DONOR: Donors unable or unwilling to undergo marrow harvest for the initial HCT, storage of autologous blood prior to marrow harvest or apheresis one week after marrow harvest
  • DONOR: Donors who are not expected to meet the minimum target dose of marrow cells (1 x 10\^8 nucleated cells/kg recipient ideal body weight [IBW]) for the initial HCT; the average nucleated cell content of harvested marrow is 22 x 10\^6 nucleated cells/mL or 220 x 10\^8 nucleated cells/Liter
  • DONOR: HIV-positive donors
  • DONOR: Donors who are cross-match positive with recipient
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
41 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (non-myeloablative transplant)

    CONDITIONING: Patients receive fludarabine IV over 30 minutes on days -6 to -2 and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days -6 and -5. Patients undergo total-body irradiation on day -1. DONOR BONE MARROW TRANSPLANTATION: Patients undergo donor bone marrow transplantation on day 0. POST-TRANSPLANTATION IMMUNOSUPPRESSION: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 3 and mycophenolate mofetil PO TID on days 4 to 40, followed by a taper until day 84 in the absence of GVHD. Patients also receive tacrolimus IV continuously or IV QD over 1-2 hours or PO BID on days 4 to 84, followed by a taper until day 180 in the absence of GVHD. NK CELL INFUSION: Patients undergo donor lymphocyte infusion of NK cells on day 7.

    Procedure: Allogeneic Bone Marrow Transplantation · Drug: Cyclophosphamide · Drug: Fludarabine Phosphate · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Mycophenolate Mofetil · Biological: Natural Killer Cell Therapy · Drug: Tacrolimus · Radiation: Total-Body Irradiation

Interventions

  • ProcedureAllogeneic Bone Marrow Transplantation

    Undergo donor bone marrow transplantation

    Also known as: Allo BMT, Allogeneic BMT

  • DrugCyclophosphamide

    Given IV

    Also known as: (-)-Cyclophosphamide, 2H-1,3,2-Oxazaphosphorine, 2-[bis(2-chloroethyl)amino]tetrahydro-, 2-oxide, monohydrate, Carloxan, Ciclofosfamida, Ciclofosfamide, Cicloxal, Clafen, Claphene, CP monohydrate, CTX, CYCLO-cell, Cycloblastin, Cycloblastine, Cyclophospham, Cyclophosphamid monohydrate, Cyclophosphamidum, Cyclophosphan, Cyclophosphane, Cyclophosphanum, Cyclostin, Cyclostine, Cytophosphan, Cytophosphane, Cytoxan, Fosfaseron, Genoxal, Genuxal, Ledoxina, Mitoxan, Neosar, Revimmune, Syklofosfamid, WR- 138719

  • DrugFludarabine Phosphate

    Given IV

    Also known as: 2-F-ara-AMP, 9H-Purin-6-amine, 2-fluoro-9-(5-O-phosphono-.beta.-D-arabinofuranosyl)-, Beneflur, Fludara, Oforta, SH T 586

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

  • DrugMycophenolate Mofetil

    Given PO

    Also known as: Cellcept, MMF

  • BiologicalNatural Killer Cell Therapy

    Given IV

  • DrugTacrolimus

    Given IV or PO

    Also known as: FK 506, Fujimycin, Hecoria, Prograf, Protopic

  • RadiationTotal-Body Irradiation

    Undergo total-body irradiation

    Also known as: TOTAL BODY IRRADIATION, Whole-Body Irradiation

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities

    Defined as having at least one of the following adverse events, independent of the attribution to the Natural Killer cell infusion: grade IV infusional toxicity (based on the Adapted Common Toxicity Criteria); grade IV regimen-related toxicity (based on Adapted Common Toxicity Criteria); grade IV acute Graft-Versus-Host Disease; non-relapse mortality.

    Time frame: Day 35 (28 days after NK cell infusion)

  2. Number of Participants With Relapsed Disease

    CML New cytogenetic abnormality and/or development of accelerated phase or blast crisis. The criteria for accelerated phase will be defined as unexplained fever greater than 38.3°C, new clonal cytogenetic abnormalities in addition to a single Ph-positive chromosome, marrow blasts and promyelocytes \>20%. AML, ALL \>5% marrow blasts by morphologic or flow cytometric, or appearance of extramedullary disease. CLL ≥1 of: Physical exam/Imaging studies (nodes, liver, and/or spleen) ≥50% increase or new, circulating lymphocytes by morphology and/or flow cytometry ≥50% increase, and lymph node biopsy w/ Richter's transformation. NHL \>25% increase in the sum of the products of the perpendicular diameters of marker lesions, or the appearance of new lesions. MM ≥100% increase of the serum myeloma protein from its lowest level, or reappearance of myeloma peaks that had disappeared w/ treatment; or definite increase in the size or number of plasmacytomas or lytic bone lesions.

    Time frame: At 1 year

  3. Number of Participants With Grades III-IV Acute GVHD

    Number of patients who developed acute GVHD post-transplant. aGVHD Stages Skin: a maculopapular eruption involving \< 25% BSA a maculopapular eruption involving 25 - 50% BSA generalized erythroderma generalized erythroderma with bullous formation and often with desquamation Liver: bilirubin 2.0 - 3.0 mg/100 mL bilirubin 3 - 5.9 mg/100 mL bilirubin 6 - 14.9 mg/100 mL bilirubin \> 15 mg/100 mL Gut: Diarrhea is graded 1 - 4 in severity. Nausea and vomiting and/or anorexia caused by GVHD is assigned as 1 in severity. The severity of gut involvement is assigned to the most severe involvement noted. Patients with visible bloody diarrhea are at least stage 2 gut and grade 3 overall. aGVHD Grades Grade III: Stage 2 - 4 gut involvement and/or stage 2 - 4 liver involvement Grade IV: Pattern and severity of GVHD similar to grade 3 with extreme constitutional symptoms or death

    Time frame: Day 100

  4. Number of Non-relapse Participant Mortalities

    Defined as death in any patient for whom there has not been a diagnosis of relapse or disease progression.

    Time frame: Day 200

  5. Number of Participants Who Experienced Graft Failure

    Graft failure is defined as grade IV thrombocytopenia and neutropenia after Day +21 that lasts \>2 weeks and is refractory to growth factor support.

    Time frame: Day 100

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Subjects Surviving Post-transplant.

    Number of subjects surviving post-transplant.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  2. Number of Participants Who Experienced Chronic Extensive GVHD

    Number of patients who developed chronic extensive GVHD post-transplant. The diagnosis of chronic GVHD requires at least one manifestation that is distinctive for chronic GVHD as opposed to acute GVHD. In all cases, infection and others causes must be ruled out in the differential diagnosis of chronic GVHD.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

07

Results

Posted Jul 12, 2018

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Started536
Completed535
Not completed01

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities

Defined as having at least one of the following adverse events, independent of the attribution to the Natural Killer cell infusion: grade IV infusional toxicity (based on the Adapted Common Toxicity Criteria); grade IV regimen-related toxicity (based on Adapted Common Toxicity Criteria); grade IV acute Graft-Versus-Host Disease; non-relapse mortality.

Time frame:
Day 35 (28 days after NK cell infusion)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities00
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Relapsed Disease

CML New cytogenetic abnormality and/or development of accelerated phase or blast crisis. The criteria for accelerated phase will be defined as unexplained fever greater than 38.3°C, new clonal cytogenetic abnormalities in addition to a single Ph-positive chromosome, marrow blasts and promyelocytes \>20%. AML, ALL \>5% marrow blasts by morphologic or flow cytometric, or appearance of extramedullary disease. CLL ≥1 of: Physical exam/Imaging studies (nodes, liver, and/or spleen) ≥50% increase or new, circulating lymphocytes by morphology and/or flow cytometry ≥50% increase, and lymph node biopsy w/ Richter's transformation. NHL \>25% increase in the sum of the products of the perpendicular diameters of marker lesions, or the appearance of new lesions. MM ≥100% increase of the serum myeloma protein from its lowest level, or reappearance of myeloma peaks that had disappeared w/ treatment; or definite increase in the size or number of plasmacytomas or lytic bone lesions.

Time frame:
At 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Relapsed Disease
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Participants With Relapsed Disease110
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Grades III-IV Acute GVHD

Number of patients who developed acute GVHD post-transplant. aGVHD Stages Skin: a maculopapular eruption involving \< 25% BSA a maculopapular eruption involving 25 - 50% BSA generalized erythroderma generalized erythroderma with bullous formation and often with desquamation Liver: bilirubin 2.0 - 3.0 mg/100 mL bilirubin 3 - 5.9 mg/100 mL bilirubin 6 - 14.9 mg/100 mL bilirubin \> 15 mg/100 mL Gut: Diarrhea is graded 1 - 4 in severity. Nausea and vomiting and/or anorexia caused by GVHD is assigned as 1 in severity. The severity of gut involvement is assigned to the most severe involvement noted. Patients with visible bloody diarrhea are at least stage 2 gut and grade 3 overall. aGVHD Grades Grade III: Stage 2 - 4 gut involvement and/or stage 2 - 4 liver involvement Grade IV: Pattern and severity of GVHD similar to grade 3 with extreme constitutional symptoms or death

Time frame:
Day 100
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Grades III-IV Acute GVHD
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Participants With Grades III-IV Acute GVHD10
PrimaryNumber of Non-relapse Participant Mortalities

Defined as death in any patient for whom there has not been a diagnosis of relapse or disease progression.

Time frame:
Day 200
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Non-relapse Participant Mortalities
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Non-relapse Participant Mortalities00
PrimaryNumber of Participants Who Experienced Graft Failure

Graft failure is defined as grade IV thrombocytopenia and neutropenia after Day +21 that lasts \>2 weeks and is refractory to growth factor support.

Time frame:
Day 100
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experienced Graft Failure
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Participants Who Experienced Graft Failure04
SecondaryNumber of Subjects Surviving Post-transplant.

Number of subjects surviving post-transplant.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Subjects Surviving Post-transplant.
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Subjects Surviving Post-transplant.525
SecondaryNumber of Participants Who Experienced Chronic Extensive GVHD

Number of patients who developed chronic extensive GVHD post-transplant. The diagnosis of chronic GVHD requires at least one manifestation that is distinctive for chronic GVHD as opposed to acute GVHD. In all cases, infection and others causes must be ruled out in the differential diagnosis of chronic GVHD.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experienced Chronic Extensive GVHD
ParticipantsDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Number of Participants Who Experienced Chronic Extensive GVHD23

Adverse events

Collected over AEs: Conditioning through Day 100; SAEs: Conditioning through Day 200; All-Cause Mortality: Conditioning through 1 Year.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)0/5 (0%)1/5 (20%)4/5 (80%)
Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)10/35 (28.6%)0/35 (0%)19/35 (54.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
HyperkalemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/50/35
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 30
Most frequent other events
EventDose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations1/52/35
Allergic reactionImmune system disorders1/51/35
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/57/35
HypertensionVascular disorders1/50/35
HypotensionVascular disorders1/51/35
HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/51/35
Infections and infestations - Other, specify (viral/atypical bacterial infection vs. BOOP differentiInfections and infestations1/50/35
Lung infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/51/35
Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/52/35
Pulmonary edemaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/50/35

Baseline characteristics

One subject aborted transplant after conditioning due to donor ineligibility. This subject was counted towards accrual but not evaluated with respect to outcome measures.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
<=18 years11011
Between 18 and 65 years42327
>=65 years033
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
Median22.2 (14.5 to 43.7)55.65 (8.1 to 75.2)47.6 (8.1 to 75.2)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
Female21113
Male32528
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
Hispanic or Latino156
Not Hispanic or Latino43135
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian112
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American066
White42832
More than one race011
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Dose 1 (2.5 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Dose 2 (5.0 x 10^6/kg NK Cells)Total
United States53641
08

Study locations

3 sites
  • Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
  • Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201, United States
  • Froedtert and the Medical College of Wisconsin
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Informed consent form · Apr 14, 2016
  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 23, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 31, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00789776
Lead sponsor
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI), The Wayne D. Kuni and Joan E. Kuni Foundation
Responsible party
Brenda Sandmaier (Principal Investigator, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center) — Principal investigator
First posted
Nov 13, 2008
Start date
Oct 13, 2008
Primary completion
May 2017
Completion
May 2017
Results posted
Jul 12, 2018
Last update
Jan 31, 2020

Study contacts

Brenda Sandmaier
principal investigator · Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion