CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00061919Updated Mar 16, 2012

Carboplatin and Etoposide With or Without Thalidomide in Treating Patients With Limited-Stage or Extensive-Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 3 interventional study of Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide and Carboplatin, etoposide & placebo in Lung Cancer, sponsored by University College, London. Completed at 1 site in United Kingdom. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2012-03-16.

Sponsored by University College, London · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
724
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as carboplatin and etoposide use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Thalidomide may stop the growth of cancer by stopping blood flow to the tumor. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without thalidomide in treating small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying carboplatin, etoposide, and thalidomide to see how well they work compared to carboplatin and etoposide in treating patients with limited- or extensive-stage small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the survival of patients with limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer treated with carboplatin and etoposide with vs without thalidomide.
  • Compare the time to disease progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare the response rates of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease stage (limited vs extensive), ECOG performance status (0 and 1 vs 2), and alkaline phosphatase (no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal [ULN] vs greater than 1.5 times ULN). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and etoposide* IV over 1-2 hours on days 1 and 2 and orally on day 3. Patients also receive oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1.
  • Arm II: Patients receive carboplatin and etoposide as in arm I and oral placebo daily beginning on day 1.

NOTE: *Patients who are unable to receive etoposide IV on day 2 may receive oral etoposide on days 2 and 3.

In both arms, chemotherapy (carboplatin and etoposide) repeats every 3 weeks for up to 6 courses. Patients receive thalidomide or placebo continuously for up to 2 years. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who experience disease progression may continue to receive thalidomide or placebo provided the patient is clinically and symptomatically stable.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, during each course of chemotherapy, at 3-4 weeks after completion of chemotherapy, and at 6, 12, 18, and 24 months.

Patients are followed every 2 months for 2 years after the completion of chemotherapy and then every 3 months thereafter.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 372 patients (186 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lung Cancer

Keywords

  • extensive stage small cell lung cancer
  • limited stage small cell lung cancer
03

In context

Lung Neoplasms

7,243 studies on the registry are indexed under Lung Neoplasms; 1,557 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 724 is above the median of 60 across 5,295 interventional studies indexed under Lung Neoplasms.

Browse Lung Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

University College, London is the lead sponsor of 632 studies on the registry; 145 are open to participants now.

Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 2 (33%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed small cell lung cancer

    • Limited or extensive stage disease
  • No symptomatic brain metastases requiring immediate radiotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Over 18

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-3

Life expectancy

  • At least 8 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Ethylenediamine tetraacetic acid (EDTA) clearance greater than 60 mL/min OR
  • Creatinine clearance greater than 50 mL/min

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use 2 effective methods of contraception (including 1 highly effective method and 1 barrier method) during and for 4 weeks after study completion
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 3 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer or early cervical cancer
  • No significant medical condition or laboratory finding that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
724 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Active arm (thalidomide)

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

    Drug: Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo arm

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral placebo daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

    Drug: Carboplatin, etoposide & placebo

Interventions

  • DrugCarboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

  • DrugCarboplatin, etoposide & placebo

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral placebo daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Survival at 2 years after study randomization

    Time frame: 0-2 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Time to disease progression 2 years after study randomization

    Time frame: 0-2 years

  2. Toxicity as measured by NCIC CTC 3 times weekly while undergoing chemotherapy, then monthly thereafter

    Time frame: Till end of treatment

  3. Response rates as measured by RECIST during each visit while undergoing chemotherapy and after completion of study treatment

    Time frame: Till progression

  4. Quality of life as measured by EORTC QLQ-30 and lung-specific questionnaire(LC14) at baseline, after each course, and after completion of study treatment, and at 6, 12, 18, and 24 months after day 1 of course 1

    Time frame: 0-24 months

  5. Biological markers (measurement of VEGF, bFGF, TNF alpha, and IL-6)

    Time frame: Before treatment courses 1 and 4, and then at 9 and 18 months

07

Study locations

1 site
  • University College of London Hospitals
    London, England WIT 3AA, United Kingdom
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Lee SM, Woll PJ, Rudd R, Ferry D, O'Brien M, Middleton G, Spiro S, James L, Ali K, Jitlal M, Hackshaw A. Anti-angiogenic therapy using thalidomide combined with chemotherapy in small cell lung cancer: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2009 Aug 5;101(15):1049-57. doi: 10.1093/jnci/djp200. Epub 2009 Jul 16. PubMed 19608997 ↗
09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 16, 2012, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00061919
Lead sponsor
University College, London
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 6, 2003
Start date
Apr 2003
Primary completion
Feb 2007
Completion
Jul 2007
Last update
Mar 16, 2012

Study contacts

Siow M. Lee, MD, PhD, FRCP
study chair · University College London Hospitals

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2012. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion