CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT06179875OLEUpdated Aug 14, 2026Results posted

An Open-label Study (OLE) for Non-responders of VRDN-001-101 and VRDN-001-301

A Phase 3 interventional study of Veligrotug in Thyroid Eye Disease, sponsored by Viridian Therapeutics, Inc.. Completed at 45 sites in 8 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-14.

Sponsored by Viridian Therapeutics, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
139
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The investigational drug, VRDN-001, is a monoclonal antibody that inhibits the activity of a cell surface receptor called insulin-like growth factor-1 receptor (IGF-1R). Inhibition of IGF-1R may help to reduce the inflammation and associated tissue swelling that occurs in participants with thyroid eye disease (TED). The primary objectives of this clinical trial are to provide open-label access to VRDN-001 for participants who were previously non-responders at 3 weeks post the fifth IV infusion (i.e., 15 weeks) in the VRDN-001-101 (THRIVE) and VRDN-001-301 (THRIVE-2) pivotal studies and assess the safety and efficacy of VRDN-001 in participants who were previously treated with VRDN-001 or placebo.

02

Conditions studied

  • Thyroid Eye Disease

Keywords

  • Graves Disease
  • Thyroid-Associated Ophthalmopathy
  • Thyroid Eye Disease
  • Dysthyroid Ophthalmopathy
  • Graves Eye Disease
  • Graves Orbitopathy
  • Myopathic Ophthalmopathy
  • Congestive Ophthalmopathy
  • Edematous Ophthalmopathy
  • Infiltrative Ophthalmopathy
03

In context

Graves Ophthalmopathy

191 studies on the registry are indexed under Graves Ophthalmopathy; 58 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 139 is above the median of 64 across 142 interventional studies indexed under Graves Ophthalmopathy.

Browse Graves Ophthalmopathy studies →

Lead sponsor

Viridian Therapeutics, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 9 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 4 (80%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria:

  1. Be able to understand the study procedures and the risks involved and be willing to provide written informed consent before the first study-related activity
  2. Have completed at least 5 IV infusions and assessments required to determine proptosis responder status 3 weeks post the fifth IV infusion (i.e., Week 15) as defined in either the VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 pivotal studies
  3. Been a participant in either the VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 studies and found to be a non-responder as defined within the VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 study
  4. Not require immediate surgical ophthalmological or orbital surgery in the study eye for any reason
  5. Must agree to use highly effective contraception as specified in the protocol
  6. Female TED participants must have a negative urine pregnancy test at screening
  7. Be willing and able to comply with all the requirements of the protocol for the entire duration of the study

Key Exclusion Criteria:

Participants must not:

  1. Have received prior treatment with another anti-IGF-1R agent
  2. Have received systemic corticosteroids for any condition, including TED, or selenium within 2 weeks prior to first dose
  3. Have received other immunosuppressive drugs or another investigational agent for any condition, including TED (other than VRDN-001 or placebo associated with the VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 pivotal studies), or any other therapy for TED, within 8 weeks prior to first dose
  4. Have received radioactive iodine (RAI) treatment within 8 weeks prior to first dose
  5. Have had previous orbital irradiation or decompression surgery involving excision of fat for TED to the study eye's orbit
  6. Have abnormal hearing test before first dose. Have a history of ear conditions considered significant by study doctor
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
139 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Veligrotug/Veligrotug

    Non-responder participants who received veligrotug in the parent Study VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 will receive veligrotug 10 milligrams (mg)/kilogram (kg) every 3 weeks (Q3W) for 12 weeks.

    Drug: Veligrotug

  • Experimental
    Placebo/Veligrotug

    Non-responder participants who received placebo in the parent Study VRDN-001-101 or VRDN-001-301 will receive veligrotug 10 mg/kg Q3W for 12 weeks.

    Drug: Veligrotug

Interventions

  • DrugVeligrotug

    Veligrotug 10 mg/kg (5 infusions of Veligrotug 10 mg/kg)

    Also known as: VRDN-001

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Proptosis Responder Rate (PRR) in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

    Proptosis response in the most proptotic eye was defined as a reduction of proptosis of ≥2 millimeters (mm) from baseline in the most proptotic eye (without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye) as measured by exophthalmometer. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Baseline to Week 15

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

    Proptosis was defined as distance between the lateral orbital rim and the most anterior position of the cornea in mm, measured using an exophthalmometer. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 15

  2. PRR in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)/Computed Tomography (CT)

    Proptosis responder in the most proptotic eye by MRI/CT was defined as a reduction of proptosis of ≥2 mm from baseline in the most proptotic eye by MRI/CT (without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye) as measured by MRI/CT. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Baseline to Week 15

  3. Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by MRI/CT

    Measurement of proptosis was conducted by the central imaging reading center using MRI/CT of the orbits acquired without contrast. Measurements were conducted by 2 independent readers with adjudication if the difference between the 2 primary readers in proptosis measurement exceeded 5% (calculated as the difference divided by the larger measurement). The average of 2 (or 3 if adjudicated) measurements were used for analyses. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 15

  4. Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

    Clinical activity responder in the most proptotic eye was defined as no worsening in clinical activity score (CAS) from baseline in the most proptotic eye without a corresponding increase of ≥2 points in the other eye. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Week 15

  5. ORR Comprising PRR and Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

    ORR was comprised of PRR in the most proptotic eye (reduction of proptosis of ≥2 mm from baseline in the most proptotic eye \[without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye\]) as measured by exophthalmometer at Week 15 and clinical activity responder rate in the most proptotic eye (no worsening in CAS from baseline in the most proptotic eye without a corresponding increase of ≥2 points in the other eye) as measured by exophthalmometer at Week 15. Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Baseline to Week 15

  6. Diplopia Responder Rate

    A diplopia responder was defined as having a decrease of ≥1 from baseline for participants with a baseline Gorman subjective diplopia score \>0. Gorman subjective diplopia score (range, 0 to 3) includes 4 categories: no diplopia (absent, scored as 0), diplopia in the primary position of gaze when the participant is tired or awakening (intermittent, scored as 1), diplopia at extremes of gaze (inconstant, scored as 2), and continuous diplopia in the primary or reading position (constant, scored as 3). Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Week 15

  7. Diplopia Resolution Rate

    Diplopia resolution was defined as reduction in Gorman subjective diplopia score to 0 from baseline for participants with baseline Gorman subjective diplopia score \>0. Gorman subjective diplopia score (range, 0 to 3) includes 4 categories: no diplopia (absent, scored as 0), diplopia in the primary position of gaze when the participant is tired or awakening (intermittent, scored as 1), diplopia at extremes of gaze (inconstant, scored as 2), and continuous diplopia in the primary or reading position (constant, scored as 3). Missing data were not imputed.

    Time frame: Week 15

07

Results

Posted Aug 14, 2026

Participant flow

As prespecified, data were collected and reported for the participants. Therefore, the 'Ns' reported below = number of participants analyzed regardless of which eye was evaluated. The primary and secondary efficacy analyses and safety analysis were measured in the pre-specified study eye per individual participant.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Started5782
Received at least 1 dose of study drug5782
Completed5470
Not completed312
Withdrew: Adverse event12
Withdrew: General or study specific changes01
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up05
Withdrew: Non-compliance02
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject22

Outcome measures

PrimaryProptosis Responder Rate (PRR) in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

Proptosis response in the most proptotic eye was defined as a reduction of proptosis of ≥2 millimeters (mm) from baseline in the most proptotic eye (without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye) as measured by exophthalmometer. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Baseline to Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Proptosis Responder Rate (PRR) in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Proptosis Responder Rate (PRR) in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer21.151.2
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

Proptosis was defined as distance between the lateral orbital rim and the most anterior position of the cornea in mm, measured using an exophthalmometer. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · mm
Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer
mmVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer-1.235 ± 1.2113-2.418 ± 1.6804
SecondaryPRR in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)/Computed Tomography (CT)

Proptosis responder in the most proptotic eye by MRI/CT was defined as a reduction of proptosis of ≥2 mm from baseline in the most proptotic eye by MRI/CT (without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye) as measured by MRI/CT. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Baseline to Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
PRR in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)/Computed Tomography (CT)
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
PRR in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)/Computed Tomography (CT)3.541.5
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by MRI/CT

Measurement of proptosis was conducted by the central imaging reading center using MRI/CT of the orbits acquired without contrast. Measurements were conducted by 2 independent readers with adjudication if the difference between the 2 primary readers in proptosis measurement exceeded 5% (calculated as the difference divided by the larger measurement). The average of 2 (or 3 if adjudicated) measurements were used for analyses. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · mm
Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by MRI/CT
mmVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Change From Baseline in Proptosis in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by MRI/CT-0.458 ± 0.7174-2.360 ± 1.7035
SecondaryClinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

Clinical activity responder in the most proptotic eye was defined as no worsening in clinical activity score (CAS) from baseline in the most proptotic eye without a corresponding increase of ≥2 points in the other eye. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer89.584.1
SecondaryORR Comprising PRR and Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer

ORR was comprised of PRR in the most proptotic eye (reduction of proptosis of ≥2 mm from baseline in the most proptotic eye \[without a corresponding increase of ≥2 mm in the other eye\]) as measured by exophthalmometer at Week 15 and clinical activity responder rate in the most proptotic eye (no worsening in CAS from baseline in the most proptotic eye without a corresponding increase of ≥2 points in the other eye) as measured by exophthalmometer at Week 15. Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Baseline to Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
ORR Comprising PRR and Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
ORR Comprising PRR and Clinical Activity Responder Rate in the Most Proptotic Eye as Measured by Exophthalmometer19.348.8
SecondaryDiplopia Responder Rate

A diplopia responder was defined as having a decrease of ≥1 from baseline for participants with a baseline Gorman subjective diplopia score \>0. Gorman subjective diplopia score (range, 0 to 3) includes 4 categories: no diplopia (absent, scored as 0), diplopia in the primary position of gaze when the participant is tired or awakening (intermittent, scored as 1), diplopia at extremes of gaze (inconstant, scored as 2), and continuous diplopia in the primary or reading position (constant, scored as 3). Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Diplopia Responder Rate
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Diplopia Responder Rate36.834.8
SecondaryDiplopia Resolution Rate

Diplopia resolution was defined as reduction in Gorman subjective diplopia score to 0 from baseline for participants with baseline Gorman subjective diplopia score \>0. Gorman subjective diplopia score (range, 0 to 3) includes 4 categories: no diplopia (absent, scored as 0), diplopia in the primary position of gaze when the participant is tired or awakening (intermittent, scored as 1), diplopia at extremes of gaze (inconstant, scored as 2), and continuous diplopia in the primary or reading position (constant, scored as 3). Missing data were not imputed.

Time frame:
Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Diplopia Resolution Rate
percentage of participantsVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Diplopia Resolution Rate15.815.2

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline up to Week 24. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Veligrotug/Veligrotug0/57 (0%)0/57 (0%)47/57 (82.5%)
Placebo/Veligrotug0/82 (0%)1/82 (1.2%)67/82 (81.7%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Vestibular neuronitisInfections and infestations0/571/82
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 17
Most frequent other events
EventVeligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/Veligrotug
Muscle spasmsMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders14/5725/82
AmenorrhoeaReproductive system and breast disorders2/256/27
OnychoclasisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders9/572/82
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/579/82
AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders6/577/82
Ear discomfortEar and labyrinth disorders4/578/82
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders5/577/82
TinnitusEar and labyrinth disorders4/577/82
FatigueGeneral disorders3/577/82
HeadacheNervous system disorders4/577/82

Baseline characteristics

Modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) population included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug. As prespecified, data were collected and reported for the participants.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Veligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/VeligrotugTotal
Mean46.2 ± 13.1750.2 ± 12.4948.5 ± 12.88
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Veligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/VeligrotugTotal
Female4261103
Male152136
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Veligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/VeligrotugTotal
Hispanic or Latino111627
Not Hispanic or Latino4562107
Unknown or Not Reported145
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Veligrotug/VeligrotugPlacebo/VeligrotugTotal
Race — Asian279
Race — Black or African American7411
Race — White4263105
Race — Unknown011
Race — Not Reported347
Race — Other336
08

Study locations

45 sites
  • Advancing Research International, LLC
    Los Angeles, California 90023, United States
  • USC Eye Institute
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • Advancing Research International, LLC
    Newport Beach, California 90023, United States
  • Stanford Byers Eye Institute
    Palo Alto, California 94303, United States
  • Cockerham Eye Consultants, PC
    San Diego, California 92108, United States
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
  • Sarasota Retina Institute
    Sarasota, Florida 34239, United States
  • Vision Medical Research
    Oak Lawn, Illinois 60453, United States
  • Ophthalmic Consultants of Boston
    East Weymouth, Massachusetts 02189, United States
  • Kahana Oculoplastic & Orbital Surgery
    Livonia, Michigan 48152, United States
  • Ophthalmic Plastic, Reconstructive, Orbital and Cosmetic Surgery
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89144, United States
  • Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
    Newark, New Jersey 07103, United States
  • The Center for Eye and Facial Plastic Surgery
    Somerset, New Jersey 08873, United States
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Perleman Center
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • Baylor College of Medicine
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Neuro-Eye Clinical Trials
    Houston, Texas 77074, United States
  • University of Vermont Medical Center
    Burlington, Vermont 05401, United States
  • University of Washington Medical Center
    Seattle, Washington 98104-2430, United States
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Montpellier Hopital Lapeyronie
    Montpellier, Hérault 34295, France
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire De Nantes G.R. Laenne
    Saint-Herblain, Loire-Atlantique 44800, France
  • CHU Angers
    Angers, 49933, France
  • Universitatmedizin Gottingen
    Göttingen, Lower Saxony 37075, Germany
  • Charite - Universitatsmedizin Berlin KoR, Campus Virchow Klinikum, Klinik tor Augenheilkunde
    Berlin, Germany
  • Universitatsklinikum Carl Gustav Carus
    Dresden, Germany
  • Universitatsklinikum Essen AoR - Klinik fur Augenheilkunde
    Essen, Germany
  • University Medical Center Freiburg
    Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
  • Amsterdam UMC
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Centrum Medyczne Piasta
    Wałbrzych, Piasta 58-304, Poland
  • Uniwersytecki Szpital Kliniczny w Bialymstoku
    Bialystok, 15-276, Poland
  • Optimum Profesorskie Centrum Okulistyki
    Gdansk, 80809, Poland
  • Centrum Medyczne Pulawska
    Piaseczno, 05-500, Poland
  • Hospital Arruzafa. Servicio de Oftalmologia
    Córdoba, 14012, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Ramon y Cajal
    Madrid, 28034, Spain
  • Hospital Clinico San Carlos
    Madrid, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Virgen de la Macarena
    Seville, 41009, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Miguel Servel
    Zaragoza, 50009, Spain
  • Hacettepe Universitesi Tip Fakultesi
    Ankara, 06230, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Gazi University Medical Faculty Hospital
    Ankara, 06560, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Akdeniz University Medical Faculty Hospital
    Antalya, 7070, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Marmara University Faculty of Medicine
    Istanbul, 34899, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
    Norwich, London, United Kingdom
  • University Hospital Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust- Bristol Eye Hospital
    Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust Western Eye Hospital
    London, NW15QH, United Kingdom
  • Guy's and St. Thomas Trust
    London, SE17EH, United Kingdom
  • Newcastle Eye Centre
    Newcastle, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Mar 24, 2025
  • Statistical analysis plan · May 21, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 14, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06179875
Lead sponsor
Viridian Therapeutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 22, 2023
Start date
Jan 31, 2024
Primary completion
Apr 25, 2025
Completion
Jun 23, 2025
Results posted
Aug 14, 2026
Last update
Aug 14, 2026

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion