A Phase 1 interventional study of AZD4041 and Placebo in Opioid Use Disorder (OUD), sponsored by AstraZeneca. Completed at 1 site in Canada. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 55 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-11-27.
Sponsored by AstraZeneca · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a Phase 1, single-centre, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multiple ascending doses (MAD) study in healthy male and female adult participants.
The study will include up to 48 participants (12 participants per cohort) who will be randomized 9:3 to active drug or placebo. Each cohort will receive AZD4041 or placebo in a MAD study.
A sequential cohort MAD design will be employed to assure that higher doses are administered to healthy participants only after lower doses have demonstrated an acceptable safety profile.
The total study duration will be up to 59 days (including Screening) per participant.
1,439 studies on the registry are indexed under Opioid-Related Disorders; 291 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 36 is below the median of 62 across 1,145 interventional studies indexed under Opioid-Related Disorders.
Browse Opioid-Related Disorders studies →AstraZeneca is the lead sponsor of 3,492 studies on the registry; 266 are open to participants now.
Of its 368 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 176 (48%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
If female, meets one of the following criteria:
Physiological postmenopausal status, defined as the following:
hysterectomy, bilateral oophorectomy and/or bilateral salpingectomy, or bilateral tubal ligation. Women who are surgically sterile must provide documentation of the procedure by an operative report, ultrasound, or other verifiable documentation; and must have a negative pregnancy test result at screening and check-in.
If postmenopausal and has an FSH of \< 40 mIU/mL, but meets all other criteria in (1) or (2) above as well as all the other inclusion criteria, screening oestradiol serum level must be equal to or below 150 pmol/L.
Exclusion Criteria
Any abnormal vital signs, after 10 minutes supine rest, as defined in the list below, at the Screening Visit/or Day -2 Out of range tests may be repeated once for each visit at the discretion of an Investigator.
Participants will receive oral solution of AZD4041 dose level 1 once daily (QD) directly into the mouth using a syringe from Days 1 to 14.
Drug: AZD4041
Participants will receive oral solution of AZD4041 dose level 2 QD directly into the mouth using a syringe from Days 1 to 14.
Drug: AZD4041
Participants will receive oral solution of AZD4041 dose level 3 QD directly into the mouth using a syringe from Days 1 to 14.
Drug: AZD4041
Participants will receive oral solution of placebo equivalent to AZD4041 volume QD directly into the mouth using a syringe from Days 1 to 14.
Other: Placebo
Participants will receive oral solution of AZD4041 as stated in arm description.
Participants will receive oral solution of placebo as stated in arm description.
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)
An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. A serious adverse event (SAE) is an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; life threatening experience (immediate risk of dying); persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly. The TEAEs are defined as events present at baseline that worsened in intensity after administration of study drug or events absent at baseline that emerged after administration of study drug.
Time frame: From Day 1 to Day 31
Number of Participants With Abnormal Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs
Number of participants with abnormal vital signs reported as TEAEs are reported. Abnormal vital signs are defined as any abnormal finding in the vital sign parameters (blood pressure, pulse rate, and body temperature).
Time frame: From Day 1 to Day 31
Number of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory Parameters Reported as TEAEs
Number of participants with abnormal clinical laboratory parameters reported as TEAEs are reported. Abnormal clinical laboratory parameters defined as any abnormal finding during analysis of general biochemistry, hematology, and urinalysis.
Time frame: From Day 1 to Day 31
Number of Participants With Abnormal Electrocardiograms (ECGs) Reported as TEAEs
Number of participants with abnormal ECGs reported as TEAEs are reported.
Time frame: From Day 1 to Day 31
Number of Participants With Suicidal Ideation or Behavior Assessed Using Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS)
The C-SSRS is described as a scale developed at Columbia University that has 2-6 questions each in categories of Suicidal Ideation, Intensity of Ideation, Suicidal Behavior, and Actual Attempts. Four constructs were measured. Severity of Suicidal ideation is rated on a 5-point ordinal scale. Intensity of ideation is comprised of 5 items (frequency, duration, controllability, deterrents, and reason for ideation), each rated on a 5-point ordinal scale. Suicidal behavior is rated on a nominal scale that includes actual, aborted, and interrupted attempts; preparatory behavior; and non-suicidal self-injurious behavior. Lethality, assesses actual attempts; actual lethality is rated on a 6-point ordinal scale, and if actual lethality is 0, potential lethality of attempts is rated on a 3-point ordinal scale.The higher the C-SSRS score, the higher the suicide risk (ie. worse outcome).
Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to -1) through Day 17
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical and Neurological Examinations
Number of participants with clinically significant findings in physical and neurological examinations are reported.
Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to -1) through Day 31
Number of Participants With Abnormal Male Hormone Levels as Assessed by the Investigator
Male hormone levels investigated included testosterone, luteinizing hormone, follicle stimulating hormone, and inhibin B. Number of Participants with abnormal male hormone levels as assessed by the investigator are reported.
Time frame: Day -1, pre-dose and 1.5 hours post-dose on Days 1 and 14
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The Cmax of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The Cmax of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The Tmax of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The Tmax of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The AUC0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 (Dose Administration) to the Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUC0-t) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The AUC0-t of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 (Dose Administration) to the Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUC0-t) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The AUC0-t of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The AUC0-inf of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (AUC0-inf) requiring apparent elimination rate constant (λz) estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over the Dosing Interval at Steady State (AUCτ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The AUCτ of AZD4041 calculated after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Observed Concentration at the End of the Dosing Interval (Ctrough) of AZD4041
The Ctrough of AZD4041 is reported.
Time frame: Predose on Days 2 (Day 1, 24-hours), 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14
Concentration at the End of the Dosing Interval (Cτ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The Cτ of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2,z) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The t1/2,z of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (t1/2,z) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2,z) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The t1/2,z of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Effective Half-life (t1/2Eff) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The t1/2Eff of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Accumulation Ratio Evaluated by Comparing Day 14 Cmax to Day 1 Cmax (RAC[Cmax]) of AZD4041
The RAC(Cmax) of AZD4041 is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose; Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Accumulation Ratio Evaluated by Comparing Day 14 AUCτ to Day 1 AUC0-24 (RAC[AUC]) of AZD4041
The RAC(AUC) of AZD4041 is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose; Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Apparent Total Clearance (CL/F) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The CL/F of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (CL/F) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Apparent Total Clearance at Steady State (CL/Fss) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The CL/Fss of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The Vz/F of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (Vz/F) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 24 hours postdose
Apparent Volume of Distribution at Steady State (Vz/Fss) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The Vz/Fss of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Apparent Elimination Rate Constant (λZ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The λZ of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours postdose
Amount of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hour Dosing Interval (Ae0-24) After Day 1 Dose
The Ae0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Amount of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hour Dosing Interval (Ae0-24) After Day 14 Dose
The Ae0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Apparent Fraction of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (fe/F0-24) After Day 1 Dose
The fe/F0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Apparent Fraction of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (fe/F0-24) After Day 14 Dose
The fe/F0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Apparent Renal Clearance Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (CLR 0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose
The CLR 0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. Apparent renal clearance was calculated as: Ae (0-24) / AUC0-24 on Day 1.
Time frame: Day 1: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Apparent Renal Clearance Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (CLR 0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose
The CLR 0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported. Apparent renal clearance was calculated as: Ae (0-24) / AUCτ on Day 14.
Time frame: Day 14: Predose spot collection, and 0 to 6 hours, 6 to 12 hours, and 12 to 24 hours postdose
Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) Concentration as a Percentage of Total Plasma Concentration of AZD4041 in Cohorts 2 and 3
The CSF concentration as a percentage of total plasma concentration of AZD4041 in cohorts 2 and 3 is reported.
Time frame: Day 14 post dose (approximately 3 hours ± 1 hour)
CSF Concentration as a Percentage of Free Plasma Concentration of AZD4041 in Cohorts 2 and 3
The CSF concentration as a percentage of free plasma concentration of AZD4041 in cohorts 2 and 3 is reported.
Time frame: Day 14 post dose (approximately 3 hours ± 1 hour)
Day 14 / Day 1 Ratio of 4-β-hydroxy-cholesterol Concentrations
Day 14 / Day 1 ratio of 4-β-hydroxy-cholesterol concentrations is reported.
Time frame: Pre-dose Day 1 and 24 hours post Day 14 dose
| Milestone | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 9 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 8 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. A serious adverse event (SAE) is an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; life threatening experience (immediate risk of dying); persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly. The TEAEs are defined as events present at baseline that worsened in intensity after administration of study drug or events absent at baseline that emerged after administration of study drug.
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any TEAEs | 8 | 6 | 6 | 9 |
| Any TESAEs | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants with abnormal vital signs reported as TEAEs are reported. Abnormal vital signs are defined as any abnormal finding in the vital sign parameters (blood pressure, pulse rate, and body temperature).
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Abnormal Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants with abnormal clinical laboratory parameters reported as TEAEs are reported. Abnormal clinical laboratory parameters defined as any abnormal finding during analysis of general biochemistry, hematology, and urinalysis.
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory Parameters Reported as TEAEs | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants with abnormal ECGs reported as TEAEs are reported.
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ventricular tachycardia | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Sinus tachycardia | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
The C-SSRS is described as a scale developed at Columbia University that has 2-6 questions each in categories of Suicidal Ideation, Intensity of Ideation, Suicidal Behavior, and Actual Attempts. Four constructs were measured. Severity of Suicidal ideation is rated on a 5-point ordinal scale. Intensity of ideation is comprised of 5 items (frequency, duration, controllability, deterrents, and reason for ideation), each rated on a 5-point ordinal scale. Suicidal behavior is rated on a nominal scale that includes actual, aborted, and interrupted attempts; preparatory behavior; and non-suicidal self-injurious behavior. Lethality, assesses actual attempts; actual lethality is rated on a 6-point ordinal scale, and if actual lethality is 0, potential lethality of attempts is rated on a 3-point ordinal scale.The higher the C-SSRS score, the higher the suicide risk (ie. worse outcome).
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suicidal ideation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Suicidal behavior | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants with clinically significant findings in physical and neurological examinations are reported.
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical and Neurological Examinations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Male hormone levels investigated included testosterone, luteinizing hormone, follicle stimulating hormone, and inhibin B. Number of Participants with abnormal male hormone levels as assessed by the investigator are reported.
| Participants | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Abnormal Male Hormone Levels as Assessed by the Investigator | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
The Cmax of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | 165.93 ± 24.3 | 377.85 ± 25.7 | 590.78 ± 12.6 |
The Cmax of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 232.44 ± 20.7 | 478.10 ± 21.7 | 940.99 ± 25.7 |
The Tmax of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| Hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | 1.05 (0.50 to 1.53) | 1.00 (0.25 to 1.50) | 1.02 (0.55 to 1.50) |
The Tmax of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| Hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 1.02 (0.50 to 2.00) | 1.02 (0.50 to 1.52) | 1.00 (0.50 to 3.02) |
The AUC0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| h*ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | 1802.21 ± 21.4 | 3682.61 ± 25.2 | 6951.39 ± 20.1 |
The AUC0-t of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| h*ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 (Dose Administration) to the Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUC0-t) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | 1802.90 ± 21.4 | 3683.15 ± 25.2 | 6953.42 ± 20.1 |
The AUC0-t of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| h*ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 (Dose Administration) to the Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUC0-t) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 4808.19 ± 60.1 | 9573.98 ± 47.0 | 20969.29 ± 49.6 |
The AUC0-inf of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (AUC0-inf) requiring apparent elimination rate constant (λz) estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
| h*ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | — | 3000.93 (3000.93 to 3000.93) | — |
The AUCτ of AZD4041 calculated after Day 14 dose is reported.
| h*ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over the Dosing Interval at Steady State (AUCτ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 3022.57 ± 41.3 | 6306.52 ± 34.4 | 12622.32 ± 36.0 |
The Ctrough of AZD4041 is reported.
| ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day 2 | 45.5 ± 39.2 | 86.2 ± 45.2 | 193 ± 35.2 |
| Day 3 | 62.5 ± 46.9 | 113 ± 48.9 | 285 ± 39.4 |
| Day 4 | 64.9 ± 52.4 | 124 ± 56.2 | 314 ± 43.9 |
| Day 5 | 65.4 ± 54.6 | 134 ± 48.4 | 317 ± 46.2 |
| Day 6 | 69.3 ± 63.6 | 139 ± 56.5 | 336 ± 46.5 |
| Day 7 | 68.4 ± 64.8 | 141 ± 55.2 | 331 ± 45.8 |
| Day 8 | 73.2 ± 55.6 | 158 ± 53.6 | 359 ± 44.4 |
| Day 9 | 73.3 ± 59.1 | 152 ± 61.6 | 349 ± 49.9 |
| Day 10 | 75.0 ± 62.8 | 158 ± 62.9 | 341 ± 46.9 |
| Day 14 | 82.0 ± 64.6 | 164 ± 70.8 | 371 ± 51.9 |
The Cτ of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| ng/mL | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concentration at the End of the Dosing Interval (Cτ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 81.23 ± 63.2 | 168.42 ± 62.0 | 358.37 ± 56.5 |
The t1/2,z of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (t1/2,z) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
| hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2,z) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | — | 8.30 (8.30 to 8.30) | — |
The t1/2,z of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| Hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2,z) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 18.87 ± 27.5 | 20.07 ± 33.4 | 23.22 ± 20.3 |
The t1/2Eff of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| Hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Effective Half-life (t1/2Eff) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 17.02 ± 50.9 | 18.35 ± 38.7 | 20.33 ± 34.2 |
The RAC(Cmax) of AZD4041 is reported.
| Ratio | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accumulation Ratio Evaluated by Comparing Day 14 Cmax to Day 1 Cmax (RAC[Cmax]) of AZD4041 | 1.38 ± 20.9 | 1.27 ± 22.4 | 1.59 ± 16.0 |
The RAC(AUC) of AZD4041 is reported.
| Ratio | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accumulation Ratio Evaluated by Comparing Day 14 AUCτ to Day 1 AUC0-24 (RAC[AUC]) of AZD4041 | 1.66 ± 25.3 | 1.71 ± 21.7 | 1.82 ± 22.1 |
The CL/F of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (CL/F) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
| L/hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Total Clearance (CL/F) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | — | 5.00 (5.00 to 5.00) | — |
The CL/Fss of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| L/hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Total Clearance at Steady State (CL/Fss) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 2.48 ± 41.3 | 2.38 ± 34.4 | 1.98 ± 36.0 |
The Vz/F of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. This PK parameter (Vz/F) requiring λz estimation was not evaluable for Cohorts 1 and 3 due to meeting either the exclusion criteria R\^2 \< 0.8 or the extrapolated area \> 20%.
| L | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | — | 59.90 (59.90 to 59.90) | — |
The Vz/Fss of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| L | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Volume of Distribution at Steady State (Vz/Fss) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 79.50 ± 21.8 | 68.90 ± 25.5 | 75.90 ± 16.0 |
The λZ of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| 1/hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Elimination Rate Constant (λZ) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 0.0367 ± 27.5 | 0.0345 ± 33.4 | 0.0298 ± 20.3 |
The Ae0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| ng | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amount of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hour Dosing Interval (Ae0-24) After Day 1 Dose | 59209.58 ± 71.1 | 161067.17 ± 71.1 | 411420.17 ± 45.7 |
The Ae0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| ng | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amount of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hour Dosing Interval (Ae0-24) After Day 14 Dose | 177681.47 ± 55.3 | 334754.86 ± 99.2 | 1095233.64 ± 39.7 |
The fe/F0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported.
| Percentage | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Fraction of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (fe/F0-24) After Day 1 Dose | 0.79 ± 71.1 | 1.07 ± 71.1 | 1.65 ± 45.7 |
The fe/F0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported.
| Percentage | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Fraction of AZD4041 Excreted Unchanged in Urine Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (fe/F0-24) After Day 14 Dose | 2.37 ± 55.3 | 2.23 ± 99.2 | 4.38 ± 39.7 |
The CLR 0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 1 dose is reported. Apparent renal clearance was calculated as: Ae (0-24) / AUC0-24 on Day 1.
| L/hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Renal Clearance Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (CLR 0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 1 Dose | 0.0328 ± 65.3 | 0.0437 ± 72.1 | 0.0582 ± 56.1 |
The CLR 0-24 of AZD4041 after Day 14 dose is reported. Apparent renal clearance was calculated as: Ae (0-24) / AUCτ on Day 14.
| L/hour | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparent Renal Clearance Over the 24-hours Dosing Interval (CLR 0-24) of AZD4041 After Day 14 Dose | 0.0536 ± 21.5 | 0.0521 ± 106.4 | 0.0916 ± 71.2 |
The CSF concentration as a percentage of total plasma concentration of AZD4041 in cohorts 2 and 3 is reported.
| Percentage | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) Concentration as a Percentage of Total Plasma Concentration of AZD4041 in Cohorts 2 and 3 | 4.91 ± 13.3 | 5.28 ± 16.3 |
The CSF concentration as a percentage of free plasma concentration of AZD4041 in cohorts 2 and 3 is reported.
| Percentage | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 |
|---|---|---|
| CSF Concentration as a Percentage of Free Plasma Concentration of AZD4041 in Cohorts 2 and 3 | 27.44 ± 13.3 | 29.51 ± 16.3 |
Day 14 / Day 1 ratio of 4-β-hydroxy-cholesterol concentrations is reported.
| Ratio | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day 14 / Day 1 Ratio of 4-β-hydroxy-cholesterol Concentrations | 1.00 ± 28.67 | 1.02 ± 18.83 | 0.95 ± 18.74 | 0.79 ± 26.41 |
Collected over From Day 1 to Day 31. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | 0/9 (0%) | 0/9 (0%) | 8/9 (88.9%) |
| Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | 0/9 (0%) | 0/9 (0%) | 6/9 (66.7%) |
| Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | 0/9 (0%) | 0/9 (0%) | 6/9 (66.7%) |
| Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo | 0/9 (0%) | 0/9 (0%) | 9/9 (100%) |
| Event | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medical device site reactionGeneral disorders | 6/9 | 0/9 | 3/9 | 6/9 |
| Post lumbar puncture syndromeInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/9 | 1/9 | 3/9 | 3/9 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 2/9 | 0/9 | 0/9 | 0/9 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 0/9 | 2/9 | 2/9 | 2/9 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/9 | 1/9 | 0/9 | 2/9 |
| Lacrimation increasedEye disorders | 0/9 | 0/9 | 1/9 | 0/9 |
| Ocular hyperaemiaEye disorders | 0/9 | 0/9 | 1/9 | 0/9 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/9 | 1/9 | 0/9 | 0/9 |
| Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders | 0/9 | 0/9 | 0/9 | 1/9 |
| Lip dryGastrointestinal disorders | 0/9 | 0/9 | 1/9 | 0/9 |
Safety population included all participants who received at least 1 dose of AZD4041 or placebo.
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 41.9 ± 11.7 | 37.1 ± 8.9 | 40.2 ± 10.8 | 41.6 ± 11.6 | 40.2 ± 10.5 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Male | 9 | 9 | 9 | 8 | 35 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 3 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 5 | 6 | 4 | 9 | 24 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1: AZD4041 Dose Level 1 | Cohort 2: AZD4041 Dose Level 2 | Cohort 3: AZD4041 Dose Level 3 | Cohorts 1-3: Pooled Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 32 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Ran from Dec 2021 to primary completion in Jun 2022, 5 months.
Results were first posted in Nov 2023, 1 year 5 months after primary completion.
Of 75 phase 1 interventional studies under Opioid-Related Disorders, half reached primary completion within 20 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 9 and three quarters within 34. This study's 5 months is below that.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: AZD4041