A Phase 2 interventional study of Evorpacept (ALX148) and Cetuximab in Microsatellite Stable Metastatic Colorectal Cancer, sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver. Terminated at 4 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-03.
Sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This Phase 2 clinical study will evaluate evorpacept (ALX148) in combination with cetuximab and pembrolizumab for refractory microsatellite stable metastatic colorectal cancer
This is an open-label, multi-center, single-arm phase II clinical trial (with safety run-in) evaluating the combination of evorpacept (ALX148), cetuximab, and pembrolizumab in patients with metastatic microsatellite stable colorectal cancer who have progressed on at least 2 lines of systemic therapy. A subset of patients will undergo study-related biopsies. There will be a safety run-in stage followed by a dose expansion stage. Patients in both stages will continue to receive study therapy until disease progression according to RECIST v1.1.
5,599 studies on the registry are indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms; 1,459 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 19 is below the median of 77 across 4,123 interventional studies indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms.
Browse Colorectal Neoplasms studies →University of Colorado, Denver is the lead sponsor of 1,499 studies on the registry; 315 are open to participants now.
Of its 139 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 89 (64%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Inclusion Criteria:
To be eligible to participate in this study, an individual must meet all of the following criteria at screening (any assessments included in the Schedule of Events [Section 1.3] on Cycle 1 Day 1 must also continue to be met for the patient to remain eligible):
Histologically confirmed unresectable metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma.
Progression on at least two prior lines of therapy for unresectable metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma.
Adequate hematologic and end organ function, defined by the following laboratory results:
AST, ALT, and alkaline phosphatase (ALP) ≤ 3 × ULN with the following exceptions:
Serum pregnancy test (for females of childbearing potential) negative at screening and at C1D1. A woman is considered fertile (woman of childbearing potential, "WOCBP") following menarche and until becoming post-menopausal unless permanently sterile. Women in the following categories are not considered WOCBP:
Female participants of childbearing potential are eligible to participate if they agree to correctly use one of the following forms of highly effective method of contraception with a failure rate of \<1% per year when used consistently and correctly during the treatment period and for at least 180 days after the last study treatment. Periodic abstinence (e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, or postovulation methods) and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception. Use should be consistent with local regulations regarding the use of contraceptive methods for participants of clinical studies. If locally required, in accordance with Clinical Trial Facilitation Group (CTFG) guidelines, acceptable hormonal contraceptives are limited to those which inhibit ovulation.
For men: Male participants with female partners of childbearing potential are eligible to participate if they agree to one of the following during the treatment period and for at least 180 days after the last dose of study treatment as defined below. Periodic abstinence (e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, or postovulation methods) and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception. Men must also agree to refrain from donating sperm following during the treatment period and for at least 180 days after the last dose of study treatment.
Use a male condom plus partner use of a contraceptive method with a failure rate of \<1% per year as described in Inclusion Criteria #12 when having penile-vaginal intercourse with a woman of childbearing potential who is not currently pregnant.
Inclusion Criteria:
An individual who meets any of the following criteria will be excluded from participation in this study:
Cancer-related exclusion criteria:
Uncontrolled tumor related pain. Patients who require narcotic pain medication during screening should be on a stable dose regimen for seven days prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.
Exclusion criteria related to study medication:
History of autoimmune hemolytic anemia or autoimmune thrombocytopenia
Exclusion criteria based on organ function or medical history:
AEs due to prior cancer therapies that have not returned to ≤Grade 1 or baseline. Participants with endocrine-related AEs Grade ≤2 that are now controlled with treatment/hormonal therapy are eligible.
Exclusion criteria based on infectious diseases:
Doses: * Evorpacept (ALX148) dose level (DL) 1: 15 mg/kg weekly * Cetuximab: 400 mg/m2, then 250 mg/m2 weekly * Pembrolizumab: 200 mg every 3 weeks
Drug: Evorpacept (ALX148) · Drug: Cetuximab · Drug: Pembrolizumab
Doses: * Evorpacept (ALX148) dose level (DL) -1: 10 mg/kg weekly * Cetuximab: 400 mg/m2, then 250 mg/m2 weekly * Pembrolizumab: 200 mg every 3 weeks
Drug: Evorpacept (ALX148) · Drug: Cetuximab · Drug: Pembrolizumab
Doses: * Evorpacept (ALX148) dose level (DL) 1: 15 mg/kg weekly * Cetuximab: 400 mg/m2, then 250 mg/m2 weekly * Pembrolizumab: 200 mg every 3 weeks
Drug: Evorpacept (ALX148) · Drug: Cetuximab · Drug: Pembrolizumab
IV QW
Also known as: evorpacept
IV QW
Also known as: Erbitux
IV Q3W
Also known as: Keytruda
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
A patient is considered to be an objective responder if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) per RECIST v1.1. ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as objective responders.
Time frame: The duration of time during which tumor assessments were performed for each individual patient. Per protocol, assessments will continue until disease progression. The latest assessment was performed at Cycle 21, Day 15 (14.5 mo after informed consent)
Determine the Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept (ALX148) in Combination With Cetuximab and Pembrolizumab
The recommended dose (RD) of evorpacept was determined by evaluating the totality of the first-cycle clinical data. Rules to determine the RD based on the number of patients experiencing a dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) were defined in the protocol.
Time frame: During the safety run-in, each patient must have completed at least the 1st cycle (3 weeks) of treatment.
Disease Control Rate (DCR)
A patient is classified as 'Disease Controlled' if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) per RECIST v1.1. DCR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as 'Disease Controlled'.
Time frame: The duration of time during which tumor assessments were performed for each individual patient. Per protocol, assessments will continue until disease progression. The latest assessment was performed at Cycle 21, Day 15 (14.5 mo after informed consent).
Duration Of Response (DOR)
DOR is defined as the length of time (months) from the 1st response (CR or PR per RECIST v1.1) until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause. Patients who did not experience PD or die are considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. This is a subgroup analysis, consisting of all patients who experienced response (CR or PR per RECIST v1.1)
Time frame: From date of 1st response (CR or PR) until either progression (PD or death) or censoring date
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
Months-to-Progression is defined as the length of time (in months) from enrollment until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause. Patients who did not have PD or die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. PFS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient progressed or not (i.e. were censored), and the months-to-progression times for each patient.
Time frame: For each subject, from enrollment until the end of their months-to-progression (as defined above)
Overall Survival (OS)
Months-to-death is defined as the number of months from enrollment until death from any cause. Subjects who did not die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. OS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient died or not, and the months-to-death times for each patient.
Time frame: For each subject, from enrollment until the end of their months-to-death time (as defined above)
ORR - Response-Evaluable Population
A patient is considered to be an objective responder if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) per RECIST v1.1. ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as objective responders.
Time frame: The duration of time during which tumor assessments were performed for each patient, until they experience disease progression. The latest timepoint an assessment was performed was at Cycle 21 Day 15 (14.5 mo after informed consent).
DCR - Response-Evaluable Population
A patient is classified as 'Disease Controlled' if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) per RECIST v1.1. DCR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as 'Disease Controlled'.
Time frame: The duration of time during which tumor assessments were performed for each individual patient. Per protocol, assessments will continue until disease progression. The latest assessment was performed at Cycle 21, Day 15 (14.5 mo after informed consent).
PFS - Response-Evaluable Population
Months-to-Progression is defined as the length of time (in months) from enrollment until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause. Patients who did not have PD or die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. PFS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient progressed or not (i.e. were censored), and the months-to-progression times for each patient.
Time frame: For each subject, from enrollment until the end of their months-to-progression (as defined above)
OS - Response-Evaluable Population
Months-to-death is defined as the number of months from enrollment until death from any cause. Subjects who did not die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. OS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient died or not, and the months-to-death times for each patient.
Time frame: For each subject, from enrollment until the end of their months-to-death time (as defined above)
Pts with refractory MSS CRC were treated with triple therapy in a safety run-in (Stage 1) followed by expansion (Stage 2). Primary objectives were to determine recommended dose of evorpacept and objective response rate (vs historical control). Trial enrollment was terminated early due to safety concerns.
| Milestone | Experimental : Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental : Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 9 | 3 | 4 |
| Completed | 9 | 3 | 4 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 |
A patient is considered to be an objective responder if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) per RECIST v1.1. ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as objective responders.
| Participants | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 0 (0.002 to 0.302) | 0 | 1 |
The recommended dose (RD) of evorpacept was determined by evaluating the totality of the first-cycle clinical data. Rules to determine the RD based on the number of patients experiencing a dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) were defined in the protocol.
| Participants | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Determine the Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept (ALX148) in Combination With Cetuximab and Pembrolizumab | 0 | 1 | 0 |
A patient is classified as 'Disease Controlled' if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) per RECIST v1.1. DCR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as 'Disease Controlled'.
| Participants | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disease Control Rate (DCR) | 0 (0.016 to 0.383) | 1 | 1 |
DOR is defined as the length of time (months) from the 1st response (CR or PR per RECIST v1.1) until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause. Patients who did not experience PD or die are considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. This is a subgroup analysis, consisting of all patients who experienced response (CR or PR per RECIST v1.1)
| Months | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration Of Response (DOR) | — | — | 13.2 |
Months-to-Progression is defined as the length of time (in months) from enrollment until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause. Patients who did not have PD or die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. PFS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient progressed or not (i.e. were censored), and the months-to-progression times for each patient.
| months | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Progression-Free Survival (PFS) | 2.3 (2.2 to NA) | 2.2 (1.2 to 2.6) | 2.8 (0.7 to NA) |
Months-to-death is defined as the number of months from enrollment until death from any cause. Subjects who did not die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. OS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient died or not, and the months-to-death times for each patient.
| months | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) | NA (4.7 to NA) | 7.2 (1.2 to NA) | NA (0.7 to NA) |
A patient is considered to be an objective responder if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) per RECIST v1.1. ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as objective responders.
| Participants | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| ORR - Response-Evaluable Population | 0 | 0 | 1 |
A patient is classified as 'Disease Controlled' if their best overall response (BOR) of their follow-up tumor assessments was assessed to be complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) per RECIST v1.1. DCR is defined as the proportion of patients who were classified as 'Disease Controlled'.
| Participants | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| DCR - Response-Evaluable Population | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Months-to-Progression is defined as the length of time (in months) from enrollment until either the first observation of progressive disease (PD) using RECIST v1.1 or death from any cause. Patients who did not have PD or die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. PFS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient progressed or not (i.e. were censored), and the months-to-progression times for each patient.
| months | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| PFS - Response-Evaluable Population | 2.3 (2.2 to NA) | 2.4 (1.4 to NA) | 2.9 (2.7 to NA) |
Months-to-death is defined as the number of months from enrollment until death from any cause. Subjects who did not die will be considered to be censored at the latest date they are confirmed to be alive, which is the most recent of their discontinuation date or latest follow-up date. OS is a survival analysis involving both the binary endpoint of whether or not each patient died or not, and the months-to-death times for each patient.
| months | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| OS - Response-Evaluable Population | NA (4.7 to NA) | 16.9 (3.3 to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
Collected over Study patients were assessed for the occurrence of adverse events (AEs) from the time they enrolled onto the trial until the most recent of their study discontinuation date or follow-up date, up to 24 months. The mean follow-up time was 10.3 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | 1/3 (33.3%) | 2/3 (66.7%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | 6/9 (66.7%) | 5/9 (55.6%) | 9/9 (100%) |
| Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Event | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urinary Tract InfectionRenal and urinary disorders | 1/3 | 0/9 | 0/4 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 1/3 | 0/9 | 0/4 |
| Creatinine IncreasedRenal and urinary disorders | 1/3 | 0/9 | 0/4 |
| Hepatobiliary Disorder (choledocholithiasis)Hepatobiliary disorders | 0/3 | 0/9 | 1/4 |
| Mucositis OralGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 0/9 | 1/4 |
| Prostate CancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 0/3 | 0/9 | 1/4 |
| Cytokine Release SyndromeImmune system disorders | 0/3 | 0/9 | 1/4 |
| DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/3 | 2/9 | 0/4 |
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/9 | 0/4 |
| pneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/9 | 0/4 |
| Event | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blood bilirubin increasedHepatobiliary disorders | 2/3 | 0/9 | 0/4 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/3 | 1/9 | 1/4 |
| HypokalemiaRenal and urinary disorders | 2/3 | 0/9 | 0/4 |
| anorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/3 | 0/9 | 2/4 |
| FatigueNervous system disorders | 1/3 | 2/9 | 2/4 |
| feverImmune system disorders | 0/3 | 0/9 | 2/4 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 1/3 | 3/9 | 2/4 |
| HypomagnesemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/3 | 1/9 | 2/4 |
| Rash acneiformSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/3 | 3/9 | 2/4 |
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 1/3 | 2/9 | 0/4 |
This report summarizes the analysis population, comprised of all subjects who received any study drug. 16 Patients were enrolled.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 3 | 7 | 2 | 12 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 0 | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Male | 3 | 6 | 2 | 11 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| White | 3 | 8 | 2 | 13 |
| More than one race | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 10 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 1: Safety run-in Evaluating Evorpacept at 15 mg/kg Weekly | Experimental: Stage 2: Expansion Cohort Using Recommended Dose (RD) of Evorpacept | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 9 | 4 | 15 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Aug 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
University of Colorado, Denver