CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04788043Updated Jun 30, 2026Results posted

Study of Magrolimab and Pembrolizumab in Relapsed or Refractory Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Magrolimab and Pembrolizumab in Hodgkin Lymphoma, Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma and Relapsed Classical Hodgkin Lymphoma, sponsored by Ranjana Advani. Terminated at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-06-30.

Sponsored by Ranjana Advani · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Discontinuation of magrolimab development
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
8
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to test the safety and efficacy of magrolimab in combination with pembrolizumab in patients with Hodgkin lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

Primary Objectives:

- To assess the complete remission (CR) rate of magrolimab in combination with pembrolizumab in adult subjects with relapsed or refractory cHL

Secondary Objectives:

  • To assess the safety and tolerability of magrolimab in combination with pembrolizumab in adult subjects with relapsed or refractory cHL
  • To assess the overall response rate (ORR)
02

Conditions studied

  • Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Relapsed Classical Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Refractory Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Hodgkin Disease

885 studies on the registry are indexed under Hodgkin Disease; 132 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 8 is below the median of 44 across 726 interventional studies indexed under Hodgkin Disease.

Browse Hodgkin Disease studies →

Lead sponsor

Ranjana Advani is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Age ≥ 18 years
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0 to 1
  • Biopsy proven relapsed or refractory cHL
  • Prior treatment with at least two systemic therapies
  • Metabolically active measurable disease by PET imaging per the 2014 Lugano criteria
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9.5 g/dL
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,000 cells/μL without G-CSF support within 3 weeks prior to enrollment
  • Platelet count ≥ 75,000 cells/μL
  • Creatinine clearance > 40 mL/min per the Cockroft-Gault formula
  • Total bilirubin \< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) (or \< 3.0 x ULN and primarily unconjugated in subjects with a history of Gilbert's syndrome)
  • Negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 30 days of enrollment and within 72 hours before the first administration of magrolimab for women of childbearing potential
  • Women of childbearing potential must be willing to use at least 1 highly effective method of contraception during the study and continue for 4 months after the last dose of magrolimab
  • Male subjects who are sexually active with a woman of childbearing potential and who have not had vasectomies must be willing to use a barrier method of contraception during the study and for 4 months after the last dose of magrolimab
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign the written IRB approved informed consent document
  • Must be willing and able to comply with the clinic visits and procedures outlined in the study protocol

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Prior treatment with a PD-1 inhibitor within 3 months prior to enrollment
  • Prior treatment with antibodies targeting CD47 or SIRPα2
  • Prior allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation
  • Systemic autoimmune disorder on chronic immunosuppression (defined as ≥ 10 mg of prednisone daily)
  • RBC transfusion dependence, defined as requiring more than 2 units of RBCs during the 4-week period prior to screening
  • History of hemolytic anemia, autoimmune thrombocytopenia, or Evan's syndrome within the last 3 months
  • Second malignancy not in complete remission for at least 1 year, excluding fully resected non melanoma skin cancer or localized prostate cancer
  • Women who are pregnant or breast feeding
  • HIV or hepatitis B or C infection with active viral replication by PCR
  • Second malignancy not in complete remission for at least 1 year, excluding fully resected non-melanoma skin cancer or localized prostate cancer
  • Active cardiac disease including unstable angina, decompensated congestive heart failure, or severe uncontrolled conduction abnormalities
  • History of non-infectious pneumonitis requiring corticosteroids or current pneumonitis
  • Significant medical conditions, as assessed by the investigators and IND holder, that would substantially increase the risk benefit ratio of participating in the study
  • History of psychiatric illness or substance abuse likely to interfere with ability to comply with protocol requirements
  • Received a live or live attenuated vaccine within 30 days before the first dose of study intervention
  • Received any anti-cancer therapy within 2 weeks prior to the first dose of study intervention
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
8 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and pembrolizumab

    All subjects will have a baseline PET CT and excisional or core needle biopsy within 1 month of study enrollment and baseline electrocardiogram and laboratory studies within 1 week of study enrollment. All subjects will receive treatment with magrolimab and pembrolizumab according to the dosing schedule. Magrolimab IV given on cycle 1, 2 and 3. Pembrolizumab 200 mg IV given on Cycle 1, 2 and 3. Patients may continue to receive treatment on the study for a maximum of 24 months or until progression of disease, unacceptable toxicity, or bridge to stem cell transplantation (SCT).

    Drug: Magrolimab · Drug: Pembrolizumab · Procedure: PET/CT

Interventions

  • DrugMagrolimab

    45 mg/kg with dose escalation starting at 1 mg/kg IV Infusion

    Also known as: Hu5F9-G4, ONO-7913, anti-CD47 monoclonal antibody Hu5F9-G4

  • DrugPembrolizumab

    200 mg IV infusion

    Also known as: Keytruda, MK-3475, SCH 900475, anti-PD-1 monoclonal antibody MK-3475

  • ProcedurePET/CT

    Scan

    Also known as: Positron Emission Tomography - Computed Tomography (PET/CT)

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Response (CR)

    Each participant's response to treatment will be assessed per the Lugano criteria. The criteria are: * Complete Response (CR): Complete disappearance of all lesions, evidence, and effects of disease * Partial Response (PR): ≥50% decrease in SPD of the 6 largest lesions with no increase in the size of the other nodes; splenic / hepatic nodules regress ≥50%, and with no new sites of disease * Stable disease (SD): less than PR. * Progressive disease (PD): sum of the product of dimensions (SPD) of lesions increased ≥50% from smallest value The outcome will be reported as the number of participants with a CR after 4 and 8 cycles of treatment (4 and 8 months), and if CR is achieved anytime within 2 years ("overall").

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Magrolimab Related Adverse Events

    Magrolimab safety and tolerability will be assessed on the basis of magrolimab related adverse events occurring within 4 cycles of treatment (4 months). The outcome will be reported as the number of magrolimab related adverse events judged mild (Grade 1), moderate (Grade 2), severe (Grade 3), life threatening (Grade 4), or fatal (Grade 5), numbers without dispersion.

    Time frame: up to 4 months

  2. Overall Response (OR)

    Overall response (OR) is defined as the sum of participants who achieve a complete response (CR) plus the number of participants who achieve a partial response (PR). Treatment response will be assessed per the Lugano criteria (aka the Cheson criteria). The criteria are: * CR: Complete disappearance of all lesions, evidence, and effects of disease * PR: ≥50% decrease in SPD of the 6 largest lesions with no increase in the size of the other nodes; splenic / hepatic nodules regress ≥50%, and with no new sites of disease * Stable disease (SD): less than PR. * Progressive disease (PD): sum of the product of dimensions (SPD) of lesions increased ≥50% from smallest value The outcome will be reported as the number of participants with either a CR or a PR after 4 and 8 cycles of treatment (4 and 8 months). For participants who undergo a subsequent stem cell transplant, the value will be recorded as the time to transplant (censored).

    Time frame: up to 8 months

07

Results

Posted Jun 30, 2026
Limitations and caveats
This study was terminated early due to discontinuation of magrolimab.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Started8
Completed3
Not completed5

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Response (CR)

Each participant's response to treatment will be assessed per the Lugano criteria. The criteria are: * Complete Response (CR): Complete disappearance of all lesions, evidence, and effects of disease * Partial Response (PR): ≥50% decrease in SPD of the 6 largest lesions with no increase in the size of the other nodes; splenic / hepatic nodules regress ≥50%, and with no new sites of disease * Stable disease (SD): less than PR. * Progressive disease (PD): sum of the product of dimensions (SPD) of lesions increased ≥50% from smallest value The outcome will be reported as the number of participants with a CR after 4 and 8 cycles of treatment (4 and 8 months), and if CR is achieved anytime within 2 years ("overall").

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Response (CR)
ParticipantsMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
4 months3
8 months3
Overall (within 2 years)3
SecondaryMagrolimab Related Adverse Events

Magrolimab safety and tolerability will be assessed on the basis of magrolimab related adverse events occurring within 4 cycles of treatment (4 months). The outcome will be reported as the number of magrolimab related adverse events judged mild (Grade 1), moderate (Grade 2), severe (Grade 3), life threatening (Grade 4), or fatal (Grade 5), numbers without dispersion.

Time frame:
up to 4 months
Reported as:
Number · events
Magrolimab Related Adverse Events
eventsMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Grade 1 (Mild)70
Grade 2 (Moderate)20
Grade 3 (Severe)6
Grade 4 (Life-threatening)0
Grade 5 (Fatal)0
SecondaryOverall Response (OR)

Overall response (OR) is defined as the sum of participants who achieve a complete response (CR) plus the number of participants who achieve a partial response (PR). Treatment response will be assessed per the Lugano criteria (aka the Cheson criteria). The criteria are: * CR: Complete disappearance of all lesions, evidence, and effects of disease * PR: ≥50% decrease in SPD of the 6 largest lesions with no increase in the size of the other nodes; splenic / hepatic nodules regress ≥50%, and with no new sites of disease * Stable disease (SD): less than PR. * Progressive disease (PD): sum of the product of dimensions (SPD) of lesions increased ≥50% from smallest value The outcome will be reported as the number of participants with either a CR or a PR after 4 and 8 cycles of treatment (4 and 8 months). For participants who undergo a subsequent stem cell transplant, the value will be recorded as the time to transplant (censored).

Time frame:
up to 8 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response (OR)
ParticipantsMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
4 months6
8 months4

Adverse events

Collected over From first dose until 30 days after the last dose of the study treatment, up to a maximum of 19 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab1/8 (12.5%)2/8 (25%)8/8 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/8
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders1/8
AspirationRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/8
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 30
Most frequent other events
EventMagrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations7/8
HyperglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders7/8
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations7/8
Alanine Aminotransferase IncreasedInvestigations6/8
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders6/8
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations5/8
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders4/8
HeadacheNervous system disorders4/8
Infusion-related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications4/8
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/8

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years8
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Female4
Male4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino6
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White5
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Magrolimab (Hu5F9 G4) and Pembrolizumab
United States8
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • Stanford University
    Stanford, California 94304, United States
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Nov 21, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 30, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04788043
Lead sponsor
Ranjana Advani
Collaborators
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
Responsible party
Ranjana Advani (Saul Rosenberg Professor of Lymphoma, Stanford University) — Sponsor-investigator
First posted
Mar 9, 2021
Start date
Jun 21, 2022
Primary completion
Oct 11, 2024
Completion
Aug 29, 2025
Results posted
Jun 30, 2026
Last update
Jun 30, 2026

Study contacts

Ranjana H Advani, MD
principal investigator · Stanford Universiy

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion