CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT04584255Updated Sep 24, 2026Results posted

Niraparib + Dostarlimab In BRCA Mutated Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Niraparib and Dostarlimab in Stage I Breast Cancer, Stage II Breast Cancer and Stage III Breast Cancer, sponsored by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Active, not recruiting at 8 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-24.

Sponsored by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
66
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research study involves pre-operative therapy that is specifically targeted for breast cancer in individuals with BRCA and PALB2 mutations.

The names of the study drugs involved in this study are:

  • Niraparib (Zejula)
  • Dostarlimab
Read the detailed description

The research study procedures include screening for eligibility and study treatment including laboratory evaluations, two mandatory research biopsies, imaging assessments, and follow up visits.

Participants will receive treatment for 18 weeks. After 18 weeks, participants will be evaluated to determine if a candidate for surgery or if additional treatment outside of the study.

Participants with triple negative breast cancer will be randomized to one of two treatment arms.

  • Arm A: Niraparib with Dostarlimab for 18 weeks
  • Arm B: Niraparib alone for 3 weeks, followed by Niraparib with Dostarlimab for 15 weeks

Participants with estrogen receptor positive breast cancer will be placed directly into Arm C. There is no randomization for these participants.

- Arm C: Niraparib with dostarlimab for 18 weeks

It is expected that about 62 people will take part in this research study.

This research study is a Phase II clinical trial. Phase II clinical trials test the safety and effectiveness of an investigational drug or drug combination to learn whether the drug combination works in treating a specific disease. "Investigational" means that the study drugs, Niraparib and Dostarlimab, are being studied for use in this setting and the research doctors are trying to learn more about the drug combination-the side effects the combination may cause and if it is effective in treating this type of cancer.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has not yet approved either of the drugs in this study for your type of cancer. Niraparib has been approved by the FDA for treatment of advanced ovarian cancer in BRCA mutation carriers.

The use of Dostarlimab in this research study is experimental, which means that it is not approved by any regulatory auit is not approved by any regulatory authority, including the FDA, for treatment of breast cancer, or any other disease.

02

Conditions studied

  • Stage I Breast Cancer
  • Stage II Breast Cancer
  • Stage III Breast Cancer
  • Breast Cancer
  • HER2-negative Breast Cancer
  • Germline BRCA1 Gene Mutation
  • Germline BRCA2 Gene Mutation
  • Deleterious PALB2 Gene Mutation

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Invasive Breast Cancer Stage I
  • Invasive Breast Cancer Stage II
  • Invasive Breast Cancer Stage III
  • Breast Cancer
  • HER2-negative invasive tumor
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,543 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 66 is close to the median of 72 across 9,302 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is the lead sponsor of 813 studies on the registry; 124 are open to participants now.

Of its 113 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 77 (68%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participants must meet the following criteria on screening examination to be eligible to participate in the study. Laboratory assessments for eligibility must be completed within 14 days prior to the date of registration. Diagnostic imaging, such as MRIs and CT scans, must be performed within 28 days of the planned treatment start.
  • Participants must have histologically or cytologically confirmed invasive breast cancer Stage I to III with primary tumor size at least 1.0 cm defined by physical exam or imaging (whichever is larger). In the case of a multifocal, multicentric, or bilateral disease, the largest lesion must be ≥ 1.0 cm and designated as the "index" lesion for tumor evaluations. Patients with inflammatory breast carcinoma are not eligible.
  • Participants must have documentation of estrogen receptor (ER) and progesterone receptor (PR) testing by IHC according to local institutional guidelines in a CLIA-approved setting. Central confirmation of ER/PR status is not required. All tumors must be HER2 negative.

    • Arms A and B: Target lesion must be ER and PR negative (\<10% staining) by local review.
    • Arm C: Target lesion must be ER and/or PR positive (>10% staining) by local review.
  • Participants must have documented HER2-negative invasive tumor according to local institutional guidelines in a CLIA-approved setting. Central confirmation of HER2 status is not required. HER2 negative is defined as:

    • 0 or 1+ by IHC, OR
    • Lack of gene amplification with HER2/CEP17 ratio \< 2 by ISH, OR
    • Copy number \< 6 by ISH
  • Participants must have documented germline mutation in BRCA1, BRCA2 or PALB2 that is deleterious or suspected to be deleterious (known or predicted to be detrimental/lead to loss of function). Mutation must be identified through a CLIA-approved laboratory. Final determination of eligibility for any discordant results in pathogenicity will be made by the sponsor-investigator. A formal eligibility exception will not be required in these cases as long as approval by overall study PI is granted and documented.
  • Participants with multifocal, multicentric or bilateral disease are eligible if at least one lesion meets criteria for the study. In this circumstance, the investigator must determine which will represent the target lesion to be assessed for response. This should remain consistent throughout the study. The target lesion should be selected on the basis of its size (lesion with the longest diameter) and suitability for accurate repetitive measurements.
  • Participants with an eligible target lesion, and another small HER2+ tumor (for example, \< 6 mm), may be eligible for enrollment following discussion and agreement with the overall principal investigator. A formal eligibility exception will not be required in these cases as long as approval by the sponsor-investigator is granted and documented.
  • Female or male ≥ 18 years of age
  • Breast imaging should include imaging of the ipsilateral axilla. For subjects with a clinically positive axilla by physical examination or imaging, axillary tissue acquisition is not required. For patients with a clinically negative axilla by examination and imaging, tissue acquisition is not required. For equivocal imaging findings, tissue acquisition (a needle aspiration, core biopsy) is required. Sentinel Lymph Node (SLN) biopsy before neoadjuvant therapy is not allowed.
  • ECOG performance status of 0 or 1
  • Adequate organ and bone marrow function as defined below:

    • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1500/mm3
    • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm3
    • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dl
    • Total serum bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN), (≤2.0 in patients with documented Gilbert's Syndrome)
    • AST (SGOT) and ALT (SGPT) ≤ 2.5 × institutional ULN
    • Serum or plasma creatinine ≤ 1.5 × institutional ULN, OR calculated creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min using the Cockcroft-Gault equation
    • International normalized ratio (INR) OR prothrombin time (PT) ≤1.5× ULN. Participants who are receiving anticoagulant therapy are eligible as long as PT or partial thromboplastin (PTT) is within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants. Activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) must be ≤1.5× ULN unless patient is receiving anticoagulant therapy as long as PT or PTT is within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants
  • Premenopausal women must have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 7 days of treatment start. Women are considered non-childbearing (by other than medical reasons) if they:

    • are ≥45 years of age and without menses for >1 year
    • have been amenorrhoeic for \<2 years without history of a hysterectomy and oophorectomy with a follicle stimulating hormone value in the postmenopausal range upon screening evaluation
    • are post-hysterectomy, post-bilateral oophorectomy, or post-tubal ligation. Documented hysterectomy or oophorectomy must be confirmed with medical records of the actual procedure or confirmed by an ultrasound. Tubal ligation must be confirmed with medical records of the actual procedure, otherwise the patient must be willing to use an adequate barrier method throughout the study, starting with the screening visit through 180 days after the last dose of study treatment. See list of acceptable birth control methods. Information must be captured appropriately within the site's source documents. Note: Abstinence is acceptable if this is the established and preferred contraception for the patient.
  • Male and female participants of childbearing potential must agree to adhere to adequate contraception as defined in the protocol for the duration of study participation and for 150 days after the last dose of study treatment.
  • Female participants must agree to not breastfeed during the study or for 150 days after the last dose of study treatment.
  • Participants must agree to not donate blood during the study or for 90 days after the last dose of study treatment.
  • Ability to understand and willingness to sign an informed consent document.
  • Ability to swallow and retain oral medication.
  • Patients undergoing breast conserving therapy (ie lumpectomy) should not have any contraindications to radiation therapy.
  • Participants must be willing to undergo the mandatory research biopsy at baseline and after 3 weeks on study treatment. Participants who undergo an attempted research biopsy procedure for the purpose of this protocol and in whom inadequate tissue is obtained are not required to undergo a repeat biopsy in order to continue on the protocol.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Stage IV breast cancer.
  • Concurrent therapy with any other investigational product
  • Prior treatment for the current breast cancer, including prior chemotherapy, immune therapy, hormonal therapy, radiation, or investigational therapy for this diagnosis.
  • Excisional biopsy of the primary tumor and/or excision of axillary lymph nodes, including SLNB, prior to study treatment.
  • Participants with a history of malignancy are ineligible except in the following circumstances:

    • Individuals with a history of invasive breast cancer are not eligible unless they have been disease-free for a minimum of three years.
    • Individuals with a malignancy history other than invasive breast cancer are eligible if they have no active malignancy and are deemed by the investigator to be at low risk for recurrence of that malignancy.
    • Individuals with the following cancer history are eligible: adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancers, curatively treated in situ cancer of the cervix, ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) of the breast, stage 1 grade 1 endometrial carcinoma.
    • Other exceptions may exist following agreement with the sponsor-investigator
  • Patients with a diagnosis of immunodeficiency, or currently receiving systemic steroid therapy or any other form of immunosuppressive within 7 days prior to the first dose of study treatment. Use of local corticosteroid injections (e.g. intraarticular injections), inhaled, intranasal, ophthalmic, and topical corticosteroids, and subjects requiring corticosteroid pre-medication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g. CT scan pre-medication) are allowed.
  • Patients with autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment within the past 2 years (i.e. with use of disease-modifying agents, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs). Replacement therapy (e.g. thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency, etc.) is not considered a form of systemic treatment.
  • Patients with a history of interstitial lung disease or pneumonitis.
  • Patients who have received a live vaccine within 2 weeks prior to the start of study treatment.
  • Patients who have undergone any major surgery within 3 weeks prior to study entry, patients must have recovered to baseline from any effects of any major surgery.
  • Patients with concurrent HIV infection are eligible provided they meet the following criteria:

    • CD4+ T-cell (CD4+) counts ≥ 350 cells/uL
    • No history of AIDS-defining opportunistic infection within 12 months prior to enrollment
    • Any medication used in an antiretroviral therapy (ART) regimen must have no known interaction with the study agents
  • Patients with active or chronic Hepatitis B or C are eligible provided they meet the liver function laboratory criteria described in 3.1.10 and cannot be on any medication with a known interaction with the study agents
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, recent (within 90 days) myocardial infarction, uncontrolled major seizure disorder, unstable spinal cord compression, superior vena cava syndrome or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements.
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to niraparib, dostarlimab, or their excipients.
  • Transfusion (platelets or red blood cells) ≤ 4 weeks prior to initiating protocol therapy.
  • Known history of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or or acute myeloid leukemia (AML).
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
66 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm A Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC)

    Participants will be randomized 1:1 to treatment with the combination (Arm A) * Niraparib-Daily beginning with week 1, day 1 * Dostarlimab-Once every three weeks beginning with week 1, day 1

    Drug: Niraparib · Drug: Dostarlimab

  • Experimental
    Arm B TNBC

    Participants will be randomized 1:1 to treatment with the combination (Arm B) * 3-week lead-in of niraparib monotherapy followed by treatment with the combination * Niraparib Daily beginning with week 1, day 1 * Dostarlimab Once every three weeks beginning with week 4, day 1

    Drug: Niraparib · Drug: Dostarlimab

  • Experimental
    Arm C ER+/HER2-

    exploratory cohort of estrogen receptor (ER) positive HER2-negative participants will be enrolled to Arm C. * Niraparib Daily beginning with week 1, day 1 * Dostarlimab Once every three weeks beginning with week 1, day 1

    Drug: Niraparib · Drug: Dostarlimab

Interventions

  • DrugNiraparib

    Predetermined dosage PO Daily

    Also known as: Zejula

  • DrugDostarlimab

    Predetermined Dosage, IV,q3 weeks

    Also known as: TSR042

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Tumor-infiltrating Lymphocytes (TILs)

    Change in TILs score from baseline to cycle 2 day 1; the score is estimated by a pathologist according to the International Immuno-Oncology Biomarker Working Group on Breast Cancer guidelines, as the percentage (0-100) of the tumor's stromal area occupied by mononuclear immune cells on a stained tissue slide; higher scores generally correlate with improved survival outcomes and better responses to chemotherapy

    Time frame: baseline to 21 days (cycle 2 day 1)

  2. Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate in TNBC

    The number and percentage of participants achieving pCR without additional neoadjuvant therapy; the residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively

    Time frame: 18 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. pCR Rate in ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer

    The number and percentage of participants achieving pCR without additional neoadjuvant therapy; the residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively

    Time frame: 18 weeks

  2. Association Between Change in TILs Score and pCR

    The association between change in TILs score (%) from baseline to cycle 2 day 1 (18 weeks) and pCR status (pCR vs. no pCR), evaluated using a two-sample Wilcoxon rank sum test; the odds ratio for a fixed change in TILs estimated using simple logistic regression; TILs score was measured as described in Outcome Measure 1, and because the TILs score reflects a percentage, the change was calculated as the raw difference in TILs score between time points; pCR was measured as described in Outcome Measure 2

    Time frame: baseline to 18 weeks

  3. Rate of Residual Cancer Burden (RCB)-0/1 Response

    The residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively; an RCB score of 0 or I is considered good response; this Outcome Measure reports the percentage of patients achieving an RCB score of 0 or I vs. not

    Time frame: 18 Weeks

  4. Treatment-related Adverse Events

    Number and percentage of patients with treatment-related, grade 2 or higher adverse events per NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0

    Time frame: baseline up to 31 weeks

07

Results

Posted Sep 24, 2026

Participant flow

Patients were recruited from 8 institutions between January 2021 and February 2025

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
Started232419
Completed222419
Not completed100
Withdrew: Ineligible to start treatment100

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Tumor-infiltrating Lymphocytes (TILs)

Change in TILs score from baseline to cycle 2 day 1; the score is estimated by a pathologist according to the International Immuno-Oncology Biomarker Working Group on Breast Cancer guidelines, as the percentage (0-100) of the tumor's stromal area occupied by mononuclear immune cells on a stained tissue slide; higher scores generally correlate with improved survival outcomes and better responses to chemotherapy

Time frame:
baseline to 21 days (cycle 2 day 1)
Reported as:
Median · TILs score (%)
Change in Tumor-infiltrating Lymphocytes (TILs)
TILs score (%)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
TILs score (%) at baseline5 ± 19.215 ± 17.95 (2 to 17.5)
TILs score (%) at Cycle 2 Day 130 ± 19.645 ± 29.012.5 (6.25 to 27.5)
Statistical analysis
  • Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon signed-rank · p = 0.009 · Median difference (net): 10
  • Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon signed-rank · p = 0.0003 · Median difference (net): 20
  • Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon signed-rank · p = 0.057 · Median difference (net): 8.4
PrimaryPathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate in TNBC

The number and percentage of participants achieving pCR without additional neoadjuvant therapy; the residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively

Time frame:
18 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate in TNBC
ParticipantsTriple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC)
Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate in TNBC23
Statistical analysis
  • Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) · 2-stage exact binomial · Pcr rate: 50 · 90% CI 37.1 to 62.9
SecondarypCR Rate in ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer

The number and percentage of participants achieving pCR without additional neoadjuvant therapy; the residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively

Time frame:
18 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
pCR Rate in ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer
ParticipantsER+/HER2- Breast Cancer
pCR Rate in ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer3
Statistical analysis
  • ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer · Pcr rate: 15.8 · 90% CI 4.4 to 35.9
SecondaryAssociation Between Change in TILs Score and pCR

The association between change in TILs score (%) from baseline to cycle 2 day 1 (18 weeks) and pCR status (pCR vs. no pCR), evaluated using a two-sample Wilcoxon rank sum test; the odds ratio for a fixed change in TILs estimated using simple logistic regression; TILs score was measured as described in Outcome Measure 1, and because the TILs score reflects a percentage, the change was calculated as the raw difference in TILs score between time points; pCR was measured as described in Outcome Measure 2

Time frame:
baseline to 18 weeks
Reported as:
Median · Change in TILs percentage
Association Between Change in TILs Score and pCR
Change in TILs percentageArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
pCR10 (0 to 10)17.5 (8.75 to 37.5)60 (60 to 60)
No pCR7 (0 to 29)15 (4 to 28.75)4.5 (-1.25 to 11.5)
Statistical analysis
  • Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney) · p = 0.82 · Odds ratio (or): 0.98 · 95% CI 0.92 to 1.05
  • Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney) · p = 0.55 · Odds ratio (or): 1.01 · 95% CI 0.98 to 1.05
  • Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer) · Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney) · p = 0.14
SecondaryRate of Residual Cancer Burden (RCB)-0/1 Response

The residual cancer burden (RCB) method as described by Symmans et al. was used to assess response, with increasing RCB score associated with greater burden of residual disease after surgery; RCB-0 reflects pCR (no residual disease), whereas RCB-I, RCB-II, and RCB-III reflect minimal, moderate, and extensive residual disease, respectively; an RCB score of 0 or I is considered good response; this Outcome Measure reports the percentage of patients achieving an RCB score of 0 or I vs. not

Time frame:
18 Weeks
Reported as:
Number · percentage of patients
Rate of Residual Cancer Burden (RCB)-0/1 Response
percentage of patientsArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
Rate of Residual Cancer Burden (RCB)-0/1 Response52.4 (32.8 to 71.4)66.7 (47.9 to 82.2)42.1 (23.0 to 63.1)
SecondaryTreatment-related Adverse Events

Number and percentage of patients with treatment-related, grade 2 or higher adverse events per NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0

Time frame:
baseline up to 31 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Treatment-related Adverse Events
ParticipantsArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
Treatment-related Adverse Events191914

Adverse events

Collected over up to 31 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)0/22 (0%)1/22 (4.5%)21/22 (95.5%)
Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)0/24 (0%)0/24 (0%)23/24 (95.8%)
Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)0/19 (0%)1/19 (5.3%)15/19 (78.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations1/220/241/19
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations1/220/240/19
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 54
Most frequent other events
EventArm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)
Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders3/224/247/19
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders5/227/241/19
FatigueGeneral disorders and administration site conditions6/226/242/19
HypothyroidismEndocrine disorders5/224/240/19
Gastroesophageal reflux diseaseGastrointestinal disorders5/220/241/19
AnxietyPsychiatric disorders5/224/243/19
HypertensionVascular disorders5/223/243/19
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders3/222/244/19
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders3/223/244/19
HeadacheNervous system disorders3/224/244/19

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Median38.3 (24.8 to 72.8)39.7 (28.0 to 63.5)41.1 (28.8 to 61.9)39.5 (24.8 to 72.8)
Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Age category — <50 years16161244
Age category — >=50 years68721
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Female22241965
Male0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0202
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American2147
White19201554
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported1102
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Hispanic or Latino2204
Not Hispanic or Latino18221959
Unknown or Not Reported2002
Cancer stage at primary diagnosis
Cancer stage at primary diagnosis(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Stage I: tumor that is <=2 cm and has not spread outside the breast98724
Stage IIA: tumor <=2 cm and has spread to 1-3 axillary lymph nodes, or >2-5 cm w/ no spread to nodes36514
Stage IIB: tumor >2-5 cm and had spread to 1-3 axillary lymph nodes, or >5 cm w/ no spread to nodes66416
Stage IIIA: tumor any size w/ spread to 4-9 axillary/mammary nodes, or >5 cm and spread to 1-3 nodes2035
Stage IIIB: tumor has grown into the chest wall or the skin of the breast, and spread to <=9 nodes2103
Stage IIIC: tumor any size, and has spread to >=10 nodes (axillary, mammary, or near collarbone)0303
Tumor grade at primary diagnosis
Tumor grade at primary diagnosis(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
Grade I - Well-differentiated; cells look similar to normal breast tissue, grow slowly0011
Grade II - Moderately differentiated; cells look somewhat abnormal, and grow faster than Grade I421117
Grade III - Poorly differentiated; cells look very different from normal, grow quickly, and spread1822747
Mutation status
Mutation status(Participants)Arm A (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm B (Triple Negative Breast Cancer)Arm C (ER+/HER2- Breast Cancer)Total
BRCA11919543
BRCA2351422
08

Study locations

8 sites
  • Yale University Cancer Center
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520, United States
  • Johns Hopkins University
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • University of Washington / Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Aug 29, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — The Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center encourages and supports the responsible and ethical sharing of data from clinical trials. De-identified participant data from the final research dataset used in the published manuscript may only be shared under the terms of a Data Use Agreement. Requests may be directed to Sponsor Investigator or designee. The protocol and statistical analysis plan will be made available on Clinicaltrials.gov only as required by federal regulation or as a condition of awards and agreements supporting the research.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 24, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04584255
Lead sponsor
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Collaborators
Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium, Johns Hopkins University, GlaxoSmithKline
Responsible party
Erica Mayer, MD, MPH (Principal Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 12, 2020
Start date
Jan 21, 2021
Primary completion
Jul 1, 2025
Completion
Jul 17, 2029 (estimated)
Results posted
Sep 24, 2026
Last update
Sep 24, 2026

Study contacts

Erica L. Mayer, MD, MPH
principal investigator · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Jun 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion