ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04565145KavaPKUpdated Aug 13, 2024Results posted

Biomarker Changes and Anxiolytic Effects-Phase 2

A Phase 2 interventional study of Kava Dietary Supplement and Placebo in Pharmacokinetics, sponsored by University of Florida. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 50 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-08-13.

Sponsored by University of Florida · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
39
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 50 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This study will examine the utility of plasma and urinary based biomarkers for the anxiolytic properties of kava. The investigators will conduct a one week, double blind, randomized placebo controlled trial of kava, dosed at three 75 mg capsules per day, vs placebo, in adults with generalized anxiety disorder.

Read the detailed description

This study will examine the utility of plasma and urinary based biomarkers for the anxiolytic properties of kava, a natural dietary supplement. The investigators will conduct a one week, double blind, randomized placebo controlled trial of kava, dosed at three 75 mg capsules per day, vs placebo, in adults with generalized anxiety disorder. Clinical measures of anxiety, blood, and urine will be obtained. Biomarkers of interest include PRKACA, cortisol, urinary TCE, and NA5HT. Participants will be assessed pre- and post-treatment. The participants will also be followed for 12 weeks after the end of treatment to identify any potential rare adverse events, particularly liver toxicity, that appear in a delayed fashion.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pharmacokinetics

Keywords

  • kava
  • dietary supplement
  • anxiety
  • generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)
03

In context

Anxiety Disorders

5,063 studies on the registry are indexed under Anxiety Disorders; 1,408 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 39 is below the median of 80 across 4,339 interventional studies indexed under Anxiety Disorders.

Browse Anxiety Disorders studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Florida is the lead sponsor of 1,285 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.

Of its 177 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 141 (80%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 50 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Adults ages 18-50 who meet Diagnostic Statistical Manual (DSM)-5 criteria for GAD as the primary psychiatric diagnosis
  • No more than one failed therapeutic trial of an FDA approved medication for the treatment of GAD
  • Score of>14 on the Hamilton Anxiety Rating Scale at both screening and baseline
  • At least a 4 (moderate) on the Clinical Global Impressions Severity Scale at both screening and baseline
  • Females of potential childbearing status must use adequate contraceptive precautions.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Unwilling/unable/unsafe to stop psychotropic medications (if on any) for the duration of the study
  • Inability to refrain from acetaminophen, alcohol or other potentially hepatotoxic substances
  • History of liver disease or current liver disease or clinically significant elevation in serum liver chemistries
  • Unstable medical or neurological condition
  • Positive urine drug screen for substances of abuse
  • Active substance abuse/dependence
  • Lifetime history of a psychotic disorder, bipolar disorder, PTSD or Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Any significant risk for self-harm or suicidality as determined by the principal investigator or suicide attempt within the last 6 months
  • Psychotherapy newly instituted during the 6 weeks leading up to enrollment in the study. Subjects established in psychotherapy without change during the course of the study may participate
  • Montgomery-Asberg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS) > 17 (moderate or severe depressive symptoms)
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
39 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Kava Pharmacokinetics Group

    75 mg kava dietary supplement capsules per day for one week.

    Drug: Kava Dietary Supplement

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Three placebo capsule per day for one week

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugKava Dietary Supplement

    Participants will be given three 75mg kava capsules per day for one week

    Also known as: Flavokavain AB-free kava

  • DrugPlacebo

    Participants will be given three placebo capsules per day for one week

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Mean PRKACA Change

    The change in mean PRKACA value from pre to post-treatment

    Time frame: From Baseline (pre dose) to 1 week after taking the first dose (post dose)

07

Results

Posted Aug 13, 2024

Participant flow

Individuals were recruited from flyers that were distributed in and around the Gainesville area and from the University of Florida (UF) Psychiatry and Psychology clinics.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneKava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlacebo
Started1010
Completed99
Not completed11
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject11

Outcome measures

PrimaryMean PRKACA Change

The change in mean PRKACA value from pre to post-treatment

Time frame:
From Baseline (pre dose) to 1 week after taking the first dose (post dose)
Reported as:
Mean · relative fluorescence units
Mean PRKACA Change
relative fluorescence unitsKava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlacebo
Pre dose PRKACA7224.56 ± 3526.225348.93 ± 2027.02
Post dose PRKACA6307.21 ± 5887.366495.7 ± 3757.65

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year and 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Kava Pharmacokinetics Group0/10 (0%)0/10 (0%)4/10 (40%)
Placebo0/10 (0%)0/10 (0%)3/10 (30%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventKava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlacebo
HeadacheGeneral disorders2/101/10
FatigueGeneral disorders2/100/10
DizzinessGeneral disorders1/101/10
Appetite lossGeneral disorders1/101/10
Chest tightnessGeneral disorders0/101/10
Brain fogGeneral disorders0/101/10
Vivid dreamsGeneral disorders0/101/10

Baseline characteristics

Participants were enrolled and analyzed as described in the protocol

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years101020
>=65 years000
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
Median26 (19 to 50)23 (18 to 37)25 (18 to 50)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
Female9716
Male134
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino134
Not Hispanic or Latino9716
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian123
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White9716
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Kava Pharmacokinetics GroupPlaceboTotal
United States101020
08

Study locations

1 site
  • UF CTSI Clinical Research Center
    Gainesville, Florida 32610, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 4, 2022
  • Informed consent form · Oct 19, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Apr 2021 to primary completion in Jul 2023, 26 months.

Results were first posted in Aug 2024, 1 year 1 month after primary completion.

Of 65 non-industry phase 2 interventional studies under Anxiety Disorders, half reached primary completion within 43 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 18 and three quarters within 53. This study's 26 months is below that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 81 studies reached it within 34 months; a quarter within 16 and three quarters within 53.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Sep 14, 2020
First posted
Sep 25, 2020
StartActual
Apr 5, 2021
Primary completionActual
Jul 1, 2023
CompletionActual
Jul 1, 2023
Results first posted
Aug 13, 2024
Last update
Aug 13, 2024
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 13, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04565145
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 25, 2020
Start date
Apr 5, 2021
Primary completion
Jul 1, 2023
Completion
Jul 1, 2023
Results posted
Aug 13, 2024
Last update
Aug 13, 2024

Study contacts

Carol Mathews, MD
principal investigator · University of Florida

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion