ClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04541628Updated Sep 4, 2024Results posted

Safety & Efficacy of Encapsulated Allogeneic FVIII Cell Therapy in Haemophilia A

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of SIG-001 in Hemophilia A, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Terminated at 6 sites in 2 countries. Open to male participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-09-04.

Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
SIG-001 programme terminated
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Male
01

Study summary

SIG-001-121 is a first-in-human (FIH), phase 1/2, multi-centre, open-label, dose escalation study to assess the safety, tolerability, and preliminary efficacy of SIG-001 in adults with severe or moderately severe haemophilia A without inhibitors. Up to three dose cohorts (3 patients each) are planned. Cohort expansions (up to 3 additional patients) may be triggered to collect additional information about safety and efficacy.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hemophilia A

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Haemophilia A
  • Cell therapy
  • Gene therapy
03

In context

Hemophilia A

885 studies on the registry are indexed under Hemophilia A; 139 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3 is below the median of 27 across 523 interventional studies indexed under Hemophilia A.

Browse Hemophilia A studies →

Lead sponsor

Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,095 studies on the registry; 142 are open to participants now.

Of its 535 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 356 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Male
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Males aged 18 years or older
  • Diagnosis of Haemophilia A defined as ≤2% FVIII activity
  • Greater than 150 exposure days to treatment with FVIII products
  • Use of reliable barrier contraception if applicable
  • Normal levels of von Willebrand factor (VWF) antigen
  • Able and willing to provide informed consent
  • Willing to withdraw from FVIII prophylaxis during specified periods in the study

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Body mass index (BMI) ≥35
  • Current FVIII inhibitors (>0.6 Nijmegen Bethesda Units/mL) or prior Immune Tolerance Induction (ITI)
  • History of allergic reaction or anaphylaxis to recombinant FVIII products or SIG-001 components
  • Evidence of any bleeding disorder in addition to haemophilia A
  • Abnormal laboratory values as defined in the protocol
  • Active infection with Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C virus or currently managed with antiviral medications for Hepatitis B or C
  • Uncontrolled HIV infection
  • Active alcoholism or drug addiction during the 12 months before the screening visit
  • Active malignancy or history of malignancy in the 5 years prior to study entry
  • Participation in another investigational medicine or device study
  • Prior administration of a gene therapy product
  • Significant underlying disease or comorbidities that are a contraindication for general anaesthesia or laparoscopic procedure
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
3 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    SIG-001

    Participants received a single dose of 50 milliliter (mL), 78.5 mL and 133 mL of SIG-001 spheres \[an encapsulated allogeneic cell therapy genetically modified with a non-viral vector to produce B-Domain Deleted Human Factor VIII (BDD-hFVIII) producing Spheres\] administered laparoscopically into the peritoneal cavity.

    Combination Product: SIG-001

Interventions

  • Combination productSIG-001

    Laparoscopic administration of SIG-001 spheres, an encapsulated allogeneic cell therapy genetically modified with a non-viral vector to produce BDD-hFVIII.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    Number of Participants with at least one TEAEs are reported. A summary of other nonserious adverse events (AEs), and all serious adverse events (SAE's), regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events section.

    Time frame: Baseline Up to 115 Weeks

  2. Number of Participants With Serious Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    Number of Participants with at least one serious TEAEs are reported. A summary of other nonserious AEs, and all SAE's, regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events section.

    Time frame: Baseline Up to 115 Weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Inhibitor Titer Values Assessed by Nijmegen Bethesda Assay

    Development of FVIII inhibitors is measured using the Nijmegen Bethesda inhibitor assay. The assay measures inhibitors to BDD-FVIII and also other forms of FVIII in the plasma, although rFVIII-BDD was used as a calibrator.

    Time frame: Baseline Up to 115 Weeks

  2. Change From Baseline in FVIII Activity Levels Assessed by One-stage and Chromogenic Assays

    The change from baseline in FVIII activity, as measured by one-stage and chromogenic assays) is summarized.

    Time frame: Baseline Up to 115 Weeks

  3. Number of Bleeding Events [Annualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)] for All Bleeds Following SIG-001 Administration

    The annualized number of bleeds per participant (annualized bleeding rate) is calculated as the number of bleeding events divided by length of time on study product follow-up, in years. The duration of assessment for this outcome measure was two years and three months, and Year 3 includes only the three-month part of this study period.

    Time frame: Time Frame: Pre-infusion (bleeding events in 12 months prior to sphere placement), 1 year, 2 year and 3-year post-infusion (post sphere placement) from SIG-001 administration annualized up to 115 Weeks.

  4. Total Number of Replacement FVIII Therapies

    Number of doses after prophylaxis discontinued is reported.

    Time frame: Baseline Up to 115 weeks

07

Results

Posted Sep 4, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Started111
Received at least one dose of study drug111
Completed000
Not completed111
Withdrew: Study terminated111

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Number of Participants with at least one TEAEs are reported. A summary of other nonserious adverse events (AEs), and all serious adverse events (SAE's), regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events section.

Time frame:
Baseline Up to 115 Weeks
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)111
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Serious Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Number of Participants with at least one serious TEAEs are reported. A summary of other nonserious AEs, and all SAE's, regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events section.

Time frame:
Baseline Up to 115 Weeks
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants With Serious Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
participantsCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Number of Participants With Serious Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)001
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Titer Values Assessed by Nijmegen Bethesda Assay

Development of FVIII inhibitors is measured using the Nijmegen Bethesda inhibitor assay. The assay measures inhibitors to BDD-FVIII and also other forms of FVIII in the plasma, although rFVIII-BDD was used as a calibrator.

Time frame:
Baseline Up to 115 Weeks
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants With Inhibitor Titer Values Assessed by Nijmegen Bethesda Assay
participantsCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Number of Participants With Inhibitor Titer Values Assessed by Nijmegen Bethesda Assay001
SecondaryChange From Baseline in FVIII Activity Levels Assessed by One-stage and Chromogenic Assays

The change from baseline in FVIII activity, as measured by one-stage and chromogenic assays) is summarized.

Time frame:
Baseline Up to 115 Weeks
Reported as:
Mean · International Unit/deciliter (IU/dL)
Change From Baseline in FVIII Activity Levels Assessed by One-stage and Chromogenic Assays
International Unit/deciliter (IU/dL)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Chromogenic Assay13.03 ± NA223.78 ± NA-122.71 ± NA
One-stage15.46 ± NA118.28 ± NA189.63 ± NA
SecondaryNumber of Bleeding Events [Annualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)] for All Bleeds Following SIG-001 Administration

The annualized number of bleeds per participant (annualized bleeding rate) is calculated as the number of bleeding events divided by length of time on study product follow-up, in years. The duration of assessment for this outcome measure was two years and three months, and Year 3 includes only the three-month part of this study period.

Time frame:
Time Frame: Pre-infusion (bleeding events in 12 months prior to sphere placement), 1 year, 2 year and 3-year post-infusion (post sphere placement) from SIG-001 administration annualized up to 115 Weeks.
Reported as:
Number · Bleeding events per year
Number of Bleeding Events [Annualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)] for All Bleeds Following SIG-001 Administration
Bleeding events per yearCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Pre-infusion404
Year 17110
Year 2500
Year 300NA
SecondaryTotal Number of Replacement FVIII Therapies

Number of doses after prophylaxis discontinued is reported.

Time frame:
Baseline Up to 115 weeks
Reported as:
Number · Number of doses
Total Number of Replacement FVIII Therapies
Number of dosesCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Total Number of Replacement FVIII Therapies4013271558

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline Up to 115 Weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 10/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)
Cohort 20/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)
Cohort 30/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Factor viii inhibitionBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/10/11/1
Drug ineffectiveGeneral disorders0/10/11/1
Anti factor viii antibody increasedInvestigations0/10/11/1
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 35
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3
Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders1/11/11/1
Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders1/10/10/1
Abdominal tendernessGastrointestinal disorders0/11/10/1
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders1/11/10/1
Faeces hardGastrointestinal disorders0/11/10/1
HaemorrhoidsGastrointestinal disorders0/11/10/1
Axillary painGeneral disorders0/11/10/1
Non-cardiac chest painGeneral disorders0/11/10/1
Peripheral swellingGeneral disorders0/10/11/1
Vaccination site painGeneral disorders0/11/10/1

Baseline characteristics

All participants who received at least one dose of study drug.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3Total
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years1113
>=65 years0000
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3Total
Female0000
Male1113
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3Total
Hispanic or Latino0000
Not Hispanic or Latino1113
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0000
White1113
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Cohort 3Total
United States0011
United Kingdom1102
08

Study locations

6 sites
  • Clinical Study Site
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46260, United States
  • Clinical Study Site
    Boston, Massachusetts 02116, United States
  • Clinical Study Site
    Seattle, Washington 98104, United States
  • Clinical Study Site
    London, United Kingdom
  • Clinical Study Site
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Clinical Study Site
    Southampton, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Mar 4, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reached

Ran from Sep 2020 to primary completion in Oct 2022, 25 months.

Results were first posted in Sep 2024, 1 year 10 months after primary completion.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Aug 21, 2020
First posted
Sep 9, 2020
StartActual
Sep 28, 2020
Primary completionActual
Oct 28, 2022
CompletionActual
Jan 9, 2023
Results first posted
Sep 4, 2024
Last update
Sep 4, 2024
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 4, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04541628
Collaborators
Sigilon Therapeutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 9, 2020
Start date
Sep 28, 2020
Primary completion
Oct 28, 2022
Completion
Jan 9, 2023
Results posted
Sep 4, 2024
Last update
Sep 4, 2024

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Aug 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion