A Phase 3 interventional study of Polatuzumab Vedotin and Bendamustine in Diffuse, Large B-Cell, Lymphoma, sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche. Terminated at 10 sites in China. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-03-03.
Sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
A study to evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Polatuzumab Vedotin in combination with BR (Bendamustine and Rituximab) compared with BR alone in Chinese participants with R/R DLBCL. Approximately 42 Chinese participants will be randomised to treatment arms in a 2:1 ratio. Randomisation will be conducted with the aid of an interactive web-based response system (IxRS).
5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 42 is close to the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.
Browse Lymphoma studies →Hoffmann-La Roche is the lead sponsor of 2,061 studies on the registry; 85 are open to participants now.
Of its 319 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 239 (75%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Drug: Polatuzumab Vedotin · Drug: Bendamustine · Drug: Rituximab
Drug: Bendamustine · Drug: Rituximab · Drug: Placebo
Participants will receive a total of 6 cycles (a cycle being 21 days) of 1.8mg/kg Polatuzumab Vedotin (IV infusion) on Day 2 of Cycle 1 and Day 1 of Cycles 2-6.
Participants will receive a total of 6 cycles (a cycle being 21 days) of 90 mg/m2 Bendamustine (IV infusion) on Days 2 and 3 of Cycle 1 and Days 1 and 2 of Cycles 2-6.
Participants will receive a total of 6 cycles (a cycle being 21 days) of 375 mg/m2 Rituximab (IV infusion) on Day 1 of each cycle.
Participants will receive a total of 6 cycles (a cycle being 21 days) of Placebo (IV infusion) on Day 2 of Cycle 1 and Day 1 of Cycles 2-6.
Percentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) at the End of Treatment (EOT) Assessment Based on Positron Emission Tomography-Computed Tomography (PET-CT) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)
CR was determined by IRC according to the Lugano Response Criteria (LRC) for Malignant Lymphoma. Per LRC , CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete metabolic response (MR) in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass, on 5-point scale (5PS), where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-avid disease in bone marrow. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With CR at the EOT Assessment Based on PET-CT as Assessed by Investigator
CR was determined by investigator according to the LRC for Malignant Lymphoma. Per LRC, CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass, on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment. Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
Time frame: Up to approximately to 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR) at EOT Based on PET-CT as Assessed by Investigator
OR was defined as CR or partial response (PR) at the end of treatment assessment based on PET-CT, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC. CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PR based on PET-CT was defined as partial MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 4 or 5 with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size; no new lesions and residual uptake higher than uptake in normal bone marrow but reduced compared with baseline. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Based on PET-CT as Assessed by IRC
OR was defined as CR or PR at the end of treatment assessment based on PET-CT, as determined by the IRC according to the LRC. CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PR per PET-CT was defined as partial MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 4 or 5 with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size; no new lesions and residual uptake higher than uptake in normal marrow but reduced compared with baseline. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1(1 cycle= 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With CR at EOT Based on Computed Tomography (CT) as Assessed by Investigator
CR was determined by the investigator according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 centimeters (cm) in longest transverse diameter (LDi) and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, immunohistochemistry (IHC) negative. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With CR at EOT Based on CT as Assessed by IRC
CR was determined by the IRC according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, IHC negative. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Assessment Based on CT as Assessed by Investigator
OR was defined as CR or PR, at the EOT assessment based on CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, IHC negative. Per LRC, PR was defined as ≥ 50% decrease in sum of the product of the perpendicular diameters (SPD) of up to 6 target nodes and extranodal sites; non-measured lesion is absent/normal, regressed, but no increase; spleen must have regressed by \>50 % in length beyond normal; and no new lesions. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment. Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Assessment Based on CT as Assessed by IRC
OR was defined as percentage of participants with CR or PR, at EOT assessment based on CT only, as determined by IRC according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi. PR is ≥ 50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes and extranodal sites. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 23 weeks
Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) Based on PET-CT or CT Only as Assessed by Investigator
BOR=CR/PR per PET-CT/CT by investigator per LRC.CR perPET-CT=complete MR in lymph nodes \& extralymphatic sites(ELS),score=1,2,3 with/without residual mass on5PS,1=no uptake(UT)above background;2=UT≤mediastinum;3=UT\>mediastinum but ≤liver;4=UT moderately\>liver;5=UT markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions \& FDG-avid disease absent in bone marrow.CR perCT=complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressedto≤1.5 cm in LDi\&no ELS of disease;absence of non-measured lesion;organ enlargement regressed to normal;no new lesions;bone marrow morphology=normal,if indeterminate,IHC negative.PR per PET-CT=partial MR in lymph nodes\&ELS,score=4or5,reduced UT than baseline(BL)\&residual masses=any size;no new lesions\&residual UT \>UT in normal marrow,reduced than BL.PR per CT by LCR=≥50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes \& extranodal sites;non-measured lesion=absent/normal,regressed,no increase;spleen=regressed by\>50%in length beyond normal;no new lesions.
Time frame: Up to every 6 months after end of treatment assessment until disease progression, study withdrawal, end of study, or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 82 weeks)
Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) Based on PET-CT or CT Only as Assessed by IRC
BOR=CR/PR per PET-CT/CT by IRC per LRC. CR per PET-CT=complete MR in lymph nodes\& ELS, score=1, 2,3 with/without residual mass on 5PS, 1=no UT above background; 2=UT≤mediastinum; 3=UT\>mediastinum but ≤liver; 4=UT moderately\>liver; 5=UT markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions \& FDG-avid disease absent in bone marrow.CR per CT=complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressed to≤1.5 cm in LDi and no ELS of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressed to normal; no new lesions; bone marrow morphology=normal, if indeterminate, IHC negative. PR per PET-CT=partial MR in lymph nodes \& ELS, score =4 or 5,reduced UT than baseline(BL)\&residual masses=any size; no new lesions \&residual UT \>UT in normal marrow, reduced than BL.PR per CT by LCR=≥50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes\& extranodal sites; non-measured lesion=absent/normal, regressed, no increase; spleen=regressed by\>50% in length beyond normal; no new lesions.
Time frame: Up to every 6 months after end of treatment assessment until disease progression, study withdrawal, end of study, or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 82 weeks)
Duration Of Response (DOR) Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by Investigator
DOR was defined as time from first occurrence of a documented objective response to disease progression, relapse or death from any cause, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC
Time frame: Up to every 6 months after end of treatment assessment until disease progression, study withdrawal, end of study, or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 82 weeks)
DOR Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by IRC
DOR was defined as time from first occurrence of a documented objective response to disease progression, relapse or death from any cause, as determined by IRC according to the LRC.
Time frame: Up to every 6 months after end of treatment assessment until disease progression, study withdrawal, end of study, or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 82 weeks)
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by Investigator
PFS was defined as the period from date of randomization until the date of disease progression, relapse, or death from any cause based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82 weeks
PFS Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by IRC
PFS was defined as the period from date of randomization until the date of disease progression, relapse, or death from any cause based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by IRC according to the LRC.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82 weeks
Event-Free Survival (EFS) Based on PET-CT or CT Assessed by Investigator
EFS was defined as the time from date of randomization to any treatment failure including disease progression, relapse, initiation of new anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT), or death based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82 weeks
Overall Survival (OS)
OS was defined as the time from date of randomization until the date of death from any cause.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82 weeks
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product, any new disease or exacerbation of an existing disease (a worsening in the character, frequency, or severity of a known condition), recurrence of an intermittent medical condition not present at baseline, any deterioration in a laboratory value or other clinical test that is associated with symptoms or leads to a change in study treatment or concomitant treatment or discontinuation from study drug or adverse events that are related to a protocol-mandated intervention, including those that occur prior to assignment of study treatment.
Time frame: Up to approximately 82 weeks
Serum Concentration of Total Antibody at Specified Timepoints
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- total antibody was measured
Time frame: Predose & post dose on Day 2 of Cycle 1,& post dose on Days 8 & 15 of Cycles 1& 3; predose & post dose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3 & 4; treatment completion/early discontinuation visit; follow-up visits at Months 3 &6 (1 cycle=21 days) up to approx. 46 weeks
Plasma Concentration of Antibody-Conjugated Monomethyl Auristatin E (acMMAE) at Specified Timepoints
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- acMMAE was measured.
Time frame: Predose and post dose on Day 2 of Cycle 1, and post dose on Days 8 and 15 of Cycles 1 and 3; predose and post dose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3 and 4; treatment completion/early discontinuation visit (each cycle = 21 days) up to approximately 19 weeks
Plasma Concentration of Unconjugated Monomethyl Auristatin E (MMAE) at Specified Timepoints
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- unconjugated MMAE was measured.
Time frame: Predose and post dose on Day 2 of Cycle 1, and post dose on Days 8 and 15 of Cycles 1 and 3; predose and post dose on Day 1 of Cycles 2, 3 and 4; treatment completion/early discontinuation visit (each cycle = 21 days) up to approximately 19 weeks
Number of Participants With Positive Treatment Emergent Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADA) to Polatuzumab Vedotin
Treatment Emergent ADA is (a) negative or missing baseline ADA result(s) and at least one positive post-baseline ADA result, OR (b) positive ADA result at baseline and one or more post-baseline titer results that are at least 0.60 titer unit (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result.
Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 39 weeks
Participants took part in the study at 8 investigative sites in mainland China from 10 July 2020 to 07 February 2022.
| Milestone | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 28 | 14 |
| Safety population | 27 | 14 |
| Pharmacokinetic-evaluable population | 27 | 0 |
| Immunogenicity-evaluable population (baseline evaluable) | 27 | 14 |
| Immunogenicity-evaluable population (post-baseline evaluable) | 24 | 0 |
| Intent-to-treat population | 28 | 14 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 28 | 14 |
| Withdrew: Death | 18 | 10 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by participant | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Reason not specified | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 8 | 4 |
CR was determined by IRC according to the Lugano Response Criteria (LRC) for Malignant Lymphoma. Per LRC , CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete metabolic response (MR) in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass, on 5-point scale (5PS), where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-avid disease in bone marrow. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) at the End of Treatment (EOT) Assessment Based on Positron Emission Tomography-Computed Tomography (PET-CT) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC) | 25.0 (10.69 to 44.87) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
CR was determined by investigator according to the LRC for Malignant Lymphoma. Per LRC, CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass, on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment. Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With CR at the EOT Assessment Based on PET-CT as Assessed by Investigator | 21.4 (8.30 to 40.95) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
OR was defined as CR or partial response (PR) at the end of treatment assessment based on PET-CT, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC. CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PR based on PET-CT was defined as partial MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 4 or 5 with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size; no new lesions and residual uptake higher than uptake in normal bone marrow but reduced compared with baseline. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR) at EOT Based on PET-CT as Assessed by Investigator | 28.6 (13.22 to 48.67) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
OR was defined as CR or PR at the end of treatment assessment based on PET-CT, as determined by the IRC according to the LRC. CR based on PET-CT was defined as complete MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 1, 2, or 3 with or without residual mass on 5PS, where, 1= no uptake above background; 2 = uptake ≤ mediastinum; 3 = uptake \> mediastinum but ≤ liver; 4 = uptake moderately \> liver; 5 = uptake markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions and no evidence of FDG-avid disease in bone marrow. PR per PET-CT was defined as partial MR in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with a score of 4 or 5 with reduced uptake compared with baseline and residual mass(es) of any size; no new lesions and residual uptake higher than uptake in normal marrow but reduced compared with baseline. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1(1 cycle= 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Based on PET-CT as Assessed by IRC | 35.7 (18.64 to 55.93) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
CR was determined by the investigator according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 centimeters (cm) in longest transverse diameter (LDi) and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, immunohistochemistry (IHC) negative. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With CR at EOT Based on Computed Tomography (CT) as Assessed by Investigator | 17.9 (6.06 to 36.89) | 0 (0.00 to 23.16) |
CR was determined by the IRC according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, IHC negative. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With CR at EOT Based on CT as Assessed by IRC | 17.9 (6.06 to 36.89) | 0 (0.00 to 23.16) |
OR was defined as CR or PR, at the EOT assessment based on CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response in lymph nodes and extralymphatic sites with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi and no extralymphatic sites of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressing to normal; no new lesions; normal bone marrow by morphology, if indeterminate, IHC negative. Per LRC, PR was defined as ≥ 50% decrease in sum of the product of the perpendicular diameters (SPD) of up to 6 target nodes and extranodal sites; non-measured lesion is absent/normal, regressed, but no increase; spleen must have regressed by \>50 % in length beyond normal; and no new lesions. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment. Percentages have been rounded off to the first decimal point.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Assessment Based on CT as Assessed by Investigator | 32.1 (15.88 to 52.35) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
OR was defined as percentage of participants with CR or PR, at EOT assessment based on CT only, as determined by IRC according to the LRC. Per LRC, CR based on CT was defined as complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressing to ≤ 1.5 cm in LDi. PR is ≥ 50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes and extranodal sites. The analysis was done 6-8 weeks after Cycle 6, Day 1 (1 cycle = 21 days) or after final dose of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With OR at EOT Assessment Based on CT as Assessed by IRC | 28.6 (13.22 to 48.67) | 14.3 (1.78 to 42.81) |
BOR=CR/PR per PET-CT/CT by investigator per LRC.CR perPET-CT=complete MR in lymph nodes \& extralymphatic sites(ELS),score=1,2,3 with/without residual mass on5PS,1=no uptake(UT)above background;2=UT≤mediastinum;3=UT\>mediastinum but ≤liver;4=UT moderately\>liver;5=UT markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions \& FDG-avid disease absent in bone marrow.CR perCT=complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressedto≤1.5 cm in LDi\&no ELS of disease;absence of non-measured lesion;organ enlargement regressed to normal;no new lesions;bone marrow morphology=normal,if indeterminate,IHC negative.PR per PET-CT=partial MR in lymph nodes\&ELS,score=4or5,reduced UT than baseline(BL)\&residual masses=any size;no new lesions\&residual UT \>UT in normal marrow,reduced than BL.PR per CT by LCR=≥50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes \& extranodal sites;non-measured lesion=absent/normal,regressed,no increase;spleen=regressed by\>50%in length beyond normal;no new lesions.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) Based on PET-CT or CT Only as Assessed by Investigator | 53.6 (33.87 to 72.49) | 28.6 (8.39 to 58.10) |
BOR=CR/PR per PET-CT/CT by IRC per LRC. CR per PET-CT=complete MR in lymph nodes\& ELS, score=1, 2,3 with/without residual mass on 5PS, 1=no UT above background; 2=UT≤mediastinum; 3=UT\>mediastinum but ≤liver; 4=UT moderately\>liver; 5=UT markedly higher than liver and/or new lesions; no new lesions \& FDG-avid disease absent in bone marrow.CR per CT=complete radiologic response with target nodes/nodal masses regressed to≤1.5 cm in LDi and no ELS of disease; absence of non-measured lesion; organ enlargement regressed to normal; no new lesions; bone marrow morphology=normal, if indeterminate, IHC negative. PR per PET-CT=partial MR in lymph nodes \& ELS, score =4 or 5,reduced UT than baseline(BL)\&residual masses=any size; no new lesions \&residual UT \>UT in normal marrow, reduced than BL.PR per CT by LCR=≥50% decrease in SPD of up to 6 target nodes\& extranodal sites; non-measured lesion=absent/normal, regressed, no increase; spleen=regressed by\>50% in length beyond normal; no new lesions.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Best Overall Response (BOR) Based on PET-CT or CT Only as Assessed by IRC | 53.6 (33.87 to 72.49) | 50.0 (23.04 to 76.96) |
DOR was defined as time from first occurrence of a documented objective response to disease progression, relapse or death from any cause, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Duration Of Response (DOR) Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by Investigator | 5.45 (3.91 to 8.67) | 4.34 (2.60 to NA) |
DOR was defined as time from first occurrence of a documented objective response to disease progression, relapse or death from any cause, as determined by IRC according to the LRC.
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| DOR Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by IRC | 8.74 (3.55 to NA) | 4.27 (2.60 to NA) |
PFS was defined as the period from date of randomization until the date of disease progression, relapse, or death from any cause based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC.
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by Investigator | 4.90 (3.12 to 6.60) | 2.00 (1.87 to 4.60) |
PFS was defined as the period from date of randomization until the date of disease progression, relapse, or death from any cause based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by IRC according to the LRC.
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| PFS Based on PET-CT/CT Only as Assessed by IRC | 5.42 (4.47 to NA) | 6.01 (3.52 to NA) |
EFS was defined as the time from date of randomization to any treatment failure including disease progression, relapse, initiation of new anti-lymphoma treatment (NALT), or death based on PET-CT or CT only, as determined by the investigator according to the LRC.
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Event-Free Survival (EFS) Based on PET-CT or CT Assessed by Investigator | 4.83 (3.12 to 6.44) | 2.00 (1.87 to 4.60) |
OS was defined as the time from date of randomization until the date of death from any cause.
| months | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) | 10.89 (5.52 to 16.66) | 7.67 (6.01 to NA) |
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product, any new disease or exacerbation of an existing disease (a worsening in the character, frequency, or severity of a known condition), recurrence of an intermittent medical condition not present at baseline, any deterioration in a laboratory value or other clinical test that is associated with symptoms or leads to a change in study treatment or concomitant treatment or discontinuation from study drug or adverse events that are related to a protocol-mandated intervention, including those that occur prior to assignment of study treatment.
| percentage of participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | 100 | 100 |
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- total antibody was measured
| micrograms per milliliter (μg/mL) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Pre-dose | NA ± NA |
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Post dose | 41.5 ± 26.3 |
| Cycle 1 Day 8 Post dose | 9.83 ± 38.3 |
| Cycle 1 Day 15 Post dose | 5.42 ± 35.6 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Pre-dose | 3.13 ± 37.3 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Post dose | 49.1 ± 39.6 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Pre-dose | 4.30 ± 36.3 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Post dose | 45.6 ± 28.9 |
| Cycle 3 Day 8 Post dose | 13.6 ± 29.1 |
| Cycle 3 Day 15 Post dose | 8.48 ± 30.8 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Pre-dose | 5.37 ± 52.5 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Post dose | 47.2 ± 34.8 |
| Treatment completion/Early discontinuation | 4.44 ± 49.5 |
| Follow-Up Month 3 | 0.182 ± NA |
| Follow-Up Month 6 | 0.0410 ± NA |
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- acMMAE was measured.
| nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Pre-dose | NA ± NA |
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Post dose | 560 ± 23.0 |
| Cycle 1 Day 8 Post dose | 65.5 ± 212.3 |
| Cycle 1 Day 15 Post dose | 26.7 ± 35.7 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Pre-dose | 10.9 ± 35.9 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Post dose | 524 ± 97.4 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Pre-dose | 14.6 ± 36.1 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Post dose | 605 ± 19.5 |
| Cycle 3 Day 8 Post dose | 64.5 ± 210.3 |
| Cycle 3 Day 15 Post dose | 33.7 ± 31.7 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Pre-dose | 15.4 ± 56.2 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Post dose | 602 ± 19.4 |
| Treatment completion/Early discontinuation | 10.6 ± 49.1 |
PK of polatuzumab vedodtin-related analyte- unconjugated MMAE was measured.
| ng/mL | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Pre-dose | NA ± NA |
| Cycle 1 Day 2: Post dose | 0.139 ± 81.9 |
| Cycle 1 Day 8 Post dose | 2.47 ± 50.6 |
| Cycle 1 Day 15 Post dose | 0.627 ± 64.1 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Pre-dose | 0.0870 ± 106.8 |
| Cycle 2 Day 1: Post dose | 0.127 ± 72.2 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Pre-dose | 0.0944 ± 65.9 |
| Cycle 3 Day 1: Post dose | 0.171 ± 44.1 |
| Cycle 3 Day 8 Post dose | 1.49 ± 149.6 |
| Cycle 3 Day 15 Post dose | 0.509 ± 58.7 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Pre-dose | 0.0851 ± 130.9 |
| Cycle 4 Day 1: Post dose | 0.152 ± 64.6 |
| Treatment completion/Early discontinuation | 0.0711 ± 98.0 |
Treatment Emergent ADA is (a) negative or missing baseline ADA result(s) and at least one positive post-baseline ADA result, OR (b) positive ADA result at baseline and one or more post-baseline titer results that are at least 0.60 titer unit (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result.
| Participants | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Positive Treatment Emergent Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADA) to Polatuzumab Vedotin | 0 |
Collected over Up to approximately 82 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | 18/28 (64.3%) | 12/27 (44.4%) | 27/27 (100%) |
| Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | 10/14 (71.4%) | 3/14 (21.4%) | 14/14 (100%) |
| Event | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 5/27 | 0/14 |
| Upper gastrointestinal haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 0/27 | 1/14 |
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 0/27 | 1/14 |
| Septic shockInfections and infestations | 0/27 | 1/14 |
| Intervertebral disc protrusionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/27 | 1/14 |
| MyelosuppressionBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/27 | 0/14 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/27 | 0/14 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 1/27 | 0/14 |
| InfectionInfections and infestations | 1/27 | 0/14 |
| Femur fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/27 | 0/14 |
| Event | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab |
|---|---|---|
| White blood cell count decreasedInvestigations | 20/27 | 9/14 |
| Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations | 8/27 | 10/14 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 19/27 | 7/14 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 16/27 | 5/14 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 15/27 | 7/14 |
| HypokalaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 12/27 | 4/14 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 11/27 | 4/14 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 10/27 | 4/14 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 10/27 | 1/14 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 9/27 | 5/14 |
ITT population included all participants randomized, whether or not the participants received the assigned treatment.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 57.00 (27.0 to 70.0) | 60.50 (31.0 to 76.0) | 58.00 (27.0 to 76.0) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 7 | 7 | 14 |
| Male | 21 | 7 | 28 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 28 | 14 | 42 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Polatuzumab Vedotin Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Placebo Plus Bendamustine and Rituximab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 28 | 14 | 42 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level data through the clinical study data request platform (www.vivli.org). Further details on Roche's criteria for eligible studies are available here (https://vivli.org/members/ourmembers/). For further details on Roche's Global Policy on the Sharing of Clinical Information and how to request access to related clinical study documents, see here (https://www.roche.com/research_and_development/who_we_are_how_we_work/clinical_trials/our_commitment_to_data_sharing.htm).
This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Hoffmann-La Roche