CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04192630Updated May 28, 2024Results posted

A Study of B + L Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD) CVisc50

An interventional study of CVisc50 OVD and ProVisc OVD in Cataract, sponsored by Bausch & Lomb Incorporated. Completed at 22 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 45 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-28.

Sponsored by Bausch & Lomb Incorporated · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
390
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
45 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The objective of the study is to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the Bausch \& Lomb CVisc50 cohesive OVD compared to the Alcon ProVisc® cohesive OVD when used in cataract surgery.

Read the detailed description

The objective of the study is to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the Bausch \& Lomb CVisc50 cohesive OVD compared to the Alcon ProVisc® cohesive OVD when used in cataract surgery.

02

Conditions studied

  • Cataract

Browse trials for

03

In context

Cataract

1,701 studies on the registry are indexed under Cataract; 230 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 390 is above the median of 80 across 1,155 interventional studies indexed under Cataract.

Browse Cataract studies →

Lead sponsor

Bausch & Lomb Incorporated is the lead sponsor of 219 studies on the registry; 7 are open to participants now.

Of its 49 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 41 (84%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
45 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • The participant must be at least 45 years old and have a clinically documented diagnosis of age-related non-complicated cataract that is considered amenable to treatment with standard phacoemulsification cataract extraction and IOL implantation.
  • The participant must have the capability to provide written informed consent on the Institutional Review Board (IRB)/Ethics Committee (EC) approved Informed Consent Form (ICF) and provide authorization as appropriate for local privacy regulations.
  • The participant must be willing and able to undergo all pre-surgical and surgical procedures and to return for all scheduled follow-up examinations through 90 days following surgery.
  • The participant must have clear intraocular media other than the cataract in the operative eye.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • The participant has participated in any drug or device clinical investigation within 30 days prior to entry into this study and/or plans to do so during the period of study participation.
  • The participant has any corneal pathology (for example; significant scarring, guttata, inflammation, edema, dystrophy, etc.) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has anterior segment pathology likely to increase the risk of an adverse outcome for phacoemulsification cataract surgery (for example; pseudoexfoliation syndrome, synechiae, iris atrophy, inadequate dilation, shallow anterior chamber, traumatic cataract, lens subluxation) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has any condition which prevents reliable specular microscopy in the operative eye.
  • The participant has a congenital ocular anomaly (for example; aniridia, congenital cataract) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has a baseline ECD \<1500 cells/square millimeter (mm\^2) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has a grade 4+ nuclear cataract density in the planned operative eye.
  • The participant has glaucoma or ocular hypertension (IOP >24 mmHg) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has any abnormality which prevents reliable Goldmann applanation tonometry in the operative eye.
  • The participant has a known allergy to any of the components of the test or control OVDs.
  • The participant is using any topical or systemic medications known to interfere with visual performance or complicate cataract surgery within 30 days of enrollment or during the study.
  • The participant is scheduled to undergo other combined intraocular procedures during the cataract/intraocular lens (IOL) implantation surgery in the operative eye. NOTE: A relaxing keratotomy is allowed.
  • The participant has diabetic retinopathy, wet age-related macular degeneration or other retinal pathology which might limit postoperative visual acuity (VA) or predispose the participant to postoperative retinal complications in the operative eye.
  • The participant's fellow eye is already participating in this study.
  • The participant has a history of chronic or recurrent inflammatory eye disease (for example; iritis, scleritis, uveitis, iridocyclitis, rubeosis iridis) in the operative eye.
  • The participant has a best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA) of logarithm of minimum angle resolution (LogMAR) 1.0 (20/200, 6/60) or worse in the fellow eye.
  • The participant has had previous corneal surgery in the planned operative eye.
  • The participant has a previous retinal detachment in the operative eye.
  • Females of childbearing potential (those who are not surgically sterilized or not postmenopausal for at least 12 months) are excluded from participation in the study if they are currently pregnant; plan to become pregnant during the study; and/or are breast-feeding.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
390 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)

    CVisc50 OVD will be carefully injected into the anterior chamber using standard aseptic technique, during the surgical procedure. The duration of the treatment is anticipated to be approximately 15-20 minutes for the surgical procedure. The OVD may also be used to coat surgical instruments prior to Intraocular Lens (IOL) implantation (for example, the internal surfaces of an IOL inserter are typically filled and/or coated with the OVD to provide lubricity during IOL compression and delivery into the eye). Additional OVD of the same product, may be injected as needed throughout surgery to keep the anterior chamber fully formed and to re-inflate the capsular bag following cataract removal. At the end of the surgical procedure it is recommended that OVD be removed from the eye as completely as practical by thoroughly irrigating and aspirating with a sterile irrigating solution.

    Device: CVisc50 OVD · Procedure: Cataract Surgery

  • Active comparator
    ProVisc OVD

    ProVisc OVD will be carefully injected into the anterior chamber using standard aseptic technique, during the surgical procedure. The duration of the treatment is anticipated to be approximately 15-20 minutes for the surgical procedure. The OVD may also be used to coat surgical instruments prior to IOL implantation (for example, the internal surfaces of an IOL inserter are typically filled and/or coated with the OVD to provide lubricity during IOL compression and delivery into the eye). Additional OVD of the same product, may be injected as needed throughout surgery to keep the anterior chamber fully formed and to re-inflate the capsular bag following cataract removal. At the end of the surgical procedure it is recommended that OVD be removed from the eye as completely as practical by thoroughly irrigating and aspirating with a sterile irrigating solution.

    Device: ProVisc OVD · Procedure: Cataract Surgery

Interventions

  • DeviceCVisc50 OVD

    Bausch + Lomb CVisc50 Cohesive OVD

    Also known as: Bausch + Lomb CVisc50 Cohesive OVD

  • DeviceProVisc OVD

    ProVisc OVD

    Also known as: Alcon ProVisc® OVD

  • ProcedureCataract Surgery

    Cataract Surgery

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Intraocular Pressure (IOP) Measurement ≥30 Millimeters of Mercury (mmHg) at Any Post-Surgical Follow-up Visit

    Time frame: Up to 90 Days ± 14 Days

  2. Change From Baseline in Corneal Endothelial Cell Density (ECD) in the Study Eye at Postoperative Visit 5 (90 Days ± 14 Days)

    Time frame: Baseline, 90 Days ± 14 Days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Mean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 6-Hour Post-Operative Visit

    Time frame: Baseline, 6-hour post-operative

  2. Mean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 24-Hour Post-Operative Visit

    Time frame: Baseline, 24-hour post-operative

  3. Percentage of Participants With Summed Score for Anterior Chamber Cells and Flare Greater Than Zero at the 6-Hour and 24-Hour Post-Operative Visits

    Anterior chamber cells were graded on a 6-point scale, with 0 = \<1 cell count; 0.5 = 1 to 5 cell count; 1 = 6 to 15 cell count; 2 = 16 to 25 cell count; 3 = 26 to 50 cell count; and 4 = \>50 cell count. Anterior chamber flare (protein escaping from dilated vessels) was graded on a 5-point scale, with 0 = none; 1 = faint; 2 = moderate; 3 = marked; and 4 = intense.

    Time frame: 6-hour and 24-hour post-operative

07

Results

Posted May 28, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Started194196
Completed187193
Not completed73
Withdrew: Discontinued before surgery20
Withdrew: Discontinued after surgery53

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Intraocular Pressure (IOP) Measurement ≥30 Millimeters of Mercury (mmHg) at Any Post-Surgical Follow-up Visit
Time frame:
Up to 90 Days ± 14 Days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Percentage of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Intraocular Pressure (IOP) Measurement ≥30 Millimeters of Mercury (mmHg) at Any Post-Surgical Follow-up Visit
ParticipantsCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Percentage of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Intraocular Pressure (IOP) Measurement ≥30 Millimeters of Mercury (mmHg) at Any Post-Surgical Follow-up Visit1016
PrimaryChange From Baseline in Corneal Endothelial Cell Density (ECD) in the Study Eye at Postoperative Visit 5 (90 Days ± 14 Days)
Time frame:
Baseline, 90 Days ± 14 Days
Reported as:
Mean · cells/mm2
Change From Baseline in Corneal Endothelial Cell Density (ECD) in the Study Eye at Postoperative Visit 5 (90 Days ± 14 Days)
cells/mm2CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Change From Baseline in Corneal Endothelial Cell Density (ECD) in the Study Eye at Postoperative Visit 5 (90 Days ± 14 Days)15.7 ± 2.8015.8 ± 3.04
SecondaryMean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 6-Hour Post-Operative Visit
Time frame:
Baseline, 6-hour post-operative
Reported as:
Mean · mmhg
Mean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 6-Hour Post-Operative Visit
mmhgCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Observed value at baseline.19.5 ± 6.5320.0 ± 6.75
Change from baseline.3.8 ± 6.294.2 ± 6.87
SecondaryMean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 24-Hour Post-Operative Visit
Time frame:
Baseline, 24-hour post-operative
Reported as:
Mean · mmhg
Mean Change From Baseline in IOP at the 24-Hour Post-Operative Visit
mmhgCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Observed Value at baseline18.0 ± 4.7018.4 ± 4.78
Change from Baseline2.3 ± 4.572.6 ± 4.73
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Summed Score for Anterior Chamber Cells and Flare Greater Than Zero at the 6-Hour and 24-Hour Post-Operative Visits

Anterior chamber cells were graded on a 6-point scale, with 0 = \<1 cell count; 0.5 = 1 to 5 cell count; 1 = 6 to 15 cell count; 2 = 16 to 25 cell count; 3 = 26 to 50 cell count; and 4 = \>50 cell count. Anterior chamber flare (protein escaping from dilated vessels) was graded on a 5-point scale, with 0 = none; 1 = faint; 2 = moderate; 3 = marked; and 4 = intense.

Time frame:
6-hour and 24-hour post-operative
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Percentage of Participants With Summed Score for Anterior Chamber Cells and Flare Greater Than Zero at the 6-Hour and 24-Hour Post-Operative Visits
ParticipantsCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
6-Hour Post-Operative Visits177187
24-Hour Post-Operative Visits183184

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 164 days from preoperative visit to post operative visit 5. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)0/192 (0%)0/192 (0%)62/192 (32.3%)
ProVisc OVD0/196 (0%)0/196 (0%)63/196 (32.1%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventCVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVD
Treatment-Emergent Adverse EventsGeneral disorders62/19263/196

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years5965124
>=65 years133131264
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
Mean68.7 ± 7.7867.9 ± 8.2468.3 ± 8.01
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
Female115127242
Male7769146
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
Hispanic or Latino332154
Not Hispanic or Latino159175334
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian262652
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander123
Black or African American111930
White154149303
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)CVisc50 Ophthalmic Viscosurgical Device (OVD)ProVisc OVDTotal
United States192196388
08

Study locations

22 sites
  • Bausch Site 017
    Chandler, Arizona 85224, United States
  • Bausch Site 001
    Phoenix, Arizona 85032, United States
  • Bausch Site 008
    Fayetteville, Arkansas 72704, United States
  • Bausch Site 010
    Burlingame, California 94010, United States
  • Bausch Site 007
    Garden Grove, California 92843, United States
  • Bausch Site 011
    Newport Beach, California 92662, United States
  • Bausch Site 012
    Northridge, California 91325, United States
  • Bausch Site 013
    Rancho Cordova, California 95670, United States
  • Bausch Site 004
    Torrance, California 90505, United States
  • Bausch Site 019
    Bloomington, Minnesota 55420, United States
  • Bausch Site 020
    Kansas City, Missouri 64154, United States
  • Bausch Site 002
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63131, United States
  • Bausch Site 015
    Washington, Missouri 63090, United States
  • Bausch Site 005
    New York, New York 10013, United States
  • Bausch Site 021
    Mason, Ohio 45040, United States
  • Bausch Site 003
    Reading, Pennsylvania 96002, United States
  • Bausch Site 014
    Goodlettsville, Tennessee 37073, United States
  • Bausch 018
    Nashville, Tennessee 37215, United States
  • Bausch Site 009
    Cedar Park, Texas 78613, United States
  • Bausch Site 006
    Houston, Texas 77008, United States
  • Bausch 022
    San Antonio, Texas 78215, United States
  • Bausch Site 016
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Aug 9, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 28, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04192630
Lead sponsor
Bausch & Lomb Incorporated
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 10, 2019
Start date
Nov 26, 2019
Primary completion
Jan 31, 2022
Completion
Jan 31, 2022
Results posted
May 28, 2024
Last update
May 28, 2024

Study contacts

Anya Loncaric
study director · B+L

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion