CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04132050Updated Aug 11, 2025Results posted

A Clinical Study in Patients With Chronic Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura in R788

A Phase 3 interventional study of R788 and Placebo in Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura, sponsored by Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.. Completed at 1 site in Japan. Open to participants aged 20 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-08-11.

Sponsored by Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
34
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
20 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to investigate the efficacy, safety and pharmacokinetics of R788 compared with placebo, and to investigate the safety and efficacy of long term dosing of R788 in patients with chronic idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura.

02

Conditions studied

  • Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura
03

In context

Purpura, Thrombocytopenic, Idiopathic

517 studies on the registry are indexed under Purpura, Thrombocytopenic, Idiopathic; 161 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 34 is below the median of 60 across 381 interventional studies indexed under Purpura, Thrombocytopenic, Idiopathic.

Browse Purpura, Thrombocytopenic, Idiopathic studies →

Lead sponsor

Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. is the lead sponsor of 61 studies on the registry; 3 are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
20 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Japanese patients
  • Patients diagnosed with idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura at least 6 months before acquisition of consent
  • Patients with a platelet count averages \<30000/μL during screening period. Each platelet count should not exceed 35000/μL.
  • Patients who have used and failed or who were intolerant at least 1 typical regimen for the treatment of ITP before informed consent (with or without splenectomy)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with thrombocytopenia associated with other disease
  • Patients with autoimmune hemolytic anemia
  • Patients with poorly controlled hypertension
  • Patients with a history or active coagulopathy
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
34 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    R788

    Patients are administered R788 for 24 weeks (double-blind period), followed by R788 for up to 52 weeks (open-label period). Patients who have completed open-label period and meet the criteria are eligible to continue R788 treatment over a 3 year period (extension - period).

    Drug: R788

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Patients are administered Placebo for 24 weeks (double-blind period), followed by R788 for up to 28 weeks (open-label period). Patients who have completed open-label period and meet the criteria are eligible to continue R788 treatment over a 3 year period (extension - period).

    Drug: R788 · Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugR788

    Oral administration

  • DrugPlacebo

    Oral administration

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Achievement Rate of Stable Platelet Response

    The percentage of subjects who achieved stable platelet response (defined as a platelet count of ≥50000/μL at 4 or more of the 6 visits from Weeks 14 to 24)

    Time frame: 24 weeks (Period I)

Other outcomes

  1. Duration of Platelet Response

    Period from the first measurement day on which a platelet count of ≥50000/μL for at least 28 consecutive days was achieved to the first measurement day on which platelet count fell below 50000/μL for at least 28 consecutive days

    Time frame: R788 treatment period (maximum duration of exposure was 1184 days)

07

Results

Posted Aug 11, 2025

Participant flow

Seventy-two subjects were screened. Of these, 34 subjects considered eligible for the study were randomized to receive the investigational products. The number of subjects in Period I were 22 in the R788 group and 12 in the placebo group. The number of subjects who completed Period I was 10 in the R788 group and 4 in the placebo group.

Period I (Double-blind Period)
Participant flow — Period I (Double-blind Period)
MilestoneR788 GroupPlacebo Group
Started2212
Completed104
Not completed128
Withdrew: Adverse event30
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy98
R788 Treatment Period
Participant flow — R788 Treatment Period
MilestoneR788 GroupPlacebo Group
Started330
Completed220
Not completed110
Withdrew: Adverse event50
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy50
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject10

Outcome measures

PrimaryAchievement Rate of Stable Platelet Response

The percentage of subjects who achieved stable platelet response (defined as a platelet count of ≥50000/μL at 4 or more of the 6 visits from Weeks 14 to 24)

Time frame:
24 weeks (Period I)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Achievement Rate of Stable Platelet Response
Percentage of participantsR788 GroupPlacebo Group
Achievement Rate of Stable Platelet Response36.4 (17.2 to 59.3)0.0 (0.0 to 26.5)
Statistical analysis
  • R788 Group vs Placebo Group · Fisher Exact · p = 0.030 · Difference in percent of participants: 36.4 · 95% CI 3.1 to 59.3The difference in the achievement rate of "Stable platelet response" (= platelet count of ≥ 50000/μL at 4 or more of the 6 visits from Weeks 14 to 24) between two groups and its two-sided 95% CI were calculated.
Other pre-specifiedDuration of Platelet Response

Period from the first measurement day on which a platelet count of ≥50000/μL for at least 28 consecutive days was achieved to the first measurement day on which platelet count fell below 50000/μL for at least 28 consecutive days

Time frame:
R788 treatment period (maximum duration of exposure was 1184 days)
Reported as:
Median · days
Duration of Platelet Response
daysR788 Group
Duration of Platelet Response392 (106 to 946)

Adverse events

Collected over - Period I: 24 weeks - R788 treatment period: Period I (24 weeks) + Period II (28 weeks) + Period III (Period III and the period of post-marketing clinical study: Maximum 845 days). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
R788 Group (Period I)0/22 (0%)2/22 (9.1%)15/22 (68.2%)
Placebe Group (Period I)0/12 (0%)1/12 (8.3%)7/12 (58.3%)
R788 Group (R788 Treatment Period)0/33 (0%)8/33 (24.2%)32/33 (97%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent serious events
EventR788 Group (Period I)Placebe Group (Period I)R788 Group (R788 Treatment Period)
Bile duct stoneHepatobiliary disorders0/221/120/33
Procedural haemorrhageInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/221/120/33
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/220/121/33
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders1/220/121/33
COVID-19Infections and infestations0/220/121/33
CellulitisInfections and infestations0/220/121/33
GastroenteritisInfections and infestations0/220/121/33
Herpes zosterInfections and infestations0/220/121/33
PericoronitisInfections and infestations0/220/121/33
Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders0/220/121/33
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 42
Most frequent other events
EventR788 Group (Period I)Placebe Group (Period I)R788 Group (R788 Treatment Period)
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders9/220/1213/33
HypertensionVascular disorders7/221/1211/33
COVID-19Infections and infestations0/220/126/33
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders2/220/125/33
EczemaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/220/125/33
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations3/220/123/33
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations0/221/124/33
Liver function test increasedInvestigations1/220/124/33
Herpes zosterInfections and infestations1/220/123/33
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/220/123/33

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years12719
>=65 years10515
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Mean59.6 ± 15.460.8 ± 15.460.0 ± 15.2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Female18826
Male448
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino221234
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian221234
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White000
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Japan221234
Baseline platelet count
Baseline platelet count(cells/μL)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Median19000 (3000 to 28000)18000 (1000 to 27000)18000 (1000 to 28000)
Time since ITP diagnosis
Time since ITP diagnosis(years)R788 GroupPlacebo GroupTotal
Median12 (1 to 41)12 (1 to 38)12 (1 to 41)

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

1 site
  • Research Site
    Multiple Locations, Japan
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Aug 28, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jun 24, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 11, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04132050
Lead sponsor
Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 18, 2019
Start date
Dec 24, 2019
Primary completion
Dec 21, 2021
Completion
Sep 25, 2023
Results posted
Aug 11, 2025
Last update
Aug 11, 2025

Study contacts

Yoshitaka Shimizu
study director · Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion