CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04073823Updated Jan 18, 2023Results posted

A Study Evaluating FT-SW in Unilateral Breast Cancer-Related Lymphedema Patients

An interventional study of Flexitouch Plus and Flexitouch Plus FT with software modification in Breast Cancer Related Lymphedema, sponsored by Tactile Medical. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-01-18.

Sponsored by Tactile Medical · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Due to unforeseen slow enrollment and a shift in corporate resources due to the COVID-19 impact.
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
2
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

The objective of the study is to demonstrate equivalency in treatment effect, as determined by objective measurements, between the modified therapy cycle software and the FDA-cleared Flexitouch therapy cycle software.

02

Conditions studied

03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Tactile Medical is the lead sponsor of 15 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 4 (80%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Female 18 years of age or older
  • Diagnosis of unilateral breast cancer-related lymphedema
  • Stage I or early stage II lymphedema without severe fibrosis at the time of enrollment
  • ≥ 5% volume difference between affected and unaffected arm as verified via perometry
  • Willing and able to give informed consent
  • Willing and able to comply with the study protocol requirements and all study-related visit requirements

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • In-home use of PCD within previous 3 months
  • Therapist or self-administered manual lymph drainage (MLD) within previous 1 week
  • Mastectomy or lymph node removal on side without lymphedema
  • Bilateral lymphedema
  • Heart failure (acute pulmonary edema, decompensated acute heart failure)
  • Acute venous disease (acute thrombophlebitis, acute deep venous thrombosis, acute pulmonary embolism)
  • Active skin or limb infection/inflammatory disease (acute cellulitis, other uncontrolled skin or untreated inflammatory skin disease) on the arms or trunk
  • Active cancer (cancer that is currently under treatment, but not yet in remission)
  • Poorly controlled kidney disease (glomerular filtration rate \< 30 mls per minute), hypoproteinemia, pulmonary hypertension, hypothyroidism, cyclic edema, or Munchausen Syndrome
  • BMI >50
  • Any circumstance where increased lymphatic or venous return is undesirable
  • Currently pregnant or trying to become pregnant
  • Allergy to iodine
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
2 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Flexitouch Plus

    Device: Flexitouch Plus

  • Experimental
    Flexitouch Plus with SW

    Device: Flexitouch Plus FT with software modification

Interventions

  • DeviceFlexitouch Plus

    Flexitouch Plus full arm and core treatment

  • DeviceFlexitouch Plus FT with software modification

    Flexitouch Plus full arm and trunk/chest treatment

    Also known as: FT-SW

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Lymphatic Activation

    Comparison of the change in the rate of lymphatic propulsion events from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values for both the affected and contralateral limbs using the investigational technique of near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging.

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  2. Changes in Swelling - MoistureMeterD

    Comparison of the percent change in local tissue water from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values on the affected limb using MoistureMeterD.

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  3. Changes in Swelling - Perometry

    Swelling in the affected and contralateral limb as assessed using local tissue water content

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  4. Percent Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment.

    Skin changes on the affected and contralateral limb as assessed by skin thickness (Ultrasound).

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  5. Incidence of Adverse Events

    Adverse events reported between treatment and the 24-hour follow-up

    Time frame: 24-Hour Follow-Up

  6. Post-Treatment Functional Vessel Assessment Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging

    Comparison of the number of subjects with an increase in vessels for both the affected and contralateral limbs via near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging.

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  7. Projected Area or Extent of Dermal Backflow Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging

    Comparison of the change in dermal backflow from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values as the sum of the volume of area for all locations for both the affected and contralateral limbs via near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  8. Swelling in the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed Using: Perometry (LymphaTech 3D Scanner)

    Compare the percent of participants by arm demonstrating a decrease in limb volume for the affected and contralateral limbs via Perometry (LymphaTech 3D Scanner)

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  9. Skin Changes on the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed by: Skin Thickness (Ultrasound)

    Comparison of the percent of participants by arm demonstrating a decrease in thickness for each site, separating skin and subcutaneous changes, on the affected limb via Ultrasound

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour

  10. Absolute Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment

    Skin Changes on the affected and contralateral limb as assessed by skin thickness (Ultrasound).

    Time frame: Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour.

07

Results

Posted Feb 17, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Started11
Completed11
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryLymphatic Activation

Comparison of the change in the rate of lymphatic propulsion events from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values for both the affected and contralateral limbs using the investigational technique of near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging.

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Percent Rate Change
Lymphatic Activation
Percent Rate ChangeFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb0.0-50
Contralateral Limb-3.0241.2
PrimaryChanges in Swelling - MoistureMeterD

Comparison of the percent change in local tissue water from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values on the affected limb using MoistureMeterD.

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Mean · Percent Change
Changes in Swelling - MoistureMeterD
Percent ChangeFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Changes in Swelling - MoistureMeterD-4.0 (-7.4 to 0.0)-6.4 (-11.4 to 3.8)
PrimaryChanges in Swelling - Perometry

Swelling in the affected and contralateral limb as assessed using local tissue water content

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Percent Change
Changes in Swelling - Perometry
Percent ChangeFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb1.6-1.6
Contralateral Limb0.50.7
PrimaryPercent Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment.

Skin changes on the affected and contralateral limb as assessed by skin thickness (Ultrasound).

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Mean · Percent Change
Percent Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment.
Percent ChangeFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb Percent Change116.1 (-46.5 to 310.3)5.6 (-17.0 to 76.1)
Contralateral Limb Percent Change15.2 (-56.4 to 106.9)184.2 (-4.3 to 670.8)
PrimaryIncidence of Adverse Events

Adverse events reported between treatment and the 24-hour follow-up

Time frame:
24-Hour Follow-Up
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Incidence of Adverse Events
ParticipantsFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Incidence of Adverse Events00
PrimaryPost-Treatment Functional Vessel Assessment Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging

Comparison of the number of subjects with an increase in vessels for both the affected and contralateral limbs via near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging.

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Post-Treatment Functional Vessel Assessment Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging
ParticipantsFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb00
Contralateral Limb11
PrimaryProjected Area or Extent of Dermal Backflow Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging

Comparison of the change in dermal backflow from the pre-treatment values to the post-treatment values as the sum of the volume of area for all locations for both the affected and contralateral limbs via near infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) imaging

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Percent Change
Projected Area or Extent of Dermal Backflow Via Near Infrared-fluorescent (NIRF) Imaging
Percent ChangeFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb (Lateral Lower)65.420.6
Contralateral Limb (Lateral Lower)0.00.0
Affected Limb (Medial Lower)19.0-19.8
Contralateral Limb (Medial Lower)0.00.0
Affected Limb (Medial Upper)47.80.0
Contralateral Limb (Medial Upper)0.00.0
PrimarySwelling in the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed Using: Perometry (LymphaTech 3D Scanner)

Compare the percent of participants by arm demonstrating a decrease in limb volume for the affected and contralateral limbs via Perometry (LymphaTech 3D Scanner)

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Swelling in the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed Using: Perometry (LymphaTech 3D Scanner)
Percentage of ParticipantsFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb0100
Contralateral Limb00
PrimarySkin Changes on the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed by: Skin Thickness (Ultrasound)

Comparison of the percent of participants by arm demonstrating a decrease in thickness for each site, separating skin and subcutaneous changes, on the affected limb via Ultrasound

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour
Reported as:
Number · Percent of Participants
Skin Changes on the Affected and Contralateral Limb as Assessed by: Skin Thickness (Ultrasound)
Percent of ParticipantsFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Skin Thickness (Site A)100100
Skin Thickness (Site B)0100
Skin Thickness (Site C)0100
Subcutaneous Thickness (Site A)0100
Subcutaneous Thickness (Site B)00
Subcutaneous Thickness (Site C)1000
PrimaryAbsolute Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment

Skin Changes on the affected and contralateral limb as assessed by skin thickness (Ultrasound).

Time frame:
Baseline and following a single treatment, an average of one hour.
Reported as:
Mean · mm
Absolute Change in Skin Thickness From Baseline to After Treatment
mmFlexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SW
Affected Limb Absolute Change-1.70 (-8.25 to 0.11)-0.03 (-1.18 to 0.6)
Contralateral Limb Absolute Change-0.52 (-1.86 to 0.31)-1.54 (-6.44 to 0.04)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse event assessment will occur during the acute study period and ~24 hours after the acute study.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Flexitouch Plus0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)
Flexitouch Plus With SW0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Flexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SWTotal
Mean53 (53 to 53)81 (81 to 81)67 (53 to 81)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Flexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SWTotal
Female112
Male000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Flexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SWTotal
Hispanic or Latino101
Not Hispanic or Latino011
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Flexitouch PlusFlexitouch Plus With SWTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White112
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 15, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 18, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04073823
Lead sponsor
Tactile Medical
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 29, 2019
Start date
Jan 23, 2020
Primary completion
Feb 8, 2020
Completion
Feb 8, 2020
Results posted
Feb 17, 2021
Last update
Jan 18, 2023

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion