CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03919175Updated Feb 27, 2026Results posted

Umbralisib and Rituximab as Initial Therapy for Patients With Follicular Lymphoma and Marginal Zone Lymphoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Umbralisib and Rituximab in Lymphoma, Follicular Lymphoma and Follicular Lymphoma, Grade 1, sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital. Terminated at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-02-27.

Sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Umbralisib development terminated; closed to accrual 8/29/2022
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research is being done to assess Umbralisib and Rituximab as a first line therapy for Follicular Lymphoma or Marginal Zone Lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

This research study is a Phase II clinical trial. Phase II clinical trials test the safety and effectiveness of an investigational drug to learn whether the drug works in treating a specific disease. "Investigational" means that the drug is being studied.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has not approved Umbralisib as a treatment for any disease.

The FDA has approved Rituximab as a treatment option for this disease.

Umbralisib is an investigational drug which blocks a protein called PI3K. PI3K is a protein that plays a role in the way cells grow. In this type of cancer, PI3K is increased and more active than usual. This helps the cancer cells to grow and survive. Early clinical trials have shown that Umbralisib can kill cancer cells in some patients and cause their tumors to shrink.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lymphoma
  • Follicular Lymphoma
  • Follicular Lymphoma, Grade 1
  • Follicular Lymphoma Grade 2
  • Follicular Lymphoma Grade IIIa
  • Marginal Zone Lymphoma
  • Marginal Zone B Cell Lymphoma

Keywords

  • Lymphoma
  • Follicular Lymphoma
  • Marginal Zone Lymphoma
03

In context

Lymphoma

5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 18 is below the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.

Browse Lymphoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Massachusetts General Hospital is the lead sponsor of 2,536 studies on the registry; 446 are open to participants now.

Of its 214 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 161 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participants must have histologically confirmed follicular lymphoma grade 1-3A or marginal zone lymphoma by WHO criteria.
  • Participants must have measurable disease, defined as at least one lesion that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter [LDi] to be recorded for non-nodal lesions and short axis for nodal lesions) as ≥15 mm in LDi for nodal disease or >10 mm in LDi for extranodal lesions.
  • Requires therapy based on: symptomatic disease, threatened end-organ dysfunction, compressive disease, cytopenias secondary to lymphoma, bulky disease (defined as any site ≥7 cm, or 3 or more sites ≥3cm), or steady progression.
  • For patients with follicular lymphoma: No prior systemic therapy for follicular lymphoma. Prior radiation to a single site of disease is allowed if completed at least 2 weeks prior to initiation of protocol therapy and there are additional sites of measurable disease outside of the radiation field.
  • For patients with marginal zone lymphoma: No prior systemic therapy for marginal zone lymphoma. Prior radiation or surgical resection is allowed if there are additional sites of measurable disease outside of the radiation field. Prior radiation must be completed at least 2 weeks prior to initiation of protocol therapy. Prior H. pylori eradication therapy is allowed.
  • Age >18 years.
  • ECOG performance status ≤2
  • Participants must have adequate organ function as defined below:

    • total bilirubin \<1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) or \<3 x ULN if considered due to Gilbert's syndrome
    • AST(SGOT)/ALT(SGPT) ≤2.5 × institutional upper limit of normal
    • creatinine within normal institutional limits OR
    • creatinine clearance ≥30 mL/min for participants with creatinine levels above institutional normal.
  • Participants must have adequate marrow function as defined below (unless abnormalities are considered related to marrow involvement by lymphoma):

    • absolute neutrophil count ≥1,000/mcL (500/mcL is acceptable if due to marrow involvement by lymphoma)
    • platelets ≥70,000/mcL(30,000/mcL is acceptable if due to marrow involvement by lymphoma)
  • Female participants who are not of child-bearing potential and female participants of child-bearing potential who have a negative serum pregnancy test within 3 days prior to initial trial treatment. Female participants of child-bearing potential and all male partners, and male participants must consent to use a medically acceptable method of contraception throughout the study period and for a minimum of 1 year after the last dose of rituximab and for a minimum of 4 months after the last dose of umbralisib.
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Participants who require immediate cytoreduction per the treating investigator.
  • For patients with H. pylori related gastric extranodal marginal zone lymphoma in the absence of t(11;18): Patient must have relapsed or refractory marginal zone lymphoma despite appropriate H. pylori eradication.
  • For patients with hepatitis C virus related marginal zone lymphoma: Patient must have relapsed or refractory marginal zone lymphoma despite appropriate treatment of hepatitis C virus infection.
  • Active systemic therapy for another malignancy within 2 years. Local/regional therapy with curative intent such as surgical resection or localized radiation is allowed if patient is deemed at low risk for recurrence by treating physician.
  • Malignancy within 3 years of study enrollment except for adequately treated basal, squamous cell carcinoma or non-melanomatous skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, superficial bladder cancer not treated with intravesical chemotherapy or BCG within 6 months, localized prostate cancer and PSA \<1.0 mg/dL on 2 consecutive measurements at least 3 months apart with the most recent one being within 4 weeks of study entry.
  • Corticosteroid therapy (prednisone >10 mg daily or equivalent) is not permitted within 7 days prior to study entry. Topical, or intra-articular or inhaled corticosteroids are permitted.
  • Prior allogeneic stem cell transplant.
  • Inflammatory bowel disease (such as Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis)
  • Malabsorption syndromes
  • Irritable bowel syndrome with greater than 3 loose stools per day as a baseline.
  • Known central nervous system involvement by lymphoma.
  • Evidence of histological transformation to large cell lymphoma.
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to umbralisib or rituximab.
  • Evidence of ongoing systemic bacterial, fungal or viral infection, except localized fungal infections of skin or nails.
  • Evidence of chronic active Hepatitis B (HBV, not including patients with prior hepatitis B vaccination; or positive serum Hepatitis B antibody) or chronic active Hepatitis C infection (HCV), active cytomegalovirus (CMV), or known history of HIV. If HBc antibody is positive, the patient must be evaluated for the presence of HBV DNA (by PCR). If HCV antibody is positive, the subject must be evaluated for the presence of HCV RNA by PCR. If the patient is CMV IgG or CMV IgM positive, the subject must be evaluated for the presence of CMV DNA by PCR. Patients with positive HBc antibody and negative HBV DNA via PCR are eligible, but prophylaxis with entecavir or lamivudine is recommended. Subjects who are CMV IgG or CMV IgM positive but who are CMV DNA negative by PCR are eligible, but antiviral prophylaxis should be considered per institutional protocol.
  • Any severe and/or uncontrolled medical conditions or other conditions that could affect participation in the study such as:
  • Symptomatic, or history of documented congestive heart failure (New York Heart Association functional classification III-IV [see Appendix: NYHA Classifications])
  • Significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or symptomatic arrhythmias, CHF, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of enrollment.
  • Concomitant use of medication known to cause QT prolongation or torsades de pointes should be used with caution and at investigator discretion.
  • Poorly controlled or clinically significant atherosclerotic vascular disease including cerebrovascular accident (CVA), transient ischemic attack (TIA), symptomatic peripheral arterial disease, angioplasty, cardiac or vascular stenting within 6 months of enrollment.
  • Psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • Known history of drug-induced liver injury, alcoholic liver disease, non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, primary biliary cirrhosis, ongoing extrahepatic obstruction caused by stones, cirrhosis of the liver.
  • Pregnant women are excluded from this study because rituximab is an agent with known potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects. Because there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with rituximab or umbralisib, breastfeeding should be discontinued if the mother is treated with rituximab or umbralisib. These potential risks may also apply to other agents used in this study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Umbralisib+Rituximab

    * A treatment cycle is defined as 28 consecutive days. * Umbralisib will be administered at 800 mg by mouth once daily on days 1-28 of cycles 1-24. * Rituximab will be administered at 375 mg/m2 by intravenous infusion on Cycle 1 Day 1 and may be administered at 375 mg/m2 by intravenous infusion or at 1400 mg by subcutaneous injection on days 8, 15, 22 of cycle 1, day 1 of cycles 2 to 6, then every 8 weeks starting on day 1 of cycle 7 until completion of 24 cycles of umbralisib (i.e. every other cycle for 18 cycles or 9 doses, for a total of 15 doses of rituximab), or until progression or intolerance.

    Drug: Umbralisib · Drug: Rituximab

Interventions

  • DrugUmbralisib

    Umbralisib is an investigational drug which blocks a protein called PI3K. PI3K is a protein that plays a role in the way cells grow. In this type of cancer, PI3K is increased and more active than usual. This helps the cancer cells to grow and survive.

    Also known as: TGR-1202

  • DrugRituximab

    Rituximab works by targeting the CD20 antigen on normal and malignant B-cells. Then the body's natural immune defenses are recruited to attack and kill the marked B-cells

    Also known as: MabThera

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Response Rate

    The frequency of patients who achieve a complete response per 2014 Lugano criteria.

    Time frame: 2 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Overall Response Rate

    The frequency of patients who achieve a complete or partial response per 2014 Lugano criteria

    Time frame: 2 years

  2. Progression Free Survival

    The median progression-free survival using Kaplan-Meier method with time of registration as time origin.

    Time frame: 2 years

  3. Overall Survival

    The median overall survival using Kaplan-Meier method with time of registration as time origin.

    Time frame: 2 Years

  4. Number of Participants With Adverse Events

    Time frame: 2 years

07

Results

Posted Feb 27, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneUmbralisib+Rituximab
Started18
Completed18
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Response Rate

The frequency of patients who achieve a complete response per 2014 Lugano criteria.

Time frame:
2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Response Rate
ParticipantsUmbralisib+Rituximab
Complete Response Rate7
SecondaryOverall Response Rate

The frequency of patients who achieve a complete or partial response per 2014 Lugano criteria

Time frame:
2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response Rate
ParticipantsUmbralisib+Rituximab
Complete response7
Partial response7
Stable disease4
Progressive disease0
SecondaryProgression Free Survival

The median progression-free survival using Kaplan-Meier method with time of registration as time origin.

Time frame:
2 years
Reported as:
Median · years
Progression Free Survival
yearsUmbralisib+Rituximab
Progression Free SurvivalNA (NA to NA)
SecondaryOverall Survival

The median overall survival using Kaplan-Meier method with time of registration as time origin.

Time frame:
2 Years
Reported as:
Median · years
Overall Survival
yearsUmbralisib+Rituximab
Overall SurvivalNA (NA to NA)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events
Time frame:
2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events
ParticipantsUmbralisib+Rituximab
Number of Participants With Adverse Events15

Adverse events

Collected over Approximately 24 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Umbralisib+Rituximab2/18 (11.1%)9/18 (50%)15/18 (83.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventUmbralisib+Rituximab
Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/18
CholecystitisGastrointestinal disorders1/18
Allergic reactionImmune system disorders1/18
PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/18
Infections and infestations - Other, specifyInfections and infestations1/18
General disorders and administration site conditions - Other, specifyGeneral disorders1/18
Back painGeneral disorders1/18
PainGeneral disorders1/18
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 106
Most frequent other events
EventUmbralisib+Rituximab
FatigueGeneral disorders15/18
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders14/18
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders11/18
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations8/18
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders7/18
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations7/18
AnxietyPsychiatric disorders7/18
InsomniaPsychiatric disorders7/18
Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders6/18
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders5/18

Baseline characteristics

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Umbralisib+Rituximab
Age 18 to <6511
Age 65 and older7
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Umbralisib+Rituximab
Female9
Male9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Umbralisib+Rituximab
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino0
Unknown or Not Reported18
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Umbralisib+Rituximab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White17
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconness Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 30, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — The Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center encourages and supports the responsible and ethical sharing of data from clinical trials. De-identified participant data from the final research dataset used in the published manuscript may only be shared under the terms of a Data Use Agreement. Requests may be directed to: \[contact information for Sponsor Investigator or designee\]. The protocol and statistical analysis plan will be made available on Clinicaltrials.gov only as required by federal regulation or as a condition of awards and agreements supporting the research

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 27, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03919175
Lead sponsor
Massachusetts General Hospital
Collaborators
TG Therapeutics
Responsible party
Jacob Soumerai, MD (Principal Investigator, Massachusetts General Hospital) — Principal investigator
First posted
Apr 18, 2019
Start date
Sep 1, 2019
Primary completion
May 5, 2024
Completion
May 5, 2024
Results posted
Feb 27, 2026
Last update
Feb 27, 2026

Study contacts

Jacob D. Soumerai, MD
principal investigator · Massachusetts General Hospital

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion