CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT03863184Updated Apr 28, 2026Results posted

Acalabrutinib-Lenalidomide-Rituximab in Patients With Untreated MCL

A Phase 2 interventional study of Acalabrutinib and Lenalidomide in Mantle Cell Lymphoma, sponsored by Weill Medical College of Cornell University. Active, not recruiting at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-04-28.

Sponsored by Weill Medical College of Cornell University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
37
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a multi-arm phase 2 study to evaluate the preliminary evidence of efficacy and safety of the combination of acalabrutinib, lenalidomide and rituximab (ALR) and acalabrutinib, lenalidomide and obinutuzumab (ALO) in previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma. The study includes an induction phase consisting of 12 cycles of ALR or ALO. Responding subjects will be eligible to enter a maintenance phase. Subjects will continue maintenance ALR or ALO until disease progression, development of unacceptable toxicity, or voluntary withdrawal. Subjects will be followed after completing study intervention every 6 months for alternate anti-cancer therapy and survival.

Read the detailed description

This is a multi-arm phase 2 study to evaluate the preliminary evidence of efficacy and safety of the combination of acalabrutinib, lenalidomide and rituximab (ALR) and an expansion cohort of acalabrutinib, lenalidomide and obinutuzumab (ALO) in previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma.

The study includes an induction phase consisting of 12 cycles of ALR or ALO. Responding subjects will be eligible to enter a maintenance phase. Subjects will continue maintenance ALR or ALO until disease progression, development of unacceptable toxicity, or voluntary withdrawal. Subjects in complete response wishing to attempt stem cell collection following at least 6 months of induction treatment can hold lenalidomide for up to 30 days, and restart following stem cell collection.

Subjects will be monitored for Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) status in peripheral blood at baseline and completion of 12 cycles of induction treatment using Adaptive Biotechnology Clonoseq assay, and then every 4 cycles.

Subjects will be followed after completing study intervention every 6 months for alternate anti-cancer therapy and survival.

02

Conditions studied

  • Mantle Cell Lymphoma

Keywords

  • MRD
  • Minimal-residual-disease
  • Treatment naive
  • Untreated
  • Frontline
  • Acalabrutinib
  • Lenalidomide
  • Rituximab
  • Obinutuzumab
03

In context

Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell

783 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell; 146 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 37 is close to the median of 39 across 699 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell.

Browse Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell studies →

Lead sponsor

Weill Medical College of Cornell University is the lead sponsor of 867 studies on the registry; 160 are open to participants now.

Of its 119 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 91 (76%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of mantle cell lymphoma
  • Age ≥ 18 years
  • No prior systemic therapy for lymphoma
  • Measurable disease defined by a tumor mass ≥ 1.5 cm in one dimension and measurable in two dimensions; measurable spleen disease is allowed
  • Treatment should be indicated according to the treating physician
  • ECOG performance status ≤ 2
  • Required initial laboratory parameters:

    • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1000 cells/mm3
    • Platelet count ≥ 75,000 cells/mm3
    • Calculated creatinine clearance ≥ 30 ml/min by Cockcroft-Gault formula
    • Total bilirubin ≤ 2.0 x ULN
    • AST/SGOT and ALT/SGPT ≤ 3.0 x ULN
  • Able to take aspirin (81 or 325 mg) daily as prophylactic anticoagulation (patients intolerant to ASA may use low molecular weight heparin).
  • All subjects must be registered into the mandatory Revlimid REMS® program, and be willing and able to comply with the requirements of Revlimid REMS®.
  • Patients of reproductive potential agree to use birth control throughout their participation in this study, and for 28 days following study termination.
  • Females of reproductive potential must adhere to the scheduled pregnancy testing as required in the Revlimid REMS® program. Females of childbearing potential (FCBP) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test with a sensitivity of at least 50 mIU/mL within 10 - 14 days and again within 24 hours prior to prescribing lenalidomide for Cycle 1 (prescriptions must be filled within 7 days). FCBP must either commit to continued abstinence from heterosexual intercourse or begin TWO acceptable methods of birth control, one highly effective method and one additional effective method AT THE SAME TIME, at least 28 days before and continue for at least 28 days after the last dose of lenalidomide (or 2 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib, whichever is longer). FCBP must also agree to ongoing pregnancy testing. Men must agree to use a latex condom during sexual activity with a FCBP through one week post last dose even if they have had a successful vasectomy. Men must also agree to refrain from sperm donation during the same timeframe. See Appendix: Risks of Fetal Exposure, Pregnancy Testing Guidelines and Acceptable Birth Control Methods.
  • Understand and voluntarily sign an ICF prior to any study related assessments and procedures are conducted.
  • Able to adhere to the study visit schedule and other protocol requirements.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with blastoid histology
  • Patients with known or suspected CNS involvement
  • Viral infection with HIV or hepatitis type B or C. Seropositive HBV patients are eligible if they are negative for HBV DNA by PCR and receive concomitant antiviral therapy during treatment and for additional six months after coming off study.
  • Prior history of malignancies other than MCL unless the patient has been disease free for ≥ 5 years from the signing of the ICF. Exceptions include basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin; carcinoma in situ of cervix; carcinoma in situ of breast, or localized prostate cancer
  • Active uncontrolled systemic fungal, bacterial or viral infection (defined as ongoing signs/symptoms related to the infection without improvement despite appropriate antibiotics, antiviral therapy and/or other treatment)
  • Clinically significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or symptomatic arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of screening, or any Class 3 or 4 cardiac disease as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification.
  • Malabsorption syndrome, disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function, or resection of the stomach or small bowel that is likely to affect absorption, symptomatic inflammatory bowel disease, partial or complete bowel obstruction, or gastric restrictions and bariatric surgery, such as gastric bypass.
  • Active bleeding or history of bleeding diathesis (e.g., hemophilia or von Willebrand disease).
  • Uncontrolled AIHA (autoimmune hemolytic anemia) or ITP (idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura).
  • Requires treatment with a strong cytochrome P450 3A4 (CYP3A4) inhibitor/inducer. Patients on moderate CYP3A inhibitors can be considered for study after a washout period of at least 7 days.
  • Requires or receiving anticoagulation with warfarin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists (e.g., phenprocoumon) within 7 days of first dose of study drug.
  • Prothrombin time (PT)/INR or aPTT (in the absence of lupus anticoagulant) >2x ULN.
  • Requires treatment with proton pump inhibitors (e.g., omeprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole, dexlansoprazole, rabeprazole, or pantoprazole). Subjects receiving proton pump inhibitors who switch to H2-receptor antagonists or antacids are eligible for enrollment to this study.
  • History of significant cerebrovascular disease/event, including stroke or intracranial hemorrhage, within 6 months before the first dose of study drug.
  • Major surgical procedure within 28 days of first dose of study drug. Note: If a subject had major surgery, they must have recovered adequately from any toxicity and/or complications from the intervention before the first dose of study drug.
  • Patients with a history of toxic epidermal necrolysis or Stevens-Johnson syndrome
  • Patients that are pregnant or breast feeding
  • Known hypersensitivity to any study drug or excipients
  • Patient on corticosteroids within two weeks prior to study entry, except for prednisone ≤ 20 mg/day or equivalent for purposes other than treating MCL
  • Use of any other experimental drug or therapy within 28 days of baseline
  • Patient at high risk for deep vein thrombosis not willing to take DVT prophylaxis
  • Any significant medical condition, laboratory abnormality, or psychiatric illness that would prevent the subject from participating in the study
  • Known prior exposure to BTK inhibitor
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
37 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    ALR in Combination

    Acalabrutinib, lenalidomide, and rituximab in combination

    Drug: Acalabrutinib · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Rituximab

  • Experimental
    ALO in Combination

    Acalabrutinib, lenalidomide and obinutuzumab in combination

    Drug: Acalabrutinib · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Obinutuzumab

Interventions

  • DrugAcalabrutinib

    Acalabrutinib, oral, 100 mg BID, continuous

    Also known as: CALQUENCE, ACP-196

  • DrugLenalidomide

    Lenalidomide, 15 mg for cycle 1, then escalated as tolerated to 20 mg, QD, Days 1-21 out of 28 day cycles

    Also known as: Revlimid

  • DrugRituximab

    Rituximab, IV, weekly during Cycle 1, and every other cycle starting with Cycle 4

    Also known as: Rituxan

  • DrugObinutuzumab

    Obinutuzumab on days 1, 8, 15 of cycle 1, day 1 of cycles 2-6, then every 2 cycles

    Also known as: Gazyva

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Peripheral Blood Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)-Negative Complete Response (CR) Rate of the Combination of Acalabrutinib + Lenalidomide + Rituximab at the Conclusion of 12 Cycles of Induction Therapy

    Percentage of subjects with MRD-negative CR at the conclusion of 12 cycles of induction therapy. Each cycle is 28 days, 12 cycles is approximately 1 year.

    Time frame: 1 year

Secondary outcomes

  1. Safety of Combination Treatment With Acalabrutinib, Lenalidomide, and Rituximab as Measured by the Percentage of Subjects That Experience 1 or More Adverse Event

    Rate of subjects that experience 1 or more adverse events

    Time frame: 4 years

  2. Overall Response Rate

    Rate of subjects who achieve a partial or complete response

    Time frame: 4 years

  3. Complete Response Rate

    Rate of subjects who achieve a complete response

    Time frame: 4 years

  4. Progression Free Survival

    Measured from start of treatment to time of progression or death from any cause, measured in months

    Time frame: 4 years

  5. Overall Survival

    Measured from start of treatment to death from any cause, measured in months

    Time frame: 4 years

  6. Time to Next Treatment

    Measured from end of study treatment to initiation of next lymphoma treatment, measured in months

    Time frame: 4 years

07

Results

Posted Jun 6, 2025

Participant flow

A total of 37 patients were consented and 34 were enrolled, with 3 patient deemed as screen failure.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneALR -Cohort ACohort B-ALO
Started2410
Completed2410
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryPeripheral Blood Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)-Negative Complete Response (CR) Rate of the Combination of Acalabrutinib + Lenalidomide + Rituximab at the Conclusion of 12 Cycles of Induction Therapy

Percentage of subjects with MRD-negative CR at the conclusion of 12 cycles of induction therapy. Each cycle is 28 days, 12 cycles is approximately 1 year.

Time frame:
1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Peripheral Blood Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)-Negative Complete Response (CR) Rate of the Combination of Acalabrutinib + Lenalidomide + Rituximab at the Conclusion of 12 Cycles of Induction Therapy
ParticipantsALR in CombinationALO in Combination
Peripheral Blood Minimum Residual Disease (MRD)-Negative Complete Response (CR) Rate of the Combination of Acalabrutinib + Lenalidomide + Rituximab at the Conclusion of 12 Cycles of Induction Therapy169
SecondarySafety of Combination Treatment With Acalabrutinib, Lenalidomide, and Rituximab as Measured by the Percentage of Subjects That Experience 1 or More Adverse Event

Rate of subjects that experience 1 or more adverse events

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOverall Response Rate

Rate of subjects who achieve a partial or complete response

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryComplete Response Rate

Rate of subjects who achieve a complete response

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryProgression Free Survival

Measured from start of treatment to time of progression or death from any cause, measured in months

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOverall Survival

Measured from start of treatment to death from any cause, measured in months

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryTime to Next Treatment

Measured from end of study treatment to initiation of next lymphoma treatment, measured in months

Time frame:
4 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over All AEs will be reported until 30 days after the last dose of study treatment or the start of new anticancer therapy, an average of 2 years.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
ALR -Cohort A1/24 (4.2%)16/24 (66.7%)24/24 (100%)
Cohort B-ALO0/10 (0%)4/10 (40%)10/10 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 20
Most frequent serious events
EventALR -Cohort ACohort B-ALO
COVID-19 InfectionInfections and infestations4/240/10
Squamous Cell CarcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)4/240/10
FeverGeneral disorders3/241/10
Basal Cell CarcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)2/241/10
MelanomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/241/10
Intracranial HemorrhageNervous system disorders0/241/10
Lung InfectionInfections and infestations2/240/10
Actinic KeratosisNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)2/240/10
ConfusionPsychiatric disorders2/240/10
PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/240/10
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 253
Most frequent other events
EventALR -Cohort ACohort B-ALO
HeadacheNervous system disorders15/249/10
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders17/249/10
Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders21/246/10
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations17/248/10
FatigueGeneral disorders18/245/10
COVID-19 InfectionInfections and infestations18/243/10
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders9/247/10
Nasal congestionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders10/246/10
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders13/245/10
Pain in extremityMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders13/242/10

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)ALR in CombinationALO in CombinationTotal
Median64 (35 to 77)65 (37 to 82)65 (35 to 82)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ALR in CombinationALO in CombinationTotal
Female527
Male19827
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ALR in CombinationALO in CombinationTotal
Hispanic or Latino303
Not Hispanic or Latino21930
Unknown or Not Reported011
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ALR in CombinationALO in CombinationTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian011
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White22830
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported202
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Weill Cornell Medicine
    New York, New York 10065, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Ruan J, Bond DA, Shah B, Allan JN, Rutherford SC, Gribbin C, Chen Z, Bhinder B, Tam W, Rossi D, Xiang J, Hobbie B, Harbhajan M, Sahni TK, Chen GZ, Sigouros M, Inghirami G, Chen-Kiang S, Elemento O, Maddocks K, Leonard JP, Martin P. MRD-driven initial therapy of acalabrutinib and lenalidomide plus rituximab or obinutuzumab for mantle cell lymphoma. Blood Adv. 2026 Feb 24;10(4):1381-1394. doi: 10.1182/bloodadvances.2025017760. PubMed 41289154 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jul 31, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 28, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03863184
Lead sponsor
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Collaborators
AstraZeneca, Celgene Corporation
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 5, 2019
Start date
Oct 11, 2019
Primary completion
Apr 25, 2024
Completion
May 30, 2028 (estimated)
Results posted
Jun 6, 2025
Last update
Apr 28, 2026

Study contacts

Jia Ruan, M.D., Ph.D.
principal investigator · Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion