A Phase 1 interventional study of Azacitidine and Pevonedistat in Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Chronic and Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, sponsored by Takeda. Completed at 8 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-09-05.
Sponsored by Takeda · Phase 1, Interventional, and Other
Pevonedistat is a medicine to treat people with blood cancers or solid tumors.
The main aim of the study is to learn about the levels of pevonedistat in the blood of participants with blood cancers or solid tumors, who also have severe kidney problems or mild to moderate liver problems. The information from this study will be used to work out the best dose of pevonedistat to give people with these conditions in future studies. At the first visit, the study doctor will check who can take part in the study.
This study is in 2 parts: A and B.
Part A Participants will be placed into 1 of 4 treatment groups depending on how severe their kidney and liver problems are. All participants will receive 1 dose of pevonedistat as a slow injection in their vein (infusion). Then, the study doctors will check the levels of pevonedistat in the blood of the participants for 3 days after the infusion. They will also check if the participants have any side effects from pevonedistat.
Participants will be asked to continue to Part B. Those who don't want to continue will visit the clinic 30 days later for a final check-up.
Part B Participants who agree to participate into Part B will receive an infusion of pevonedistat on specific days during a 21-day or 28-day cycle. The cycle time will depend on what type of cancer the participants have. Participants will also be treated with standard of care medicines for their kidney and liver problems during this time. In the first cycle, the study doctors will also check the levels of pevonedistat in the blood and urine of participants for 3 days after the infusion. Participants will continue with cycles of treatment together with standard of care medicines until their condition gets worse or they have too many side effects from the treatment.
When treatment has finished, participants will visit the clinic 10 days later for a final check-up.
The drug being tested in this study is called pevonedistat. The study will characterize the PK of pevonedistat, assess the safety, and determine the dose of pevonedistat, in combination with azacitidine, docetaxel OR paclitaxel plus carboplatin in participants with higher-risk myelodysplastic syndromes (HRMDS), myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS), chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML), acute myelogenous leukemia (AML), or advanced solid tumors who also have severe renal impairment or mild or moderate hepatic impairment.
The study will enroll approximately 42 participants. Participants with solid tumors or hematologic malignancies will be assigned to one of the four treatment groups on the basis of their renal and hepatic function:
The study will be conducted in 2 parts: Part A and Part B. Part A will include single dose administration of pevonedistat. Eligible participants from Part A who will opt to continue treatment in Part B will be treated with pevonedistat in combination with standard of care (SOC) agents (azacitidine, docetaxel OR paclitaxel plus carboplatin) in Part B.
Intrapatient dose escalation of pevonedistat and SOC agents will be based on the safety data from Cycle 1 of Part B as mentioned below:
This multi-center trial will be conducted in the United States and Spain. The overall time to participate in this study is approximately 3.5 years. Participants will attend end of the study visit 30 days after the last dose of study drug or before the start of subsequent therapy, if that occurs sooner for safety follow up.
2,165 studies on the registry are indexed under Myelodysplastic Syndromes; 322 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 17 is below the median of 39 across 1,771 interventional studies indexed under Myelodysplastic Syndromes.
Browse Myelodysplastic Syndromes studies →Takeda is the lead sponsor of 1,025 studies on the registry; 92 are open to participants now.
Of its 177 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 153 (86%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
All participants:
Suitable venous access for the study-required blood sampling (that is, PK sampling).
For hematologic malignancies:
Morphologically confirmed diagnosis of MDS or nonproliferative CMML (that is, with white blood cell [WBC] \<13,000 /mcL) at the study entry, based on one of the following:
French-American-British (FAB) Classifications:
OR
World Health Organization (WHO) Classifications:
With MDS or CMML and must also have one of the following Prognostic Risk Categories, based on the Revised International Prognostic Scoring System (IPSS-R):
Laboratory value requirements per study arms are:
For advanced solid tumors:
Laboratory value requirements per study arms are:
Exclusion Criteria:
All participants:-
Has severe symptomatic pulmonary hypertension requiring pharmacologic therapy or participants with chronic respiratory disease that requires continuous oxygen.
For hematologic malignancies:
With hematologic malignancies, PT or aPTT >1.5 * ULN or active uncontrolled coagulopathy or bleeding disorder. Participants therapeutically anticoagulated with warfarin, direct thrombin inhibitors, direct factor Xa inhibitors, or heparin are excluded from enrollment.
For advanced solid tumors:
Pevonedistat 20 milligram per square meter (mg/m\^2), infusion, intravenously, once, on Day 1 of Part A in participants with hematologic malignancies, followed by a washout period of approximately 4 to 7 days, further followed by azacitidine 75 mg/m\^2, injection, subcutaneously in Cycle 1 or subcutaneously or intravenously in Cycle 2 and subsequent cycles, once on Day 1 through Day 7 or Day 1 through Day 5, and on Days 8 and 9 in combination with pevonedistat 20 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once, on Days 1, 3, and 5 in each 28-day treatment cycle in participants with hematologic malignancies until symptomatic deterioration or PD, discontinuation for any reason, study stopped by the sponsor, or up to 12 cycles.
Drug: Azacitidine · Drug: Pevonedistat
Pevonedistat 20 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once, on Day 1 of Part A in participants with hematologic malignancies, followed by a washout period of approximately 4 to 7 days, further followed by azacitidine 75 mg/m\^2, injection, subcutaneously in Cycle 1 or subcutaneously or intravenously in Cycle 2 and subsequent cycles, once on Day 1 through Day 7 or Day 1 through Day 5, and on Days 8-9 in combination with a starting dose of pevonedistat 10 mg/m\^2 to a maximum dose of pevonedistat 15 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once, on Days 1, 3, and 5 in each 28-day treatment cycle in participants with hematologic malignancies until symptomatic deterioration or PD, discontinuation for any reason, study stopped by the sponsor, or up to 12 cycles.
Drug: Azacitidine · Drug: Pevonedistat
Pevonedistat 20 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once, on Day 1 of Part A in participants with hematologic malignancies, followed by a washout period of approximately 4 to 7 days, further followed by azacitidine 75 mg/m\^2, injection, subcutaneously in Cycle 1 or subcutaneously or intravenously in Cycle 2 and subsequent cycles, once on Day 1 through Day 7 or Day 1 through Day 5, and on Days 8 and 9 in combination with a starting dose of pevonedistat 10 mg/m\^2 to a maximum dose of pevonedistat 20 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once, on Days 1, 3, and 5 in each 28-day treatment cycle in participants with hematologic malignancies until symptomatic deterioration or PD, discontinuation for any reason, study stopped by the sponsor, or up to 12 cycles.
Drug: Azacitidine · Drug: Pevonedistat
Azacitidine subcutaneous or intravenous injection.
Pevonedistat intravenous infusion.
Also known as: TAK-924 and MLN4924
Part A, AUC∞: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose
Time frame: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose
Part A, AUClast: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose
Time frame: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose
Part A, Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose
Time frame: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose
Parts A and B, t1/2z: Terminal Disposition Phase Half-life for Pevonedistat Following Single and Multiple Dose
Time frame: Part A: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose; Part B: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 48 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Pevonedistat Following Multiple Dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 48 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Parts A, fu: Fraction of Unbound Drug in Plasma for Pevonedistat
Time frame: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose
Part B, Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 7 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, Tmax: Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 7 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, t1/2z: Terminal Disposition Phase Half-life for Azacitidine Following Multiple-dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 7 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, AUCτ: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the End of the Dosing Interval for Pevonedistat Following Multiple Dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 48 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, AUCτ: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the End of the Dosing Interval for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 7 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Parts A and B, CL: Total Clearance for Pevonedistat
Time frame: Part A: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose; Part B: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 48 hours) post-dose (Cycle length is 28 Days)
Part B, CL/F: Apparent Clearance for Azacitidine
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 8 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, CLR: Renal Clearance for Pevonedistat
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 8 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, CLR: Renal Clearance for Azacitidine
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 8 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Parts A and B, Vss: Volume of Distribution at Steady-state of Pevonedistat
Time frame: Part A: Day 1 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 72 hours) post-dose; Part B: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 48 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B, Vz/F: Apparent Volume of Distribution of Azacitidine
Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 3 pre-dose and at multiple time points (up to 8 hours) post-dose (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B: Percentage of AML Participants With Complete Response/ Remission (CR) or CR With Incomplete Blood Count Recovery (CRi) or Partial Response (PR)
Disease response in AML are based on international working group (IWG) for diagnosis, standardization of response criteria, treatment outcomes, and reporting standards for therapeutic trials in AML. For AML participants, all CR includes both CR and CRi. CR: morphologic leukemia-free state with absolute neutrophil count (ANC) of greater than (\>) 1000 per microliter (/mcL) and platelets of greater than or equal to (\>=) 100,000/mcL, and no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia. CRi: After chemotherapy, some participants fulfill all criteria for CR except for residual neutropenia (less than \[\<\] 1000/mcL) or thrombocytopenia (\<100,000/mcL). PR: requires all hematologic values for a CR but with a decrease of at least 50 percent (%) in the percentage of blasts to 5% to 25% in the bone marrow aspirate. A value of less than or equal to (\<=) 5% blasts may also be considered a PR if Auer rods are present.
Time frame: Cycle 2 Day 22, Cycles 5, 8, and 11 (between Days 15 and 28), and every 6 cycles (up to 2 years 9 months) (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B: Percentage of MDS and CMML Participants With CR, PR or Hematologic Improvement (HI)
Disease response in MDS and CMML was based on best overall response (CR+PR+HI) as determined by investigator using revised IWG response criteria for MDS and CMML. CR: morphologic leukemia-free state with absolute neutrophil count (ANC) of greater than (\>) 1000 per microliter (/mcL) and platelets of greater than or equal to (\>=) 100,000/mcL, and no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia. PR: requires all hematologic values for a CR but with a decrease of at least 50 percent (%) in the percentage of blasts to 5% to 25% in the bone marrow aspirate. A value of less than or equal to (\<=) 5% blasts may also be considered a PR if Auer rods are present. HI: erythropoietic (HI-E): Hemoglobin increase of ≥ 1.5 g/dL untransfused, for red blood cells (RBC) transfusions performed for hemoglobin ≤ 9.0: reduction in RBC units transfused in 8 weeks by ≥ 4 units compared to the number of units transfused in the 8 weeks prior to treatment. No participants with CMML were enrolled in this study.
Time frame: Cycle 2 Day 22, Cycles 5, 8, and 11 (between Days 15 and 28), and every 6 cycles (up to 2 years 9 months) (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B: Percentage of HR MDS and AML Participants With Overall Response
Overall Response Rate is defined as CR+CRi+PR+HI. CR:≤5% myeloblasts with normal maturation of all bone marrow(BM)cell lines,≥11g/dL Hgb,≥100\*10\^9/L pl,≥1.0\*10\^9/L neutrophils,0% blasts in peripheral blood;PR:all CR criteria met except BM blasts ≥50% decrease over pretreatment but still \>5%;HI:Hgb increase(inc) ≥1.5g/dL if baseline(BL)\<11 g/dL;pl inc≥30\*10\^9/L if BL\>20\*10\^9/L or inc from \<20\*10\^9/L to \>20\*10\^9/L and by 100%;neutrophil inc by 100%;absolute inc of \>0.5\*10\^9/L if BL\<100\*10\^9/L.For AML-CR:morphologic leukemia-free state \>1.0\*10\^9 neutrophils,≥100\*10\^9/L pl,transfusion independence,no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia;CR with incomplete blood count recovery:fulfill CR criteria except residual neutropenia (\<1000/μL) or thrombocytopenia (\<100,000/μL);PR:all CR hematological values but ≥50% decrease in BM aspirate.
Time frame: Cycle 2 Day 22, Cycles 5, 8, and 11 (between Days 15 and 28), and every 6 cycles (up to 2 years 9 months) (Cycle length= 28 days)
Part B: Duration of CR, PR and HI
Duration of response in participants with disease response (CR+PR+HI) for hematologic malignancies is time between first documentation of response and disease progression. Duration of response will be determined by the investigator using the revised IWG response criteria.
Time frame: From first documentation of response up to disease progression (up to 2 years 9 months)
Part B: Percentage of Solid Tumors Participants With CR or PR
Disease response in solid tumors was based on best overall response (CR+PR) as determined by investigator using the RECIST version 1.1 criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions with any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or nontarget) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 millimeter (mm) and disappearance of all nontarget lesions and normalization of tumor marker level with all lymph nodes must be nonpathological in size (\<10 mm short axis); PR: At least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters and Persistence of one or more nontarget lesion(s) or/and maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. No participants with solid tumors were enrolled in this study.
Time frame: Cycle 2 Day 22, Cycles 5, 8, and 11 (between Days 15 and 28), and every 6 cycles (up to 2 years 9 months) (Cycle length= 28 days)
Participants took part in the study at 5 investigative sites in United States and Spain from 10 July 2019 to 19 April 2022.
| Milestone | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Response-evaluable population | 8 | 1 | 2 |
| Completed | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Completed | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Progressive disease | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Unsatisfactory therapeutic response | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Symptomatic deterioration | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Reason not specified | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| hour*nanogram per milliliter(h*ng/mL) | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part A, AUC∞: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose | 1168.616 ± 69.4811 | 1293.467 ± 22.0685 | 1050.553 ± 69.4854 |
| h*ng/mL | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part A, AUClast: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose | 1120.759 ± 73.3956 | 1267.523 ± 22.1528 | 1020.344 ± 71.9314 |
| nanograms per milliliter(ng/mL) | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part A, Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Pevonedistat Following a Single Dose | 262.9 ± 188.54 | 180.2 ± 37.66 | 148.9 ± 30.09 |
| hours (h) | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parts A and B, t1/2z: Terminal Disposition Phase Half-life for Pevonedistat Following Single and Multiple Dose | 6.957 (4.25 to 13.88) | 8.493 (7.31 to 10.29) | 9.612 (7.49 to 11.03) | — | 8.795 (7.03 to 9.22) | 10.248 (9.78 to 10.72) | — | 8.98 (8.98 to 8.98) | — | 6.477 (3.93 to 13.37) | — | 6.79 (6.79 to 6.79) |
| ng/mL | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Part B: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Pevonedistat Following Multiple Dose | — | 74.73 ± 14.941 | 44.74 ± 24.579 | — | 128.00 ± NA | — | 141.55 ± 37.468 | — | 75.80 ± NA |
| percentage of plasma fraction unbound | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parts A, fu: Fraction of Unbound Drug in Plasma for Pevonedistat | 5.800 ± 18.2880 | 7.073 ± 12.2269 | 5.529 ± 2.0462 |
| ng/mL | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose | 645.4 ± 34.40 | 918.6 ± 98.14 | 834.8 ± 38.23 |
| hours (h) | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, Tmax: Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose | 0.325 (0.08 to 0.75) | 0.500 (0.32 to 0.53) | 0.250 (0.12 to 0.75) |
| hours (h) | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, t1/2z: Terminal Disposition Phase Half-life for Azacitidine Following Multiple-dose | 0.706 (0.57 to 1.47) | 1.020 (0.79 to 1.76) | 0.694 (0.67 to 1.13) |
| h*ng/mL | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, AUCτ: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the End of the Dosing Interval for Pevonedistat Following Multiple Dose | — | 574.168 ± 19.6797 | 396.240 ± 14.4663 | — | 884.974 ± NA | — | 848.866 ± 25.6831 | — | 431.699 ± NA |
| h*ng/mL | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, AUCτ: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the End of the Dosing Interval for Azacitidine Following Multiple Dose | 822.457 ± 31.1338 | 1331.654 ± 63.1278 | 751.448 ± 35.3760 |
| liters per hour (L/h) | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parts A and B, CL: Total Clearance for Pevonedistat | 32.149 ± 64.5489 | 29.167 ± 31.5125 | 34.476 ± 56.9322 | — | 32.721 ± 36.0104 | 51.628 ± 9.1794 | — | 32.361 ± NA | — | 44.259 ± 24.9426 | — | 65.746 ± NA |
| L/h | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, CL/F: Apparent Clearance for Azacitidine | 171.301 ± 34.6321 | 106.238 ± 74.8634 | 180.744 ± 21.1071 |
| L/h | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, CLR: Renal Clearance for Pevonedistat | — | 0.298 ± 51.0558 | 0.492 ± 36.0553 | — | 0.069 ± NA | — | 0.516 ± 147.7469 | — | 0.062 ± NA |
| L/h | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, CLR: Renal Clearance for Azacitidine | 0.909 ± 134.3959 | 0.161 ± 207.8515 | 0.445 ± 167.4353 |
| Liters (L) | Part A: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 10 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 15 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Control Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Renal Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm: Pevonedistat 20 mg/m^2 + Azacitidine 75 mg/m^2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parts A and B, Vss: Volume of Distribution at Steady-state of Pevonedistat | 219.288 ± 124.3584 | 293.614 ± 36.3707 | 353.570 ± 55.0197 | — | 351.749 ± 23.5066 | 729.013 ± 3.2642 | — | 336.922 ± NA | — | 370.563 ± 44.2326 | — | 573.044 ± NA |
| L | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B, Vz/F: Apparent Volume of Distribution of Azacitidine | 190.871 ± 60.0093 | 167.610 ± 92.9284 | 211.139 ± 8.4099 |
Disease response in AML are based on international working group (IWG) for diagnosis, standardization of response criteria, treatment outcomes, and reporting standards for therapeutic trials in AML. For AML participants, all CR includes both CR and CRi. CR: morphologic leukemia-free state with absolute neutrophil count (ANC) of greater than (\>) 1000 per microliter (/mcL) and platelets of greater than or equal to (\>=) 100,000/mcL, and no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia. CRi: After chemotherapy, some participants fulfill all criteria for CR except for residual neutropenia (less than \[\<\] 1000/mcL) or thrombocytopenia (\<100,000/mcL). PR: requires all hematologic values for a CR but with a decrease of at least 50 percent (%) in the percentage of blasts to 5% to 25% in the bone marrow aspirate. A value of less than or equal to (\<=) 5% blasts may also be considered a PR if Auer rods are present.
| percentage of participants | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| CR or CRi | 13 | 0 | 0 |
| PR | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Disease response in MDS and CMML was based on best overall response (CR+PR+HI) as determined by investigator using revised IWG response criteria for MDS and CMML. CR: morphologic leukemia-free state with absolute neutrophil count (ANC) of greater than (\>) 1000 per microliter (/mcL) and platelets of greater than or equal to (\>=) 100,000/mcL, and no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia. PR: requires all hematologic values for a CR but with a decrease of at least 50 percent (%) in the percentage of blasts to 5% to 25% in the bone marrow aspirate. A value of less than or equal to (\<=) 5% blasts may also be considered a PR if Auer rods are present. HI: erythropoietic (HI-E): Hemoglobin increase of ≥ 1.5 g/dL untransfused, for red blood cells (RBC) transfusions performed for hemoglobin ≤ 9.0: reduction in RBC units transfused in 8 weeks by ≥ 4 units compared to the number of units transfused in the 8 weeks prior to treatment. No participants with CMML were enrolled in this study.
| percentage of participants | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| MDS CR | 38 | 0 | 0 |
| MDS PR | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| MDS HI | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Overall Response Rate is defined as CR+CRi+PR+HI. CR:≤5% myeloblasts with normal maturation of all bone marrow(BM)cell lines,≥11g/dL Hgb,≥100\*10\^9/L pl,≥1.0\*10\^9/L neutrophils,0% blasts in peripheral blood;PR:all CR criteria met except BM blasts ≥50% decrease over pretreatment but still \>5%;HI:Hgb increase(inc) ≥1.5g/dL if baseline(BL)\<11 g/dL;pl inc≥30\*10\^9/L if BL\>20\*10\^9/L or inc from \<20\*10\^9/L to \>20\*10\^9/L and by 100%;neutrophil inc by 100%;absolute inc of \>0.5\*10\^9/L if BL\<100\*10\^9/L.For AML-CR:morphologic leukemia-free state \>1.0\*10\^9 neutrophils,≥100\*10\^9/L pl,transfusion independence,no residual evidence of extramedullary leukemia;CR with incomplete blood count recovery:fulfill CR criteria except residual neutropenia (\<1000/μL) or thrombocytopenia (\<100,000/μL);PR:all CR hematological values but ≥50% decrease in BM aspirate.
| percentage of participants | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B: Percentage of HR MDS and AML Participants With Overall Response | 50 | 0 | 0 |
Duration of response in participants with disease response (CR+PR+HI) for hematologic malignancies is time between first documentation of response and disease progression. Duration of response will be determined by the investigator using the revised IWG response criteria.
| days | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part B: Duration of CR, PR and HI | NA (NA to NA) | — | — |
Disease response in solid tumors was based on best overall response (CR+PR) as determined by investigator using the RECIST version 1.1 criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions with any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or nontarget) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 millimeter (mm) and disappearance of all nontarget lesions and normalization of tumor marker level with all lymph nodes must be nonpathological in size (\<10 mm short axis); PR: At least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters and Persistence of one or more nontarget lesion(s) or/and maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. No participants with solid tumors were enrolled in this study.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Collected over From the study start up to end of study (up to approximately 2 years 9 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part A: Control Arm | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 2/10 (20%) |
| Part A: Renal Arm | 0/4 (0%) | 0/4 (0%) | 1/4 (25%) |
| Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) | 1/3 (33.3%) |
| Part B: Control Arm | 2/10 (20%) | 7/10 (70%) | 10/10 (100%) |
| Part B: Renal Arm | 2/4 (50%) | 3/4 (75%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm | 0/3 (0%) | 2/3 (66.7%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Event | Part A: Control Arm | Part A: Renal Arm | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 2/4 | 0/3 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 1/3 |
| Rectal haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 0/4 | 1/3 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 3/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| Acute myeloid leukaemiaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| Chronic kidney diseaseRenal and urinary disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| Tumour lysis syndromeMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 0/3 |
| Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 |
| Event | Part A: Control Arm | Part A: Renal Arm | Part A: Mild Hepatic Arm | Part B: Control Arm | Part B: Renal Arm | Part B: Mild Hepatic Arm |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blood creatinine increasedInvestigations | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 3/4 | 0/3 |
| Blood bilirubin increasedInvestigations | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 1/4 | 2/3 |
| Conjunctival haemorrhageEye disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/10 | 0/4 | 2/3 |
| EpistaxisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 2/10 | 1/4 | 2/3 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 1/10 | 0/4 | 1/3 | 6/10 | 0/4 | 2/3 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/10 | 2/4 | 0/3 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 1/3 | 3/10 | 2/4 | 1/3 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 3/10 | 2/4 | 0/3 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 4/10 | 2/4 | 1/3 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 | 4/10 | 0/4 | 0/3 |
Safety population included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 70.1 ± 11.75 | 71.5 ± 6.86 | 79.7 ± 3.06 | 72.1 ± 10.05 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Male | 10 | 3 | 2 | 15 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 10 | 4 | 3 | 17 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| White | 8 | 4 | 2 | 14 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 6 | 3 | 2 | 11 |
| Spain | 4 | 1 | 1 | 6 |
| Height(centimeter (cm)) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 170.3 ± 5.99 | 175.0 ± 11.13 | 170.2 ± 22.00 | 171.4 ± 10.40 |
| Weight(kilogram (kg)) | Control Arm | Renal Arm | Mild Hepatic Arm | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 75.0 ± 7.77 | 74.5 ± 14.21 | 71.7 ± 19.43 | 74.3 ± 10.98 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Takeda provides access to the de-identified individual participant data (IPD) for eligible studies to aid qualified researchers in addressing legitimate scientific objectives (Takeda's data sharing commitment is available on https://clinicaltrials.takeda.com/takedas-commitment?commitment=5). These IPDs will be provided in a secure research environment following approval of a data sharing request, and under the terms of a data sharing agreement.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Statistical analysis plan, Informed consent form, Clinical study report
Access criteria: IPD from eligible studies will be shared with qualified researchers according to the criteria and process described on https://vivli.org/ourmember/takeda/. For approved requests, the researchers will be provided access to anonymized data (to respect patient privacy in line with applicable laws and regulations) and with information necessary to address the research objectives under the terms of a data sharing agreement.
Data sharing details ↗ · vivli.org
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Pevonedistat