CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03745820TALLYUpdated Apr 18, 2023Results posted

A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of BIIB104 in Participants With Cognitive Impairment Associated With Schizophrenia (CIAS)

A Phase 2 interventional study of BIIB104 and Placebo in Cognitive Impairment Associated With Schizophrenia, sponsored by Biogen. Completed at 60 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 55 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-04-18.

Sponsored by Biogen · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
195
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 55 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The primary objective of the study is to evaluate the efficacy of BIIB104 in participants with CIAS, using the Working Memory Domain of the MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB).

The secondary objectives of this study are to evaluate the safety and tolerability of BIIB104 in participants with CIAS, and to evaluate the efficacy of BIIB104 in participants with CIAS on measures of cognition, functioning, and psychiatric symptomology.

02

Conditions studied

  • Cognitive Impairment Associated With Schizophrenia
03

In context

Schizophrenia

3,471 studies on the registry are indexed under Schizophrenia; 472 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 195 is above the median of 70 across 2,872 interventional studies indexed under Schizophrenia.

Browse Schizophrenia studies →

Lead sponsor

Biogen is the lead sponsor of 494 studies on the registry; 22 are open to participants now.

Of its 98 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 49 (50%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 55 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria:

  • Otherwise healthy participant with a Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), diagnosis of schizophrenia of at least 2 years' duration as confirmed by the mini-international neuropsychiatric interview (MINI) 7.0.2 for Psychotic Disorders.
  • Evidence of stable schizophrenia symptomatology ≥12 weeks (e.g., no hospitalizations for schizophrenia, no increase in level of psychiatric care due to worsening of schizophrenia symptoms).
  • Participants must be in ongoing maintenance atypical antipsychotic therapy (except clozapine), on a stable treatment regimen for ≥8 weeks prior to Baseline/Day 1, including concomitant psychotropic medication. Doses of background atypical antipsychotics should be within the recommended dose range listed in the approved product labeling of the country where the study is being conducted.
  • SCI-PANSS: No more than moderate-severe rating (score ≤5) on delusions, hallucinatory behavior, grandiosity, suspiciousness / persecution, and hostility (i.e. PANSS, positive symptom items P1, P3, P5, P6, P7); or unusual thought content (G9); and no more than a moderate rating (score ≤4) on conceptual disorganization (P2).

Key Exclusion Criteria:

  • Participation in a trial using any component or version of the MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) or the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Performance-Based Skills Assessment test within the previous 6 months.
  • Participation in cognitive remediation therapy within 6 months prior to randomization.
  • Screening MCCB Working Memory Domain T-score ≥60.
  • Current DSM-5 diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder on the MINI 7.0.2 for Psychotic Disorders.
  • Current DSM-5 diagnosis of major depressive episode, manic and hypomanic episode, panic disorder, agoraphobia, social anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, and/or generalized anxiety disorder on the MINI 7.0.2 for Psychotic Disorders.
  • Lifetime DSM-5 diagnosis of antisocial personality disorder, anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and/or binge-eating disorder on the MINI 7.0.2 for Psychotic Disorders.
  • Meets the DSM-5 diagnosis of moderate or severe substance use disorder (excluding nicotine dependence) within 12 months of screening on the MINI 7.0.2 for Psychotic Disorders interview.
  • DSM-5 diagnosis of Intellectual Disability (intellectual developmental disorder).

NOTE: Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
195 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    BIIB104 0.5 mg

    Participants will receive 0.5 mg of BIIB104 twice a day, orally, for 12 weeks.

    Drug: BIIB104

  • Experimental
    BIIB104 0.15 mg

    Participants will receive 0.15 mg of BIIB104 twice a day, orally, for 12 weeks.

    Drug: BIIB104

  • Placebo comparator
    Matching Placebo

    Participants will receive matching placebo twice a day, orally, for 12 weeks.

    Other: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugBIIB104

    Administered as specified in the treatment arm

    Also known as: PF-04958242

  • OtherPlacebo

    Administered as specified in the treatment arm

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Change From Baseline in Measurement and Treatment Research to Improve Cognition in Schizophrenia (MATRICS) Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score at Week 12

    The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., Working Memory, Verbal Learning, Speed of Processing, Attention/Vigilance, Visual Learning, Social Cognition, and Reasoning and Problem Solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. The working memory domain score of the MCCB is reported in this outcome measure.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, places the participant at immediate risk of death, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, results in a congenital anomaly/birth defect, or is a medically important event.

    Time frame: From first dose of study drug through end of the study (up to Week 14)

  2. Mean Total Score Assessed by Scale for the Assessment and Rating of Ataxia (SARA)

    The SARA is a clinical scale that is based on a semiquantitative assessment of cerebellar ataxia on an impairment level and complements the brief neurological examination. The SARA scale is an eight-item clinical rating scale (gait, stance, sitting, speech, finger-chase test, nose-finger test, fast alternating movements, and heel-shin test) with a total score range of 0-40, where 0 is the best neurological status and 40 is the worst neurological status.

    Time frame: Baseline, Weeks 2, 6, 12 and safety follow-up (Week 14)

  3. Number of Participants With at Least One Event of Suicidal Ideation and/or Suicidal Behavior as Assessed by Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Score

    The C-SSRS is an interview-based rating scale to systematically assess suicidal ideation and suicidal behavior. Suicidal ideation is classified on a 5-item scale: 1 (wish to be dead), 2 (nonspecific active suicidal thoughts), 3 (active suicidal ideation with any methods \[not plan\] without intent to act), 4 (active suicidal ideation with some intent to act, without specific plan), and 5 (active suicidal ideation with specific plan and intent). Suicidal behavior is classified on a 6-item scale: 1 (actual attempt), 2 (interrupted attempt), 3 (aborted attempt), 4 (preparatory acts or behavior), 5 (suicidal behavior), and 6 (suicide). The data analyzed signifies the participants with at least one event of suicidal ideation and/or suicidal behavior.

    Time frame: Up to Week 14

  4. Change From Baseline in University of California, San Diego Performance Based Skills Assessment-Brief International Version (UPSA-Bi) Assessment at Week 12

    The UPSA-Bi, international version, an abbreviated version of the UPSA-Validation of Intermediate Measures, is a measure of functional capacity and assesses skills used in community tasks. This assessment measures 2 general skills that were previously identified as essential to functioning in the community: financial skills and communication skills. The UPSA-Bi assessment is scored from 0-100, higher scores indicating higher functional status.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  5. Change From Baseline in Schizophrenia Cognition Rating Scale (SCoRS) Assessment Score at Week 12

    The SCoRS is an interview-based assessment of cognition that involves interviews with participants and informants. The SCoRS includes 20 items designed to specifically assess aspects of cognitive functioning found in each of the seven MCCB cognitive domains including the following: Memory: 4 items; Learning: 2 items; Attention: 3 items; Working memory: 2 items; Problem solving: 3 items; Processing/motor speed: 2 items; Social cognition: 3 items; Language: 1 item. Total score range is 20-80, lower scores indicating higher functional status. The data reported in this outcome measure are for global rating score.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  6. Change From Baseline in MCCB Neurocognitive Composite Scores at Week 12

    The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., Working Memory, Verbal Learning, Speed of Processing, Attention/Vigilance, Visual Learning, Social Cognition, and Reasoning and Problem Solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. The MCCB composite score contains all of the tests and domains of the MCCB.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  7. Change From Baseline in MCCB Individual Domain Scores (Excluding Working Memory Domain) at Week 12

    The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., working memory, verbal learning, speed of processing, attention/vigilance, visual learning, social cognition, and reasoning and problem solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. All the domain scores of the MCCB are reported in this outcome measure with the exception of working memory domain.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  8. Change From Baseline in Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Total Score, Positive Subscale, and Negative Subscale Scores at Week 12

    The PANSS includes 3 subscales and 30 items: 7 items that make up the Positive subscale (e.g., delusions, conceptual disorganization, hallucinatory behaviour); 7 items that make up the Negative subscale (e.g., blunted affect, emotional withdrawal, poor rapport, passive/apathetic social withdrawal); and 16 items that make up the General Psychopathology subscale (e.g., somatic concern, anxiety, guilt feelings, mannerisms and posturing, motor retardation, uncooperativeness, disorientation, poor impulse control, preoccupation). Each item on the positive, negative and general psychopathology subscale is rated from 1 (absent) to 7 (extreme). The score range is 7-49 for positive and negative subscales, score range is 16-112 for the general psychopathology subscale. Total PANSS score (positive+ negative + general psychopathology subscale scores) range from 30 to 210. Higher scores represent more severity in symptoms.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  9. Change From Baseline in Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) Scores at Week 12

    The CGI-S consists of a single 7-point rating score of illness severity. The following question: "Considering your total clinical experience with this particular population, how mentally ill is your participant at this time?" is rated with a score from 1 to 7- 1: Normal, not ill at all; 2: Borderline mentally ill; 3: Mildly ill; 4: Moderately ill; 5: Markedly ill; 6: Severely ill; or 7: Among the most severely ill participants. Lower scores indicate less severity of illness.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  10. Number of Participants With Response on Clinical Global Impression-Improvement (CGI-I) Scale at Week 12

    The CGI-I consists of a single 7-point rating score total improvement, regardless of whether or not the change is due entirely to drug treatment. The following question: "Compared to your participant's condition at the beginning of treatment, how much has your participant changed?" is rated with a score from 1 to 7- 1: Very much improved; 2: Much improved; 3: Minimally improved; 4: No change; 5: Minimally worse; 6: Much worse; or 7: Very much worse. Lower scores indicate greater improvement.

    Time frame: Week 12

07

Results

Posted Apr 18, 2023

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at 53 investigative sites in the United States, Japan, Spain, Germany, and the United Kingdom from 15 Nov 2018 to 07 April 2022.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Started646665
Safety analysis set636666
Completed525251
Not completed121414
Withdrew: Adverse event032
Withdrew: Non-compliance with study drug430
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject444
Withdrew: Physician decision unrelated to safety/efficacy004
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up203
Withdrew: Reason not specified241

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Change From Baseline in Measurement and Treatment Research to Improve Cognition in Schizophrenia (MATRICS) Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score at Week 12

The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., Working Memory, Verbal Learning, Speed of Processing, Attention/Vigilance, Visual Learning, Social Cognition, and Reasoning and Problem Solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. The working memory domain score of the MCCB is reported in this outcome measure.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Change From Baseline in Measurement and Treatment Research to Improve Cognition in Schizophrenia (MATRICS) Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Change From Baseline in Change From Baseline in Measurement and Treatment Research to Improve Cognition in Schizophrenia (MATRICS) Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score at Week 121.17 ± 0.9390.91 ± 0.9360.84 ± 0.934
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.8472 · Least squares (ls) mean difference: -0.26 · 95% CI -2.88 to 2.37
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.8053 · Ls mean difference: -0.33 · 95% CI -2.94 to 2.29
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, places the participant at immediate risk of death, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, results in a congenital anomaly/birth defect, or is a medically important event.

Time frame:
From first dose of study drug through end of the study (up to Week 14)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
ParticipantsPlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
AEs283228
SAEs112
SecondaryMean Total Score Assessed by Scale for the Assessment and Rating of Ataxia (SARA)

The SARA is a clinical scale that is based on a semiquantitative assessment of cerebellar ataxia on an impairment level and complements the brief neurological examination. The SARA scale is an eight-item clinical rating scale (gait, stance, sitting, speech, finger-chase test, nose-finger test, fast alternating movements, and heel-shin test) with a total score range of 0-40, where 0 is the best neurological status and 40 is the worst neurological status.

Time frame:
Baseline, Weeks 2, 6, 12 and safety follow-up (Week 14)
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Mean Total Score Assessed by Scale for the Assessment and Rating of Ataxia (SARA)
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Baseline0.5 ± 1.030.4 ± 1.150.3 ± 0.92
Week 20.4 ± 0.850.5 ± 1.100.3 ± 0.68
Week 60.4 ± 0.710.3 ± 0.900.2 ± 0.58
Week 120.4 ± 0.800.3 ± 0.820.2 ± 0.72
Week 140.4 ± 0.850.3 ± 0.910.2 ± 0.69
SecondaryNumber of Participants With at Least One Event of Suicidal Ideation and/or Suicidal Behavior as Assessed by Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Score

The C-SSRS is an interview-based rating scale to systematically assess suicidal ideation and suicidal behavior. Suicidal ideation is classified on a 5-item scale: 1 (wish to be dead), 2 (nonspecific active suicidal thoughts), 3 (active suicidal ideation with any methods \[not plan\] without intent to act), 4 (active suicidal ideation with some intent to act, without specific plan), and 5 (active suicidal ideation with specific plan and intent). Suicidal behavior is classified on a 6-item scale: 1 (actual attempt), 2 (interrupted attempt), 3 (aborted attempt), 4 (preparatory acts or behavior), 5 (suicidal behavior), and 6 (suicide). The data analyzed signifies the participants with at least one event of suicidal ideation and/or suicidal behavior.

Time frame:
Up to Week 14
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With at Least One Event of Suicidal Ideation and/or Suicidal Behavior as Assessed by Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Score
ParticipantsPlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Number of Participants With at Least One Event of Suicidal Ideation and/or Suicidal Behavior as Assessed by Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Score340
SecondaryChange From Baseline in University of California, San Diego Performance Based Skills Assessment-Brief International Version (UPSA-Bi) Assessment at Week 12

The UPSA-Bi, international version, an abbreviated version of the UPSA-Validation of Intermediate Measures, is a measure of functional capacity and assesses skills used in community tasks. This assessment measures 2 general skills that were previously identified as essential to functioning in the community: financial skills and communication skills. The UPSA-Bi assessment is scored from 0-100, higher scores indicating higher functional status.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in University of California, San Diego Performance Based Skills Assessment-Brief International Version (UPSA-Bi) Assessment at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Change From Baseline in University of California, San Diego Performance Based Skills Assessment-Brief International Version (UPSA-Bi) Assessment at Week 122.07 ± 1.3035.50 ± 1.2925.49 ± 1.305
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · ANCOVA · p = =0.0637 · Ls mean difference: 3.43 · 95% CI -0.20 to 7.06
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · ANCOVA · p = =0.0659 · Ls mean difference: 3.42 · 95% CI -0.23 to 7.06
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Schizophrenia Cognition Rating Scale (SCoRS) Assessment Score at Week 12

The SCoRS is an interview-based assessment of cognition that involves interviews with participants and informants. The SCoRS includes 20 items designed to specifically assess aspects of cognitive functioning found in each of the seven MCCB cognitive domains including the following: Memory: 4 items; Learning: 2 items; Attention: 3 items; Working memory: 2 items; Problem solving: 3 items; Processing/motor speed: 2 items; Social cognition: 3 items; Language: 1 item. Total score range is 20-80, lower scores indicating higher functional status. The data reported in this outcome measure are for global rating score.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Schizophrenia Cognition Rating Scale (SCoRS) Assessment Score at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Change From Baseline in Schizophrenia Cognition Rating Scale (SCoRS) Assessment Score at Week 12-0.51 ± 0.146-0.42 ± 0.148-0.41 ± 0.145
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · ANCOVA · p = =0.6653 · Ls mean difference: 0.208 · 95% CI -0.32 to 0.50
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · ANCOVA · p = =0.6140 · Ls mean difference: 0.206 · 95% CI -0.30 to 0.51
SecondaryChange From Baseline in MCCB Neurocognitive Composite Scores at Week 12

The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., Working Memory, Verbal Learning, Speed of Processing, Attention/Vigilance, Visual Learning, Social Cognition, and Reasoning and Problem Solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. The MCCB composite score contains all of the tests and domains of the MCCB.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in MCCB Neurocognitive Composite Scores at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Change From Baseline in MCCB Neurocognitive Composite Scores at Week 122.90 ± 0.7331.80 ± 0.7283.39 ± 0.727
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.2886 · Ls mean difference: -1.10 · 95% CI -3.14 to 0.94
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.6349 · Ls mean difference: 0.49 · 95% CI -1.55 to 2.53
SecondaryChange From Baseline in MCCB Individual Domain Scores (Excluding Working Memory Domain) at Week 12

The MCCB is a cognitive battery that assesses 7 domains recommended by the MATRICS initiative (i.e., working memory, verbal learning, speed of processing, attention/vigilance, visual learning, social cognition, and reasoning and problem solving). MCCB was administered via laptop computer and paper-and-pencil assessments. T-scores for the individual tests were calculated according to the developer's recommended scoring algorithms. MCCB composite T scores are between 40 and 60 (normal range). Higher scores indicate better cognitive functioning. All the domain scores of the MCCB are reported in this outcome measure with the exception of working memory domain.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in MCCB Individual Domain Scores (Excluding Working Memory Domain) at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Verbal Learning: Change at Week 120.95 ± 0.9511.41 ± 0.9460.41 ± 0.950
Speed of Processing: Change at Week 124.42 ± 0.8242.28 ± 0.8193.99 ± 0.817
Attention/Vigilance: Change at Week 120.62 ± 0.8520.53 ± 0.8481.55 ± 0.848
Visual Learning: Change at Week 121.70 ± 1.1310.19 ± 1.1251.77 ± 1.125
Social Cognition: Change at Week 12-0.13 ± 0.9591.06 ± 0.9530.95 ± 0.955
Reasoning and Problem Solving: Change at Week 122.81 ± 1.0192.10 ± 1.10144.40 ± 1.011
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.7372 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 0.45 · 95% CI -2.21 to 3.11
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.6894 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.54 · 95% CI -3.20 to 2.12
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.0674 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -2.14 · 95% CI -4.44 to 0.16
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.7132 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.43 · 95% CI -2.72 to 1.87
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.9428 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.09 · 95% CI -2.46 to 2.29
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.4425 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 0.93 · 95% CI -1.45 to 3.30
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.3455 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -1.51 · 95% CI -4.66 to 1.64
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.9686 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 0.06 · 95% CI -3.09 to 3.21
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.3832 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 1.18 · 95% CI -1.49 to 3.85
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.4297 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 1.07 · 95% CI -1.61 to 3.75
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.6245 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.71 · 95% CI -3.55 to 2.14
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.2698 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: 1.59 · 95% CI -1.25 to 4.43
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Total Score, Positive Subscale, and Negative Subscale Scores at Week 12

The PANSS includes 3 subscales and 30 items: 7 items that make up the Positive subscale (e.g., delusions, conceptual disorganization, hallucinatory behaviour); 7 items that make up the Negative subscale (e.g., blunted affect, emotional withdrawal, poor rapport, passive/apathetic social withdrawal); and 16 items that make up the General Psychopathology subscale (e.g., somatic concern, anxiety, guilt feelings, mannerisms and posturing, motor retardation, uncooperativeness, disorientation, poor impulse control, preoccupation). Each item on the positive, negative and general psychopathology subscale is rated from 1 (absent) to 7 (extreme). The score range is 7-49 for positive and negative subscales, score range is 16-112 for the general psychopathology subscale. Total PANSS score (positive+ negative + general psychopathology subscale scores) range from 30 to 210. Higher scores represent more severity in symptoms.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Total Score, Positive Subscale, and Negative Subscale Scores at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Positive Symptoms Subscale: Change From Baseline at Week 12-0.65 ± 0.431-1.09 ± 0.430-0.98 ± 0.429
Negative Symptoms Subscale: Change From Baseline at Week 12-0.90 ± 0.461-0.98 ± 0.461-1.40 ± 0.460
Total Score: Change From Baseline at Week 12-3.06 ± 1.429-4.26 ± 1.421-5.03 ± 1.427
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.4654 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.45 · 95% CI -1.65 to 0.76
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.5886 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.33 · 95% CI -1.53 to 0.87
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.9079 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.08 · 95% CI -1.37 to 1.22
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.4441 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -0.50 · 95% CI -1.78 to 0.79
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.5537 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -1.20 · 95% CI -5.18 to 2.79
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.3320 (A MMRM model was used to analyze the change from baseline of the OM of interest, using fixed effects of treatment group, region, study visit, study visit-by-treatment interaction, baseline value of OM, baseline-by-visit interaction.) · Ls mean difference: -1.96 · 95% CI -5.95 to 2.02
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) Scores at Week 12

The CGI-S consists of a single 7-point rating score of illness severity. The following question: "Considering your total clinical experience with this particular population, how mentally ill is your participant at this time?" is rated with a score from 1 to 7- 1: Normal, not ill at all; 2: Borderline mentally ill; 3: Mildly ill; 4: Moderately ill; 5: Markedly ill; 6: Severely ill; or 7: Among the most severely ill participants. Lower scores indicate less severity of illness.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) Scores at Week 12
score on a scalePlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Change From Baseline in Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) Scores at Week 12-0.19 ± 0.091-0.16 ± 0.091-0.19 ± 0.091
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.15 mg · MMRM · p = =0.8517 · Ls mean difference: 0.02 · 95% CI -0.23 to 0.28
  • Placebo vs BIIB104 0.5 mg · MMRM · p = =0.9952 · Ls mean difference: 0.00 · 95% CI -0.25 to 0.25
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Response on Clinical Global Impression-Improvement (CGI-I) Scale at Week 12

The CGI-I consists of a single 7-point rating score total improvement, regardless of whether or not the change is due entirely to drug treatment. The following question: "Compared to your participant's condition at the beginning of treatment, how much has your participant changed?" is rated with a score from 1 to 7- 1: Very much improved; 2: Much improved; 3: Minimally improved; 4: No change; 5: Minimally worse; 6: Much worse; or 7: Very much worse. Lower scores indicate greater improvement.

Time frame:
Week 12
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Response on Clinical Global Impression-Improvement (CGI-I) Scale at Week 12
ParticipantsPlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
Very Much Improved110
Much Improved1144
Minimally Improved131818
No Change222626
Minimally Worse212
Much Worse200
Very Much Worse000

Adverse events

Collected over From first dose of study drug through end of the study (up to Week 14). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Placebo0/63 (0%)1/63 (1.6%)2/63 (3.2%)
BIIB104 0.15 mg0/66 (0%)1/66 (1.5%)2/66 (3%)
BIIB104 0.5 mg0/66 (0%)2/66 (3%)8/66 (12.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventPlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
AppendicitisInfections and infestations1/630/660/66
SchizophreniaPsychiatric disorders0/631/661/66
Psychiatric decompensationPsychiatric disorders0/630/661/66
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventPlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mg
HeadacheNervous system disorders1/631/664/66
SchizophreniaPsychiatric disorders1/631/664/66

Baseline characteristics

Intent-to-treat (ITT) population included all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study treatment (BIIB104 or placebo).

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)PlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mgTotal
Mean40.6 ± 9.4737.7 ± 9.4141.3 ± 9.6339.8 ± 9.58
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)PlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mgTotal
Female20211859
Male444547136
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino109625
Not Hispanic or Latino454749141
Unknown or Not Reported9101029
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)PlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mgTotal
Asian1081331
Black or African American29272682
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1012
White15191549
Other0202
Unknown9101029
MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score
MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery (MCCB) Working Memory Domain Score(score on a scale)PlaceboBIIB104 0.15 mgBIIB104 0.5 mgTotal
Mean39.6 (17 to 70)38.5 (12 to 60)39.8 (17 to 58)39.3 (12 to 70)
08

Study locations

60 sites
  • Pillar Clinical Research, LLC
    Bentonville, Arkansas 72712, United States
  • ProScience Research Group
    Culver City, California 90230, United States
  • Collaborative Neuroscience Network, LLC
    Garden Grove, California 92845, United States
  • Synergy San Diego
    Lemon Grove, California 91945, United States
  • Research Site
    Long Beach, California 90807, United States
  • Catalina Research Institute, LLC
    Montclair, California 91763, United States
  • Excell Research
    Oceanside, California 92056, United States
  • Research Site
    Pico Rivera, California 90660, United States
  • CNRI - San Diego, LLC
    San Diego, California 92102, United States
  • Artemis Institute for Clinical Research
    San Diego, California 92103, United States
  • Research Site
    San Diego, California 92123, United States
  • Research Site
    San Rafael, California 94901, United States
  • Research Site
    Torrance, California 90502, United States
  • Yale University, Department of Psychiatry
    New Haven, Connecticut 06519, United States
  • Research Site
    Lauderhill, Florida 33319, United States
  • Premier Clinical Research Institute, Inc.
    Miami, Florida 33122, United States
  • Stedman Clinical Trials
    Tampa, Florida 33613, United States
  • Atlanta Center for Medical Research
    Atlanta, Georgia 30331, United States
  • Augusta University
    Augusta, Georgia 30912, United States
  • Research Site
    Decatur, Georgia 30030, United States
  • Research Site
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • Alexian Brothers Hospital Network
    Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169, United States
  • Southern Illinois University, School of Medicine
    Springfield, Illinois 62702, United States
  • Research Site
    Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877, United States
  • Cherry Health
    Grand Rapids, Michigan 49503, United States
  • Research Site
    Flowood, Mississippi 39232, United States
  • Research Site
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63128, United States
  • St. Louis Clinical Trials, LC
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Hassman Research Institute
    Berlin, New Jersey 08009, United States
  • UB Department Psychiatry
    Buffalo, New York 104051, United States
  • Neurobehavioral Research, Inc.
    Cedarhurst, New York 11516, United States
  • Finger Lakes Clinical Research
    Rochester, New York 14618, United States
  • The Ohio State University Department of Psychiatry
    Columbus, Ohio 43210, United States
  • Research Site
    North Canton, Ohio 44720, United States
  • Research Site
    Richardson, Texas 75080, United States
  • The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    San Antonio, Texas 78207, United States
  • Research Site
    Kirkland, Washington 98033, United States
  • Zentrum für klinische Forschung Dr. med. I. Schöll
    Bad Homburg, Hessen 61348, Germany
  • Clinic for Psychiatrie
    Frankfurt, Hessen 60528, Germany
  • Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie
    Westerstede, Niedersachsen 26655, Germany
  • Dpt of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, University of Leipzig
    Leipzig, Sachsen 04103, Germany
  • Research Site
    Anan-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Ichikawa-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kashihara-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kawasaki-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kita-gun, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kodaira-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kumagaya-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Takasaki-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Yokosuka-shi, Japan
  • Research Site
    Oviedo, Asturias 33011, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Marques Valdecilla
    Santander, Cantabria 39008, Spain
  • Research Site
    Majadahonda, Madrid 28222, Spain
  • Hospital Clinic de Barcelona
    Barcelona, 08036, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
    Madrid, 28040, Spain
  • Unidad Neurociencias CS San Juan
    Salamanca, 37005, Spain
  • Research Site
    Sevilla, 41013, Spain
  • Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
    Oxford, Oxfordshire OX3 7JX, United Kingdom
  • Abraham Cowley Unit
    Lyne, Surrey KT16 0AE, United Kingdom
  • Research Site
    London, SE5 8AZ, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 30, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Mar 30, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 18, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03745820
Lead sponsor
Biogen
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 19, 2018
Start date
Nov 15, 2018
Primary completion
Mar 23, 2022
Completion
Apr 7, 2022
Results posted
Apr 18, 2023
Last update
Apr 18, 2023

Study contacts

Medical Director
study director · Biogen

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion