CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03706521Updated Mar 4, 2026Results posted

MRI Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of SM04690 for Knee Osteoarthritis

A Phase 2 interventional study of lorecivivint in Knee Osteoarthritis, sponsored by Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 40 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-03-04.

Sponsored by Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
The study was terminated early due to COVID-19 pandemic-related issues (e.g., temporary site closures impacting data collection). No formal Statistical Analysis Plan was prepared, and the study report was finalized without any statistical analysis.
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
13
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
40 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study was to evaluate the safety and efficacy of lorecivivint (LOR) injected in the target knee joint of moderately to severely symptomatic osteoarthritis (OA) subjects. Efficacy was primarily evaluated via magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

Read the detailed description

This phase 2 study was a single center, open-label study of lorecivivint (LOR) (internal identification SM04690) injected intraarticularly (IA) into the target knee (most painful) joint of moderately to severely symptomatic osteoarthritis (OA) subjects at a single dose of 0.07 mg LOR per 2 mL injection.

The primary objective was to evaluate the efficacy of LOR for the treatment of knee OA via magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) by assessing various cartilage health biomarkers, including cartilage thickness, cartilage volume, and cartilage quality and hydration markers.

The study was terminated early due to COVID-19-related issues (e.g., temporary site closures impacting data collection).

02

Conditions studied

  • Knee Osteoarthritis

Keywords

  • SM04690
  • Wnt pathway inhibitor
  • osteoarthritis
  • lorecivivint
  • Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.
03

In context

Osteoarthritis, Knee

3,302 studies on the registry are indexed under Osteoarthritis, Knee; 608 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 13 is below the median of 70 across 2,731 interventional studies indexed under Osteoarthritis, Knee.

Browse Osteoarthritis, Knee studies →

Lead sponsor

Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 22 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 18 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 12 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
40 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Ambulatory (single assistive devices such as canes allowed if needed less than 50% of the time, subjects requiring a walker are excluded)
  • Diagnosis of femorotibial OA in the target knee by standard American College of Rheumatology (ACR) criteria at the Screening Visit (clinical AND radiographic criteria); OA of the knee is not to be secondary to any rheumatologic conditions (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis)
  • Pain compatible with OA of the knee(s) for at least 26 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Primary source of pain throughout the body is due to OA in the target knee
  • Daily OA knee pain diary average Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) intensity score ≥4 and ≤8 in the target knee on the 11-point (0-10) NRS scale for the 7 days immediately preceding Day 1
  • Pain NRS scores recorded for the target knee on at least 4 out of the 7 days immediately preceding Day 1
  • Daily OA knee pain diary average NRS intensity score \<4 in the non-target knee on the 11-point (0-10) NRS scale for the 7 days immediately preceding Day 1
  • Pain NRS scores recorded for the non-target knee on at least 4 out of the 7 days immediately preceding Day 1
  • Baseline mJSW by radiograph between 2 and 4 mm, inclusive, in the target knee at the Screening Visit as assessed by independent central readers
  • Total WOMAC score of 96-192 (out of 240) for the target knee at Day 1 regardless of if the subject is on symptomatic oral treatment
  • Negative drug test for amphetamine, methamphetamine, buprenorphine, cocaine, methadone, opiates, phencyclidine (PCP), propoxyphene, barbiturates, benzodiazepine, methaqualone, and tricyclic antidepressants, except if any such drugs are clinically indicated and allowed by the protocol at the Screening Visit
  • Subjects with depression or anxiety must be clinically stable for 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit and, if on treatment for depression or anxiety, be on 12 weeks of stable therapy
  • Full understanding of the requirements of the study and willingness to comply with all study visits and assessments
  • Subjects must have read and understood the informed consent form, and must have signed it prior to any study-related procedure being performed
  • Subject's Screening Visit must occur while enrollment into the study is open

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Women who are pregnant, lactating, or have a positive pregnancy test result at the Screening Visit
  • Women of childbearing potential who are sexually active, and who are not willing to use an acceptable method of birth control during the study period
  • Men of childbearing potential who are sexually active and have a partner who is capable of becoming pregnant, neither of whom are agreeable to using an acceptable method of birth control during the study period
  • Body mass index (BMI) > 40
  • Partial or complete joint replacement in either knee
  • Currently requires: a) regular use (in the opinion of the Investigator) of ambulatory assistive devices (e.g., wheelchair, parallel bars, walker, canes, or crutches), or b) use of a lower extremity prosthesis, and/or a structural knee brace (i.e., a knee brace that contains hardware)
  • Radiographic disease Stage 0, 1, or 4 in the target knee at the Screening Visit according to the Kellgren-Lawrence (KL) grading of knee OA as assessed by independent central readers
  • Previous treatment with lorecivivint (SM04690)
  • Subjects who have previously failed screening on this protocol and fail to meet re-screening criteria
  • Any surgery (e.g., arthroscopy) in either knee within 26 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Any surgery scheduled during the study period. Non-surgical invasive procedures conducted for a diagnostic or therapeutic purpose scheduled during the study period are not prohibited
  • Significant and clinically evident misalignment of either knee that would impact subject function, as determined by the Investigator
  • History of malignancy within the last 5 years; however, subjects with prior history of in situ basal or squamous cell skin cancer are eligible if completely excised. Subjects with other malignancies are eligible if they have been continuously disease free for at least 5 years prior to the Screening Visit
  • Clinically significant abnormal screening hematology values, blood chemistry values, or urinalysis values as determined by the Investigator
  • Any condition, including laboratory findings not included in the Screening Visit laboratory tests and findings in the medical history or in the pre-study assessments, that, in the opinion of the Investigator, constitutes a risk or contraindication for participation in the study or that could interfere with the study objectives, conduct, or evaluation
  • Comorbid conditions that could affect study endpoint assessments of the target knee, including, but not limited to, rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, gout or pseudogout, and fibromyalgia
  • Other conditions that, in the opinion of the Investigator, could affect study endpoint assessments of either knee, including, but not limited to, peripheral neuropathy (e.g., diabetic neuropathy), symptomatic hip osteoarthritis, symptomatic degenerative disc disease, and patellofemoral syndrome
  • Any diagnosed psychiatric condition that includes, but is not limited to, a history of mania, bipolar disorder, psychotic disorder, schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, major depressive disorder, or generalized anxiety disorder
  • Participation in a clinical research trial that included the receipt of an investigational product or any experimental therapeutic procedure, or an observational research trial related to osteoarthritis within 8 weeks prior to to the Screening Visit, or planned participation in any such trial; the last date of participation in the trial, not the last date of receipt of investigational product, must be at least 8 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Any intra-articular injection into the target knee with a therapeutic aim including, but not limited to, viscosupplementation (e.g., hyaluronic acid), platelet-rich plasma (PRP), and stem cell therapies within 24 weeks prior to the Screening Visit; treatment of the target knee with intra-articular glucocorticoids greater than 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit is allowed
  • Treatment with systemic glucocorticoids greater than 10 mg prednisone or the equivalent per day within 4 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Effusion of the target knee clinically requiring aspiration within 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Use of electrotherapy, acupuncture, and/or chiropractic treatments for knee OA within 4 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Any known active infections, including urinary tract infection, upper respiratory tract infection, sinusitis, suspicion of intra-articular infection, hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection, and/or infections that may compromise the immune system such as human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) at Day 1
  • Current use, or use within 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit, of centrally acting analgesics
  • Current use, or use within 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit, of anticonvulsants (refer to Appendix 2)
  • Subjects requiring the usage of opioids >1x per week within 12 weeks prior to the Screening Visit
  • Topical local anesthetic agents (gels, creams, or patches such as the Lidoderm patch) used for the treatment of knee OA within 7 days of the Screening Visit
  • Any chronic condition that has not been well controlled or subjects with a chronic condition who have not maintained a stable therapeutic regimen of a prescription therapy in the opinion of the investigator. In addition, subjects with an HbA1c >9 at the Screening Visit will be excluded.
  • If on nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) for the treatment of OA pain, subjects who have not maintained a stable regimen in the opinion of the Investigator at the Screening Visit
  • Any contraindications for performing MRI
  • Subjects who have a current or pending disability claim, workers' compensation, or litigation(s) that may compromise response to treatment
  • Subjects who are immediate family members (spouse, parent, child, or sibling; biological or legally adopted) of personnel directly affiliated with the study at any investigative site, or are directly affiliated with the study at any investigative site
  • Subjects employed by Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc., or any of its affiliates or development partners (that is, an employee, temporary contract worker, or designee) responsible for the conduct of the study
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
13 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Lorecivivint 0.07 mg

    Single intra-articular injection of lorecivivint (SM04690) 0.07 mg in 2 mL vehicle lorecivivint: Healthcare professional-administered intra-articular injection performed once on Day 1 of the study.

    Drug: lorecivivint

Interventions

  • Druglorecivivint

    Healthcare professional-administered intra-articular injection performed once on Day 1 of the study.

    Also known as: SM04690

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Thickness in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI

    The assessment of hyaline cartilage thickness present in the knee joint can be useful in evaluating cartilage health. Cartilage thickness decreases may indicate knee osteoarthritis progression. Cartilage thickness was measured using a semi-automated Local-Area Cartilage Segmentation (LACS) software for knee cartilage segmentation of knee MRI. The LACS coordinate system is based on anatomical bony landmarks and permits measurement within any subregion of the femorotibial joint consistently across longitudinal assessments.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

  2. Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Volume in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI

    The assessment of hyaline cartilage volume present in the knee joint can be useful in evaluating cartilage health. Cartilage volume decreases may indicate knee osteoarthritis progression. Cartilage volume was measured using a semi-automated Local-Area Cartilage Segmentation (LACS) software for knee cartilage segmentation of knee MRI. The LACS coordinate system is based on anatomical bony landmarks and permits measurement within any subregion of the femorotibial joint consistently across longitudinal assessments.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

  3. Change From Baseline in Average T1 Rho for the Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee

    T1rho mapping refers to an investigational magnetic resonance imaging technique that measures the low-frequency interactions between macromolecules such as proteoglycan and glycosaminoglycan and water, useful for evaluating cartilage health. Increase in T1rho measurements over time can represent cartilage degeneration.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

  4. Change From Baseline in Average T2 Mapping in Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee

    T2 mapping refers to an investigational magnetic resonance imaging technique that measures biochemical changes in cartilage, including the integrity of collagen network, and collagen and water content, useful for evaluating cartilage health. Increase in T2 mapping measurements over time can represent cartilage degeneration.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 26

07

Results

Posted Mar 4, 2026
Limitations and caveats
Given the pilot nature of the study and the impact of COVID-19 pandemic-related issues on data completeness, limited conclusions can be drawn from this study.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneLorecivivint 0.07 mg
Started13
Completed7
Not completed6
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up2
Withdrew: Physician decision1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
Withdrew: Study closure2

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Thickness in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI

The assessment of hyaline cartilage thickness present in the knee joint can be useful in evaluating cartilage health. Cartilage thickness decreases may indicate knee osteoarthritis progression. Cartilage thickness was measured using a semi-automated Local-Area Cartilage Segmentation (LACS) software for knee cartilage segmentation of knee MRI. The LACS coordinate system is based on anatomical bony landmarks and permits measurement within any subregion of the femorotibial joint consistently across longitudinal assessments.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 26
Reported as:
Mean · millimeters
Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Thickness in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI
millimetersLorecivivint 0.07 mg
Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Thickness in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI0.15 (-0.2 to 1)
PrimaryChange From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Volume in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI

The assessment of hyaline cartilage volume present in the knee joint can be useful in evaluating cartilage health. Cartilage volume decreases may indicate knee osteoarthritis progression. Cartilage volume was measured using a semi-automated Local-Area Cartilage Segmentation (LACS) software for knee cartilage segmentation of knee MRI. The LACS coordinate system is based on anatomical bony landmarks and permits measurement within any subregion of the femorotibial joint consistently across longitudinal assessments.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 26
Reported as:
Mean · cubic millimeters
Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Volume in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI
cubic millimetersLorecivivint 0.07 mg
Change From Baseline in Medial Tibial Cartilage Volume in the Target Knee as Measured by MRI42.33 (-146.1 to 415)
PrimaryChange From Baseline in Average T1 Rho for the Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee

T1rho mapping refers to an investigational magnetic resonance imaging technique that measures the low-frequency interactions between macromolecules such as proteoglycan and glycosaminoglycan and water, useful for evaluating cartilage health. Increase in T1rho measurements over time can represent cartilage degeneration.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 26
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
Change From Baseline in Average T1 Rho for the Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee
millisecondsLorecivivint 0.07 mg
Change From Baseline in Average T1 Rho for the Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee2.345 (-8.92 to 8.79)
PrimaryChange From Baseline in Average T2 Mapping in Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee

T2 mapping refers to an investigational magnetic resonance imaging technique that measures biochemical changes in cartilage, including the integrity of collagen network, and collagen and water content, useful for evaluating cartilage health. Increase in T2 mapping measurements over time can represent cartilage degeneration.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 26
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
Change From Baseline in Average T2 Mapping in Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee
millisecondsLorecivivint 0.07 mg
Change From Baseline in Average T2 Mapping in Medial Tibial Cartilage of Target Knee-0.4 (-5.48 to 4.85)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were assessed at each in-person visit and phone contact from the time of study injection on Day 1 through the Week 52 (end of study).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Lorecivivint 0.07 mg0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)4/13 (30.8%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventLorecivivint 0.07 mg
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/13
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/13
Joint lockMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/13
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations1/13
Tendon ruptureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/13
VertigoEar and labyrinth disorders1/13

Baseline characteristics

Safety analysis set (all subjects exposed to study drug)

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Lorecivivint 0.07 mg
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years11
>=65 years2
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Lorecivivint 0.07 mg
Mean56.5 ± 10.5
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Lorecivivint 0.07 mg
Female5
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Lorecivivint 0.07 mg
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino12
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Lorecivivint 0.07 mg
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian3
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White9
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Research Site
    San Francisco, California 94158, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Sep 26, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 4, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03706521
Lead sponsor
Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 16, 2018
Start date
Mar 11, 2019
Primary completion
Jul 22, 2020
Completion
Dec 21, 2020
Results posted
Mar 4, 2026
Last update
Mar 4, 2026

Study contacts

Yusuf Yazici, M.D.
study director · Biosplice Therapeutics, Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion