CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03475004Updated Sep 19, 2024Results posted

Study of Pembrolizumab, Binimetinib, and Bevacizumab in Patients With Refractory Colorectal Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Pembrolizumab and Bevacizumab in Colorectal Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 99 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-09-19.

Sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
53
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years to 99 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is an open-label, single-center, single-arm phase II clinical trial evaluating the combination of pembrolizumab, binimetinib, and bevacizumab in patients with metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma who have not responded to prior therapy.

Read the detailed description

This study will be done in two stages. In stage 1, ten patients will be treated with standard doses of pembrolizumab, binimetinib, and bevacizumab to ensure that the doses are safe and tolerable. In stage 2, patients will be enrolled into either cohort A, where they will be treated with a 7-day run-in of binimetinib, followed by pembrolizumab, bevacizumab, and binimetinib combination treatment in 21 day cycles, or they will be enrolled to cohort B, which does not include the 7-day run-in of binimetinib. Treatment in cohort B will include combination therapy of pembrolizumab, binimetinib, and bevacizumab from first day of treatment.

02

Conditions studied

  • Colorectal Cancer
  • Metastatic Cancer

Keywords

  • Pembrolizumab
  • Binimetinib
  • Bevacizumab
  • Combination Therapy
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 99 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  1. Provision to sign and date the consent form.
  2. Age ≥ 18 years.
  3. Able to comply with the study protocol, in the investigator's judgment.
  4. Patient must state willingness to undergo pre- and post-treatment biopsies. According to the investigator's judgement, the planned biopsies should not expose the patient to substantially increased risk of complications.
  5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or one.
  6. Histologically confirmed unresectable metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma.
  7. Progression on at least two prior lines of therapy for unresectable metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma.

    o Administration of bevacizumab previously does not impact study inclusion.

  8. Measurable disease, according to RECIST v1.1. Note that lesions intended to be biopsied should not be target lesions.
  9. Adequate hematologic and end organ function, defined by the following laboratory results obtained within 14 days prior to first dose of study drug treatment:

    • WBC ≥ 2.5 and ≤ 15.0 × 109/L
    • ANC ≥ 1.5 × 109/L
    • Platelet count ≥ 100 × 109/L
    • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL without transfusion in the previous week
    • Albumin ≥ 2.5 g/dL
    • Serum bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x the upper limit of normal (ULN); patients with known Gilbert's disease may have a bilirubin ≤ 3.0 ×ULN
    • INR and PTT ≤ 1.5 × ULN; amylase and lipase ≤ 1.5 × ULN
    • AST, ALT, and alkaline phosphatase (ALP) ≤ 3 × ULN with the following exceptions:

      • Patients with documented liver metastases: AST and/or ALT ≤ 5 ×ULN
      • Patients with documented liver or bone metastases: ALP ≤ 5×ULN
    • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min
  10. For women of childbearing potential: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use of contraceptive methods that result in a failure rate of \< 1% per year during the treatment period and for at least 180 days after the last study treatment. A woman is considered to be of childbearing potential if she is post-menarcheal, has not reached a postmenopausal state (≥ 12 continuous months of amenorrhea with no identified cause other than menopause), and has not undergone surgical sterilization (removal of ovaries and/or uterus). Examples of contraceptive methods with a failure rate of \< 1% per year include bilateral tubal ligation, male sterilization, hormonal contraceptives that inhibit ovulation, hormone-releasing intrauterine devices and copper intrauterine devices. The reliability of sexual abstinence should be evaluated in relation to the duration of the clinical trial and the preferred and usual lifestyle of the patient. Periodic abstinence (e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, or postovulation methods) and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception.
  11. For men: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraceptive measures and agreement to refrain from donating sperm, as defined below: With female partners of childbearing potential or pregnant female partners, men must remain abstinent or use a condom during the treatment period and for at least 180 days after the last dose of study treatment. Men must refrain from donating sperm during this same period. The reliability of sexual abstinence should be evaluated in relation to the duration of the clinical trial and the preferred and usual lifestyle of the patient. Periodic abstinence (e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, or postovulation methods) and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception.

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Cancer-related exclusion criteria:
  • Patients with known MSI-high status or unknown MSI status are not eligible for study entry.
  • Patients with BRAF V600E mutations are not eligible for the study.
  • Surgical procedure (surgical resection, wound revision or any other major surgery) or significant traumatic injury within 60 days prior to enrollment, or anticipation of need for major surgical procedure during the course of the study. Minor surgical procedure within 7 days (including placement of a vascular access device) of study Cycle 1 Day 1.

    1. Study-related biopsies are NOT considered surgical procedures under the exclusion criteria
  • Untreated CNS metastases. Treatment of brain metastases, either by surgical or radiation techniques, must have been completed at least 4 weeks prior to initiation of study treatment.
  • Treatment with any investigational agent or approved therapy within 21 days (Cycle 1 Day 1).
  • Malignancies other than CRC within 3 years prior to Cycle 1 Day 1 with the exception of those with a negligible risk of metastasis or death (e.g., expected 5-year overall survival > 90%) treated with expected curative outcome (such as adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix, basal or squamous cell skin cancer, localized prostate cancer treated surgically with curative intent, ductal carcinoma in situ treated surgically with curative intent).
  • Prior radiation therapy within 14 days prior to study Cycle 1 Day 1 and/or persistence of radiation-related adverse effects. However, palliative radiation therapy (as long as it does not involve target lesions) is permitted on the study.
  • Prior allogeneic bone marrow transplantation or solid organ transplant for another malignancy in the past.
  • Spinal cord compression not definitively treated with surgery and/or radiation.
  • Uncontrolled pleural effusion, pericardial effusion, or ascites requiring recurrent drainage procedures.
  • Uncontrolled tumor related pain. Patients who require narcotic pain medication during screening should be on a stable dose regimen prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.

    1. Exclusion criteria related to study medication:
  • Current or recent (within 10 days of study enrollment) use of acetylsalicylic acid (> 325 mg/day), clopidogrel (> 75 mg/day) or current or recent (within 10 days of first dose of bevacizumab) use of therapeutic oral or parenteral anticoagulants or thrombolytic agents for therapeutic purpose. Note: The use of full-dose oral or parenteral anticoagulants is permitted as long as the INR or aPTT is within therapeutic limits (according to the medical standard of the enrolling institution) and the patient has been on a stable dose of anticoagulants for at least 2 weeks at the time of Cycle 1 Day 1. Prophylactic use of anticoagulants is allowed.
  • History of severe allergic, anaphylactic, or other hypersensitivity reactions to chimeric or humanized antibodies or fusion proteins.
  • Known hypersensitivity or allergy to biopharmaceuticals produced in Chinese hamster ovary cells, any components of Binimetinib, Pembrolizumab, or bevacizumab formulations or any premedications.
  • Prior treatment with CD137 agonists or immune checkpoint blockade therapies, anti-PD-1, anti-PD L1, anti-PD-L2 or MAPK pathway inhibitors (eg; BRAF, MEK, ERK inhibitors).
  • Has a diagnosis of immunodeficiency or is receiving systemic steroid therapy or any other form of immunosuppressive therapy within 7 days prior to randomization.

    1. Exclusion criteria based on autoimmune conditions:
  • History of autoimmune disease including but not limited to myasthenia gravis, myositis, autoimmune hepatitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease, vascular thrombosis associated with antiphospholipid syndrome, Wegener's granulomatosis, Sjogren's syndrome, Guillain-Barre syndrome, multiple sclerosis, vasculitis, or glomerulonephritis.
  • History of non-infectious pneumonitis that required steroids or has current pneumonitis.
  • Has an autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment in the past 2 years with use of disease modifying agents, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs. Replacement therapy (eg; thyroxine, insulin, physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency) is not considered a form of systemic treatment.

    1. Exclusion criteria based on organ function or medical history:
  • History of clinically significant cardiac or pulmonary dysfunction including the following:

    1. Inadequately controlled hypertension (that is defined as systolic blood pressure > 140 mmHg and/or diastolic blood pressure > 90 mmHg that is treated or untreated).
    2. History of myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to first dose of study drug in Cycle.
    3. Prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy.
    4. History of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, organizing pneumonia (e.g., bronchiolitis obliterans), drug-induced pneumonitis, idiopathic pneumonitis, evidence of active pneumonitis on screening chest CT scan or non-infectious pneumonitis requiring steroids.
  • Significant vascular disease (e.g., aortic aneurysm requiring surgical repair or recent arterial thrombosis) within 6 months of Cycle 1 Day 1.
  • History of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.
  • Serious non-healing wound, active ulcer or untreated bone fracture.
  • History of abdominal fistula or gastrointestinal perforation within 6 months prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.
  • History of hemoptysis (≥one teaspoon of bright red blood per episode), or any other serious hemorrhage or at risk of bleeding (gastrointestinal history of bleeds, gastrointestinal ulcers, etc.). INR> 1.5 and aPTT > 1.5 × ULN within 7 days prior to Cycle 1 Day 1. History or evidence of inherited bleeding diathesis or significant coagulopathy at risk of bleeding.
  • Life expectancy of \< 12 weeks.
  • Any previous venous thromboembolism≥ Grade 3.
  • Proteinuria at screening as demonstrated by urine dipstick ≥ 2+ or 24-hour. proteinuria > 1.0 g.
  • Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) below institutional lower limit of normal.
  • Uncontrolled serious medical or psychiatric illness.
  • Pregnant or lactating, or intending to become pregnant during the study. Women who are not post-menopausal (≥ 12 continuous months of amenorrhea with no identified cause other than menopause) or surgically sterile must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 14 days prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.

    1. Ocular exclusion criteria:
  • History or evidence of retinal pathology on ophthalmologic examination that is considered a risk factor for neurosensory retinal detachment/central serous chorioretinopathy, retinal vein occlusion or neovascular macular degeneration.
  • Patients will be excluded if they have the following risk factors for retinal vein occlusion: Uncontrolled glaucoma with intraocular pressure ≥21 mmHg. Serum cholesterol ≥ Grade 2. Hypertriglyceridemia ≥ Grade 2. Hyperglycemia (fasting) ≥ Grade 2

    1. Exclusion criteria based on infectious diseases:
  • Active infection requiring IV antibiotics at screening.
  • Patients with active hepatitis B (chronic or acute; defined as having a positive hepatitis B surface antigen [HBsAg] test at screening). Patients with past hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection or resolved HBV infection (defined as the presence of hepatitis B core antibody [anti-HBc] and absence of HBsAg) are eligible. HBV DNA test must be performed in these patients prior to Cycle 1 Day 1.
  • Patients with active hepatitis C. Patients positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction (PCR) is negative for HCV RNA.
  • Known HIV infection.
  • Influenza vaccination should be given during influenza season. Patients must not receive live, attenuated influenza vaccine (e.g., FluMist®) within 4 weeks prior to Cycle 1 Day 1 or at any time during the study and for at least 5 months after the last dose of study drug.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
53 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    Safety run-in

    Ten patients will be accrued to stage 1 and treated with standard doses of pembrolizumab, binimetinib and bevacizumab. If the standard doses are not tolerable and 2 or more patients experience a DLT, then patients would be enrolled in dose level -1 which would comprise of standard doses of pembrolizumab and bevacizumab but binimetinib would be at a dose lower of 30 mg PO BID. If 2 or more patients experience a DLT at dose level -1, then patients will be enrolled in dose level -2 which will comprise of standard doses of pembrolizumab and bevacizumab but a lower dose of binimetinib at 15 mg BID. Upon determination of the safety and tolerability of the treatment regimen, the study will proceed to stage 2.

    Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Bevacizumab · Drug: Binimetinib

  • Experimental
    Cohort A

    Patients will start with 7-day run-in of binimetinib on day -7 of cycle 1 only. Pembrolizumab and bevacizumab will then be added to binimetinib on cycle 1 day +1. Cycle 1 will end on day 21. Patients will start treatment with pembrolizumab, binimetinib, and bevacizumab on day 1 of all subsequent cycles.

    Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Bevacizumab · Drug: Binimetinib

  • Experimental
    Cohort B

    Patients will be treated with pembrolizumab, bevacizumab, and binimetinib together on day 1 of all cycles including cycle 1. Patients will start treatment with pembrolizumab, binimetinib, and bevacizumab on day 1 of all subsequent cycles.

    Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Bevacizumab · Drug: Binimetinib

Interventions

  • DrugPembrolizumab

    An intravenous, potent and highly selective humanized monoclonal antibody of the immunoglobulin G4 (IgG4)/kappa isotype designed to directly block the interaction between PD-1 and its ligands, PD-L1 and PD-L2.

    Also known as: Keytruda

  • DrugBevacizumab

    The pharmacokinetics of bevacizumab are characterized by a slow CL, long half-life, and a volume of distribution consistent with limited extravascular distribution.

    Also known as: Avastin

  • DrugBinimetinib

    Binimetinib (MEK162/ARRY-438162) is an orally bioavailable, small molecule selective and potent mitogen-activated protein kinase (MEK) 1 and MEK 2 inhibitor.

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Objective Response

    Each study subject will be considered as a responder if their best CT imaging result is either CR (complete response) or PR (partial response) based on the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.1) evaluation criteria.

    Time frame: Study beginning to study end; 12 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression-Free Survival (PFS)

    The median progression-free survival was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

    Time frame: Study start date to first sign of disease progression or death, whichever comes first.

  2. Overall Survival (OS)

    OS is defined as the time (measured in months) from each subject starting treatment until either death (from any cause) or being censored at their last contact.

    Time frame: Time (measured in months) from each subject starting treatment until either death (from any cause) or being censored at their last contact.

  3. Adverse Events

    Grade 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 adverse events (AE) as defined by CTCAE v4 were summarized. All adverse events summarized were non-baseline AEs (i.e. each AE was not present at baseline). AEs were summarized by generating counts of AEs by AE description and severity, but no formal statistical test was performed on the AEs. For the purpose of this section, the outcome measure will be defined as the number of subjects who had at least 1 AE.

    Time frame: Study beginning to study end, 12 months

06

Results

Posted Dec 23, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOther: Safety run-inExperimental: Cohort AExperimental: Cohort B
Started112121
Completed102020
Not completed111

Outcome measures

PrimaryObjective Response

Each study subject will be considered as a responder if their best CT imaging result is either CR (complete response) or PR (partial response) based on the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.1) evaluation criteria.

Time frame:
Study beginning to study end; 12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Objective Response
ParticipantsSafety Run-InCohort ACohort B
Objective Response132
SecondaryProgression-Free Survival (PFS)

The median progression-free survival was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

Time frame:
Study start date to first sign of disease progression or death, whichever comes first.
Reported as:
Median · Months
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
MonthsSafety Run-InCohort ACohort B
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)8.7 (2.2 to NA)7.6 (2.8 to NA)5.8 (2.8 to 6.9)
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

OS is defined as the time (measured in months) from each subject starting treatment until either death (from any cause) or being censored at their last contact.

Time frame:
Time (measured in months) from each subject starting treatment until either death (from any cause) or being censored at their last contact.
Reported as:
Median · Months-to-Death
Overall Survival (OS)
Months-to-DeathSafety Run-InCohort ACohort B
Overall Survival (OS)12.6 (1.9 to 20.7)9.3 (4.5 to NA)8.5 (5.9 to 10.7)
SecondaryAdverse Events

Grade 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 adverse events (AE) as defined by CTCAE v4 were summarized. All adverse events summarized were non-baseline AEs (i.e. each AE was not present at baseline). AEs were summarized by generating counts of AEs by AE description and severity, but no formal statistical test was performed on the AEs. For the purpose of this section, the outcome measure will be defined as the number of subjects who had at least 1 AE.

Time frame:
Study beginning to study end, 12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Adverse Events
ParticipantsSafety Run-InCohort ACohort B
Adverse Events102020

Adverse events

Collected over 3 years, 4 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Safety run-in0/11 (0%)3/11 (27.3%)11/11 (100%)
Cohort A4/21 (19%)11/21 (52.4%)21/21 (100%)
Cohort B1/21 (4.8%)8/21 (38.1%)21/21 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 34
Most frequent serious events
EventSafety run-inCohort ACohort B
DeathGeneral disorders0/114/211/21
Small Bowel ObstructionGastrointestinal disorders0/112/210/21
DehydrationBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/110/210/21
HypokalemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/111/210/21
Leg PainGeneral disorders1/110/210/21
Rib painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/110/210/21
Back PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/110/210/21
Colon PerforationGastrointestinal disorders0/110/211/21
Bronchopulmonary HemorrhageRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/110/211/21
ConfusionGeneral disorders0/110/211/21
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 128
Most frequent other events
EventSafety run-inCohort ACohort B
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders9/1110/2111/21
Rash AcneiformSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders8/1117/2115/21
NauseaGeneral disorders8/118/217/21
FatigueGeneral disorders6/1110/2115/21
CPK IncreasedBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/115/211/21
HypertensionBlood and lymphatic system disorders6/117/214/21
RetinopathyEye disorders5/111/211/21
EdemaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/116/219/21
Abdominal PainGeneral disorders3/118/219/21
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/113/211/21

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years7162043
>=65 years45110
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
Mean56 ± 11.452 ± 13.153 ± 9.853.9 ± 11.4
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
Female514726
Male671427
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
Hispanic or Latino0202
Not Hispanic or Latino11192151
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0101
Asian2215
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American1001
White7181843
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported1023
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Safety run-inCohort ACohort BTotal
United States11212153
07

Study locations

1 site
  • Universtiy of Colorado
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol, analysis plan and consent form · Dec 30, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03475004
Lead sponsor
University of Colorado, Denver
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 23, 2018
Start date
Sep 17, 2018
Primary completion
Apr 14, 2022
Completion
Feb 12, 2024
Results posted
Dec 23, 2022
Last update
Sep 19, 2024

Study contacts

Christopher Lieu, MD
principal investigator · University of Colorado, Denver

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion