CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03411031Updated Mar 29, 2023Results posted

Elotuzumab Plus Lenalidomide (Elo/Rev) for Serologic Relapse/Progression While on Lenalidomide

A Phase 2 interventional study of Elotuzumab and Lenalidomide in Multiple Myeloma, sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-03-29.

Sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Sponsor no longer providing drug
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is determine Time-to-Progression with elotuzumab plus lenalidomide when elotuzumab is added to multiple myeloma participants with serologic relapse/progression while receiving lenalidomide maintenance for each study arm.

Read the detailed description

This is a randomized parallel 2-cohort phase 2 study of elotuzumab given at 10 mg/kg weekly during induction in combination with lenalidomide (either 25 mg or 10 mg) in patients with multiple myeloma who progress or relapse serologically while on single agent lenalidomide maintenance.

The combination therapy with elotuzumab and lenalidomide will be continued until further progression of myeloma (based on response criteria) or intolerability.

02

Conditions studied

  • Multiple Myeloma

Keywords

  • lenalidomide maintenance
  • hematopoietic cell transplantation
  • serologic relapse
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients with multiple myeloma who demonstrate evidence of serologic relapse/progression while on lenalidomide maintenance given as part of first line therapy (including upfront high-dose chemotherapy followed by autologous hematopoietic cell transplantation (HCT)) without symptomatic relapse/progression. Lenalidomide maintenance is defined as single agent lenalidomide therapy of any doses up to 10 mg PO daily for up to 28 days (28-day cycle).
  • Male or female patients aged ≥ 18 years old
  • Ability to provide written informed consent obtained prior to participation in the study and any related procedures being performed
  • Measurable disease as outlined in protocol guidelines
  • Participants must meet laboratory criteria as outlined in protocol guidelines

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Prior Elotuzumab
  • Patients with clinical relapse/progression as per the International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) Uniform Response Criteria for Multiple Myeloma defined as one or more of the following criteria:

    • Development of new soft tissue plasmacytomas or bone lesions (osteoporotic fractures do not constitute progression)
    • Definite increase in the size of existing plasmacytomas or bone lesions. A definite increase is defined as a 50% (and ≥1 cm) increase as measured serially of the measurable lesion
    • Hypercalcemia (>11 mg/dL);
    • Decrease in hemoglobin of ≥2 g/dL not related to therapy or other non-myeloma-related conditions;
    • Rise in serum creatinine by 2 mg/dL or more from the start of the therapy and attributable to myeloma
    • Hyperviscosity related to serum paraprotein
  • Women who are pregnant or breast feeding or women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) not using an effective method of birth control. Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy testing within 7 days prior to the administration of drug.
  • Male patients whose sexual partners are WOCBP not using effective birth control
  • Patients with a prior malignancy with in the last 5 years (except for basal or squamous cell carcinoma, or in situ cancer of the cervix)
  • Patients with known positivity for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)) or hepatitis C; baseline testing for HIV and hepatitis C is not required
  • Patients with a diagnosis of POEMS syndrome (polyneuropathy, organomegaly, endocrinopathy, monoclonal protein, and skin changes) or plasma cell leukemia (> 2.0 × 10\^9/L circulating plasma cells by standard differential)
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mg

    Elotuzumab 10 mg/kg intravenously (IV) weekly (days 1, 8, 15 and 22) for 2 cycles, then 20 mg/kg every 4 weeks. Dexamethasone will be administered as premedication for elotuzumab. Lenalidomide 25 mg by mouth (PO) daily days 1-21 out of a 28-day schedule.

    Drug: Elotuzumab · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Dexamethasone

  • Active comparator
    B: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg

    Elotuzumab 10 mg/kg IV weekly (days 1, 8, 15 and 22) for 2 cycles, then 20 mg/kg every 4 weeks. Dexamethasone will be administered as premedication for elotuzumab. Lenalidomide 10 mg PO daily days 1-21 out of a 28-day schedule.

    Drug: Elotuzumab · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Dexamethasone

Interventions

  • DrugElotuzumab

    Elotuzumab according to dosing schedule outlined in treatment arms.

    Also known as: Empliciti™, BMS-901608, HuLuc63

  • DrugLenalidomide

    Lenalidomide according to dosing schedule outlined in treatment arms.

    Also known as: REVLIMID®, thalidomide analogue

  • DrugDexamethasone

    Dexamethasone is a commercially available drug. The description, how supplied, and storage instructions for dexamethasone product are found in the prescribing information. During the study, dexamethasone will be administered as premedication for elotuzumab as indicated in the package insert.

    Also known as: Decadron

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    Progression free survival (PFS) is defined as the time of randomization to date of death from any cause, date of relapse/progression, or the last follow-up date, whichever comes first. The Kaplan-Meier method will be used to estimate PFS for each Study Arm. The method of Brookmeyer and Crowley will be used to construct 95% confidence interval.

    Time frame: An average of 8 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Overall Response

    Overall response with elotuzumab and lenalidomide for each study arm. Overall Response is defined as best Overall Response, as Complete Response or Partial Response. Response will be assessed per the uniform response criteria of the International Myeloma Working Group(IMWG). Myeloma participants enrolled in this clinical study will be assessed for disease response after every cycle. Complete Response= Negative immunofixation on the serum and urine and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas and \<5% plasma cells in bone marrow aspirates; Partial Response= ≥50% reduction of serum M-protein plus reduction in 24 h urinary M-protein by ≥90% or to \<200 mg per 24 h;

    Time frame: Up to 60 days post last study treatment

  2. Minimum Response (MR)

    Minimum response (MR) or better with elotuzumab and lenalidomide for each study arm. The Consensus on Uniform Reporting of Response will be used to evaluate response. Myeloma participants enrolled in this clinical study will be assessed for disease response after every cycle.

    Time frame: Up to 60 days post last study treatment

06

Results

Posted Apr 14, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
Started99
Completed99
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS)

Progression free survival (PFS) is defined as the time of randomization to date of death from any cause, date of relapse/progression, or the last follow-up date, whichever comes first. The Kaplan-Meier method will be used to estimate PFS for each Study Arm. The method of Brookmeyer and Crowley will be used to construct 95% confidence interval.

Time frame:
An average of 8 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS)
percentage of participantsA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
Percentage of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS)11.1 (0.1 to 38.8)22.2 (3.4 to 51.3)
SecondaryOverall Response

Overall response with elotuzumab and lenalidomide for each study arm. Overall Response is defined as best Overall Response, as Complete Response or Partial Response. Response will be assessed per the uniform response criteria of the International Myeloma Working Group(IMWG). Myeloma participants enrolled in this clinical study will be assessed for disease response after every cycle. Complete Response= Negative immunofixation on the serum and urine and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas and \<5% plasma cells in bone marrow aspirates; Partial Response= ≥50% reduction of serum M-protein plus reduction in 24 h urinary M-protein by ≥90% or to \<200 mg per 24 h;

Time frame:
Up to 60 days post last study treatment
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response
ParticipantsA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
Overall Response12
SecondaryMinimum Response (MR)

Minimum response (MR) or better with elotuzumab and lenalidomide for each study arm. The Consensus on Uniform Reporting of Response will be used to evaluate response. Myeloma participants enrolled in this clinical study will be assessed for disease response after every cycle.

Time frame:
Up to 60 days post last study treatment
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Minimum Response (MR)
ParticipantsA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
Minimum Response (MR)23

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from cycle 1, day 1, and only while the participants were on study treatment only for up to a total of 12 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mg0/9 (0%)3/9 (33.3%)2/9 (22.2%)
B: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg0/9 (0%)0/9 (0%)1/9 (11.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
FeverGeneral disorders1/90/9
Non-cardiac chest painCardiac disorders1/90/9
Lung Infection - Probable PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/90/9
Lung InfectionInfections and infestations1/90/9
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventA: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mg
FatigueGeneral disorders1/90/9
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations0/91/9
SyncopeNervous system disorders1/90/9

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mgTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years7411
>=65 years257
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mgTotal
Female347
Male6511
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino9918
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mgTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian011
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American314
White6713
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)A: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 25 mgB: Elotuzumab + Lenalidomide at 10 mgTotal
United States9918
07

Study locations

1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 30, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03411031
Lead sponsor
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Collaborators
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 25, 2018
Start date
Oct 4, 2018
Primary completion
Feb 18, 2021
Completion
Nov 4, 2021
Results posted
Apr 14, 2022
Last update
Mar 29, 2023

Study contacts

Melissa Alsina, M.D.
principal investigator · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion