CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03405155Updated Jul 16, 2026Results posted

Nivolumab in Treating Patients With Stage IIB-IIC Melanoma That Can Be Removed by Surgery

A Phase 2 interventional study of Nivolumab in Melanoma (Skin), sponsored by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University. Completed at 4 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-07-16.

Sponsored by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
26
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase II trial studies how well nivolumab works in treating patients with stage IIB-IIC melanoma that can be removed by surgery. Monoclonal antibodies, such as nivolumab, may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To assess the efficacy nivolumab administered in the adjuvant setting in patients with resected stage IIB or stage IIC cutaneous melanoma.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To evaluate and estimate the median duration of overall survival (OS) in stage IIB-IIC melanoma patients.

II. To evaluate and estimate the median duration of distant metastases-free survival (DMFS) in stage IIB-IIC melanoma patients.

III. To assess safety and toxicity using Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version (V)5.

IV. To assess quality of life using the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Melanoma (FACT-M) quality of life instrument.

TERTIARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To assess and compare clinical, histological, immunological and molecular panels as prognostic and predictive biomarkers.

02

Conditions studied

  • Melanoma (Skin)

Browse trials for

03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have completely resected (as per standard of care) melanoma of cutaneous origin in order to be eligible for this study; patients must be classified as stage IIB or IIC cutaneous melanoma using the American Joint Committee on Cancer eighth edition; patients with melanoma of mucosal or other non-cutaneous origin are not eligible; patients with melanoma of ocular origin are not eligible
  • Patients must have a negative sentinel lymph node biopsy or undergo a failed attempt at sentinel lymph node biopsy including lymphoscintography which fails to show a sentinel lymph node from the melanoma primary site
  • Patients must have systemic cross-sectional imaging (positron emission tomography [PET]/computed tomography [CT] or CT of chest, abdomen, and pelvis) which shows no evidence of metastatic disease
  • Patient must be able to comprehend and sign a written informed consent and be willing to comply with all study procedures
  • Patients must have an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1
  • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 1,500 microliter (mcL)
  • Platelets >= 100,000/mcL
  • Hemoglobin >= 10 g/dL
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (IULN) (except Gilbert's syndrome, who must have a total bilirubin \< 3.0 mg/dL)
  • Serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT) (aspartate aminotransferase [AST]) and serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase (SGPT) (alanine aminotransferase [ALT]) and alkaline phosphatase =\< 2 x institutional upper limit of normal (IULN)
  • Serum creatinine =\< 1.5xULN OR measured or calculated creatinine clearance >= 60 mL/min
  • Patients known to be human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive are eligible if they meet the following criteria within 30 days prior to registration: stable and adequate CD4 counts (>= 350 mm\^3), and serum HIV viral load of \< 25,000 IU/ml; patients may be on or off anti-viral therapy so long as they meet the CD4 count criteria
  • Women of childbearing potential must have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 28 days prior to registration; women/men of reproductive potential must have agreed to use an effective contraceptive method for the course of the study through 120 days after the last dose of study medication; should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately; a woman is considered to be of "reproductive potential" if she has had menses at any time in the preceding 12 consecutive months; in addition to routine contraceptive methods, "effective contraception" also includes heterosexual celibacy and surgery intended to prevent pregnancy (or with a side-effect of pregnancy prevention) defined as a hysterectomy, bilateral oophorectomy, or bilateral tubal ligation; however, if at any point a previously celibate patient chooses to become heterosexually active during the time period for use of contraceptive measures outlined in the protocol, he/she is responsible for beginning contraceptive measures; patients must not be pregnant or nursing
  • Therapy must be initiated within 120 days of surgical resection of the sentinel lymph nodes and within 6 months of initial diagnosis.
  • Patients must be willing to have archived tumor specimens utilized for correlative studies if available
  • Patients must not have known active hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection prior to registration

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • No other prior malignancy is allowed except for the following: adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical cancer, lobular carcinoma of the breast in situ, atypical melanocytic hyperplasia or melanoma in situ, adequately treated stage I or II cancer (including multiple primary melanomas) from which the patient is currently in complete remission, or any other cancer from which the patient has been disease free for three years
  • Current immunosuppressive therapy including > 10 mg/day of prednisone within 14 days of enrollment is not permitted; inhaled or topical steroids, and adrenal replacement steroid doses =\< 10 mg daily prednisone equivalent, are permitted in the absence of active autoimmune disease
  • Patients must not have active autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment in past 2 years (i.e., with use of disease modifying agents, corticosteroids or immunosuppressive drugs); replacement therapy (e.g., thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency, etc.) is not considered a form of systemic treatment
  • Patients must not have a history of (non-infectious) pneumonitis that required steroids or current pneumonitis
  • Patients must not have received live vaccines within 42 days prior to registration; examples of live vaccines include, but are not limited to, the following: measles, mumps, rubella, chicken pox, shingles, yellow fever, rabies, Bacillus Calmette-Guerin (BCG), and typhoid (oral) vaccine; seasonal influenza vaccines for injection are generally killed virus vaccines and are allowed; however, intranasal influenza vaccines (e.g., Flu-Mist) are live attenuated vaccines, and are not allowed
  • Patients must not have a history or current evidence of any condition, therapy or laboratory abnormality that might confound the trial results, interfere with the patient's participation for the full duration of the trial, or indicate that participation in the trial is not in the patient's best interests, in the opinion of the treating investigator
  • Patients must not be pregnant or lactating
  • Prior therapy with anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-L2, anti-CD137, or anti-CTLA-4 antibody (or any other antibody or drug specifically targeting T-cell co-stimulation or checkpoint pathways) is not permitted
  • Treatment with any investigational agent within 14 days of first administration of study treatment is not permitted
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
26 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (nivolumab)

    Patients receive nivolumab IV over at least 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 12 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Biological: Nivolumab

Interventions

  • BiologicalNivolumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: BMS-936558, NIVO, Opdivo, ONO-4538

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Recurrence-free Survival

    Kaplan-Meier estimate of the percentage of participants who were recurrence-free at approximately 2 years after treatment initiation.

    Time frame: Approximately 22 months (2 years)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Overall Survival

    Overall Survival (OS) is defined as time from study entry until death from any cause. OS will be determined, as will the cumulative percentage of patients remaining progression-free/alive at selected time points after initial treatment at 24 months

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  2. Cumulative Percentage of Patients Remaining Distant Metastases-Free/Alive at 1yr and 2yrs After Initial Treatment

    The cumulative percentage of patients remaining distant metastases-free/alive at 1yr and 2yrs after initial treatment

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  3. Number of Adverse Events

    Adverse events will be graded for severity according to the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

06

Results

Posted Jun 16, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment (Nivolumab)
Started26
Completed18
Not completed8
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject7
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1

Outcome measures

PrimaryRecurrence-free Survival

Kaplan-Meier estimate of the percentage of participants who were recurrence-free at approximately 2 years after treatment initiation.

Time frame:
Approximately 22 months (2 years)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Recurrence-free Survival
percentage of participantsTreatment (Nivolumab)
Recurrence-free Survival87.8 (64.2 to 96.3)
SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall Survival (OS) is defined as time from study entry until death from any cause. OS will be determined, as will the cumulative percentage of patients remaining progression-free/alive at selected time points after initial treatment at 24 months

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Survival
ParticipantsTreatment (Nivolumab)
Overall Survival26
SecondaryCumulative Percentage of Patients Remaining Distant Metastases-Free/Alive at 1yr and 2yrs After Initial Treatment

The cumulative percentage of patients remaining distant metastases-free/alive at 1yr and 2yrs after initial treatment

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Cumulative Percentage of Patients Remaining Distant Metastases-Free/Alive at 1yr and 2yrs After Initial Treatment
Percentage of ParticipantsTreatment (Nivolumab)
At 1 year96 (76 to 99)
At 2 years92 (71 to 98)
SecondaryNumber of Adverse Events

Adverse events will be graded for severity according to the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Number · adverse events
Number of Adverse Events
adverse eventsTreatment (Nivolumab)
Number of Adverse Events79

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse event reporting will begin after study treatment, unless AE/SAE is caused by a study specific screening procedure, and continue until30 days after the last dose of study treatment. Approximately, 4 years.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment (Nivolumab)2/26 (7.7%)2/26 (7.7%)16/26 (61.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment (Nivolumab)
DeathGeneral disorders2/26
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 38
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment (Nivolumab)
FatigueGeneral disorders13/26
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders11/26
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders7/26
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders6/26
HypothyroidismEndocrine disorders3/26
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders3/26
Gastrointestinal disorders, OtherGastrointestinal disorders2/26
Neutrophil count decreasedBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/26
HyperthyroidismEndocrine disorders1/26
Hot flashEndocrine disorders1/26

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment (Nivolumab)
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years19
>=65 years7
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment (Nivolumab)
Female10
Male16
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Nivolumab)
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino26
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Nivolumab)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White25
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment (Nivolumab)
United States26
07

Study locations

4 sites
  • Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
    New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, United States
  • Columbia University
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Univeristy of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 21, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03405155
Lead sponsor
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University
Collaborators
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 19, 2018
Start date
Jan 17, 2018
Primary completion
Dec 15, 2025
Completion
Dec 15, 2025
Results posted
Jun 16, 2026
Last update
Jul 16, 2026

Study contacts

Takami Sato, MD
principal investigator · Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion