A Phase 2 interventional study of Intravenous immunoglobulin and 0.9% Sodium Chloride in Small Fiber Neuropathy and Idiopathic Peripheral Neuropathy, sponsored by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-09-13.
Sponsored by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The objective of this study is to develop a rationale for the selective treatment of small fiber neuropathy with immune globulin (IVIG) in the appropriate patients.
The investigators hypothesize that individuals with auto-antibodies targeting neuronal antigens (TS-HDS and FGFR3) and confirmed evidence of small fiber neuropathy (by skin biopsy analysis of intra-epidermal nerve fiber density) will have an improvement in both nerve fiber density and pain after treatment with immune globulin.
The co-primary endpoints will be a change in neuropathic pain (by VAS pain score) and a change in intra-epidermal nerve fiber density (by punch skin biopsy).
The data gained from this pilot study will establish a rationale, with an appropriate screening test, for the use of immune globulin for the treatment of small fiber neuropathy.
Small fiber neuropathies, and mixed small and large fiber neuropathies, have many potential causes including diabetes, vitamin deficiencies, environmental and toxic exposures, HIV, autoimmune and paraproteinemias.
However, despite this broad differential at least 30% of cases of small fiber neuropathies remain idiopathic. There is therefore a growing interest in the potential for using IVIG in small fiber neuropathy without direct proof that the disorder is caused by immune reactions. We have recently uncovered two novel autoantibodies, TS-HDS and FGFR-3, that are targeted again peripheral neural structure. TS-HDS is a disaccharide component of glycosylation of heparin and heparin sulfate.
Patients with elevated levels of IgM against TS-HDS display clear small fiber loss with IgM deposits around the outside of medium- \& larger-sized capillaries with C5b-9 complement deposits. FGFR-3 is a secreted cell surface receptor; genetic defects of FGFR-3 are linked to achrondroplasia and other bony abnormalities.
The antibodies to TS-HDS and FGFR-3 are detected in up to 20% of patients with otherwise idiopathic small fiber neuropathy, but are rare in patients without small fiber neuropathy.
Dr. Levine (a co-investigator on this project) recently presented 3 cases of small fiber associated with elevated levels of auto-antibodies to TS-HDS or FGFR-3 who were treated with IVIG at 2 gm/kg/month for 6 months. He examined skin biopsies for intra-epidermal nerve fiber density and patient self-reported pain scores at baseline and after six months of therapy. All 3 cases showed marked improvement in pain scores. The average reduction in pain was 54%. In addition there was a clear increase in the intra-epidermal nerve fiber density (IENFD) after 6 months of therapy. Pre-treatment IENFD was 1.6, 1.7, and 2.4 at the calf. After 6 months of therapy the IENFD was 8.4, 5.7, 3.3 respectively (these are clinically significant improvement in nerve fiber density.
The investigators believe these anecdotal cases suggest that TS-HDS and FGFR-3 antibodies may be a marker for a group of SFN patients that are immune mediated and may respond to IVIG. (This case series was presented as a poster at the American Academy of Neurology meeting in 2017)
Exclusion Criteria:
The study will include a total 20 individuals. Subjects will be randomized equally to treatment or placebo. The placebo will consist of 0.9% Sodium Chloride per day over 2 days. Followed by 0.9% Sodium Chloride over 1 day every 3 weeks for a total of 6 treatments. Participants who are randomized to placebo will receive the same volume as they would if they were randomized to IVIG (i.e.: as if receiving IVIG at 2gm/kg) through a peripheral IV line.
Drug: 0.9% Sodium Chloride
The study will include a total 20 individuals. Subjects will be randomized equally to treatment or placebo. Treatment will consist of IVIG administered at an initial dose of 2 grams/kg over 2 days followed by 1 gram/kg over 1 day every 3 weeks for a total of 6 treatments
Drug: Intravenous immunoglobulin
Gamunex-C \[immune globulin injection (human) 10% caprylate/chromatography purified\] is a sterile solution of human immune globulin protein.
Also known as: Gamunex-C Liquid
Sodium Chloride (also known as saline) is a solution of sodium chloride, or salt, and sterile water.
Also known as: Saline
The Change in Nerve Fiber Density Between Visits 1 and 8.
Difference in intra-epidermal nerve fiber density between visits 1 and 8 will be measured. Intra-epidermal nerve fiber density is a quantitative measure of the number of nerve fibers per millimeter. The outcome is the number of nerve fibers measured at visit 8 minus the number of nerve fibers measured at visit 1. A positive value indicates that nerve fiber density has increased (a better outcome), a negative value indicates that the nerve fiber density has decreased (a worse outcome).
Time frame: Visit 1 (time zero) and visit 8 (range of visit time 22-27 weeks after visit 1), thus a total of 22-27 weeks for the study (the range is provided to ensure final follow up is completed despite any conflicts with travel or holidays).
The Change in Neuropathic Pain Severity Between Visits 1 and 8.
The visual analog scale (VAS) of pain allows for quantification of neuropathic pain. The VAS pain scale depicts a line ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain). The scale is ordinal ranging from 0-10. The difference in pain between visit 1 and visit 8 (pain measured at visit 8 subtracted from the score at visit 1) is the range. Positive values indicate an increase in pain (worse outcome), negative values indicate an improvement in pain (better outcome).
Time frame: Visit 1 (time zero) and visit 8 (range of visit time 22-27 weeks after visit 1), thus a total of 22-27 weeks for the study (the range is provided to ensure final follow up is completed despite any conflicts with travel or holidays).
2) The Difference in Change Between Quantified Utah Early Neuropathy Examination Scores, Between Treatment and Placebo Groups Between Visits 1 and 8.
The Utah Early Neuropathy Scale (UENS) was developed specifically to detect and quantify early small-fiber sensory neuropathy and to recognize modest changes in sensory severity and distribution. The UENS scale ranges from 0 (no neuropathy) to 42 (severe small fiber neuropathy). The outcome measure is the UENS score from Visit 8 minus the UENS score at visit 1. The difference in the two scores indicates the change in neuropathy severity. A positive value indicates that neuropathy has worsened over the course of the study, a negative value indicates that neuropathy has improved over the course of the study.
Time frame: Visit 1 (time zero) and visit 8 (range of visit time 22-27 weeks after visit 1), thus a total of 22-27 weeks for the study (the range is provided to ensure final follow up is completed despite any conflicts with travel or holidays).
Potential research subjects were recruited from Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) (Boston, MA) and HonorHealth Neurology (Phoenix, AZ). All recruited subjects signed a consent form approved by the Institutional Review Boards of BIDMC and HonorHealth.
| Milestone | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 10 |
| Completed | 9 | 8 |
| Not completed | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 2 |
Difference in intra-epidermal nerve fiber density between visits 1 and 8 will be measured. Intra-epidermal nerve fiber density is a quantitative measure of the number of nerve fibers per millimeter. The outcome is the number of nerve fibers measured at visit 8 minus the number of nerve fibers measured at visit 1. A positive value indicates that nerve fiber density has increased (a better outcome), a negative value indicates that the nerve fiber density has decreased (a worse outcome).
| fibers/mm | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin |
|---|---|---|
| The Change in Nerve Fiber Density Between Visits 1 and 8. | 0.5 ± 0.8 | 0.6 ± 0.6 |
The visual analog scale (VAS) of pain allows for quantification of neuropathic pain. The VAS pain scale depicts a line ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain). The scale is ordinal ranging from 0-10. The difference in pain between visit 1 and visit 8 (pain measured at visit 8 subtracted from the score at visit 1) is the range. Positive values indicate an increase in pain (worse outcome), negative values indicate an improvement in pain (better outcome).
| units on a scale | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin |
|---|---|---|
| The Change in Neuropathic Pain Severity Between Visits 1 and 8. | -1.7 ± 0.9 | -1.9 ± 2.6 |
The Utah Early Neuropathy Scale (UENS) was developed specifically to detect and quantify early small-fiber sensory neuropathy and to recognize modest changes in sensory severity and distribution. The UENS scale ranges from 0 (no neuropathy) to 42 (severe small fiber neuropathy). The outcome measure is the UENS score from Visit 8 minus the UENS score at visit 1. The difference in the two scores indicates the change in neuropathy severity. A positive value indicates that neuropathy has worsened over the course of the study, a negative value indicates that neuropathy has improved over the course of the study.
| units on a scale | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin |
|---|---|---|
| 2) The Difference in Change Between Quantified Utah Early Neuropathy Examination Scores, Between Treatment and Placebo Groups Between Visits 1 and 8. | -3.0 ± 5.8 | -1.8 ± 3.9 |
Collected over 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.9% Sodium Chloride | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 9/10 (90%) |
| Intravenous Immunoglobulin | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 8/10 (80%) |
| Event | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin |
|---|---|---|
| Infusion reactionProduct Issues | 9/10 | 8/10 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 9 | 10 | 19 |
| >=65 years | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 51.3 ± 9.4 | 51.5 ± 7.8 | 51.4 ± 8.4 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 5 | 6 | 11 |
| Male | 5 | 4 | 9 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 9 | 8 | 17 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 9 | 9 | 18 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 10 | 10 | 20 |
| Intra-epidermal nerve fiber density(Fibers/mm) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 2.02 ± 1.49 | 2.47 ± 1.83 | 2.25 ± 1.66 |
| Pain score(units on a scale) | 0.9% Sodium Chloride | Intravenous Immunoglobulin | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 5.5 ± 1.2 | 6.9 ± 1.8 | 6.2 ± 1.6 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Peripheral Nervous System Diseases→
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center