A Phase 3 interventional study of Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection and Lantus® in Diabetes Mellitus, Type 1, sponsored by Gan and Lee Pharmaceuticals, USA. Completed at 85 sites in 6 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-14.
Sponsored by Gan and Lee Pharmaceuticals, USA · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
Primary Objective:
•To evaluate equivalence of Gan \& Lee Insulin Glargine Injection and Lantus® in terms of immunogenicity
Secondary Objective:
Immunogenicity:
Safety:
•To evaluate the safety of Gan \& Lee Insulin Glargine Injection in comparison with that of Lantus®.
Efficacy:
•To evaluate the efficacy of Gan \& Lee Insulin Glargine Injection in comparison with that of Lantus®.
Exclusion Criteria:
Gan \& Lee Insulin Glargine Injection for subcutaneous injection, 100 U/mL, in the integrated, disposable 3.0-mL pre-filled Gan \& Lee injector pen. Subjects randomized to the Gan \& Lee Insulin Glargine Injection group will participate in the study for 26 weeks.
Biological: Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection
Lantus® (insulin glargine injection) solution for subcutaneous injection, 100 U/mL, in the SoloStar® 3.0 mL pre-filled insulin pen. Subjects randomized to the Lantus® group will participate for 26 weeks.
Biological: Lantus®
Route of administration: subcutaneous injection
Route of administration: subcutaneous injection
Treatment-induced Anti-Insulin Antibody (TI-AIA)
TI-AIA is the Composite of Newly Confirmed Positive AIA or Important-Increase in AIA titer
Time frame: Assessed up to Week 26
Glycosylated Hemoglobin HbA1c
The change between baseline (CFB) in HbA1c and at 26 weeks
Time frame: Assessed up to Week 26
Number of Subjects in Each Treatment Group With Negative AIA at Baseline Who Develop Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline
The number of subjects in each treatment group with negative AIA at baseline who develop confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
Time frame: Assessed up to Week 26
Number of Subjects in Each Treatment Group With Confirmed Positive AIA at Baseline and at Least a 4-fold Increase in Titers After Baseline.
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA at baseline and at least a 4-fold increase in titers after baseline and up to 26 weeks.
Time frame: Up to Week 26
Mean Change From Baseline in Each Treatment Group in AIA Titers After Baseline
The mean change from baseline in each treatment group in AIA titers after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
Time frame: Assessed up to Week 26
Number of Subjects With Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline Who Develop Any Anti-insulin Neutralizing Antibodies After Baseline.
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26 who develop any anti-insulin neutralizing antibodies after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
Time frame: Up to Week 26
Number of Subjects With Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline.
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
Time frame: Up to Week 26
Postbaseline FBG Control
The number of subjects who achieve an FBG test result of ≤ 6.0 mmol/L at visit Week 26.
Time frame: Up to Week 26
HbA1c Control.
The number of subjects who achieve a HbA1c of \< 7.0% at visit Week 26.
Time frame: Up to Week 26
Reviewed and approved by each IRB.
| Milestone | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 287 | 289 |
| Completed | 258 | 255 |
| Not completed | 29 | 34 |
TI-AIA is the Composite of Newly Confirmed Positive AIA or Important-Increase in AIA titer
| Titers | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment-induced Anti-Insulin Antibody (TI-AIA) | 4.8 ± 88.88 | 42.5 ± 332.90 |
The change between baseline (CFB) in HbA1c and at 26 weeks
| Percent of total hemoglobin | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Glycosylated Hemoglobin HbA1c | -0.08 ± 0.072 | 0.00 ± 0.061 |
The number of subjects in each treatment group with negative AIA at baseline who develop confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects in Each Treatment Group With Negative AIA at Baseline Who Develop Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline | 63 | 59 |
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA at baseline and at least a 4-fold increase in titers after baseline and up to 26 weeks.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects in Each Treatment Group With Confirmed Positive AIA at Baseline and at Least a 4-fold Increase in Titers After Baseline. | 11 | 14 |
The mean change from baseline in each treatment group in AIA titers after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
| Titers | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Mean Change From Baseline in Each Treatment Group in AIA Titers After Baseline | 4.8 ± 88.88 | -42.5 ± 332.90 |
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26 who develop any anti-insulin neutralizing antibodies after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline Who Develop Any Anti-insulin Neutralizing Antibodies After Baseline. | 13 | 16 |
The number of subjects in each treatment group with confirmed positive AIA after baseline and up to visit Week 26.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Confirmed Positive AIA After Baseline. | 102 | 103 |
The number of subjects who achieve an FBG test result of ≤ 6.0 mmol/L at visit Week 26.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Lack of Postbaseline FBG control | 248 | 247 |
| Sufficient Postbaseline FBG control | 39 | 42 |
The number of subjects who achieve a HbA1c of \< 7.0% at visit Week 26.
| Participants | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| Lack of Postbaseline HbA1c Control | 241 | 245 |
| Sufficient Postbaseline HbA1c Control | 46 | 44 |
Collected over 26-weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0.3% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | 0/287 (0%) | 10/287 (3.5%) | 160/287 (55.7%) |
| Lantus® | 1/289 (0.3%) | 14/289 (4.8%) | 161/289 (55.7%) |
| Event | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| HypoglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 3/287 | 1/289 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 0/287 | 2/289 |
| DepressionPsychiatric disorders | 0/287 | 2/289 |
| Benign neoplasm of spinal cordMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Carotid artery occlusionBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| CellulitisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Diabetic footMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| GangreneInfections and infestations | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Lower limb fractureMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Post procedural infectionGeneral disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Event | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® |
|---|---|---|
| HypoglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 158/287 | 161/289 |
| Weight increaseInvestigations | 3/287 | 1/289 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 3/287 | 0/289 |
| HyperglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/287 | 1/289 |
| Blood creatine phosphokinase increasedMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Diabetes mellitusMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Face oedemaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Foot FractureMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
| Herpes zosterSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/287 | 0/289 |
All Subjects Assigned randomly to treatment (full analysis set).
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 256 | 252 | 508 |
| >=65 years | 31 | 37 | 68 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 45.7 ± 13.96 | 46.7 ± 14.46 | 46.2 ± 14.21 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 103 | 112 | 215 |
| Male | 184 | 177 | 361 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 23 | 16 | 39 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 259 | 272 | 531 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 5 | 1 | 6 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Asian | 6 | 7 | 13 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Black or African American | 13 | 14 | 27 |
| White | 262 | 265 | 527 |
| More than one race | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hungary | 20 | 21 | 41 |
| United States | 151 | 150 | 301 |
| Czechia | 24 | 25 | 49 |
| Poland | 37 | 37 | 74 |
| Germany | 29 | 28 | 57 |
| Spain | 26 | 28 | 54 |
| Anti-Insulin Antibodies (AIA)(Participants) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Negative | 236 | 239 | 475 |
| Positive | 49 | 48 | 97 |
| Nonreportable | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Missing | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m2) | Gan & Lee Insulin Glargine Injection | Lantus® | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 27.01 ± 3.875 | 27.11 ± 4.237 | 27.06 ± 4.058 |
5 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Gan and Lee Pharmaceuticals, USA