A Phase 2 interventional study of VX-150 and Placebo in Small Fiber Neuropathy, sponsored by Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated. Completed at 34 sites in 4 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-11-15.
Sponsored by Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a Phase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, multicenter study evaluating the efficacy of VX-150 for the treatment of pain caused by small fiber neuropathy.
Exclusion Criteria:
Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.
Drug: VX-150
Drug: Placebo
Participants received VX-150 1250 milligrams (mg) once daily (qd) orally for 6 weeks.
Participants received placebo matched to VX-150 for 6 weeks.
Change in Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11 Point NRS
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain.
Time frame: From Baseline at Week 6
Percentage of Participants With Greater Than or Equal to (>=) 30 Percent (%) Reduction in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Percentage of participants \>= 30% reduction in the weekly average of daily pain intensity on the 11-Point NRS were reported.
Time frame: From Baseline at Week 6
Percentage of Participants With >=50% Reduction in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Percentage of participants \>= 50% reduction in the weekly average of daily pain intensity on the 11-Point NRS were reported.
Time frame: From Baseline at Week 6
Change in the Daily Sleep Interference Scale (DSIS)
Pain-associated sleep interference was assessed using DSIS, based on an 11-point scale (where 0 signified none: pain does not interfere with sleep and 10 signified severe: pain completely interferes with sleep, unable to sleep). Higher score indicates greater pain associated sleep interference.
Time frame: From Baseline at Week 6
Percentage of Participants Categorized as Improved on the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Scale
PGIC scale evaluated the change in activity limitations, symptoms, emotions, and overall quality of life (QoL) related to the participants painful condition on 7-point scale from 1 (improved) to 7 (worse). Participants were categorized as following: scale from 1 - 2 were categorized as "improved", scale from 3 - 4 as "no change" and scale from 5 - 7 were categorized as "worse". Percentage of participants categorized as improved on PGIC scale at week 6 were reported for this outcome measure.
Time frame: At Week 6
Change in Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Higher score indicates greater level of pain.
Time frame: From Baseline at Week 6
Pre-dose Plasma Concentration (Ctrough) of VRT-1207355 and the Metabolite VRT-1268114
Time frame: Pre-dose at Day 7
Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Findings in Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Responses
The C-SSRS is an interview-based rating scale was evaluated through a series of questions about suicidal thoughts and behaviors with the possible answers yes or no. Yes represents a worse outcome. Clinically Meaningfulness of C-SSRS responses were judged by investigator based on answers received from participants.
Time frame: Day 1 up to Week 10
Safety and Tolerability as Assessed by Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
Time frame: Day 1 up to Week 10
| Milestone | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 46 | 43 |
| Completed | 45 | 35 |
| Not completed | 1 | 8 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal of consent (due to lack of efficacy) | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal of consent (for other reason) | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Other | 0 | 1 |
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain.
| units on a scale | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11 Point NRS | -2.018 ± 0.274 | -0.933 ± 0.287 |
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Percentage of participants \>= 30% reduction in the weekly average of daily pain intensity on the 11-Point NRS were reported.
| percentage of participants | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Greater Than or Equal to (>=) 30 Percent (%) Reduction in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS | 45.0 | 26.5 |
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Percentage of participants \>= 50% reduction in the weekly average of daily pain intensity on the 11-Point NRS were reported.
| percentage of participants | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With >=50% Reduction in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS | 32.5 | 17.6 |
Pain-associated sleep interference was assessed using DSIS, based on an 11-point scale (where 0 signified none: pain does not interfere with sleep and 10 signified severe: pain completely interferes with sleep, unable to sleep). Higher score indicates greater pain associated sleep interference.
| units on a scale | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in the Daily Sleep Interference Scale (DSIS) | -1.777 ± 0.276 | -0.665 ± 0.289 |
PGIC scale evaluated the change in activity limitations, symptoms, emotions, and overall quality of life (QoL) related to the participants painful condition on 7-point scale from 1 (improved) to 7 (worse). Participants were categorized as following: scale from 1 - 2 were categorized as "improved", scale from 3 - 4 as "no change" and scale from 5 - 7 were categorized as "worse". Percentage of participants categorized as improved on PGIC scale at week 6 were reported for this outcome measure.
| percentage of participants | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Categorized as Improved on the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Scale | 39.5 | 13.5 |
Pain intensity was evaluated using the 11-point NRS (where 0 signified no pain and 10 signified worst imaginable pain) during the last 24 hours on the NRS each evening. Higher score indicates greater level of pain. Higher score indicates greater level of pain.
| units on a scale | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Pain Intensity on the 11-Point NRS | -1.7 ± 0.3 | -1.1 ± 0.3 |
| microgram per milliliter (mcg/mL) | VX-150 |
|---|---|
| VRT-1207355 | 3.89 ± 2.73 |
| VRT-1268114 | 1.35 ± 0.752 |
The C-SSRS is an interview-based rating scale was evaluated through a series of questions about suicidal thoughts and behaviors with the possible answers yes or no. Yes represents a worse outcome. Clinically Meaningfulness of C-SSRS responses were judged by investigator based on answers received from participants.
| participants | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Findings in Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Responses | 0 | 0 |
| participants | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Participants with AEs | 29 | 24 |
| Participants with SAEs | 0 | 3 |
Collected over Day 1 up to Week 10. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| VX-150 | 0/46 (0%) | 0/46 (0%) | 16/46 (34.8%) |
| Placebo | 0/43 (0%) | 3/43 (7%) | 7/43 (16.3%) |
| Event | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 0/46 | 1/43 |
| DiverticulitisInfections and infestations | 0/46 | 1/43 |
| Tendon ruptureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/46 | 1/43 |
| Event | VX-150 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 11/46 | 5/43 |
| Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders | 3/46 | 1/43 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/46 | 1/43 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 3/46 | 1/43 |
| Muscle spasmsMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 3/46 | 0/43 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | VX-150 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 55.1 ± 12.34 | 58.1 ± 11.86 | 56.6 ± 12.14 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | VX-150 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 22 | 21 | 43 |
| Male | 24 | 22 | 46 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | VX-150 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 5 | 8 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 43 | 38 | 81 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | VX-150 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 6 | 4 | 10 |
| White | 39 | 34 | 73 |
| More than one race | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Pain Intensity at Baseline on 11-point Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)(units on a scale) | VX-150 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 6.433 ± 1.440 | 5.990 ± 1.413 | 6.219 ± 1.436 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated