CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03188042Updated Feb 9, 2024Results posted

A Study Using Transorbital Alternating Current Stimulation for People With Glaucoma

An interventional study of rtACS Stimulation and Sham Intervention in Glaucoma, sponsored by NYU Langone Health. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 50 Years to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-02-09.

Sponsored by NYU Langone Health · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
50 Years to 70 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This pilot study will test the preliminary efficacy and feasibility of an intervention protocol for one method of electric current stimulation, repetitive transorbital alternating current stimulation (rtACS), to treat visual impairment in people with glaucoma. We will evaluate a study protocol to use in future clinical trials to test the effectiveness of rtACS to ameliorate the progressive effects of vision loss both structurally and functionally in the eye, the visual pathway, and in regard to people's independence (i.e., functional ability). In this prospective, randomized controlled, double-masked pilot study, we will: 1) determine an effect of rtACS on ophthalmic structure and function (from retina to visual brain), 2) assess the methodology of procedures for assessment of people's functional ability and quality of life (QoL) to determine an effect of rtACS, and 3) assess the feasibility and implementation of the pilot study protocol for a larger multi-site, randomized controlled trial.

Read the detailed description

Participants will engage in baseline, intervention, post-intervention, and follow-up visits over the span of approximately 8 weeks. The expected outcomes for this project are that (1) rtACS activates viable but poorly or non-functional retinal ganglion cells to improve their structural and functional capabilities, (2) measures of retinal, optic nerve, and visual brain structures and function will correspond with improvement in visual function, and (3) changes in visual function following rtACS will be associated with improvements in participants' functional ability and QoL. rtACS has successfully been used in the rehabilitation of visual impairments in people with optic neuropathies; however, we do not know the clinical value of rtACS specifically for people with glaucoma, including the effect of rtACS on people's functional ability and QoL.

02

Conditions studied

  • Glaucoma

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Transorbital Alternating Current Stimulation
  • Glaucoma
03

In context

Glaucoma

1,818 studies on the registry are indexed under Glaucoma; 231 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 18 is below the median of 65 across 1,272 interventional studies indexed under Glaucoma.

Browse Glaucoma studies →

Lead sponsor

NYU Langone Health is the lead sponsor of 1,391 studies on the registry; 254 are open to participants now.

Of its 227 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 191 (84%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
50 Years to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Live in a community, residential setting (i.e., non-institutionalized, not homeless)
  • Diagnosis of glaucoma (not type-specific, excluding traumatic glaucoma): Moderate defect or worse in both eyes but not total blindness
  • Visual field defects present for at least 6 months
  • Best-corrected visual acuity of 20/200 (1.0 logMAR) or better in at least one eye
  • Commitment to comply with study procedures (2 week period of intervention sessions) with baseline, post-intervention, and follow-up visits

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Other optic comorbidity than glaucoma
  • End-stage organ disease or medical condition with subsequent vision loss (e.g., diabetes, stroke)
  • Other diseases of the retina or cataracts responsible for worse than 20/70 best-corrected visual acuity
  • Photosensitivity to flickering lights
  • Intraocular Pressure (IOP) > 27 mmHg at baseline

    * Medically diagnosed memory disorder or Telephone Interview for Cognitive Status-modified (TICS-m) score ≤ 27

  • Electric or electronic implants (e.g., cardiac pacemaker)
  • Metallic artifacts/implants in head and/or torso
  • Diagnosed epilepsy
  • Epileptic seizure within the past 3 years of enrollment date
  • Auto-immune disease, acute stage (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis)
  • Metastatic disease
  • Certain mental diseases/psychiatric conditions (e.g., schizophrenia) that would preclude reliable testing and participation
  • Unstable medical conditions (e.g., diabetes, diabetes causing diabetic retinopathy)
  • Claustrophobia (to limit functional neuroimaging)
  • Received rtACS in the past
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    rtACS Stimulation Group

    Device: rtACS Stimulation

  • Sham comparator
    Sham Intervention Group

    Sham stimulation looks like rtACS, but is not active rtACS.

    Device: Sham Intervention

Interventions

  • DevicertACS Stimulation

    Electric current stimulation; rtACS is a non-invasive application of electric current to stimulate the retina to induce synaptic efficacy, in particular those cells that have some measure of dysfunction but are not dead, and oscillations of nearby neuronal ensembles.

  • DeviceSham Intervention

    A computer-controlled sham stimulation function for masking interventionist to study group. The device will be used to deliver a weak electric current stimulation protocol to participants via electrodes placed transorbitally, with one reference electrode positioned elsewhere.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Peripapillary RNFL Thickness

    Peripapillary retinal nerve fiber layer (RNFL) thickness (μm) measured using optical coherence tomography (OCT).

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  2. Change in Macular Ganglion Cell-Inner Plexiform Layer Thickness

    Macular ganglion cell-inner plexiform layer thickness (μm) measured using OCT.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  3. Percentage Change in ON Head Cup-to-Disc Ratio

    Percentage change in optic nerve (ON) head cup-to-disc ratio measured using OCT.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  4. Change in Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer Score

    The Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer assesses the mean deviation (dB), a measure of visual field sensitivity through threshold testing. dBs tested by the Humphrey analyzer range between 0 and 50 dB (0 is the brightest and 50 is the dimmest). A value of 0 means the patient could not see the brightest target, and a 50 means the dimmest target was seen. Most values are around 30 dB, and any numbers below this range imply a possible visual field defect.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  5. Change in Score on Assessment of Life Habits (LIFE-H), Short Form 3.1

    The LIFE-H short form 3.1 is a 77-item questionnaire developed to measure: (1) how a respondent accomplishes regular activities and social roles and (2) respondent's satisfaction with how regular activities and social roles are accomplished. The LIFE-H total score is obtained by summing the scores on each item and then dividing by the number of items. The LIFE-H score ranges from 0 to 9, where a score of 0 indicates total handicap or total disruption in participation and a score of 9 means an optimal level of participation.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  6. Change in Minnesota Low Vision Reading Test (MNRead): Reading Acuity Score

    An estimate of reading acuity is given by the smallest print size at which the patient can read the entire sentence without making significant errors. This method measures acuity to the nearest 0.1 logMAR. Each sentence in the MNRead Reading Acuity chart has 60 characters, which corresponds to 10 standard length words, assuming a standard word length of 6 characters (including a space). Reading acuity is calculated as follows: Reading acuity = size of smallest sentence read + 0.01 x number of errors.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  7. Change in Score on National Eye Institute Visual Functioning Questionnaire (VFQ-39)

    National Eye Institute VFQ-39 measures health-related quality of life in 12 domains: general vision, ocular pain, near activities, distance activities, vision-specific social functioning, vision-specific mental health, vision-specific role difficulties, vision-specific dependency, driving, color vision, peripheral vision, and composite score. For each domain: the lowest and highest possible scores are 0 and 100 points, respectively. Higher score means higher functioning. The total score is the average of the domain scores.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  8. Change in Score on 36-Item Short Form Survey (SF-36)

    The SF-36 is a 36-item patient-reported questionnaire that covers eight health domains: physical functioning (10 items), bodily pain (2 items), role limitations due to physical health problems (4 items), role limitations due to personal or emotional problems (4 items), emotional well-being (5 items), social functioning (2 items), energy/fatigue (4 items), and general health perceptions (5 items). Scores for each domain range from 0 to 100, with a higher score defining a more favorable health state. The total score is the average of the domain scores.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 4

  9. VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Baseline

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Baseline

  10. VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Baseline

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Baseline

  11. VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Baseline

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Baseline

  12. VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Baseline

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Baseline

  13. VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Week 4

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Week 4

  14. VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Week 4

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Week 4

  15. VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Week 4

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Week 4

  16. VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Week 4

    Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

    Time frame: Week 4

  17. Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Baseline

    The Pelli-Robson test measures contrast sensitivity using a single large letter size (20/60 optotype), with contrast varying across groups of letters. The chart uses letters (6 per line), arranged in groups whose contrast varies from high to low. Patients read the letters, starting with the highest contrast, until they are unable to read two or three letters in a single group. A score is assigned based on the contrast of the last group in which two or three letters were correctly read. The score, a single number, is a measure of the subject's log contrast sensitivity. A Pelli-Robson score of 2.0 indicates normal contrast sensitivity of 100 percent. Scores less than 2.0 signify poorer contrast sensitivity. Pelli-Robson contrast sensitivity score of less than 1.5 is consistent with visual impairment and a score of less than 1.0 represents in visual disability.

    Time frame: Baseline

  18. Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Week 4

    The Pelli-Robson test measures contrast sensitivity using a single large letter size (20/60 optotype), with contrast varying across groups of letters. The chart uses letters (6 per line), arranged in groups whose contrast varies from high to low. Patients read the letters, starting with the highest contrast, until they are unable to read two or three letters in a single group. A score is assigned based on the contrast of the last group in which two or three letters were correctly read. The score, a single number, is a measure of the subject's log contrast sensitivity. A Pelli-Robson score of 2.0 indicates normal contrast sensitivity of 100 percent. Scores less than 2.0 signify poorer contrast sensitivity. Pelli-Robson contrast sensitivity score of less than 1.5 is consistent with visual impairment and a score of less than 1.0 represents in visual disability.

    Time frame: Week 4

  19. Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Baseline

    ETDRS charts have five Sloan letters on each line; the lines are of equal difficulty, and there is a geometric progression in letter size from line to line. Beginning with Chart 1, the right eye is tested with the left eye occluded. Following the completion of testing the right eye, the left eye is tested with Chart 2 while covering the right eye. Each letter is scored as right or wrong. Correct letters are circled on the scoresheet. Each letter read correctly is assigned a score and each line is totaled at the end of testing. VAS awards one point for every letter correctly guessed. The total scores range from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater visual acuity.

    Time frame: Baseline

  20. Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Week 4

    ETDRS charts have five Sloan letters on each line; the lines are of equal difficulty, and there is a geometric progression in letter size from line to line. Beginning with Chart 1, the right eye is tested with the left eye occluded. Following the completion of testing the right eye, the left eye is tested with Chart 2 while covering the right eye. Each letter is scored as right or wrong. Correct letters are circled on the scoresheet. Each letter read correctly is assigned a score and each line is totaled at the end of testing. VAS awards one point for every letter correctly guessed. The total scores range from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater visual acuity.

    Time frame: Week 4

07

Results

Posted Feb 9, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Started810
Completed79
Not completed11
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject11

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Peripapillary RNFL Thickness

Peripapillary retinal nerve fiber layer (RNFL) thickness (μm) measured using optical coherence tomography (OCT).

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · micrometers (μm)
Change in Peripapillary RNFL Thickness
micrometers (μm)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Peripapillary RNFL Thickness-0.13 ± 2.3-1.8 ± 3.91
PrimaryChange in Macular Ganglion Cell-Inner Plexiform Layer Thickness

Macular ganglion cell-inner plexiform layer thickness (μm) measured using OCT.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · micrometers (μm)
Change in Macular Ganglion Cell-Inner Plexiform Layer Thickness
micrometers (μm)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Macular Ganglion Cell-Inner Plexiform Layer Thickness-0.13 ± 0.990.3 ± 4.52
PrimaryPercentage Change in ON Head Cup-to-Disc Ratio

Percentage change in optic nerve (ON) head cup-to-disc ratio measured using OCT.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · percentage (%) change
Percentage Change in ON Head Cup-to-Disc Ratio
percentage (%) changertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Percentage Change in ON Head Cup-to-Disc Ratio0 ± 0.010.01 ± 0.01
PrimaryChange in Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer Score

The Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer assesses the mean deviation (dB), a measure of visual field sensitivity through threshold testing. dBs tested by the Humphrey analyzer range between 0 and 50 dB (0 is the brightest and 50 is the dimmest). A value of 0 means the patient could not see the brightest target, and a 50 means the dimmest target was seen. Most values are around 30 dB, and any numbers below this range imply a possible visual field defect.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Median · dB
Change in Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer Score
dBrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Humphrey Visual Field Analyzer Score0.86 ± 6.272.89 ± 9.65
PrimaryChange in Score on Assessment of Life Habits (LIFE-H), Short Form 3.1

The LIFE-H short form 3.1 is a 77-item questionnaire developed to measure: (1) how a respondent accomplishes regular activities and social roles and (2) respondent's satisfaction with how regular activities and social roles are accomplished. The LIFE-H total score is obtained by summing the scores on each item and then dividing by the number of items. The LIFE-H score ranges from 0 to 9, where a score of 0 indicates total handicap or total disruption in participation and a score of 9 means an optimal level of participation.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Score on Assessment of Life Habits (LIFE-H), Short Form 3.1
score on a scalertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Score on Assessment of Life Habits (LIFE-H), Short Form 3.10.000137 ± 0.165273-0.089842 ± 0.150235
PrimaryChange in Minnesota Low Vision Reading Test (MNRead): Reading Acuity Score

An estimate of reading acuity is given by the smallest print size at which the patient can read the entire sentence without making significant errors. This method measures acuity to the nearest 0.1 logMAR. Each sentence in the MNRead Reading Acuity chart has 60 characters, which corresponds to 10 standard length words, assuming a standard word length of 6 characters (including a space). Reading acuity is calculated as follows: Reading acuity = size of smallest sentence read + 0.01 x number of errors.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · logMAR
Change in Minnesota Low Vision Reading Test (MNRead): Reading Acuity Score
logMARrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Minnesota Low Vision Reading Test (MNRead): Reading Acuity Score-0.02857 ± 0.1082330.013333 ± 0.074498
PrimaryChange in Score on National Eye Institute Visual Functioning Questionnaire (VFQ-39)

National Eye Institute VFQ-39 measures health-related quality of life in 12 domains: general vision, ocular pain, near activities, distance activities, vision-specific social functioning, vision-specific mental health, vision-specific role difficulties, vision-specific dependency, driving, color vision, peripheral vision, and composite score. For each domain: the lowest and highest possible scores are 0 and 100 points, respectively. Higher score means higher functioning. The total score is the average of the domain scores.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Score on National Eye Institute Visual Functioning Questionnaire (VFQ-39)
score on a scalertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Score on National Eye Institute Visual Functioning Questionnaire (VFQ-39)3.52 ± 2.14054530.95 ± 0.089
PrimaryChange in Score on 36-Item Short Form Survey (SF-36)

The SF-36 is a 36-item patient-reported questionnaire that covers eight health domains: physical functioning (10 items), bodily pain (2 items), role limitations due to physical health problems (4 items), role limitations due to personal or emotional problems (4 items), emotional well-being (5 items), social functioning (2 items), energy/fatigue (4 items), and general health perceptions (5 items). Scores for each domain range from 0 to 100, with a higher score defining a more favorable health state. The total score is the average of the domain scores.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Score on 36-Item Short Form Survey (SF-36)
score on a scalertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Change in Score on 36-Item Short Form Survey (SF-36)23.14 ± 5.303063117.18 ± 0.1888264
PrimaryVEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Baseline

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · micro volts
VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Baseline
micro voltsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Baseline5.675 ± 3.20863288610.6655 ± 2.1296074
PrimaryVEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Baseline

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Baseline
millisecondsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Baseline119.166667 ± 26.759733130.75 ± 19.70828929
PrimaryVEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Baseline

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · micro volts
VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Baseline
micro voltsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Baseline8.3314 ± 2.79498815710.0365 ± 3.7914384
PrimaryVEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Baseline

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Baseline
millisecondsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Baseline110.5 ± 11.051018121 ± 10.839742
PrimaryVEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Week 4

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · micro volts
VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Week 4
micro voltsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Amplitude (15% Contrast) at Week 46.62025 ± 0.9055669957.1814 ± 2.865013
PrimaryVEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Week 4

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 15% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Week 4
millisecondsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Latency (15% Contrast) at Week 4119.25 ± 11.97566978131.7 ± 14.267971
PrimaryVEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Week 4

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · micro volts
VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Week 4
micro voltsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Amplitude (85% Contrast) at Week 48.4108333 ± 4.36066359.8224 ± 2.8729446
PrimaryVEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Week 4

Visual evoked potential (VEP) identifies decreased visual function and helps with discriminations of glaucomatous changes by measuring amplitude (micro volts) and latency (milliseconds (ms)) with 85% contrast parameters.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · milliseconds
VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Week 4
millisecondsrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
VEP-Measured Latency (85% Contrast) at Week 4119.4166667 ± 11.8634593122.3 ± 10.556988
PrimaryPelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Baseline

The Pelli-Robson test measures contrast sensitivity using a single large letter size (20/60 optotype), with contrast varying across groups of letters. The chart uses letters (6 per line), arranged in groups whose contrast varies from high to low. Patients read the letters, starting with the highest contrast, until they are unable to read two or three letters in a single group. A score is assigned based on the contrast of the last group in which two or three letters were correctly read. The score, a single number, is a measure of the subject's log contrast sensitivity. A Pelli-Robson score of 2.0 indicates normal contrast sensitivity of 100 percent. Scores less than 2.0 signify poorer contrast sensitivity. Pelli-Robson contrast sensitivity score of less than 1.5 is consistent with visual impairment and a score of less than 1.0 represents in visual disability.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · LogCS
Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Baseline
LogCSrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Baseline1.4 ± 0.421.26 ± 0.47
PrimaryPelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Week 4

The Pelli-Robson test measures contrast sensitivity using a single large letter size (20/60 optotype), with contrast varying across groups of letters. The chart uses letters (6 per line), arranged in groups whose contrast varies from high to low. Patients read the letters, starting with the highest contrast, until they are unable to read two or three letters in a single group. A score is assigned based on the contrast of the last group in which two or three letters were correctly read. The score, a single number, is a measure of the subject's log contrast sensitivity. A Pelli-Robson score of 2.0 indicates normal contrast sensitivity of 100 percent. Scores less than 2.0 signify poorer contrast sensitivity. Pelli-Robson contrast sensitivity score of less than 1.5 is consistent with visual impairment and a score of less than 1.0 represents in visual disability.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · LogCS
Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Week 4
LogCSrtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Pelli-Robson Contrast Sensitivity Chart Score at Week 41.39 ± 0.351.08 ± 0.55
PrimaryEarly Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Baseline

ETDRS charts have five Sloan letters on each line; the lines are of equal difficulty, and there is a geometric progression in letter size from line to line. Beginning with Chart 1, the right eye is tested with the left eye occluded. Following the completion of testing the right eye, the left eye is tested with Chart 2 while covering the right eye. Each letter is scored as right or wrong. Correct letters are circled on the scoresheet. Each letter read correctly is assigned a score and each line is totaled at the end of testing. VAS awards one point for every letter correctly guessed. The total scores range from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater visual acuity.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Baseline
score on a scalertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Baseline0.08 ± 0.130.16 ± 0.16
PrimaryEarly Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Week 4

ETDRS charts have five Sloan letters on each line; the lines are of equal difficulty, and there is a geometric progression in letter size from line to line. Beginning with Chart 1, the right eye is tested with the left eye occluded. Following the completion of testing the right eye, the left eye is tested with Chart 2 while covering the right eye. Each letter is scored as right or wrong. Correct letters are circled on the scoresheet. Each letter read correctly is assigned a score and each line is totaled at the end of testing. VAS awards one point for every letter correctly guessed. The total scores range from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater visual acuity.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Week 4
score on a scalertACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention Group
Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Visual Acuity Score (VAS) at Week 40.10 ± 0.140.16 ± 0.17

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
rtACS Stimulation Group———
Sham Intervention Group———

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention GroupTotal
Mean64 ± 1059 ± 2061 ± 17
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention GroupTotal
Female347
Male459
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino101
Not Hispanic or Latino6915
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian022
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American224
White459
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported101
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)rtACS Stimulation GroupSham Intervention GroupTotal
United States7916
08

Study locations

1 site
  • New York University School of Medicine
    New York, New York 10016, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 19, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 9, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03188042
Lead sponsor
NYU Langone Health
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 15, 2017
Start date
Dec 14, 2017
Primary completion
Oct 20, 2022
Completion
Oct 20, 2022
Results posted
Feb 9, 2024
Last update
Feb 9, 2024

Study contacts

Joel Schuman, MD, FACS
principal investigator · NYU Langone Health

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion