A Phase 3 interventional study of AG-120 and Placebo in Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML), Untreated AML and AML Arising From Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS), sponsored by Institut de Recherches Internationales Servier. Active, not recruiting at 90 sites in 20 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-06-29.
Sponsored by Institut de Recherches Internationales Servier · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
Study AG120-C-009 is a global, Phase 3, multicenter, double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of AG-120 (ivosidenib) + azacitidine vs placebo + azacitidine in adult participants with previously untreated IDH1m AML who are considered appropriate candidates for non-intensive therapy. The primary endpoint is event-free survival (EFS). The key secondary efficacy endpoints are overall survival (OS), rate of complete remission (CR), rate of CR and complete remission with partial hematologic recovery (CRh), and overall response rate (ORR). Participants eligible for study treatment based on Screening assessments will be randomized 1:1 to receive oral AG-120 or matched placebo, both administered in combination with subcutaneous (SC) or intravenous (IV) azacitidine. An estimated 200 participants will take part in the study.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants received AG-120 500 mg orally, once daily (QD) in combination with azacitidine 75 milligrams per square meter per day (mg/m\^2/day) subcutaneously (SC) or intravenously (IV), on Days 1-7, or on Days 1-5 and 8-9, of each 28-day cycle for a minimum of 6 cycles until death, disease relapse, disease progression, development of unacceptable toxicity (adverse event), confirmed pregnancy, withdrawal by participant or protocol violation.
Drug: AG-120 · Drug: Azacitidine
Participants received AG-120 matching placebo orally, QD in combination with azacitidine 75 mg/m\^2/day SC or IV, on Days 1-7, or on Days 1-5 and 8-9, of each 28-day cycle for a minimum of 6 cycles until death, disease relapse, disease progression, development of unacceptable toxicity (adverse event), confirmed pregnancy, withdrawal by participant or protocol violation .
Drug: Placebo · Drug: Azacitidine
Tablets administered orally
Also known as: Ivosidenib
Tablets administered orally
Administered SC or IV
Also known as: Vidaza®
Event-Free Survival (EFS)
EFS was defined as the time from randomization until treatment failure, relapse from remission, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. Treatment failure was defined as failure to achieve complete remission (CR) by Week 24. CR: Bone marrow blasts \<5% and no Auer rods; absence of extramedullary disease; Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥1.0 × 10\^9 per litre (10\^9/L) (1000 per microlitre \[1000/μL\]); platelet count ≥100 × 10\^9/L (100,000/μL); independence of red blood cell transfusions. Participants who had an EFS event (relapse or death) after, 2 or more missing disease assessments were censored at the last adequate disease assessment documenting no relapse before the missing assessments. The reported data represents the Kaplan-Meier median value.
Time frame: Up to Week 24
Complete Remission Rate (CR Rate)
CR rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR. A Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel (CMH) test will be used to compare CR rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Overall Survival (OS)
OS is defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. Kaplan-Meier (KM) curves and KM estimates of OS will be presented for each treatment arm.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
CR + Complete Remission With Partial Hematologic (CRh) Rate
CR + CRh rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR or CRh. CRh is defined as a CR with partial recovery of peripheral blood counts (less than 5% bone marrow blasts, absolute neutrophil count (ANC) greater than 0.5 × 10\^9/liter (L) 500/microliter (μL)\], and platelets greater than 50 × 10\^9/L \[50,000/μL\]). A CMH test will be used to compare the CR + CRh rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
ORR is defined as the rate of CR, CR with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi) (including CR with incomplete platelet recovery \[CRp\]), partial remission (PR), and morphologic leukemia-free state (MLFS). The best response is calculated using the following hierarchy: CR, followed by CRi (including CRp), followed by PR and MLFS. A summary of best response by treatment arm will be produced. A CMH test will be used to compare ORR between the 2 treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
CR + CRi (Including CRp) Rate
The CR + CRi (including CRp) rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp). A CMH test will be used to compare the CR + CRi (including CRp) rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Duration of CR (DOCR)
DOCR will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR to the date of first documented disease relapse, or death. DOCR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Duration of CRh (DOCRh)
DOCRh will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR or CRh to the date of first documented disease relapse or death. DOCRh is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRh.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Duration of Response (DOR)
DOR will be calculated as the date of the first response to the date of first documented disease relapse, disease progression, or death. DOR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR, CRi (including CRp), PR, and/or MLFS.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Duration of CRi (DOCRi)
DOCRi will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR or CRi (including CRp) to the date of the first documented relapse or death. DOCRi is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp).
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Time to CR (TTCR)
TTCR will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR. TTCR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Time to CRh (TTCRh)
TTCRh will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR or CRh. TTCRh is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRh.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Time to Response (TTR)
TTR will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of the first response. TTR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR, CRi (including CRp), PR, and/or MLFS.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Time to CRi (TTCRi)
TTCRi will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR or CRi (including CRp). TTCRi is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp).
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Abnormalities in Vital Sign Measurements
Vital signs will include body temperature, respiratory rate, blood pressure, and heart rate.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Abnormalities in Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group Performance Status (ECOG PS)
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Abnormalities in 12-lead Electrocardiograms (ECGs)
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Abnormalities in Echocardiogram (ECHO) or Multi-Gated Acquisition (MUGA) for Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF)
LVEF is determined by ECHO or MUGA scan in participants.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Abnormalities in Clinical Laboratory Tests
Clinical laboratory assessments will include hematology, serum chemistry, coagulation.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered an investigational medicinal product; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (example, a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a drug, whether or not it is considered related to the drug.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With AEs of Special Interest (AESIs)
AESIs are AEs that are not solicited local or systemic AEs, they are predefined AEs that required close monitoring and prompt reporting to the sponsor. AESIs include protocol-specified QT prolongation, isocitrate dehydrogenase (IDH) differentiation syndrome and leukocytosis.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
An SAE is defined as an untoward medical occurrence, significant hazard, contraindication, side effect or precaution that at any dose: results in death, is life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is medically significant.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events Leading to Discontinuation or Death
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered an investigational medicinal product; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (example, a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a drug, whether or not it is considered related to the drug.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants Using Concomitant Medications
Participants receiving concomitant medications will be adequately monitored by ECG controls, drug concentration (where applicable), and serum electrolytes (i.e., potassium and magnesium).
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Units of Platelets and Red Blood Cells (RBC) Infused
All measures that are indicative of clinical benefit are measured like number of units of platelet and RBC infused.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Rate of Infection
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Number of Days Spent Hospitalized
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Change From Baseline in the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) QLC-C30 Questionnaire
The EORTC QLQ-C30 questionnaire measures quality of life and consists of 30 questions that are incorporated into 5 functional domains (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social); a global health status/global quality of life; 3 symptom scales (fatigue, pain, and nausea and vomiting); and 6 single items that assess additional symptoms (dyspnea, appetite loss, sleep disturbance, constipation, and diarrhea) and the perceived financial burden of treatment experienced by participants with cancer.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Change From Baseline in the EORTC EQ-5D-5L Questionnaire
The EORTC EQ-5D-5L questionnaire measures quality of life and spans 5 dimensions, including mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression, which are used to build a composite of the participant's health status.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With CR With IDH1 Mutation Clearance (MC)
CR with IDH1 MC is defined as a response of CR where there is no evidence of the IDH1 mutation by molecular techniques to below the level of detection (0.02%-0.04%) for ≥1 on-treatment time point. A CMH test will be used to compare the rate of CR between 2 treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Percentage of Participants With Drug Exposure, Dose Modifications and Dose Intensities
The number of doses administered, total dose, duration of treatment, dose intensity, and the proportion of participants with dose modifications, will be summarized by treatment arm.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Circulating Plasma Concentration of AG-120
Serial blood samples will be drawn before and after dosing of study treatment in order to determine circulating plasma concentrations.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Circulating Plasma Concentration of 2-HG
Serial blood samples will be drawn before and after dosing of study treatment in order to determine circulating plasma concentrations.
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Participants took part in the study at 199 investigational sites from 19 March 2018 to 18 March 2021 (data cut off date). This study is ongoing. Results collected through data cut off date, 18 March 2021 are being reported.
| Milestone | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 72 | 74 |
| Safety analysis set | 71 | 73 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 72 | 74 |
| Withdrew: Death | 28 | 46 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 6 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Ongoing at data cut-off date: 18 march 2021 | 38 | 23 |
EFS was defined as the time from randomization until treatment failure, relapse from remission, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. Treatment failure was defined as failure to achieve complete remission (CR) by Week 24. CR: Bone marrow blasts \<5% and no Auer rods; absence of extramedullary disease; Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥1.0 × 10\^9 per litre (10\^9/L) (1000 per microlitre \[1000/μL\]); platelet count ≥100 × 10\^9/L (100,000/μL); independence of red blood cell transfusions. Participants who had an EFS event (relapse or death) after, 2 or more missing disease assessments were censored at the last adequate disease assessment documenting no relapse before the missing assessments. The reported data represents the Kaplan-Meier median value.
| months | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine |
|---|---|---|
| Event-Free Survival (EFS) | 0.03 (0.03 to 11.01) | 0.03 (NA to NA) |
CR rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR. A Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel (CMH) test will be used to compare CR rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
OS is defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. Kaplan-Meier (KM) curves and KM estimates of OS will be presented for each treatment arm.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
CR + CRh rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR or CRh. CRh is defined as a CR with partial recovery of peripheral blood counts (less than 5% bone marrow blasts, absolute neutrophil count (ANC) greater than 0.5 × 10\^9/liter (L) 500/microliter (μL)\], and platelets greater than 50 × 10\^9/L \[50,000/μL\]). A CMH test will be used to compare the CR + CRh rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
ORR is defined as the rate of CR, CR with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi) (including CR with incomplete platelet recovery \[CRp\]), partial remission (PR), and morphologic leukemia-free state (MLFS). The best response is calculated using the following hierarchy: CR, followed by CRi (including CRp), followed by PR and MLFS. A summary of best response by treatment arm will be produced. A CMH test will be used to compare ORR between the 2 treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
The CR + CRi (including CRp) rate is defined as the proportion of participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp). A CMH test will be used to compare the CR + CRi (including CRp) rate between the 2 treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
DOCR will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR to the date of first documented disease relapse, or death. DOCR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
DOCRh will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR or CRh to the date of first documented disease relapse or death. DOCRh is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRh.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
DOR will be calculated as the date of the first response to the date of first documented disease relapse, disease progression, or death. DOR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR, CRi (including CRp), PR, and/or MLFS.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
DOCRi will be calculated as the date of the first occurrence of CR or CRi (including CRp) to the date of the first documented relapse or death. DOCRi is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp).
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
TTCR will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR. TTCR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
TTCRh will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR or CRh. TTCRh is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRh.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
TTR will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of the first response. TTR is only defined for participants who achieve a CR, CRi (including CRp), PR, and/or MLFS.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
TTCRi will be assessed from the date of randomization to the date of first occurrence of CR or CRi (including CRp). TTCRi is only defined for participants who achieve a CR or CRi (including CRp).
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Vital signs will include body temperature, respiratory rate, blood pressure, and heart rate.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
LVEF is determined by ECHO or MUGA scan in participants.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Clinical laboratory assessments will include hematology, serum chemistry, coagulation.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered an investigational medicinal product; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (example, a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a drug, whether or not it is considered related to the drug.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
AESIs are AEs that are not solicited local or systemic AEs, they are predefined AEs that required close monitoring and prompt reporting to the sponsor. AESIs include protocol-specified QT prolongation, isocitrate dehydrogenase (IDH) differentiation syndrome and leukocytosis.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
An SAE is defined as an untoward medical occurrence, significant hazard, contraindication, side effect or precaution that at any dose: results in death, is life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is medically significant.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered an investigational medicinal product; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (example, a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a drug, whether or not it is considered related to the drug.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Participants receiving concomitant medications will be adequately monitored by ECG controls, drug concentration (where applicable), and serum electrolytes (i.e., potassium and magnesium).
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
All measures that are indicative of clinical benefit are measured like number of units of platelet and RBC infused.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
The EORTC QLQ-C30 questionnaire measures quality of life and consists of 30 questions that are incorporated into 5 functional domains (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social); a global health status/global quality of life; 3 symptom scales (fatigue, pain, and nausea and vomiting); and 6 single items that assess additional symptoms (dyspnea, appetite loss, sleep disturbance, constipation, and diarrhea) and the perceived financial burden of treatment experienced by participants with cancer.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
The EORTC EQ-5D-5L questionnaire measures quality of life and spans 5 dimensions, including mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression, which are used to build a composite of the participant's health status.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
CR with IDH1 MC is defined as a response of CR where there is no evidence of the IDH1 mutation by molecular techniques to below the level of detection (0.02%-0.04%) for ≥1 on-treatment time point. A CMH test will be used to compare the rate of CR between 2 treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
The number of doses administered, total dose, duration of treatment, dose intensity, and the proportion of participants with dose modifications, will be summarized by treatment arm.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Serial blood samples will be drawn before and after dosing of study treatment in order to determine circulating plasma concentrations.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Serial blood samples will be drawn before and after dosing of study treatment in order to determine circulating plasma concentrations.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Collected over 3 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| AG-120 + Azacitidine | 27/71 (38%) | 49/71 (69%) | 68/71 (95.8%) |
| Placebo + Azacitidine | 45/73 (61.6%) | 60/73 (82.2%) | 72/73 (98.6%) |
| Event | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine |
|---|---|---|
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 17/71 | 20/73 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 14/71 | 16/73 |
| Differentiation syndromeNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 6/71 | 1/73 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 4/71 | 3/73 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/71 | 1/73 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 1/71 | 3/73 |
| Bronchopulmonary aspergillosisInfections and infestations | 2/71 | 2/73 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 2/71 | 0/73 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/71 | 1/73 |
| Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/71 | 0/73 |
| Event | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine |
|---|---|---|
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 19/71 | 38/73 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 30/71 | 28/73 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 23/71 | 29/73 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 28/71 | 19/73 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 25/71 | 25/73 |
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 11/71 | 24/73 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 22/71 | 21/73 |
| HypokalaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 11/71 | 21/73 |
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 20/71 | 12/73 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 20/71 | 14/73 |
FAS included all participants who were randomized.
| Age, Continuous(years) | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 74.5 ± 6.18 | 75.2 ± 7.39 | 74.8 ± 6.81 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 30 | 36 | 66 |
| Male | 42 | 38 | 80 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 1 | 7 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 21 | 32 | 53 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 45 | 41 | 86 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | AG-120 + Azacitidine | Placebo + Azacitidine | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Race — Asian | 15 | 19 | 34 |
| Race — White | 12 | 12 | 24 |
| Race — Black or African American | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Race — Other | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Race — Not Reported | 44 | 40 | 84 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Qualified scientific and medical researchers can request access to anonymized patient-level and study-level clinical trial data. Access can be requested for all interventional clinical studies: * used for Marketing Authorization (MA) of medicines and new indications approved after 1 January 2014 in the European Economic Area (EEA) or the United States (US). * where Servier is the Marketing Authorization Holder (MAH). The date of the first MA of the new medicine (or the new indication) in one of the EEA Member States will be considered for this scope. In addition, access can be requested for all interventional clinical studies in patients: * sponsored by Servier * with a first patient enrolled as of 1 January 2004 onwards * for New Chemical Entity or New Biological Entity (new pharmaceutical form excluded) for which development has been terminated before any Marketing authorization (MA) approval.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr
This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Jun 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Institut de Recherches Internationales Servier