A Phase 1 interventional study of Dabigatran Etexilate and Rabeprazol sodium in Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. Completed at 1 site in Japan. Open to male participants aged 20 Years to 40 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-01-16.
Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
The primary objective of this trial is to investigate the relative Bioavailability (BA) of tablet formulation of Dabigatran etexilate (DE) with and without co-administration of rabeprazole in healthy male subjects.
The secondary objective is the evaluation and comparison of several pharmacokinetic parameters between the treatments.
2,081 studies on the registry are indexed under Liver Diseases; 390 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 36 is below the median of 50 across 1,323 interventional studies indexed under Liver Diseases.
Browse Liver Diseases studies →Boehringer Ingelheim is the lead sponsor of 2,245 studies on the registry; 58 are open to participants now.
Of its 162 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 116 (72%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Dabigatran etexilate given without rabeprazole and then Dabigatran etexilate given without rabeprazole.
Drug: Dabigatran Etexilate · Drug: Rabeprazol sodium
Tablet, film coated
Also known as: MICARDIS, PRITOR, TELMISARTAN
Tablet
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From 0 to Time of Last Quantifiable Time Point (tz) of Total Dabigatran (AUC0-tz).
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of total dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 to the time of last quantifiable time point.
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
Maximum Concentration of Total Dabigatran in Plasma (Cmax).
This outcome is maximum measured concentration of the total dabigatran in plasma
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From 0 to Time of Last Quantifiable Time Point (tz) of Free Dabigatran (AUC0-tz).
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of free dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 to the time of last quantifiable time point.
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
Maximum Concentration of Free Dabigatran in Plasma (Cmax).
This outcome is maximum measured concentration of the free dabigatran in plasma
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of Total Dabigatran in Plasma Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞).
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of total dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of Free Dabigatran in Plasma Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞).
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of free dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity.
Time frame: Samples were collected 1 hour Pre-dose and at 0:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 3:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 12:00, 24:00 36:00 and 48:00 hours post dose.
This was open label, 2 period, fixed sequence (RT), single arm study in 36 healthy male Japanese subjects. All subjects were orally treated with single dose of 110 milligram (mg) dabigatran etexilate (DE) tablet formulation alone in period 1 and with 20 mg rabeprazole tablet in period 2 with 4 days of rabeprazole pre-medication.
| Milestone | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg With and Without Rabeprazole 20 mg |
|---|---|
| Started | 36 |
| Completed | 36 |
| Not completed | 0 |
| Milestone | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg With and Without Rabeprazole 20 mg |
|---|---|
| Started | 36 |
| Completed | 35 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of total dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 to the time of last quantifiable time point.
| Nanogram*Hour/ millilitre (ng*h/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From 0 to Time of Last Quantifiable Time Point (tz) of Total Dabigatran (AUC0-tz). | 667 ± 123 | 192 ± 109 |
This outcome is maximum measured concentration of the total dabigatran in plasma
| Nano gram per milliliter (ng/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Concentration of Total Dabigatran in Plasma (Cmax). | 83.1 ± 118 | 21.8 ± 105 |
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of free dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 to the time of last quantifiable time point.
| Nanogram*Hour/ millilitre (ng*h/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From 0 to Time of Last Quantifiable Time Point (tz) of Free Dabigatran (AUC0-tz). | 588 ± 119 | 164 ± 110 |
This outcome is maximum measured concentration of the free dabigatran in plasma
| Nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Concentration of Free Dabigatran in Plasma (Cmax). | 72.9 ± 114 | 20.0 ± 103 |
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of total dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity
| Nanogram*Hour/ millilitre (ng*h/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of Total Dabigatran in Plasma Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞). | 702 ± 110 | 214 ± 96.6 |
This endpoint calculates area under the concentration-time curve of free dabigatran in plasma over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity.
| Nanogram*Hour/ millilitre (ng*h/mL) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg Tablet (Test) |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of Free Dabigatran in Plasma Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞). | 618 ± 107 | 188 ± 93.4 |
Collected over From first drug administration until 3 days after the last drug administration. Up to 10 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg (Reference) | 0/36 (0%) | 0/36 (0%) | 0/36 (0%) |
| Dabigatran Etexilate 110 mg + Rabeprazole 20 mg (Test) | 0/35 (0%) | 0/35 (0%) | 0/35 (0%) |
Treated set (TS) : All enrolled subjects provided with trial medication and documented to have taken at least 1 dose of trial medication were included in the TS.
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Total Subjects |
|---|---|
| Mean | 26.3 ± 4.7 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Total Subjects |
|---|---|
| Female | 0 |
| Male | 36 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Total Subjects |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 36 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Total Subjects |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 36 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 0 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Boehringer Ingelheim