A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Tucatinib in Combination with Palbociclib and Letrozole and Tucatinib in Combination with Palbociclib and Letrozole in Breast Cancer, sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver. Completed at 6 sites in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 100 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-11-13.
Sponsored by University of Colorado, Denver · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a multicenter run-in phase Ib / roll-over phase II study of triple targeted drug combination (HER2-targeted small molecule inhibitor tucatinib, CDK4/6 inhibitor palbociclib and aromatase inhibitor letrozole) as a first or second line of therapy in patients with metastatic hormone receptor positive and HER2-positive breast cancer.
This is a multicenter, single arm, open-label, run-in phase Ib / roll-over phase II study of novel HER2-targeted tyrosine kinase inhibitor tucatinib in combination with CDK4/6 inhibitor palbociclib and aromatase inhibitor letrozole in subjects with HR+/HER2+ locally advanced unresectable or metastatic breast cancer. The study will enroll post-menopausal women and premenopausal women if on treatment with or willing to be treated with standard ovarian suppression. The phase Ib part of the study will determine safety and tolerability of the combination of tucatinib, palbociclib and letrozole to confirm that current RP2D of tucatinib and FDA approved dosing of palbociclib remains the same in the triplet combination. The dose of letrozole will be constant through the study period. Once the safety of the combination is established, we will move to the phase II part of the study in the expansion cohort of subjects at RP2D for the purpose of assessing efficacy while further refining assessment of safety of the combination treatment.
12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 42 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.
Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →University of Colorado, Denver is the lead sponsor of 1,499 studies on the registry; 315 are open to participants now.
Of its 139 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 89 (64%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Measurable and/or evaluable disease per RECIST 1.1 criteria and/or RANO-BM criteria
. Bone only disease is allowed.
CNS inclusion criteria:
Relevant records of any CNS treatment must be available to allow for classification of target and non-target lesions
Prior treatments:
Adequate organ and marrow function as defined below:
Exclusion criteria:
Tucatinib 300 mg PO BID, palbociclib 125 mg PO daily 21 days on and 7 days off, and letrozole 2.5 mg PO daily on a 28 day cycle length.
Drug: Tucatinib in Combination with Palbociclib and Letrozole
Tucatinib 300 mg BID; palbociclib 75 mg PO daily 21 days on, 7 days off; letrozole 2.5 mg PO daily.
Drug: Tucatinib in Combination with Palbociclib and Letrozole
Starting dose of combination therapy : Tucatinib 300 mg PO BID Palbociclib 125 mg PO daily 21 day on, 7 days off Letrozole 2.5 mg PO daily
Also known as: ONT-380, IBRANCE, Femara
Subjects Tucatinib 300 mg PO BID Palbociclib 75mg PO daily 21 days on followed by 7 days off Letrozole 2.5 mg PO daily.
Also known as: ONT-380, IBRANCE, Femara
Phase Ib Primary Outcome: Proportion of Patients Who Experienced DLTs Attributable to Palbociclib, Tucatinib, or Both
To measure safety and tolerability of tucatinib used in combination with palbociclib and letrozole, we will assess the proportion of subjects experiencing dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs) potentially attributable to tucatinib, palbociclib, or both drugs, and compare them to predefined safety thresholds. DLT was defined as any grade ≥ 3 nonhematologic adverse event, grade 3 neutropenia with fever, grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding, or any hematologic toxicity grade ≥ 4 using NCI CTCAE version 4.03. Safety was considered clinically meaningfully altered if ≥60% of subjects experienced DLTs secondary palbociclib, ≥20% of subjects had toxicity secondary to tucatinib, or ≥50% of subjects had DLTs attributable to both drugs. If the proportion of patients with DLTs cross safety boundaries, doses of tucatinib, palbociclib or both medications would be decreased. Letrozole dose was kept constant for all study subjects.
Time frame: 15 months (From date of first consent until final safety analysis of Phase Ib)
Phase II Primary Outcome: Median Progression-free Survival (mPFS)
To measure efficacy of tucatinib used in combination with palbociclib and letrozole, the median PFS (primary objective of Phase II) will be assessed. mPFS is defined as the time from allocation to the first documented disease progression according to RECIST 1.1, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. For subjects with brain metastatic disease enrolled in the study, assessment of bi-compartmental mPFS in the non-CNS and CNS compartments, defined as the time from allocation to the first documented disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 and/or RANO-BM criteria, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. For patient with CNS metastases who had an event of isolated CNS progression, underwent local therapy, and remained on study per protocol, mPFS was calculated as the time from the start of treatment until the first CNS progression.
Time frame: 4 years (data cutoff of PFS calculation was when PFS became mature according to study statistician)
Phase Ib Secondary Outcome: Tucatinib and Palbociclib AUC[0-6] Post Tucatinib and Palbociclib Dose
Pharmacokinetic (PK) assessments of blood levels of tucatinib and palbociclib will be performed on Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 of therapy in 20 participants enrolled in the phase Ib part of the study. Plasma samples will be collected to measure levels of tucatinib and its hydroxyl metabolite ONT-993, as well as levels of palbociclib and, if needed, its metabolites at steady state on Cycle 1 Day 15. The area under the curve (AUC) of the concentration vs. time plot is computed from 0 to 6 hours after the tucatinib and palbociclib dose.
Time frame: 0, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6 hours post-dose
Phase II Secondary Outcome: Palbociclib AUC[10-19] Post Tucatinib and Palbociclib Dose
Additional pharmacokinetic (PK) assessment will be done in 5 to 10 patients enrolled in phase II part of the study to evaluate the levels of tucatinib and palbociclib. These PKs will be done on Cycle 1 Day 9 and Cycle 2 Day 9. Prior to the first set of PKs, on Cycle 1 Days 1-8, patient will take palbociclib and letrozole; tucatinib will be on hold. Tucatinib will be started per usual study schedule after the first set of PKs is obtained on Day 9. Prior to the second set of PKs, on Cycle 2 Days 1-8, patient will take palbociclib, letrozole and tucatinib (all study drugs) per usual study schedule. On the day prior to PK evaluation (Day 8 of Cycle 1 and Day 8 of Cycle 2), patient should consume high calorie / high fat meal and take study drugs. On the next day, plasma samples will be collected to measure PKs at 10, 13, 16 and 19 hrs +/- 10 minutes post dose.
Time frame: 10, 13, 16, and 19 hours post-dose
Phase II Secondary Outcome: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)
Clinical benefit rate (CBR) was assessed in patients with measurable lesions and defined as the proportion of patients with complete response, partial response, or stable disease for 6 months or more. It is one of the parameters used to assess tumor response in this study and was evaluated using RECIST 1.1 (and/or RANO-BM for patients with CNS disease).
Time frame: 4 years
Phase II Secondary Outcome: Overall Response Rate (ORR)
Overall response rate (ORR) is defined as the proportion of subjects who had complete or partial response by RECIST 1.1 (and/or RANO-BM for patients with CNS disease).
Time frame: 4 years
Phase II Secondary Outcome: Median Duration of Response (mDOR)
Median duration of response (mDOR) is defined as the time from enrollment in the clinical trial until objective tumor progression or death, whichever occurs first.
Time frame: 4 years
| Milestone | Phase 1b | Phase II |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 20 | 22 |
| Completed | 20 | 22 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 |
To measure safety and tolerability of tucatinib used in combination with palbociclib and letrozole, we will assess the proportion of subjects experiencing dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs) potentially attributable to tucatinib, palbociclib, or both drugs, and compare them to predefined safety thresholds. DLT was defined as any grade ≥ 3 nonhematologic adverse event, grade 3 neutropenia with fever, grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding, or any hematologic toxicity grade ≥ 4 using NCI CTCAE version 4.03. Safety was considered clinically meaningfully altered if ≥60% of subjects experienced DLTs secondary palbociclib, ≥20% of subjects had toxicity secondary to tucatinib, or ≥50% of subjects had DLTs attributable to both drugs. If the proportion of patients with DLTs cross safety boundaries, doses of tucatinib, palbociclib or both medications would be decreased. Letrozole dose was kept constant for all study subjects.
| percentage of participants | Baseline Starting Dose Patients for Phase Ib (Tucatinib 300mg, Palbociclib 125mg, Letrozole 2.5mg) | Dose-reduced Patients for Phase II (Tucatinib 300mg, Palbociclib 75mg, Letrozole 2.5mg) | Overall Patient Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase Ib Primary Outcome: Proportion of Patients Who Experienced DLTs Attributable to Palbociclib, Tucatinib, or Both | 100 | 65 | 100 |
To measure efficacy of tucatinib used in combination with palbociclib and letrozole, the median PFS (primary objective of Phase II) will be assessed. mPFS is defined as the time from allocation to the first documented disease progression according to RECIST 1.1, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. For subjects with brain metastatic disease enrolled in the study, assessment of bi-compartmental mPFS in the non-CNS and CNS compartments, defined as the time from allocation to the first documented disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 and/or RANO-BM criteria, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. For patient with CNS metastases who had an event of isolated CNS progression, underwent local therapy, and remained on study per protocol, mPFS was calculated as the time from the start of treatment until the first CNS progression.
| months | Overall Patient Cohort | CNS Cohort | Non-CNS Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase II Primary Outcome: Median Progression-free Survival (mPFS) | 8.4 (6.6 to 10.8) | 8.2 (5.4 to 20.1) | 10.0 (7.2 to 14.9) |
Pharmacokinetic (PK) assessments of blood levels of tucatinib and palbociclib will be performed on Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 of therapy in 20 participants enrolled in the phase Ib part of the study. Plasma samples will be collected to measure levels of tucatinib and its hydroxyl metabolite ONT-993, as well as levels of palbociclib and, if needed, its metabolites at steady state on Cycle 1 Day 15. The area under the curve (AUC) of the concentration vs. time plot is computed from 0 to 6 hours after the tucatinib and palbociclib dose.
| h*ng/mL | Baseline Starting Dose Patients (1-20): Tucatinib in Combination With Palbociclib and Letrozole |
|---|---|
| Palbociclib | 647 (183.6 to 1983) |
| Tucatinib | 2433 (1289 to 4022) |
| ONT-993 (Tucatinib metabolite) | 340 (156.5 to 943.1) |
Additional pharmacokinetic (PK) assessment will be done in 5 to 10 patients enrolled in phase II part of the study to evaluate the levels of tucatinib and palbociclib. These PKs will be done on Cycle 1 Day 9 and Cycle 2 Day 9. Prior to the first set of PKs, on Cycle 1 Days 1-8, patient will take palbociclib and letrozole; tucatinib will be on hold. Tucatinib will be started per usual study schedule after the first set of PKs is obtained on Day 9. Prior to the second set of PKs, on Cycle 2 Days 1-8, patient will take palbociclib, letrozole and tucatinib (all study drugs) per usual study schedule. On the day prior to PK evaluation (Day 8 of Cycle 1 and Day 8 of Cycle 2), patient should consume high calorie / high fat meal and take study drugs. On the next day, plasma samples will be collected to measure PKs at 10, 13, 16 and 19 hrs +/- 10 minutes post dose.
| h*ng/mL | Overall Patient Cohort |
|---|---|
| Phase II Secondary Outcome: Palbociclib AUC[10-19] Post Tucatinib and Palbociclib Dose | 656 (506 to 1108) |
Clinical benefit rate (CBR) was assessed in patients with measurable lesions and defined as the proportion of patients with complete response, partial response, or stable disease for 6 months or more. It is one of the parameters used to assess tumor response in this study and was evaluated using RECIST 1.1 (and/or RANO-BM for patients with CNS disease).
| percentage of participants | Patients With Measurable Lesions (n=27) |
|---|---|
| Phase II Secondary Outcome: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR) | 70.4 |
Overall response rate (ORR) is defined as the proportion of subjects who had complete or partial response by RECIST 1.1 (and/or RANO-BM for patients with CNS disease).
| percentage of participants | Patients With Measurable Lesions (n=27) |
|---|---|
| Phase II Secondary Outcome: Overall Response Rate (ORR) | 44.5 |
Median duration of response (mDOR) is defined as the time from enrollment in the clinical trial until objective tumor progression or death, whichever occurs first.
| months | Patients With Measurable Lesions (n=27) |
|---|---|
| Phase II Secondary Outcome: Median Duration of Response (mDOR) | 13.9 (5.51 to 31.8) |
Collected over Approximately 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase Ib | 0/20 (0%) | 9/20 (45%) | 20/20 (100%) |
| Phase II | 0/22 (0%) | 7/22 (31.8%) | 22/22 (100%) |
| Event | Phase Ib | Phase II |
|---|---|---|
| PainGeneral disorders | 2/20 | 0/22 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 1/20 | 1/22 |
| Abdominal DistensionGastrointestinal disorders | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| AST IncreaseInvestigations | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| ALT IncreaseInvestigations | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| Skin InfectionInfections and infestations | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| Lung Infection (Pneumonia)Respiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/20 | 0/22 |
| Event | Phase Ib | Phase II |
|---|---|---|
| Neutrophil Count, DecreasedInvestigations | 17/20 | 16/22 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 11/20 | 16/22 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 13/20 | 14/22 |
| PainGeneral disorders | 12/20 | 10/22 |
| InfectionInfections and infestations | 12/20 | 6/22 |
| White Blood Cell Count DecreasedInvestigations | 11/20 | 5/22 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 11/20 | 12/22 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 10/20 | 6/22 |
| MucositisInfections and infestations | 9/20 | 2/22 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 7/20 | 3/22 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 17 | 16 | 33 |
| >=65 years | 3 | 6 | 9 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 51 ± 11.55 | 53.12 ± 15.49 | 51.91 ± 13.60 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 20 | 22 | 42 |
| Male | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 5 | 11 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 14 | 17 | 31 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 19 | 18 | 37 |
| More than one race | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Phase Ib | Phase II | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 20 | 22 | 42 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
University of Colorado, Denver