CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03040024Updated Jul 8, 2021Results posted

Delirium Prevention With Ketamine in Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT) Patients

A Phase 4 interventional study of Ketamine and Placebo in Otolaryngeal Cancer, sponsored by Emory University. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-07-08.

Sponsored by Emory University · Phase 4, Interventional, and Other

Why this study was terminated
Halted due to COVID 19; we believe we have adequate data for analysis
Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
71
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The goal of this prospective randomized double blinded placebo controlled study is to investigate if a single dose of ketamine in addition to standard anesthesia will reduce the risk of delirium in otolaryngeal cancer patients postoperatively. Ketamine's effect on post-operative pain and opioid use will be measured as well. Electroencephalogram (EEG) will be utilized during the surgical procedure to evaluate its potential as a possible predictive device for delirium.

Read the detailed description

This is a single center prospective randomized double blinded placebo controlled study.

The primary aim of the study is to optimize the intraoperative treatment protocol for head and neck cancer patients to reduce the incidence of delirium and associated postoperative cognitive dysfunction. Secondary aims are to determine the dose response relationship for intraoperative ketamine and delirium reduction, determine if a single dose of ketamine will reduce post-operative pain and opioid requirements, determine if raw electroencephalogram (EEG) data can predict postoperative delirium during general anesthesia, and to evaluate length of intensive care unit (ICU) and length of hospital stay.

Participants will be randomized to one of three groups after administration of general anesthesia; one dose of .5 mg/kg intravenous (IV) Ketamine, 1.0 mg/kg of IV Ketamine, or IV placebo.

An EEG will be used during the surgical procedure to gather raw data for off line analysis among patients developing post-operative delirium.

02

Conditions studied

  • Otolaryngeal Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Anesthesiology
03

In context

Delirium

1,057 studies on the registry are indexed under Delirium; 238 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 71 is below the median of 120 across 599 interventional studies indexed under Delirium.

Browse Delirium studies →

Lead sponsor

Emory University is the lead sponsor of 1,386 studies on the registry; 236 are open to participants now.

Of its 229 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 174 (76%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Current diagnosis of otolaryngeal cancer and undergoing surgery with general anesthesia
  • Competent to provide informed consent

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Emergency surgery
  • Monitored Anesthesia Care (i.e., regional anesthesia alone without plans for general anesthesia)
  • Surgery involving the eye, eyebrow, forehead, or frontal scalp near the sensor placement
  • Poor health literacy
  • Allergy, or have experienced any drug reaction to ketamine
  • Pregnant or lactating
  • Currently in active alcohol withdrawal
  • Taking buprenorphine for chronic pain
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
71 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ketamine 0.5 mg/kg

    Participants undergoing surgery for otolaryngeal cancer will be randomized to receive one dose of IV ketamine at 0.5 mg/kg.

    Drug: Ketamine · Device: Electroencephalogram (EEG)

  • Experimental
    Ketamine 1.0 mg/kg

    Participants undergoing surgery for otolaryngeal cancer will be randomized to receive one dose of IV ketamine at 1.0 mg/kg.

    Drug: Ketamine · Device: Electroencephalogram (EEG)

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Participants undergoing surgery for otolaryngeal cancer will be randomized to receive one dose of IV saline/placebo.

    Drug: Placebo · Device: Electroencephalogram (EEG)

Interventions

  • DrugKetamine

    Ketamine will be administered intravenously after administration of general anesthesia and prior to the first surgical incision.

  • DrugPlacebo

    Placebo will be administered intravenously after administration of general anesthesia and prior to the first surgical incision.

    Also known as: Saline Solution

  • DeviceElectroencephalogram (EEG)

    A processed EEG device will be used during the surgical procedure to gather raw EEG data for off line analysis among patients developing post-operative delirium.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Confusion Assessment Method fo Intensive Care Unit (CAM-ICU) Delirium Score

    The CAM-ICU assesses four features: 1) acute change or fluctuation in mental status from baseline, 2) inattention, 3) altered level of consciousness, and 4) disorganized thinking. The measure reports whether a participant meets criteria for delirium by summing the number of features answered as "present". Feature 1 plus 2 and either 3 or 4 present = delirium positive. Results are expressed as number of participants with or without delirium at each time frame.

    Time frame: Baseline (Up to 30 minutes after PACU arrival), Post Operative (PACU discharge up to 6 hours)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Behavioral Pain Scale (Non-Intubated) Score

    The Behavioral Pain Scale. Scores range from 3 (no pain) to 12 (maximum pain).

    Time frame: Post Operation (Up to 6 Hours), Post Operation Day 0

  2. Change in Pain Level Assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score

    Scores range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain).

    Time frame: Baseline, Post Surgery (PACU), Post surgery (POD 0), Post surgery (POD 1), Post surgery (POD 2), Post surgery (POD 3), Post surgery (follow up visit - Up to 6 weeks)

  3. Change in Mini Cog Score

    The Mini-Cog is a 3-minute instrument that can increase detection of cognitive impairment. A score ranging from 0-2 indicates positive screen for dementia. A score ranging from 3-5 indicates negative screen for dementia.

    Time frame: Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)

  4. Change in Mini-Mental Status Examination (MMSE) Score

    The MMSE is a 30-point questionnaire that is used extensively in clinical and research settings to measure cognitive impairment. Any score greater than or equal to 24 points (out of 30) indicates a normal cognition. Below this (0-24), scores can indicate cognitive impairment.

    Time frame: Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)

  5. Change in Cognitive Failure Questionnaire (CFQ) Score

    The CFQ is a 25-item self-report measure of failures in attention, perception, memory, and action. Participants are asked to indicate on a 5-point scale how often they have experienced each failure in the past months, from 0 (never) to 5 (very often). Scores range from 0 to 100 a higher score indicating more failures in attention.

    Time frame: Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)

  6. Post Operative Narcotics Use

    The total amount of narcotics used measured in morphine milligram equivalents (MME).

    Time frame: Post Intervention (Intraoperative), Post Intervention (POD 0), Post Intervention (POD 1),Post Intervention (POD 2),Post Intervention (POD 3), Post Intervention (Follow up visit-up to 6 weeks post intervention)

  7. Associations of Intraoperative EEG Patterns With PACU Delirium

    The investigators compared the relative beta power derived from the normalized power spectral density (PSD) in patients with and without PACU delirium (positive and negative delirium). Only a total of 38 EEGs with sufficient quality were analyzed. Results are expressed in percentage of cumulative power. A higher beta power correlates with worse outcome. Averages and standard deviations are shown.

    Time frame: Intraoperative EEG and delirium during PACU stay

07

Results

Posted Mar 19, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Started212624
Completed212423
Not completed021
Withdrew: Adverse event010
Withdrew: Death010
Withdrew: Physician decision001

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Confusion Assessment Method fo Intensive Care Unit (CAM-ICU) Delirium Score

The CAM-ICU assesses four features: 1) acute change or fluctuation in mental status from baseline, 2) inattention, 3) altered level of consciousness, and 4) disorganized thinking. The measure reports whether a participant meets criteria for delirium by summing the number of features answered as "present". Feature 1 plus 2 and either 3 or 4 present = delirium positive. Results are expressed as number of participants with or without delirium at each time frame.

Time frame:
Baseline (Up to 30 minutes after PACU arrival), Post Operative (PACU discharge up to 6 hours)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Change in Confusion Assessment Method fo Intensive Care Unit (CAM-ICU) Delirium Score
ParticipantsKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Delirium CAM-ICU Score at PACU Arrival1199
No Delirium CAM-ICU Score at PACU Arrival61310
Delirium CAM-ICU Score at PACU Discharge652
No Delirium CAM-ICU Score at PACU Discharge111715
SecondaryChange in Behavioral Pain Scale (Non-Intubated) Score

The Behavioral Pain Scale. Scores range from 3 (no pain) to 12 (maximum pain).

Time frame:
Post Operation (Up to 6 Hours), Post Operation Day 0

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange in Pain Level Assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score

Scores range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain).

Time frame:
Baseline, Post Surgery (PACU), Post surgery (POD 0), Post surgery (POD 1), Post surgery (POD 2), Post surgery (POD 3), Post surgery (follow up visit - Up to 6 weeks)
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Change in Pain Level Assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score
units on a scaleKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Baseline Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score3.50 ± 3.254.36 ± 2.942.30 ± 2.88
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score Post surgery (PACU)1.00 ± 2.452.56 ± 3.281.63 ± 3.11
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score Post surgery (POD 0)4.76 ± 3.864.22 ± 3.243.62 ± 3.74
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score Post surgery (POD 1)3.93 ± 2.763.72 ± 2.553.52 ± 2.42
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score Post surgery (POD 2)2.47 ± 2.522.81 ± 2.513.38 ± 2.62
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score Post surgery (POD 3)3.08 ± 2.943.35 ± 2.153.41 ± 2.20
Pain Level assessed by the Visual Analog Scale Score Post surgery (follow up visit - Up to 6 weeks)2.3 ± 2.583.09 ± 2.683.00 ± 2.60
SecondaryChange in Mini Cog Score

The Mini-Cog is a 3-minute instrument that can increase detection of cognitive impairment. A score ranging from 0-2 indicates positive screen for dementia. A score ranging from 3-5 indicates negative screen for dementia.

Time frame:
Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Change in Mini Cog Score
ParticipantsKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Baseline Mini Cog Score- Positive Screen256
Baseline Mini Cog Score- Negative Screen182018
Mini Cog Score Post surgery (Up to 6 weeks) - Positive Screen303
Mini Cog Score Post surgery (Up to 6 weeks) - Negative Screen172317
SecondaryChange in Mini-Mental Status Examination (MMSE) Score

The MMSE is a 30-point questionnaire that is used extensively in clinical and research settings to measure cognitive impairment. Any score greater than or equal to 24 points (out of 30) indicates a normal cognition. Below this (0-24), scores can indicate cognitive impairment.

Time frame:
Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Change in Mini-Mental Status Examination (MMSE) Score
ParticipantsKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Normal Baseline MMSE Score (25-30)182222
Cognitive Impairment Baseline MMSE Score (0-24)232
Normal Post surgery (Up to 6 weeks) MMSE Score (25-30)172316
Cognitive Impairment Post surgery (Up to 6 weeks) MMSE Score (0-24)304
SecondaryChange in Cognitive Failure Questionnaire (CFQ) Score

The CFQ is a 25-item self-report measure of failures in attention, perception, memory, and action. Participants are asked to indicate on a 5-point scale how often they have experienced each failure in the past months, from 0 (never) to 5 (very often). Scores range from 0 to 100 a higher score indicating more failures in attention.

Time frame:
Baseline, Post Surgery (Up to 6 Weeks)
Reported as:
Median · score on a scale
Change in Cognitive Failure Questionnaire (CFQ) Score
score on a scaleKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Baseline CFQ Score27 (21 to 38)34 (22 to 40)30 (21.5 to 38.5)
CFQ Score Post surgery (Up to 6 weeks)29 (23 to 35)30 (15 to 40)29 (23 to 37)
SecondaryPost Operative Narcotics Use

The total amount of narcotics used measured in morphine milligram equivalents (MME).

Time frame:
Post Intervention (Intraoperative), Post Intervention (POD 0), Post Intervention (POD 1),Post Intervention (POD 2),Post Intervention (POD 3), Post Intervention (Follow up visit-up to 6 weeks post intervention)
Reported as:
Median · morphine milligram equivalents (MME)
Post Operative Narcotics Use
morphine milligram equivalents (MME)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Post Intervention (Intraoperative)13.3 (6.7 to 13.33)13.3 (10.0 to 20.0)13.33 (8.75 to 16.00)
Post Intervention (POD 0)7.1 (0 to 11.9)6.67 (0 to 11.9)6.18 (3.3 to 15.1)
Post Intervention (POD 1)35 (10.7 to 57.7)41.5 (27.1 to 91.4)42.9 (25.7 to 51.4)
Post Intervention (POD 2)8.59 (2.0 to 53.8)25.7 (10.0 to 78.6)41.9 (17.3 to 51.4)
Post Intervention (POD 3)19.8 (0.0 to 40.8)34.3 (2.0 to 50.7)34.3 (17.1 to 44.9)
Post Intervention (Follow up visit-up to 6 weeks)0 (0 to 8.6)0 (0 to 38.4)0 (0 to 25.7)
SecondaryAssociations of Intraoperative EEG Patterns With PACU Delirium

The investigators compared the relative beta power derived from the normalized power spectral density (PSD) in patients with and without PACU delirium (positive and negative delirium). Only a total of 38 EEGs with sufficient quality were analyzed. Results are expressed in percentage of cumulative power. A higher beta power correlates with worse outcome. Averages and standard deviations are shown.

Time frame:
Intraoperative EEG and delirium during PACU stay
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage of cumulative power
Associations of Intraoperative EEG Patterns With PACU Delirium
Percentage of cumulative powerKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Positive Delirium for PACU10.0 ± 5.07.0 ± 5.07.0 ± 6.0
Negative Delirium for PACU7.0 ± 1.05.0 ± 6.06.0 ± 4.0

Adverse events

Collected over The research team monitored subjects randomized and treated in the study for adverse events related to the research through the final study visit in the ENT clinic that occurred from 2 to 6 weeks post-operatively.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Ketamine 0.5 mg/kg0/21 (0%)4/21 (19%)3/21 (14.3%)
Ketamine 1.0 mg/kg1/26 (3.8%)9/26 (34.6%)5/26 (19.2%)
Placebo0/24 (0%)2/24 (8.3%)4/24 (16.7%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 13
Most frequent serious events
EventKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Respiratory FailureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/213/260/24
DeliriumNervous system disorders1/210/261/24
Surgical wound dehiscenceMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/210/260/24
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders1/210/260/24
Exposed tendon of left forearm free flapMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/210/260/24
Facial artery clotVascular disorders0/210/261/24
StrokeNervous system disorders0/211/260/24
Carotid injuryVascular disorders0/211/260/24
Post-operative wound abscessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/211/260/24
Bilateral MCA; PCA transcortical acute infarctsNervous system disorders0/211/260/24
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventKetamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlacebo
Respiratory distressRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/210/262/24
AgitationNervous system disorders1/212/260/24
Transient left sided weaknessNervous system disorders1/210/260/24
DepressionPsychiatric disorders1/210/260/24
HallucinationsPsychiatric disorders0/210/261/24
SomnolenceGeneral disorders0/210/261/24
AnxietyPsychiatric disorders0/211/260/24
RestlessnessGeneral disorders0/211/260/24
HypertensionVascular disorders0/211/260/24

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Mean63.7 ± 8.664.6 ± 12.464.5 ± 11.564.3 ± 10.9
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Female98825
Male12181646
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino1001
Not Hispanic or Latino20262470
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American24410
White18212059
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported1001
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Ketamine 0.5 mg/kgKetamine 1.0 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
United States21262471
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Emory University Hospital Midtown
    Atlanta, Georgia 30308, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 8, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 8, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03040024
Lead sponsor
Emory University
Responsible party
Amit Prabhakar (Assistant Professor, Emory University) — Principal investigator
First posted
Feb 1, 2017
Start date
Mar 17, 2017
Primary completion
Feb 24, 2020
Completion
Apr 24, 2020
Results posted
Mar 19, 2021
Last update
Jul 8, 2021

Study contacts

Vanessa Moll, PhD
principal investigator · Emory University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion