CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03002194Updated Apr 27, 2020Results posted

Change in Skin Elasticity With RF and PEMF

An interventional study of Cutometer and Photographs in Skin Abnormalities, sponsored by Venus Concept. Completed at 1 site in Canada. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-04-27.

Sponsored by Venus Concept · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
48
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This study will measure the difference in skin elasticity in females only before and after treatment with radiofrequency and pulsed electromagnetic field therapy.

Read the detailed description

This study is an open-label, baseline-controlled, single-center study to measure the change in skin elasticity after combined radio frequency (RF) and pulsed electromagnetic field (PEMF) treatment. Forty-five adult females will undergo weekly treatments over a period of 8 weeks. Skin elasticity will be measured by a Cutometer® prior to beginning treatment, week 7 and 3 months after completion of treatment. Photographs will be taken prior to treatment, at week 4, week 7 and 3 months after completion of treatment. Patient discomfort/pain and satisfaction questionnaires will be completed before, during and after treatment.

02

Conditions studied

  • Skin Abnormalities

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • rhytides
  • wrinkle
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • Healthy adult female subject, 18 years of age and older with Fitzpatrick skin types I-IV
  • Ability to tolerate the RF/PEMF procedure, and willing to adhere to the treatment regimen

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Having any active electrical implant or permanent implant anywhere in the body, e.g. pacemaker, internal defibrillator
  • Prior use of retinoids in treated area within 2 weeks of initial treatment
  • Use of oral Isotretinoin (Accutane®) within 6 months of initial treatment
  • Patient on systemic corticosteroid therapy 6 months prior to start of study
  • Prior use of collagen, fat injections and /or other methods of skin augmentation (enhancement with injected or implanted material) in treated area within 4-6 weeks of initial treatment. Treatment may not be performed at all over permanent dermal implants.
  • Prior ablative resurfacing procedure in treated area with laser or other devices within 12 months of initial treatment
  • Any other surgery in treated area within 12 months of initial treatment
  • History of keloid formation or poor wound healing in a previously injured skin area
  • Epidermal or dermal disorders
  • Open laceration or abrasion of any sort on the area to be treated.
  • History of immunosuppression/immune deficiency disorders (including HIV infection or AIDS) or use of immunosuppressive medications.
  • Having any form of active cancer at the time of enrollment
  • Significant concurrent illness, such as uncontrolled diabetes i.e. any disease state that in the opinion of the Investigator would interfere with the treatment, or healing process
  • Participation in a study of another device or drug within 1 month prior to study enrollment
  • Tattoos in the treatment area.
04

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
48 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    RF and PEMF therapy

    Each subject is to receive 8 weekly study treatments. The study treatment consists of Glide (medical grade glycerin) being applied thoroughly to the study treatment area (face). The energy will be delivered by the Diamondpolar applicator attached to the Venus Versa, a medical device approved by health regulatory authorities, to deliver combined radiofrequency (RF) and pulsed electromagnetic field (PEMF) energies. Change in skin elasticity will be measured by Cutometer. Change in appearance will be assessed by independent reviewer using photographs.

    Device: Cutometer · Other: Photographs

Interventions

  • DeviceCutometer

    Skin elasticity will be measured by a Cutometer prior to beginning treatment, week 7 and 3 months after completion of the treatment.

  • OtherPhotographs

    Photographs will be taken prior to beginning treatment, week 7 and 3 months after completion of the treatment.

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Facial Skin Elasticity

    A Cutometer® will be used to measure the change in gross elasticity (R2) of the facial skin as calculated by Ua/Uf which is a ratio of maximum recovery (Ua) and skin distensibility (Uf). The value is expressed as a percentage, the closer the value is to 1 (100%), the more elastic the skin.

    Time frame: 20 weeks after the last study treatment

Secondary outcomes

  1. Improvement in Subject Satisfaction With Facial Skin Laxity Compared to Baseline as Measured by the 5-point Likert Satisfaction Scale

    Subject will assign a score that best represents the level of satisfaction they have in their appearance as a result of the study treatment. The scale reports five categories - 4 - very satisfied; 3 - satisfied; 2 - having no opinion; 1 - unsatisfied and 0 - very unsatisfied. The higher the score, the more satisfaction with the treatment that a subject reports.

    Time frame: 7 weeks and 20 weeks post study treatments

  2. General Aesthetic Improvement Scale (GAIS)

    Subject to assess their general improvement in appearance at 7 and 20 weeks post-intervention using a 7 category scale: 3 - very much improved; 2 - much improved; 1 - improved; 0 - no change; -1 - worse; -2 - much worse and -3 very much worse. The higher the positive score, the more the subject feels their appearance has changed for the better.

    Time frame: 7 weeks and 20 weeks post study treatments.

06

Results

Posted Apr 27, 2020

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneRF and PEMF Therapy
Started48
Completed38
Not completed10
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up6
Withdrew: Adverse event1
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject2

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Facial Skin Elasticity

A Cutometer® will be used to measure the change in gross elasticity (R2) of the facial skin as calculated by Ua/Uf which is a ratio of maximum recovery (Ua) and skin distensibility (Uf). The value is expressed as a percentage, the closer the value is to 1 (100%), the more elastic the skin.

Time frame:
20 weeks after the last study treatment
Reported as:
Mean · ratio
Change in Facial Skin Elasticity
ratioRF and PEMF Therapy
Mean R2 Cutometer Reading Baseline0.7658 ± 0.1127
Mean R2 Cutometer Reading Wk 200.7244 ± 0.1487
SecondaryImprovement in Subject Satisfaction With Facial Skin Laxity Compared to Baseline as Measured by the 5-point Likert Satisfaction Scale

Subject will assign a score that best represents the level of satisfaction they have in their appearance as a result of the study treatment. The scale reports five categories - 4 - very satisfied; 3 - satisfied; 2 - having no opinion; 1 - unsatisfied and 0 - very unsatisfied. The higher the score, the more satisfaction with the treatment that a subject reports.

Time frame:
7 weeks and 20 weeks post study treatments
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Improvement in Subject Satisfaction With Facial Skin Laxity Compared to Baseline as Measured by the 5-point Likert Satisfaction Scale
score on a scaleRF and PEMF Therapy
Mean Satisfaction week 7 post Tx3.11 ± 0.92
Mean Satisfaction Week 20 post Tx2.58 ± 1.12
SecondaryGeneral Aesthetic Improvement Scale (GAIS)

Subject to assess their general improvement in appearance at 7 and 20 weeks post-intervention using a 7 category scale: 3 - very much improved; 2 - much improved; 1 - improved; 0 - no change; -1 - worse; -2 - much worse and -3 very much worse. The higher the positive score, the more the subject feels their appearance has changed for the better.

Time frame:
7 weeks and 20 weeks post study treatments.
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
General Aesthetic Improvement Scale (GAIS)
score on a scaleRF and PEMF Therapy
Mean GAIS week 7 post Tx1.19 ± 0.92
Mean GAIS week 20 post Tx0.58 ± 0.74

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse event data was collected for 9 months and 18 days. All reportable events with start dates occurring any time after informed consent is obtained will be followed until 7 (for non-serious AEs) or 30 days (for SAEs) after the last day of study participation.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
RF and PEMF Therapy0/48 (0%)0/48 (0%)0/48 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment Group
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years38
>=65 years10
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender, Customized(participants)Treatment Group
Female48
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment Group
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino45
Unknown or Not Reported2
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment Group
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White43
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported3
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment Group
Canada48
Baseline cutometer reading
Baseline cutometer reading(ratio)Treatment Group
Mean0.7658 ± 0.1127
07

Study locations

1 site
  • Art of Facial Surgery
    North York, Ontario M2N 6H7, Canada
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Nov 15, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03002194
Lead sponsor
Venus Concept
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 23, 2016
Start date
Nov 2016
Primary completion
Sep 29, 2017
Completion
Sep 29, 2017
Results posted
Apr 27, 2020
Last update
Apr 27, 2020

Study contacts

Yoni Iger, PhD
study director · Venus Concept Ltd.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion