A Phase 2 interventional study of Enoblituzumab in Prostate Cancer, sponsored by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins. Active, not recruiting at 1 site in United States. Open to male participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-21.
Sponsored by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This study evaluates the safety, anti-tumor effect, and immunogenicity of Enoblituzumab given before radical prostatectomy. All patients will receive Enoblituzumab for 6 weekly doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy.
This is a single-center, single arm, open-label phase II study evaluating the safety, anti-tumor effect, and immunogenicity of neoadjuvant MGA271 given prior to radical prostatectomy in men with intermediate and high-risk localized prostate cancer. Eligible patients will receive MGA271 at a dose of 15mg/kg IV given weekly for 6 doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy. 14 days after the last dose of MGA271, prostate glands will be harvested at the time of radical prostatectomy, and prostate tissue will be examined for the secondary endpoints. Follow-up evaluation for adverse events will occur 30 days and 90 days after surgery. Patients will then be followed by their urologists according to standard institutional practices, but will require PSA evaluations every 3 (±1) months during year 1 and every 6 (±2) months during years 2-3.
In Amendment 1, the study was expanded to enroll an additional 16 patients for a total of 32 patients to continue evaluating safety and better estimate the clinical benefit of Enoblituzumab in terms of undetectable PSA level (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy.
6,370 studies on the registry are indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms; 1,400 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 33 is below the median of 58 across 4,822 interventional studies indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms.
Browse Prostatic Neoplasms studies →Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins is the lead sponsor of 572 studies on the registry; 73 are open to participants now.
Of its 111 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 67 (60%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Adequate bone marrow, hepatic, and renal function:
Exclusion Criteria:
Men with localized intermediate and high-risk prostate cancer will be given neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab 15mg/kg IV weekly for 6 weeks followed by radical prostatectomy on day 50, with follow-up visits 30 days and 90 days post-prostatectomy. PSA values will be tracked for 3 years post-prostatectomy.
Drug: Enoblituzumab
Enoblituzumab 15mg/kg IV (in the vein) weekly for 6 doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy.
Also known as: MGA271
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events
Number of participants with treatment-related adverse events as assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0
Time frame: 2 years
Efficacy of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab as Assessed by PSA0 Response Rate
Number of participants with undetectable Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA \<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy
Time frame: 12 months
Quantify Markers of Apoptosis in Prostate Tumor Specimens of Treated Patients
Quantify markers of apoptosis in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using TUNEL staining and expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
Time frame: up to 5 years post-prostatectomy
Mean Staining Percentage of Markers of Cell Proliferation
Quantify markers of cell proliferation in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using Ki-67 staining and expressed by the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
CD8+ T Cell Infiltration
Mean staining percentage of CD8+ T-cells in harvested prostate glands from treated patients
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
PD-L1 Expression
Mean staining percentage of PD-L1 in tumor tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
Regulatory T Cell (Treg) Infiltration
Mean staining percentage of Treg cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
CD4+ T Cell Infiltration
Mean staining percentage of CD4+ T-cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
Natural Killer (NK) Cell Density
Mean staining percentage of NK cells in harvested prostate glands.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
Enoblituzumab (MGA271) Drug Distribution Evaluated by Detection of MGA271 in Tumor Tissue
Number of participants with positive or negative MGA271 detection in post-treatment prostate tumor specimens, as evaluated by IHC of fresh frozen sections.
Time frame: 3 years
Pathological Complete Responses (pCR)
Number of participants who achieve pCR, defined as absence of tumor identification on standard histological analysis of resected prostate specimens.
Time frame: 3 years
PSA Response Rates
Number of participants with undetectable PSA (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 3 months after prostatectomy.
Time frame: 3 months post-prostatectomy
Time to PSA Recurrence
Median time (months) from prostatectomy to time when PSA is ≥ 0.2 ng/mL. Estimated using Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: up to 37 months post-prostatectomy
Gleason Grade Group Change
Number of participants with change in Gleason grade group from pre-treatment biopsy vs. post-treatment biopsy. "Downgrade" refers to a net grade group change less than zero, "upgrade" refers to net grade group change more than zero, and "no change" refers to stable Gleason grade group. Gleason grade groups are defined as grade group 1 (Gleason score ≤ 6), grade group 2 (Gleason score 3+4=7), grade group 3 (Gleason score 4+3=7), grade group 4 (Gleason score 8), and grade group 5 (Gleason scores 9-10).The lower the grade group, the better the outcome.
Time frame: Day 50
Number of Participants With PSA Percentage Decrease Prior to Radical Prostatectomy.
The PSA percentage change is calculated as the difference from the PSA at day 50 prior to prostatectomy and PSA at screening. A negative value of PSA percentage change ("PSA percentage \< 0") indicates a decrease in PSA from screening, and a positive value (PSA percentage change \>= 0) indicates an increase in PSA from screening.
Time frame: 50 Days
Androgen Receptor (AR) Quantification
Mean staining percentage of AR in harvested prostate tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) staining for AR protein.
Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy
Tissue Androgen Concentrations
Concentration (picogram/3 mg) of testosterone and 5α-dihydrotestosterone (DHT) in prostate tissue.
Time frame: up to 3 years post prostatectomy
Global Expression Profiling of Tumor Tissues
Number of participants with changes in cellular composition, upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints, and other markers of activity versus exhaustion.
Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy
IHC Analyses of CD137, CD16 and/or CD107A
CD137, CD107A, and CD16 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage of each of these in tumor tissue
Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy
TCR Repertoire
Fraction of peripherally expanded clones that are tumor associated for each participant.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
FC Receptor Genotyping
Number of participants with CD16A, CD32A, and CD32B on Fc receptor.
Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy
PBLs
Number of participants with upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints and other markers of activity versus exhaustion, as assessed by flow cytometry at treatment day 1 (pre-treatment), treatment day 36 (post-treatment), and 30 days post-prostatectomy.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
B7-H3 Expression
Number of participants with B7-H3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
PD-1, LAG3, and TIM3 Expression
PD-1, LAG3, and TIM3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue.
Time frame: 3 Years post-prostatectomy
Quantify Antigen-spread
Number of participants with antigen-spread to on-target and off-target antigens.
Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy
| Milestone | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Started | 32 |
| Completed | 6 |
| Not completed | 26 |
| Withdrew: Off study due to detectable psa | 13 |
| Withdrew: Remaining in long term follow up for psa | 13 |
Number of participants with treatment-related adverse events as assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Grade 1 | 31 |
| Grade 2 | 12 |
| Grade 3 | 4 |
| Grade 4 | 0 |
Number of participants with undetectable Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA \<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| PSA < 0.1 ng/mL | 21 |
| PSA ≥ 0.1 ng/mL | 11 |
Quantify markers of apoptosis in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using TUNEL staining and expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Quantify markers of cell proliferation in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using Ki-67 staining and expressed by the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Mean Staining Percentage of Markers of Cell Proliferation | 11.92 ± 0.82 |
Mean staining percentage of CD8+ T-cells in harvested prostate glands from treated patients
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| CD8+ T Cell Infiltration | 11.68 ± 0.71 |
Mean staining percentage of PD-L1 in tumor tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| PD-L1 Expression | 10.66 ± 0.82 |
Mean staining percentage of Treg cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Regulatory T Cell (Treg) Infiltration | 9.36 ± 0.9 |
Mean staining percentage of CD4+ T-cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| CD4+ T Cell Infiltration | 11.68 ± 0.71 |
Mean staining percentage of NK cells in harvested prostate glands.
| staining percentage | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Natural Killer (NK) Cell Density | 11.92 ± 0.82 |
Number of participants with positive or negative MGA271 detection in post-treatment prostate tumor specimens, as evaluated by IHC of fresh frozen sections.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Positive | 28 |
| Negative | 2 |
Number of participants who achieve pCR, defined as absence of tumor identification on standard histological analysis of resected prostate specimens.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Pathological Complete Responses (pCR) | 0 |
Number of participants with undetectable PSA (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 3 months after prostatectomy.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| PSA <0.1 ng/mL | 26 |
| PSA ≥0.1 ng/mL | 6 |
Median time (months) from prostatectomy to time when PSA is ≥ 0.2 ng/mL. Estimated using Kaplan-Meier method.
| months | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Time to PSA Recurrence | 30 (3 to 37) |
Number of participants with change in Gleason grade group from pre-treatment biopsy vs. post-treatment biopsy. "Downgrade" refers to a net grade group change less than zero, "upgrade" refers to net grade group change more than zero, and "no change" refers to stable Gleason grade group. Gleason grade groups are defined as grade group 1 (Gleason score ≤ 6), grade group 2 (Gleason score 3+4=7), grade group 3 (Gleason score 4+3=7), grade group 4 (Gleason score 8), and grade group 5 (Gleason scores 9-10).The lower the grade group, the better the outcome.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Downgrade (< 0 net grade group change) | 16 |
| No Change (= 0 net grade group change) | 12 |
| Upgrade (> 0 net grade group change) | 4 |
The PSA percentage change is calculated as the difference from the PSA at day 50 prior to prostatectomy and PSA at screening. A negative value of PSA percentage change ("PSA percentage \< 0") indicates a decrease in PSA from screening, and a positive value (PSA percentage change \>= 0) indicates an increase in PSA from screening.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| PSA percentage change < 0 | 16 |
| PSA percentage change >= 0 | 16 |
Mean staining percentage of AR in harvested prostate tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) staining for AR protein.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Concentration (picogram/3 mg) of testosterone and 5α-dihydrotestosterone (DHT) in prostate tissue.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Number of participants with changes in cellular composition, upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints, and other markers of activity versus exhaustion.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
CD137, CD107A, and CD16 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage of each of these in tumor tissue
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Fraction of peripherally expanded clones that are tumor associated for each participant.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Number of participants with 100% peripheral expanded clones associated with tumor | 7 |
| Number of participants with 99% or less peripheral expanded clones associated with tumor | 23 |
Number of participants with CD16A, CD32A, and CD32B on Fc receptor.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Number of participants with upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints and other markers of activity versus exhaustion, as assessed by flow cytometry at treatment day 1 (pre-treatment), treatment day 36 (post-treatment), and 30 days post-prostatectomy.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Number of participants with B7-H3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| B7-H3 Expression | 28 |
PD-1, LAG3, and TIM3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Number of participants with antigen-spread to on-target and off-target antigens.
| Participants | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Number of participants with IgG reactivity | 1 |
| Number of participants with IgM reactivity | 1 |
| Number of participants without antigen reactivity | 30 |
Collected over 2 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enoblituzumab | 0/32 (0%) | 3/32 (9.4%) | 32/32 (100%) |
| Event | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Infusion related reactionImmune system disorders | 1/32 |
| AscitesBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/32 |
| Pericardial EffusionCardiac disorders | 1/32 |
| Cardiac Disorders - Other, Non-ST-Elevation, Myocardial InfarctionCardiac disorders | 1/32 |
| Atrial FibrillationCardiac disorders | 1/32 |
| PericarditisCardiac disorders | 1/32 |
| MyocarditisCardiac disorders | 1/32 |
| Event | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Urinary incontinenceRenal and urinary disorders | 31/32 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 23/32 |
| Flu like symptomsGeneral disorders | 13/32 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 13/32 |
| Erectile dysfunctionRenal and urinary disorders | 12/32 |
| Pain in extremityMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 9/32 |
| ChillsGeneral disorders | 9/32 |
| FeverGeneral disorders | 8/32 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 8/32 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 6/32 |
Participants who met eligibility criteria
| Age, Continuous(years) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Mean | 65 ± 5.82 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Female | 0 |
| Male | 32 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 32 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 |
| White | 30 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Smoking History(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Yes | 9 |
| No | 23 |
| Family History of Prostate Cancer(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Yes | 7 |
| No | 25 |
| Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| 0 | 31 |
| 1 | 1 |
| Body-mass index (kg/m^2)(Participants) | Enoblituzumab |
|---|---|
| Normal (BMI 18.5 - 24.9) | 6 |
| Overweight (BMI 25.0 - 29.9) | 14 |
| Obese (BMI ≥ 30.0) | 12 |
3 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Jul 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins