A Phase 2 interventional study of Pembrolizumab in Renal Cell Carcinoma, sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC. Completed. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-04-11.
Sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to assess the safety and efficacy of monotherapy pembrolizumab (MK-3475) in participants with renal cell carcinoma (RCC). There will be two cohorts in this study: Cohort A will consist of participants with clear cell (cc) RCC and Cohort B will consist of participants with non-clear cell (ncc) RCC.
6,741 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma; 1,161 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 275 is above the median of 45 across 5,170 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma.
Browse Carcinoma studies →Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC is the lead sponsor of 2,114 studies on the registry; 133 are open to participants now.
Of its 489 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 362 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants with clear cell RCC receive pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously (IV) every 3 weeks (Q3W) for up to 35 doses (approximately 24 months).
Biological: Pembrolizumab
Participants with non-clear cell RCC receive pembrolizumab 200 mg IV Q3W for up to 35 doses (approximately 24 months).
Biological: Pembrolizumab
IV infusion
Also known as: MK-3475, KEYTRUDA®
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had a Complete Response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or a Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) as assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1).
Time frame: Up to approximately 52 months
Duration of Response (DOR)
For participants who demonstrated a confirmed Complete Response (CR: disappearance of all target lesions) or Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) per RECIST 1.1, DOR was defined as the time from first documented evidence of a CR or PR until progressive disease (PD) or death. DOR for participants who had not progressed or died at the time of analysis was to be censored at the date of their last tumor assessment. Per RECIST 1.1, PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions as well as an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters. The appearance of one or more new lesions was also considered PD. DOR assessments were based on BICR with confirmation. The DOR as assessed using RECIST 1.1 for all participants who experienced a confirmed CR or PR is presented.
Time frame: Up to approximately 66 months
Disease Control Rate (DCR)
DCR is defined as the percentage of participants who have achieved CR, PR, or Stable Disease (SD) for at least 6 months based on assessments by the BICR per RECIST 1.1. CR is defined as disappearance of all target lesions, PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD): At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.
Time frame: Up to approximately 66 months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
PFS is defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to the first documented progressive disease (PD) per RECIST 1.1 based on BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as ≥20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.
Time frame: Up to approximately 66 months
Overall Survival
OS was defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to death due to any cause
Time frame: Up to approximately 66 months
Number of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE)
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure.
Time frame: Up to approximately 27 months
Number of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AE
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure.
Time frame: Up to approximately 24 months
| Milestone | Cohort A: Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 110 | 165 |
| Received second course of pembrolizumab | 3 | 5 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 110 | 165 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Participation in study terminated by sponsor | 37 | 48 |
| Withdrew: Death | 70 | 112 |
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had a Complete Response (CR: Disappearance of all target lesions) or a Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) as assessed by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1).
| Percentage of Participants | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 36.4 (27.4 to 46.1) | 26.7 (20.1 to 34.1) |
For participants who demonstrated a confirmed Complete Response (CR: disappearance of all target lesions) or Partial Response (PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions) per RECIST 1.1, DOR was defined as the time from first documented evidence of a CR or PR until progressive disease (PD) or death. DOR for participants who had not progressed or died at the time of analysis was to be censored at the date of their last tumor assessment. Per RECIST 1.1, PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions as well as an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters. The appearance of one or more new lesions was also considered PD. DOR assessments were based on BICR with confirmation. The DOR as assessed using RECIST 1.1 for all participants who experienced a confirmed CR or PR is presented.
| Months | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DOR) | 18.9 (2.3 to NA) | 29.0 (2.8 to NA) |
DCR is defined as the percentage of participants who have achieved CR, PR, or Stable Disease (SD) for at least 6 months based on assessments by the BICR per RECIST 1.1. CR is defined as disappearance of all target lesions, PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD): At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.
| Percentage of Participants | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Disease Control Rate (DCR) | 58.2 (48.4 to 67.5) | 43.0 (35.4 to 51.0) |
PFS is defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to the first documented progressive disease (PD) per RECIST 1.1 based on BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as ≥20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered PD.
| Months | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 7.1 (5.6 to 11.0) | 4.2 (2.9 to 5.6) |
OS was defined as the time from first dose of study treatment to death due to any cause
| Months | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 40.7 (31.1 to 52.6) | 29.9 (24.3 to 37.4) |
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure.
| Participants | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event (AE) | 109 | 155 |
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or protocol-specified procedure.
| Participants | Cohort A: Clear Cell RCC (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (nccRCC) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an AE | 23 | 25 |
Collected over Up to approximately 66 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort A: ccRCC First Course | 71/110 (64.5%) | 52/110 (47.3%) | 105/110 (95.5%) |
| Cohort B: nccRCC First Course | 113/165 (68.5%) | 47/165 (28.5%) | 142/165 (86.1%) |
| Cohort A: ccRCC Second Course | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Cohort B: nccRCC Second Course | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 3/5 (60%) |
| Event | Cohort A: ccRCC First Course | Cohort B: nccRCC First Course | Cohort A: ccRCC Second Course | Cohort B: nccRCC Second Course |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ColitisGastrointestinal disorders | 4/110 | 3/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 4/110 | 0/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 3/110 | 0/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| Acute coronary syndromeCardiac disorders | 2/110 | 1/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 2/110 | 1/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| CholecystitisHepatobiliary disorders | 2/110 | 0/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| HepatitisHepatobiliary disorders | 2/110 | 0/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 2/110 | 2/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 2/110 | 1/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/110 | 1/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| Event | Cohort A: ccRCC First Course | Cohort B: nccRCC First Course | Cohort A: ccRCC Second Course | Cohort B: nccRCC Second Course |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 43/110 | 42/165 | 0/3 | 0/5 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 41/110 | 37/165 | 0/3 | 1/5 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 37/110 | 29/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 23/110 | 18/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| Catheter site painGeneral disorders | 0/110 | 2/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| HypersensitivityImmune system disorders | 0/110 | 0/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| SinusitisInfections and infestations | 6/110 | 3/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 1/110 | 3/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| Groin painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/110 | 1/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| WheezingRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/110 | 1/165 | 1/3 | 0/5 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Cohort A: Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 62.9 ± 11.0 | 60.0 ± 12.3 | 61.1 ± 11.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort A: Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 24 | 56 | 80 |
| Male | 86 | 109 | 195 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort A: Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 104 | 156 | 260 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 4 | 8 | 12 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort A: Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC) | Cohort B: Non-clear Cell RCC (nccRCC) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Asian | 11 | 17 | 28 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| White | 98 | 145 | 243 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — http://engagezone.msd.com/doc/ProcedureAccessClinicalTrialData.pdf
This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC