A Phase 3 interventional study of Dulaglutide and Placebo in Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Completed at 41 sites in 9 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-06-17.
Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The main purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of the study drug known as dulaglutide when added to sodium-glucose co-transporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitors in participants with type 2 diabetes mellitus.
9,589 studies on the registry are indexed under Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2; 1,332 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 424 is above the median of 81 across 7,713 interventional studies indexed under Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2.
Browse Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 studies →Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,095 studies on the registry; 142 are open to participants now.
Of its 535 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 356 (67%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Daily doses of all allowed oral antihyperglycemia agent (OAMs) must have been stable for at least 12 weeks (±3 days) prior to randomization (study enrollment); daily doses of SGLT2 inhibitor and metformin, if used, will be considered stable during this period if:
Exclusion Criteria:
1.5 milligrams (mg) given subcutaneously (SC) once a week for 24 weeks.
Drug: Dulaglutide · Drug: SGLT2 inhibitor · Drug: Metformin
0.75 mg dulaglutide given SC once a week for 24 weeks.
Drug: Dulaglutide · Drug: SGLT2 inhibitor · Drug: Metformin
Placebo given SC once a week for 24 weeks.
Drug: Placebo · Drug: SGLT2 inhibitor · Drug: Metformin
Administered SC
Also known as: LY2189265
Administered SC
Administered orally as standard of care for type 2 diabetes
Also known as: Canagliflozin, Dapagliflozin, Empagliflozin
Administered orally as standard of care for type 2 diabetes
Change From Baseline in Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) at 24 Weeks (Treatment-regimen Estimand)
Least Squares mean (LS) of the HbA1c change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis. The treatment-regimen estimand used all data including post-rescue data and compared the benefit of treatment regimens as they were actually taken.
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Change From Baseline in the HbA1c at 24 Weeks (Efficacy Estimand)
LS mean of the HbA1c change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis. The efficacy estimand excluded post-rescue data and compared the benefit of randomized treatments when taken as directed without rescue medication.
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants With HbA1c <7%
Number of participants with an HbA1c value of \<7% at Week 24 is measured using longitudinal logistic regression with repeated measurements. The model will include independent variables of treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, visit, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate.
Time frame: 24 Weeks
Change From Baseline in Body Weight at 24 Weeks
LS mean of the body weight change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, baseline HbA1c strata, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline body weight as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Change From Baseline in Fasting Serum Glucose (Central Laboratory) at 24 Weeks
LS mean of change from baseline was calculated using last observation carried forward (LOCF) by treatment group, adjusted for treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, baseline HbA1c strata, and baseline fasting serum glucose using analysis of covariance (ANCOVA).
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Change From Baseline in 6-Point Self-Monitored Plasma Glucose (SMPG) Profile at 24 Weeks
The self-monitored plasma glucose (SMPG) data were collected at the following 6 time points: pre-morning meal; 2 hours post-morning meal; pre-midday meal; 2 hours post-midday meal; pre-evening meal; 2 hours post-evening meal. Least Squares (LS) means of change from baseline were calculated using a mixed-effects model for repeated measures (MMRM) with treatment, metformin use, SGLT2 inhibitor use, country, visit, baseline HbA1c strata, and treatment-by-visit interaction as fixed effects and baseline as a covariate.
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Change From Baseline in Fasting Glucagon at 24 Weeks
Change from baseline in fasting glucagon was analyzed using an ANCOVA model with last observation carried forward (LOCF) included in treatment, country, SGLT2i dose, metformin use, and baseline HbA1c strata as fixed effects and baseline fasting glucagon as a covariate (with and without post rescue data).
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Rate of Hypoglycemic Events Adjusted Per 30 Days
A hypoglycemic event is defined as any time a participant feels that he/she is experiencing symptoms and/or signs associated with hypoglycemia, and has a PG level of ≤70 mg/dL (≤3.9 mmol/L).
Time frame: Baseline through 24 Weeks
Number of Participants Requiring Rescue Therapy Due to Severe Persistent Hyperglycemia
Rescue therapy was defined as any additional therapeutic intervention in participants who developed persistent, severe hyperglycemia despite full compliance with the assigned therapeutic regimen, or initiation of an alternative antihyperglycemic medication following study drug discontinuation.
Time frame: Baseline through 24 Weeks
Number of Participants With Adjudicated Acute Pancreatitis Events
The number of participants with events of pancreatitis confirmed by adjudication were summarized cumulatively at 24 weeks. Pancreatitis events were adjudicated by a committee of physicians external to the Sponsor. A summary of serious and other non-serious events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.
Time frame: Baseline through 24 Weeks
Number of Participants With Adjudicated Cardiovascular (CV) Events
Death and selected nonfatal CV adverse events (AEs) were adjudicated by an independent committee of physicians with cardiology expertise external to the Sponsor. Nonfatal CV events that were to be adjudicated were myocardial infarction (MI); hospitalization for unstable angina; hospitalization for heart failure; coronary interventions such as coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) or ( percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI); and cerebrovascular events, including cerebrovascular accident (stroke) and transient ischemic attack (TIA).
Time frame: Baseline through 24 Weeks
| Milestone | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 142 | 142 | 140 |
| Received at least one dose of study drug | 142 | 141 | 140 |
| Completed | 135 | 137 | 137 |
| Not completed | 7 | 5 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Death | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Noncompliant with study visits | 1 | 0 | 0 |
Least Squares mean (LS) of the HbA1c change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis. The treatment-regimen estimand used all data including post-rescue data and compared the benefit of treatment regimens as they were actually taken.
| percentage of HbA1c | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) at 24 Weeks (Treatment-regimen Estimand) | -1.34 ± 0.064 | -1.21 ± 0.064 | -0.54 ± 0.064 |
LS mean of the HbA1c change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis. The efficacy estimand excluded post-rescue data and compared the benefit of randomized treatments when taken as directed without rescue medication.
| percentage of HbA1c | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the HbA1c at 24 Weeks (Efficacy Estimand) | -1.33 ± 0.063 | -1.19 ± 0.063 | -0.51 ± 0.065 |
Number of participants with an HbA1c value of \<7% at Week 24 is measured using longitudinal logistic regression with repeated measurements. The model will include independent variables of treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, visit, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline HbA1c as a covariate.
| percentage of participants | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-regimen Estimand | 71.21 | 60.45 | 31.58 |
| Efficacy Estimand | 71.54 | 61.83 | 32.52 |
LS mean of the body weight change from baseline to primary endpoint at week 24 was adjusted by treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, baseline HbA1c strata, treatment-by-visit interactions as fixed effects, and baseline body weight as a covariate and participant as a random effect, via a MMRM analysis
| kilograms (kg) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-regimen Estimand | -3.1 ± 0.30 | -2.6 ± 0.30 | -2.1 ± 0.30 |
| Efficacy Estimand | -3.1 ± 0.30 | -2.6 ± 0.30 | -2.3 ± 0.31 |
LS mean of change from baseline was calculated using last observation carried forward (LOCF) by treatment group, adjusted for treatment, country, SGLT2 inhibitor dose, metformin use, baseline HbA1c strata, and baseline fasting serum glucose using analysis of covariance (ANCOVA).
| milligram/deciliter (mg/dL) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-regimen Estimand | -31.6 ± 2.17 | -26.5 ± 2.18 | -6.9 ± 2.21 |
| Efficacy Estimand | -31.9 ± 2.11 | -26.0 ± 2.12 | -5.3 ± 2.21 |
The self-monitored plasma glucose (SMPG) data were collected at the following 6 time points: pre-morning meal; 2 hours post-morning meal; pre-midday meal; 2 hours post-midday meal; pre-evening meal; 2 hours post-evening meal. Least Squares (LS) means of change from baseline were calculated using a mixed-effects model for repeated measures (MMRM) with treatment, metformin use, SGLT2 inhibitor use, country, visit, baseline HbA1c strata, and treatment-by-visit interaction as fixed effects and baseline as a covariate.
| mg/dL | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-morning Morning Meal | -27.8 ± 2.13 | -23.2 ± 2.17 | -8.1 ± 2.14 |
| 2-Hour Postprandial Morning Meal | -44.6 ± 3.31 | -41.1 ± 3.30 | -20.1 ± 3.33 |
| Pre-Mid Day Meal | -26.0 ± 2.91 | -22.0 ± 2.94 | -7.7 ± 2.93 |
| 2-Hour Postprandial Mid Day Meal | -31.8 ± 3.47 | -25.5 ± 3.47 | -12.8 ± 3.53 |
| Pre-Evening Meal | -30.3 ± 2.85 | -30.1 ± 2.93 | -7.5 ± 2.91 |
| 2-Hour Postprandial Evening Meal | -36.0 ± 3.30 | -30.6 ± 3.31 | -13.9 ± 3.38 |
Change from baseline in fasting glucagon was analyzed using an ANCOVA model with last observation carried forward (LOCF) included in treatment, country, SGLT2i dose, metformin use, and baseline HbA1c strata as fixed effects and baseline fasting glucagon as a covariate (with and without post rescue data).
| picomole per liter (pmol/L) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-regimen Estimand | -2.1 ± 0.39 | -1.5 ± 0.39 | -0.9 ± 0.40 |
| Efficacy Estimand | -2.2 ± 0.39 | -1.4 ± 0.39 | -0.9 ± 0.41 |
A hypoglycemic event is defined as any time a participant feels that he/she is experiencing symptoms and/or signs associated with hypoglycemia, and has a PG level of ≤70 mg/dL (≤3.9 mmol/L).
| Number of events/participant/30 days | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Hypoglycemia | 0.026 ± 0.1827 | 0.022 ± 0.1375 | 0.017 ± 0.1320 |
| Documented Symptomatic Hypoglycemia | 0.013 ± 0.1406 | 0.013 ± 0.1030 | 0.010 ± 0.0893 |
| Asymptomatic Hypoglycemia | 0.013 ± 0.1180 | 0.008 ± 0.0639 | 0.006 ± 0.0540 |
| Probable Symptomatic | 0.000 ± 0.0000 | 0.001 ± 0.0152 | 0.001 ± 0.0147 |
| Relative Hypoglycemia | 0.003 ± 0.0311 | 0.001 ± 0.0150 | 0.005 ± 0.0493 |
| Nocturnal Hypoglycemia | 0.002 ± 0.0288 | 0.009 ± 0.0821 | 0.000 ± 0.0000 |
Rescue therapy was defined as any additional therapeutic intervention in participants who developed persistent, severe hyperglycemia despite full compliance with the assigned therapeutic regimen, or initiation of an alternative antihyperglycemic medication following study drug discontinuation.
| Participants | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Requiring Rescue Therapy Due to Severe Persistent Hyperglycemia | 0 | 3 | 2 |
The number of participants with events of pancreatitis confirmed by adjudication were summarized cumulatively at 24 weeks. Pancreatitis events were adjudicated by a committee of physicians external to the Sponsor. A summary of serious and other non-serious events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.
| Participants | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Adjudicated Acute Pancreatitis Events | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Death and selected nonfatal CV adverse events (AEs) were adjudicated by an independent committee of physicians with cardiology expertise external to the Sponsor. Nonfatal CV events that were to be adjudicated were myocardial infarction (MI); hospitalization for unstable angina; hospitalization for heart failure; coronary interventions such as coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) or ( percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI); and cerebrovascular events, including cerebrovascular accident (stroke) and transient ischemic attack (TIA).
| Participants | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any CV Event | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Fatal CV Event | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Non-fatal CV Event | 0 | 0 | 3 |
Collected over Baseline to end of study (up to 24 weeks). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 2/142 (1.4%) | 5/142 (3.5%) | 43/142 (30.3%) |
| 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | 0/141 (0%) | 3/141 (2.1%) | 34/141 (24.1%) |
| Placebo | 0/140 (0%) | 5/140 (3.6%) | 29/140 (20.7%) |
| Event | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Endometrial cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 1/65 | 0/72 | 0/74 |
| Endometrial sarcomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 1/65 | 0/72 | 0/74 |
| Angina unstableCardiac disorders | 0/142 | 0/141 | 2/140 |
| Prostate cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 1/77 | 0/69 | 0/66 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 0/142 | 0/141 | 1/140 |
| Atrial tachycardiaCardiac disorders | 0/142 | 0/141 | 1/140 |
| Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 0/142 | 0/141 | 1/140 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 0/142 | 0/141 | 1/140 |
| InjuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/142 | 0/141 | 1/140 |
| Gastrointestinal haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 0/142 | 1/141 | 0/140 |
| Event | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 21/142 | 7/141 | 5/140 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 8/142 | 14/141 | 4/140 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 8/142 | 5/141 | 13/140 |
| Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 13/142 | 12/141 | 10/140 |
| Viral upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 9/142 | 8/141 | 11/140 |
All randomized participants who received at least one dose of study drug.
| Age, Continuous(years) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 56.17 ± 9.26 | 58.55 ± 9.14 | 57.10 ± 9.59 | 57.27 ± 9.36 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 65 | 72 | 74 | 211 |
| Male | 77 | 69 | 66 | 212 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 51 | 44 | 44 | 139 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 90 | 97 | 94 | 281 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 2 | 4 | 7 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 3 | 3 | 6 | 12 |
| White | 127 | 127 | 124 | 378 |
| More than one race | 11 | 8 | 6 | 25 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austria | 9 | 11 | 9 | 29 |
| Hungary | 19 | 19 | 19 | 57 |
| United States | 30 | 30 | 28 | 88 |
| Czechia | 25 | 23 | 25 | 73 |
| Mexico | 27 | 28 | 28 | 83 |
| Israel | 6 | 6 | 6 | 18 |
| Germany | 12 | 11 | 10 | 33 |
| Spain | 14 | 13 | 15 | 42 |
| Baseline Mean Hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) Treatment-Regimen Estimand(percentage of HbA1c) | 1.5 mg Dulaglutide | 0.75 mg Dulaglutide | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 8.04 ± 0.66 | 8.04 ± 0.61 | 8.05 ± 0.66 | 8.04 ± 0.64 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Anonymized individual patient level data will be provided in a secure access environment upon approval of a research proposal and a signed data sharing agreement.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Statistical analysis plan, Clinical study report
Time frame: Data are available 6 months after the primary publication and approval of the indication studied in the US and EU, whichever is later. Data will be indefinitely available for requesting.
Access criteria: A research proposal must be approved by an independent review panel and researchers must sign a data sharing agreement.
Data sharing details ↗ · vivli.org
The record gives a start of Nov 2015, a primary completion of Feb 2017 and a completion of Feb 2017. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.
Results were first posted in Apr 2018, 1 year 2 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Dulaglutide