CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02558010Updated Nov 18, 2023Results posted

Perioperative Methadone Use to Decrease Opioid Requirement in Pediatric Spinal Fusion Patients

A Phase 3 interventional study of Methadone and Normal Saline in Scoliosis and Pain, sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 10 Years to 18 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-11-18.

Sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
58
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
10 Years to 18 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Acute pain management following major surgical procedures in pediatric patients continues to be a challenge, especially after extensive posterior spine fusions.

Spine surgery is particularly traumatic, initiating pain in both peripheral and central pathways. While the standard management of post-surgical pain involves a multimodal approach, opioids provide the predominant benefit. However, opioid use is associated with many adverse effects, including nausea, constipation, and pruritus. Perioperative methadone may decrease total opioid consumption and adverse effects as well as improve satisfaction with pain management after scoliosis repair.

Read the detailed description

This study is a double blind comparison, evaluating the benefits of intraoperative methadone in extensive posterior spine fusion surgery for idiopathic scoliosis. Methadone 0.2 mg/kg will be given to the treatment group. Postoperative evaluation for narcotic use, pain control, and adverse effects will be compared to a standard treatment approach used at Children's Hospital of Wisconsin.

02

Conditions studied

  • Scoliosis
  • Pain

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Methadone
  • Gabapentin
  • Postoperative Pain
  • Posterior Spinal Fusion
  • Pediatric
03

In context

Scoliosis

594 studies on the registry are indexed under Scoliosis; 139 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 58 is above the median of 44 across 344 interventional studies indexed under Scoliosis.

Browse Scoliosis studies →

Lead sponsor

Medical College of Wisconsin is the lead sponsor of 540 studies on the registry; 120 are open to participants now.

Of its 71 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 56 (79%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
10 Years to 18 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Age 10-18 years
  • Idiopathic scoliosis
  • Fusion levels planned for 10 or greater
  • English speaking
  • American Society of Anesthesiology (ASA) class 1 - 3

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Current narcotic use / History of substance use disorder
  • Morphine, hydromorphone or methadone allergies
  • Pregnancy
  • Seizure disorders
  • Bleeding disorders
  • Neuromuscular scoliosis
  • History of renal or hepatic disease
  • Long QT syndrome
  • Obstructive sleep apnea
  • Body mass index > 40
  • Inability to tolerate standard analgesic medications (gabapentin, ketorolac, acetaminophen)
  • Non-English speaking
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
58 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Methadone Group

    Patients will receive a total of 0.2mg/kg IV methadone intraoperative (0.1mg / kg preincision and 0.1mg/kg prior to emergence) with a maximum dosing of 20 mg.

    Drug: Methadone · Drug: Morphine

  • Active comparator
    Control Group

    Patient will receive normal saline placebo initially, then morphine prior to emergence.

    Other: Normal Saline · Drug: Morphine

Interventions

  • DrugMethadone

    Perioperative IV methadone to be given

    Also known as: generic methadone

  • OtherNormal Saline

    control arm

    Also known as: salt water

  • DrugMorphine

    Both groups will receive morphine via Patient-Controlled Analgesia (PCA) pump.

    Also known as: Duramorph

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Post-operative Opioid Consumption (mg/kg)

    Total amount of opioids consumed during the first 72 hours after surgery.

    Time frame: 72 hours

07

Results

Posted Apr 27, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneMethadone GroupControl Group
Started3028
Completed2522
Not completed56

Outcome measures

PrimaryPost-operative Opioid Consumption (mg/kg)

Total amount of opioids consumed during the first 72 hours after surgery.

Time frame:
72 hours
Reported as:
Median · mg/kg
Post-operative Opioid Consumption (mg/kg)
mg/kgMethadone GroupControl Group
Post-operative Opioid Consumption (mg/kg)0.267 (0.119 to 0.451)0.340 (0.168 to 0.607)
Statistical analysis
  • Methadone Group vs Control Group · Mixed Models Analysis · p = <0.05 (The p-value was calculated, and does not indicate the threshold for statistical significance.)

Adverse events

Collected over Three post-operative days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Methadone Group0/25 (0%)0/25 (0%)1/25 (4%)
Control Group0/22 (0%)0/22 (0%)0/22 (0%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventMethadone GroupControl Group
Respiratory depressionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/250/22

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Methadone GroupControl GroupTotal
Mean15.0 ± 1.814.6 ± 2.314.81 ± 2.06
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Methadone GroupControl GroupTotal
Female211738
Male459
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Methadone GroupControl GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino022
Not Hispanic or Latino242044
Unknown or Not Reported101
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Methadone GroupControl GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian123
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American426
White201838
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Methadone GroupControl GroupTotal
United States252247
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Children's Wisconsin
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Berde CB, Beyer JE, Bournaki MC, Levin CR, Sethna NF. Comparison of morphine and methadone for prevention of postoperative pain in 3- to 7-year-old children. J Pediatr. 1991 Jul;119(1 Pt 1):136-41. doi: 10.1016/s0022-3476(05)81054-6. PubMed 2066846 ↗
  • Gottschalk A, Durieux ME, Nemergut EC. Intraoperative methadone improves postoperative pain control in patients undergoing complex spine surgery. Anesth Analg. 2011 Jan;112(1):218-23. doi: 10.1213/ANE.0b013e3181d8a095. Epub 2010 Apr 24. PubMed 20418538 ↗
  • Rusy LM, Hainsworth KR, Nelson TJ, Czarnecki ML, Tassone JC, Thometz JG, Lyon RM, Berens RJ, Weisman SJ. Gabapentin use in pediatric spinal fusion patients: a randomized, double-blind, controlled trial. Anesth Analg. 2010 May 1;110(5):1393-8. doi: 10.1213/ANE.0b013e3181d41dc2. PubMed 20418301 ↗
  • Sharma A, Tallchief D, Blood J, Kim T, London A, Kharasch ED. Perioperative pharmacokinetics of methadone in adolescents. Anesthesiology. 2011 Dec;115(6):1153-61. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0b013e318238fec5. PubMed 22037641 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 12, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 18, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02558010
Lead sponsor
Medical College of Wisconsin
Responsible party
Keri Hainsworth (Associate Professor, Medical College of Wisconsin) — Principal investigator
First posted
Sep 23, 2015
Start date
Feb 1, 2016
Primary completion
Jan 1, 2022
Completion
Jan 1, 2023
Results posted
Apr 27, 2023
Last update
Nov 18, 2023

Study contacts

Steven Weisman, MD
study chair · Children's Hospital and Health System Foundation, Wisconsin
Roger A Fons, MD
principal investigator · Children's Hospital and Health System Foundation, Wisconsin

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion