CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02531867Updated May 8, 2017Results posted

Post-approval Clinical Study of Asfotase Alfa Treatment for Patients With Hypophosphatasia (HPP) in Japan

A Phase 4 interventional study of Asfotase Alfa in Hypophosphatasia, sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Completed. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-05-08.

Sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
13
Allocation
Not applicable
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a multicenter study in Japan. Eleven sites which have already participated in the investigator-initiated clinical study (Early Access Program) will participate in this study.The objective of this study is to gain further information on the safety and efficacy of treatment with asfotase alfa.

Read the detailed description

The primary objective of this study was to collect data on the safety of repeated subcutaneous (SC) injections of asfotase alfa. There were no secondary objectives. Exploratory objectives related to the efficacy of asfotase alfa are not being reported.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hypophosphatasia

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • HPP
  • Bone Disease
  • Soft Bones
  • Low Alkaline Phosphatase
  • Genetic Metabolic Disorder
  • Alkaline Phosphatase
  • Rickets
  • Osteomalacia
03

In context

Hypophosphatasia

45 studies on the registry are indexed under Hypophosphatasia; 10 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 13 is close to the median of 14 across 18 interventional studies indexed under Hypophosphatasia.

Browse Hypophosphatasia studies →

Lead sponsor

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 249 studies on the registry; 25 are open to participants now.

Of its 98 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 70 (71%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Child (0–17), Adult (18–64), Older adult (65+)
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Patient or parent (or legal guardian) must provide written informed consent prior to the performance of any study-related procedures and must be willing to comply with study procedures. Where appropriate and required by local regulations, patient assent for participation must also be obtained.
  2. Patient has completed the investigator-initiated clinical study (HPPJEAP-01) protocol for asfotase alfa

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Patient has a documented form of rickets caused by a condition other than HPP, including, but not limited to, rickets caused by 25(OH) vitamin D deficiency
  2. Patient has serum calcium and/or phosphorus levels below the normal range
  3. Patient is pregnant or lactating
  4. Patient received treatment with bisphosphonates within 2 years prior to the Screening visit
  5. Patient has a documented sensitivity to any of the components of asfotase alfa
  6. Patient is currently enrolled in any other program or clinical study involving an investigational new drug, device, or treatment for HPP (eg, bone marrow transplantation)
  7. Patient has clinically significant other disease in the opinion of the Investigator, defined as any other non HPP-related condition for which the patient is considered medically unstable.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
13 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Asfotase Alfa

    Patients will receive asfotase alfa by subcutaneous injection. Asfotase alfa will be administered at either 2 mg/kg 3 times per week or 1 mg/kg 6 times per week depending on investigator's discretion.

    Biological: Asfotase Alfa

Interventions

  • BiologicalAsfotase Alfa

    Also known as: Strensiq

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Including Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) and Injection Associated Reactions (IARs)

    Adverse events are any unwanted adverse medical occurrence in patients who are treated with a medicinal drug, whether or not considered drug-related. This includes events observed in patients administered with asfotase alfa between the first dose of asfotase alfa and the completion of patient's last visit for the clinical study.

    Time frame: Events that occurred between the first dose of asfotase alfa and the completion of the patient's last visit, which was up to 5 months.

07

Results

Posted May 8, 2017

Participant flow

There were 11 study sites, all in Japan; 13 patients were enrolled into this study. The first patient signed informed consent in June 2015; the study continued through November 2015 at multiple centers in Japan.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOverall Study
Started13
Completed13
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Including Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) and Injection Associated Reactions (IARs)

Adverse events are any unwanted adverse medical occurrence in patients who are treated with a medicinal drug, whether or not considered drug-related. This includes events observed in patients administered with asfotase alfa between the first dose of asfotase alfa and the completion of patient's last visit for the clinical study.

Time frame:
Events that occurred between the first dose of asfotase alfa and the completion of the patient's last visit, which was up to 5 months.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Including Injection Site Reactions (ISRs) and Injection Associated Reactions (IARs)
ParticipantsOverall Study
Number of Patients with AEs9
Number of Patients with ISRs2
Number of Patients with IARs0

Adverse events

Collected over Events that occurred between the first dose of asfotase alfa and the completion of the patient's last visit, which was up to 5 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Overall Study—0/13 (0%)9/13 (69.2%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 12
Most frequent other events
EventOverall Study
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations2/13
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations2/13
EnterocolitisGastrointestinal disorders1/13
Injection site bruisingGeneral disorders1/13
Injection site erythemaGeneral disorders1/13
Injection site indurationGeneral disorders1/13
BronchitisInfections and infestations1/13
Conjunctivitis viralInfections and infestations1/13
Viral rashInfections and infestations1/13
Feeding tube complicatinoInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/13

Baseline characteristics

All patients who met all of the inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria were considered the Baseline Analysis Population.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Overall Study
<=18 years12
Between 18 and 65 years1
>=65 years0
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Overall Study
Median1.39 (0.13 to 35.04)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Overall Study
Female9
Male4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Overall Study
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino0
Unknown or Not Reported13
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Overall Study
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian12
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White0
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Overall Study
Japan13
08

Study locations

No study locations are listed for this record.

09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 8, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02531867
Lead sponsor
Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 25, 2015
Start date
Jun 2015
Primary completion
Nov 2015
Completion
Nov 2015
Results posted
May 8, 2017
Last update
May 8, 2017

Study contacts

Kenji Fujita, MD
study director · Medical Monitor

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion