CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT02498613Updated Sep 25, 2026Results posted

A Phase 2 Study of Cediranib in Combination With Olaparib in Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 2 interventional study of 18F-Fluoromisonidazole and Cediranib Maleate in Advanced Malignant Solid Neoplasm, Metastatic Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma and Metastatic Lung Small Cell Carcinoma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Active, not recruiting at 16 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-25.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
122
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase II trial studies cediranib maleate in combination with olaparib in treating patients with solid tumors that have spread to other parts of the body (advanced/metastatic) or cannot be removed by surgery (unresectable), including breast cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, and pancreatic cancer. Cediranib maleate and olaparib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Cediranib maleate may also block the flow of oxygen to the tumor, and may help make the tumor more sensitive to olaparib.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. To determine the objective response rate (ORR) of cediranib (cediranib maleate) plus olaparib in combination in patients with advanced or metastatic solid tumors of the following tumor types: non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), triple negative breast cancer (TNBC), pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC), and small cell lung cancer (SCLC).

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To assess the safety and tolerability of oral administration of cediranib in combination with olaparib in patients with select advanced solid tumors.

II. To estimate progression free survival (PFS) in each tumor cohort.

EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES:

I. To estimate the prevalence of the mutations of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) repair genes in tumors using the BROCA panel and to correlate tumor regression with mutations status. (Integrated) II. To evaluate changes in tumor hypoxia on cediranib treatment compared to baseline by [F-18] fluoromisonidazole (FMISO) positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) in patients with NSCLC.

III. To evaluate levels of angiogenesis/inflammatory markers including VEGF at baseline and on treatment.

IV. To evaluate levels of circulating tumor deoxyribonucleic acid (ctDNA) at baseline and on treatment.

OUTLINE:

Patients receive cediranib maleate orally (PO) once daily (QD) on day 1. Patients undergoing FMISO scan also receive olaparib PO twice daily (BID) beginning the day after the second FMISO scan and the rest of the patients receive olaparib PO BID beginning day 4 of cycle 1. Cycles repeat every 28 days (35 days for cycle 1) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up for 4 weeks. Patients who discontinue the study treatment for reasons other than disease progression or withdrawal of consent will continue to be followed every 4 weeks until disease progression, start of new therapy, or death, whichever occurs first.

02

Conditions studied

  • Advanced Malignant Solid Neoplasm
  • Metastatic Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Lung Small Cell Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma
  • Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Carcinoma
  • Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma
  • Stage III Breast Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage III Lung Non-Small Cell Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage III Lung Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7
  • Stage III Pancreatic Cancer AJCC v6 and v7
  • Stage IIIA Breast Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIA Lung Non-Small Cell Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIA Lung Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIB Breast Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIB Lung Non-Small Cell Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIB Lung Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7
  • Stage IIIC Breast Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IV Breast Cancer AJCC v6 and v7
  • Stage IV Lung Non-Small Cell Cancer AJCC v7
  • Stage IV Lung Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7
  • Stage IV Pancreatic Cancer AJCC v6 and v7
  • Triple-Negative Breast Carcinoma
  • Unresectable Lung Small Cell Carcinoma
  • Unresectable Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma
  • Unresectable Pancreatic Carcinoma
  • Unresectable Triple-Negative Breast Carcinoma
03

In context

Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

6,488 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung; 1,632 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 122 is above the median of 62 across 5,213 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung.

Browse Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have histologically confirmed, metastatic or unresectable malignancy of the following types: (a) non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), (b) triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC; defined by estrogen receptor [ER] \< 1%, progesterone receptor [PR] \< 1% and HER2 1+ or less by immunohistochemistry [IHC]; if HER-2 expression is 2+, a negative fluorescence in situ hybridization [FISH] testing is required) (c) pancreatic adenocarcinoma (PDAC), or (d) small cell lung cancer (SCLC)
  • Must have received at least one line of standard systemic treatment for locally advanced or metastatic disease setting of the respective tumor type; for NSCLC, it is either PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor, or platinum-containing chemotherapy, or an EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitor or an ALK inhibitor if sensitizing mutation present; TNBC: platinum-containing chemotherapy; PDAC: fluorouracil (5-FU-), gemcitabine-, or taxane-containing chemotherapy either with or without radiation therapy; SCLC: platinum-containing chemotherapy for limited or extensive stage disease
  • Patients must have measurable disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v)1.1
  • Toxicities of prior therapy (except alopecia) should be resolved to =\< grade 1 as per National Cancer Institute (NCI)-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version (v)5.0; patients with long-standing stable grade 2 neuropathy or prior grade 2 treatment-related hypothyroidism requiring treatment, provided free T4 within normal range, may be considered eligible after discussion with the study principal investigator (PI)
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0, 1 or 2 (Karnofsky >= 50%)
  • Life expectancy of >= 4 months
  • Leukocytes >= 3,000/mcL
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,500/mcL
  • Platelets >= 100,000/mcL
  • Hemoglobin > 9 g/dL
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x the institutional upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase [SGOT])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase [SGPT]) =\< 2.5 x institutional ULN
  • Creatinine =\< 1.5 x ULN OR
  • Creatinine clearance >= 45 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 for patients with creatinine levels above institutional normal; the creatinine clearance is calculated using Cockcroft-Gault formula
  • A urine protein: creatinine ratio of \< 1 or \< 1 g protein on 24-hour urine collection
  • International normalized ration (INR) within 1.25 x ULN institutional limits, except where a lupus anti-coagulant has been confirmed
  • Activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) within 1.25 x ULN institutional limits, except where a lupus anti-coagulant has been confirmed
  • Patients must be able to tolerate oral medications and not have gastrointestinal illnesses that would preclude absorption of cediranib or olaparib
  • Adequately controlled thyroid function defined by free T4 within normal range, with no symptoms of thyroid dysfunction
  • Adequately controlled blood pressure (BP) \< 140 mmHg (systolic) and \< 90 mmHg (diastolic) taken in the clinic setting by a medical professional within 2 weeks prior to starting study; patients with hypertension may be managed with up to a maximum of 3 antihypertensive medications; patients who are on 3 antihypertensive medications are highly recommended to be followed by a cardiologist or blood pressure specialist for management of BP while on protocol
  • Patients who have the following risk factors are considered to be at increased risk for cardiac toxicities, and must have documented left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) by echocardiogram greater than institution's lower limit of normal (or 55% if threshold for normal not otherwise specified by institutional guidelines) obtained within 3 months

    • Prior treatment with anthracyclines
    • Prior treatment with trastuzumab
    • A New York Heart Association (NYHA) classification of II controlled with treatment
    • Prior central thoracic radiation therapy (RT), including RT to the heart
    • History of myocardial infarction within 12 months (patients with history of myocardial infarction within 6 months are excluded from the study)
  • The effects of cediranib and olaparib on the developing human fetus are unknown; for this reason, women of child-bearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control; abstinence) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation; should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately; men treated or enrolled on this protocol must also agree to use adequate contraception prior to the study, for the duration of study participation, and for 4 months after completion of cediranib and olaparib administration
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document
  • Age >= 18 years. There is no dosing or adverse event data currently available on the use of cediranib or olaparib in patients \< 18 years of age, thus excluding them from enrollment

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients who have had chemotherapy or RT within 3 weeks prior to start of the study agents, or those who have not recovered from adverse events due to agents administered more than 3 weeks earlier
  • Patients should not have received any other investigational agents within the past 4 weeks
  • Patients with untreated brain metastases, spinal cord compression, or evidence of symptomatic brain metastases or leptomeningeal disease as noted on computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans should be excluded from this clinical trial, since neurologic dysfunction may confound the evaluation of neurologic and other adverse events (AEs); screening brain MRI (or CT if MRI contraindicated) will be required for patients with recurrent NSCLC, TNBC, or SCLC; brain MRI (or CT if MRI contraindicated) is required for PDAC if clinically suspected by patient's symptoms or neurological exam; should patient found to have brain metastasis, treatment of brain metastasis must precede the participation in this study; for patients with known and treated brain metastases is allowed in this study if they fulfill the following criteria:

    • The lesions have improved or remained stable radiographically and clinically for at least 6 weeks after completion of brain irradiation or stereotactic brain radiosurgery and off steroids for at least 6 weeks
  • Patients who have received prior inhibitor of VEGF signaling and a poly (ADP-ribose) polymerases (PARP) inhibitor administered in combination; unless administered in combination, patients who received a prior PARP inhibitor or a prior VEGF-signaling inhibitor agent are allowed after discussing with the PI
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to cediranib or olaparib
  • Participants receiving any medications or substances that are strong inhibitors or inducers of cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4) are ineligible; dihydropyridine calcium-channel blockers are permitted for management of hypertension
  • Current use of natural herbal products or other complementary alternative medications (CAM) or "folk remedies"
  • Patients with concomitant or prior invasive malignancies within the past 3 years; subjects with treated limited stage basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin or carcinoma in situ of the breast or cervix are eligible
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • History of myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to registration
  • History of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to registration
  • NYHA classification of III or IV
  • Current cardiac arrhythmia requiring concurrent use of anti-arrhythmic drugs
  • History of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy within 3 years prior to registration
  • Clinically significant peripheral vascular disease or abdominal aortic aneurysm (> 5 cm) or aortic dissection; if known history of abdominal aortic aneurysm with >= 4 cm in diameter, all of the following must be met:

    • An ultrasound (US) within the last 6 months prior to registration will be required to document that it is =\< 5 cm
    • Patient must be asymptomatic from the aneurysm
    • Blood pressure must be well controlled as defined in this protocol
  • A major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to starting cediranib (percutaneous/endobronchial biopsies are allowed)
  • History of bowel obstruction within 1 month prior to starting study drugs
  • History of hemoptysis or any significant bleeding within the last 1 month prior to enrollment
  • Presence of cavitation of central pulmonary lesion
  • History of abdominal fistula, intra-abdominal abscess, or gastrointestinal perforation within the 3 months prior to enrollment
  • Patients may not have current dependency on intravenous (IV) hydration or total parenteral nutrition (TPN)
  • Patients may not have evidence of coagulopathy or bleeding diathesis; therapeutic anticoagulation for prior thromboembolic events is permitted; the clinical indication for therapeutic anticoagulation must be clearly documented prior to enrollment and must be discussed with the P.I.; given the increases risk of serious bleeding from cediranib, patients who are on greater than or equal to 2 anti-thrombotic agents, including but not limited to anti-platelet agents (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs [NSAIDs]/aspirin, clopidogrel), heparin, low molecular weight heparin (LMWH), warfarin, and a direct thrombin inhibitor, will be excluded
  • Patients may not have features suggestive of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or acute myelogenous leukemia (AML) on peripheral blood smear or bone marrow biopsy, if clinically indicated
  • Pregnant women are excluded from this study because olaparib and cediranib have the potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects; due to the fact that there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with olaparib and cediranib, breastfeeding should be discontinued if the mother is treated with cediranib and olaparib
  • Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-positive patients on combination antiretroviral therapy are ineligible because of the potential for pharmacokinetic interactions with cediranib or olaparib; appropriate studies will be undertaken in patients receiving combination antiretroviral therapy when indicated; HIV-positive patients with undetectable viral loads and CD4 counts > 300, and not on any antiretroviral therapy may be allowed after discussing with the principle investigator
  • Any condition that, in the opinion of the treating investigator would interfere with evaluation of the investigational product or interpretation of subject safety or study results
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
122 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (cediranib maleate, olaparib)

    Patients receive cediranib maleate PO QD on day 1. Patients undergoing FMISO scan also receive olaparib PO BID beginning the day after the second FMISO scan and the rest of the patients receive olaparib PO BID beginning day 4 of cycle 1. Cycles repeat every 28 days (35 days for cycle 1) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Other: 18F-Fluoromisonidazole · Drug: Cediranib Maleate · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Olaparib · Procedure: Positron Emission Tomography

Interventions

  • Other18F-Fluoromisonidazole

    Correlative studies

    Also known as: 18F-MISO, 18F-Misonidazole, FLUOROMISONIDAZOLE F-18, FMISO

  • DrugCediranib Maleate

    Given PO

    Also known as: AZD2171, AZD2171 Maleate, Recentin

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

  • DrugOlaparib

    Given PO

    Also known as: AZD 2281, AZD-2281, AZD2281, KU 0059436, KU-0059436, KU0059436, Lynparza, Olanib, Olaparix, PARP Inhibitor AZD2281

  • ProcedurePositron Emission Tomography

    Correlative studies

    Also known as: Medical Imaging, Positron Emission Tomography, PET, PET Scan, Positron emission tomography (procedure), Positron Emission Tomography Scan, Positron-Emission Tomography, PT

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Objective Response Rate

    Measured by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1. The exact two-sided 95% confidence interval for the objective response rate will be reported.

    Time frame: Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 43 months)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Incidence of Adverse Events

    Graded according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. The outcome was updated upon results entry to reflect the number of graded adverse events per cohort separated by Grade 3 and Grade 4.

    Time frame: Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 44 months)

  2. Progression-free Survival

    This outcome was updated at the time of results entry to include the median PFS and the full range of survival time in months for each cohort. The time frame was updated as well. PFS was calculated as the duration of time from start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment.

    Time frame: Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 44 months)

Other outcomes

  1. Prevalence of the Mutations of Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) Repair Genes in Each Tumor Cohort

    In the first 20 endpoint-evaluable patients with non-small cell lung cancer and 20 endpoint-evaluable patients with triple negative breast cancer, the exploratory analyses will be done using Fisher's exact tests, Mann-Whitney U tests or McNemar's test depending on the type of data observed.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

  2. Changes in Tumor Hypoxia by Imaging

    Measured by 18F-fluoromisonidazole positron emission tomography/computed tomography scans (non-small cell lung cancer). For the pre- and post-cediranib therapy outcome analysis, paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank test will be applied for the continuous variables.

    Time frame: Baseline to post-cediranib monotherapy

  3. Changes in Level of Circulating Tumor Deoxyribonucleic Acid (ctDNA) (All Cohorts)

    Will be assessed using paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank.

    Time frame: Baseline to post therapy

  4. Changes in Levels of Angiogenesis/ Inflammatory Markers (Angiome Panel) (All Cohorts)

    Will be assessed using paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank.

    Time frame: Baseline to post-therapy

07

Results

Posted Jul 30, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC Cohort
Started31392428
Began treatment29381927
Completed26371927
Not completed5251
Withdrew: Tx initiation criteria not met2151
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject3100

Outcome measures

PrimaryObjective Response Rate

Measured by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1. The exact two-sided 95% confidence interval for the objective response rate will be reported.

Time frame:
Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 43 months)
Reported as:
Number · proportion of participants
Objective Response Rate
proportion of participantsNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortSCLC CohortPDAC Cohort
Objective Response Rate0.08 (0.01 to 0.15)0.16 (0.09 to 0.24)0.26 (0.16 to 0.36)0 (NA to NA)
SecondaryIncidence of Adverse Events

Graded according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. The outcome was updated upon results entry to reflect the number of graded adverse events per cohort separated by Grade 3 and Grade 4.

Time frame:
Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 44 months)
Reported as:
Number · Adverse Events
Incidence of Adverse Events
Adverse EventsNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC Cohort
Grade 360713761
Grade 42127
SecondaryProgression-free Survival

This outcome was updated at the time of results entry to include the median PFS and the full range of survival time in months for each cohort. The time frame was updated as well. PFS was calculated as the duration of time from start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment.

Time frame:
Up to 4 weeks after completion of study treatment (Up to 44 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival
monthsNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC Cohort
Progression-free Survival3.8 (0.1 to 13.3)3.4 (1.4 to 42.7)1.8 (1.8 to 7.5)4.0 (0.8 to 14.5)
Other pre-specifiedPrevalence of the Mutations of Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) Repair Genes in Each Tumor Cohort

In the first 20 endpoint-evaluable patients with non-small cell lung cancer and 20 endpoint-evaluable patients with triple negative breast cancer, the exploratory analyses will be done using Fisher's exact tests, Mann-Whitney U tests or McNemar's test depending on the type of data observed.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Other pre-specifiedChanges in Tumor Hypoxia by Imaging

Measured by 18F-fluoromisonidazole positron emission tomography/computed tomography scans (non-small cell lung cancer). For the pre- and post-cediranib therapy outcome analysis, paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank test will be applied for the continuous variables.

Time frame:
Baseline to post-cediranib monotherapy

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Other pre-specifiedChanges in Level of Circulating Tumor Deoxyribonucleic Acid (ctDNA) (All Cohorts)

Will be assessed using paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank.

Time frame:
Baseline to post therapy

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Other pre-specifiedChanges in Levels of Angiogenesis/ Inflammatory Markers (Angiome Panel) (All Cohorts)

Will be assessed using paired t- test or Wilcoxon signed-rank.

Time frame:
Baseline to post-therapy

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 44 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
NSCLC Cohort4/29 (13.8%)13/29 (44.8%)29/29 (100%)
TNBC Cohort1/38 (2.6%)19/38 (50%)38/38 (100%)
PDAC Cohort7/19 (36.8%)12/19 (63.2%)19/19 (100%)
SCLC Cohort1/27 (3.7%)10/27 (37%)27/27 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 64
Most frequent serious events
EventNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC Cohort
ABDOMINAL PAINGastrointestinal disorders0/291/383/190/27
DEATH NOSGeneral disorders0/290/382/190/27
DISEASE PROGRESSIONNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/290/382/190/27
DYSPNEARespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/292/382/191/27
THROMBOEMBOLIC EVENTVascular disorders2/291/382/190/27
URINARY TRACT INFECTIONInfections and infestations0/290/382/191/27
TUMOR PAINNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/293/380/190/27
PAINGeneral disorders2/291/380/192/27
SINUS TACHYCARDIACardiac disorders1/290/380/192/27
VOMITINGGastrointestinal disorders1/291/380/192/27
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 392
Most frequent other events
EventNSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC Cohort
FATIGUEGeneral disorders18/2917/3815/1913/27
DIARRHEAGastrointestinal disorders17/2927/389/1919/27
HYPERTENSIONVascular disorders10/2926/3813/1915/27
NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders16/2920/387/1916/27
VOMITINGGastrointestinal disorders16/2917/385/197/27
ANOREXIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders14/2916/3810/1912/27
ALKALINE PHOSPHATASE INCREASEDInvestigations3/294/389/194/27
WEIGHT LOSSInvestigations13/299/384/199/27
ASPARTATE AMINOTRANSFERASE INCInvestigations2/299/388/198/27
HYPERGLYCEMIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders4/295/388/194/27

Baseline characteristics

Those eligible and placed on study prior to receiving first dose.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
Mean64.6 ± 7.850.1 ± 8.264.2 ± 10.963.2 ± 9.059.6 ± 10.9
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
Female1439101477
Male170141445
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
Hispanic or Latino01113
Not Hispanic or Latino31352326115
Unknown or Not Reported03014
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native00000
Asian00000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00000
Black or African American00000
White2423192490
More than one race00000
Unknown or Not Reported7165432
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
Canada1100112
United States30292427110
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG)
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG)(Participants)NSCLC CohortTNBC CohortPDAC CohortSCLC CohortTotal
0797528
12029152387
241207
300000
400000
500000
08

Study locations

16 sites
  • UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center
    La Jolla, California 92093, United States
  • University of California Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Sacramento, California 95817, United States
  • UC San Diego Medical Center - Hillcrest
    San Diego, California 92103, United States
  • UCSF Medical Center-Mount Zion
    San Francisco, California 94115, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Center/Yale-New Haven Hospital
    New Haven, Connecticut 06510, United States
  • Yale University
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center-International Plaza
    Tampa, Florida 33607, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Wayne State University/Karmanos Cancer Institute
    Detroit, Michigan 48201, United States
  • Weisberg Cancer Treatment Center
    Farmington Hills, Michigan 48334, United States
  • Vanderbilt University/Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • VCU Massey Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Richmond, Virginia 23298, United States
  • BCCA-Vancouver Cancer Centre
    Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 4E6, Canada
  • University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M9, Canada
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Sep 7, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

1 registry update since Sep 25, 2026
Minor edits
Nothing that changes what the study is or who can join. Edited: verification date
1 update, last Sep 25, 2026
Show all 1 update
  1. Sep 25, 2026
    Minor edits only
    + 1 other change: verification date

From the registry record's own update history. This site started tracking changes on Sep 25, 2026; for anything earlier, see the record history on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02498613
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Collaborators
AstraZeneca
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 15, 2015
Start date
Aug 31, 2016
Primary completion
Jun 22, 2022
Completion
Apr 10, 2027 (estimated)
Results posted
Jul 30, 2024
Last update
Sep 25, 2026

Study contacts

Joseph W Kim
principal investigator · Yale University Cancer Center LAO

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Sep 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion