A Phase 3 interventional study of Evacetrapib and Atorvastatin in Hyperlipidemia, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Terminated at 64 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-10-08.
Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of the ACCENTUATE study is to evaluate whether the study drug known as evacetrapib is effective in treating participants with high cholesterol and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) and/or diabetes.
821 studies on the registry are indexed under Hyperlipidemias; 105 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 366 is above the median of 88 across 691 interventional studies indexed under Hyperlipidemias.
Browse Hyperlipidemias studies →Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,048 studies on the registry; 140 are open to participants now.
Of its 521 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 341 (65%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Atorvastatin 40 milligrams (mg) orally once daily for 28 days during lead in period. Atorvastatin 40 mg plus evacetrapib 130 mg with placebo for blinding orally once daily for 90 days. Open label extension (atorvastatin 40 mg plus evacetrapib 130 mg) is available for compliant participants.
Drug: Evacetrapib · Drug: Atorvastatin · Drug: Placebo
Atorvastatin 40 mg orally once daily for 28 days during lead in period. Atorvastatin 80 mg orally with placebo for blinding once daily for 90 days. Open label extension (atorvastatin 40 mg plus evacetrapib 130 mg) is available for compliant participants.
Drug: Atorvastatin · Drug: Placebo
Atorvastatin 40 mg orally once daily for 28 days during lead in period. Atorvastatin 40 mg plus ezetimibe 10 mg with placebo for blinding orally once daily for 90 days. Open label extension (atorvastatin 40 mg plus evacetrapib 130 mg) is available for compliant participants.
Drug: Atorvastatin · Drug: Ezetimibe · Drug: Placebo
Atorvastatin 40 mg orally once daily for 28 days during lead in period. Atorvastatin 40 mg with placebo for blinding orally once daily for 90 days. Open label extension (atorvastatin 40 mg plus evacetrapib 130 mg) is available for compliant participants.
Drug: Atorvastatin · Drug: Placebo
Administered orally
Also known as: LY2484595
Administered orally
Administered orally
Administered orally
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)
Change in LDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LDL-C was measured by beta quantification. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. Least Square Means (LS means) and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in High-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)
Change in HDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LS medians and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Statistics are from mixed model repeated measures analysis with log baseline measurement, treatment, visit, and treatment by visit interaction included in the model. Log percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable. Within-participant repeated measures at multiple visits are modeled by a compound symmetry covariance structure.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Apolipoprotein AI (apoAI)
Change in apoAI levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Non-HDL-C
Change in Non-HDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LS medians and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Statistics are from mixed model repeated measures analysis with log baseline measurement, treatment, visit, and treatment by visit interaction included in the model. Log percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable. Within-participant repeated measures at multiple visits are modeled by a compound symmetry covariance structure.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Apolipoprotein B (apoB)
Change in apoB levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Cholesterol Efflux Capacity
Change in cholesterol efflux capacity from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Lipoprotein(a) (Lp[a])
Change in Lp(a) levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
Time frame: Baseline, 3 Months
| Milestone | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Open-Label (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 123 | 54 | 62 | 127 | 0 |
| Completed | 83 | 36 | 41 | 88 | 0 |
| Not completed | 40 | 18 | 21 | 39 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 3 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 34 | 15 | 14 | 32 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 0 |
| Milestone | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Open-Label (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 248 |
| Received at least 1 dose of study drug | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 247 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 248 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Death | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 243 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
Change in LDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LDL-C was measured by beta quantification. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. Least Square Means (LS means) and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C) | -33.44 (-34.47 to -32.41) | 0.04 (-1.01 to 1.09) | -6.19 (-7.24 to -5.15) | -27.30 (-28.33 to -26.27) |
Change in HDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LS medians and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Statistics are from mixed model repeated measures analysis with log baseline measurement, treatment, visit, and treatment by visit interaction included in the model. Log percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable. Within-participant repeated measures at multiple visits are modeled by a compound symmetry covariance structure.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in High-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C) | 125.39 (124.37 to 126.40) | 0.11 (-0.92 to 1.13) | -6.10 (-7.12 to -5.07) | -2.18 (-3.20 to -1.17) |
Change in apoAI levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Apolipoprotein AI (apoAI) | 46.08 (45.07 to 47.09) | -0.27 (-1.29 to 0.76) | -6.14 (-7.16 to -5.12) | -2.36 (-3.38 to -1.35) |
Change in Non-HDL-C levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. LS medians and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Statistics are from mixed model repeated measures analysis with log baseline measurement, treatment, visit, and treatment by visit interaction included in the model. Log percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable. Within-participant repeated measures at multiple visits are modeled by a compound symmetry covariance structure.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Non-HDL-C | -31.42 (-32.44 to -30.40) | -4.95 (-5.98 to -3.92) | -9.40 (-10.44 to -8.37) | -24.37 (-25.40 to -23.35) |
Change in apoB levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Apolipoprotein B (apoB) | -22.96 (-23.98 to -22.96) | 0.21 (-0.82 to 1.24) | -6.54 (-7.56 to -5.51) | -18.84 (-19.86 to -17.82) |
Change in cholesterol efflux capacity from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Atorvastatin 80 mg |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Cholesterol Efflux Capacity | 35.09 (34.07 to 36.11) | -2.96 (-3.99 to -1.93) | -7.03 (-8.06 to -6.00) | -4.55 (-5.57 to -3.53) |
Change in Lp(a) levels from baseline to the 3-month visit expressed as a percentage of the baseline levels. Statistics are from analysis of covariance with log baseline measurement and treatment is included in the model. LS means and median differences were analyzed in log units and converted to standard units. Log Percent change from baseline response is the dependent variable.
| percent | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline to 3 Months in Lipoprotein(a) (Lp[a]) | -28.73 (-29.77 to 27.69) | 4.45 (3.40 to 5.50) | 3.90 (2.86 to 4.95) | 13.42 (12.39 to 14.45) |
Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Double-Blind (DB) | — | 2/123 (1.6%) | 6/123 (4.9%) |
| Atorvastatin 40 mg DB | — | 3/54 (5.6%) | 5/54 (9.3%) |
| Atorvastatin 80 mg DB | — | 3/62 (4.8%) | 4/62 (6.5%) |
| Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe DB | — | 3/127 (2.4%) | 5/127 (3.9%) |
| Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Open-Label (OLE) | — | 11/247 (4.5%) | 9/247 (3.6%) |
| Event | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Double-Blind (DB) | Atorvastatin 40 mg DB | Atorvastatin 80 mg DB | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe DB | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Open-Label (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chronic sinusitisInfections and infestations | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Accidental overdoseInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Suicidal ideationPsychiatric disorders | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Acute respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 1/247 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/123 | 1/54 | 0/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Chest painGeneral disorders | 0/123 | 0/54 | 1/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Non-cardiac chest painGeneral disorders | 0/123 | 0/54 | 1/62 | 0/127 | 1/247 |
| Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders | 0/123 | 0/54 | 1/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Transient ischaemic attackNervous system disorders | 0/123 | 0/54 | 1/62 | 0/127 | 0/247 |
| Event | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Double-Blind (DB) | Atorvastatin 40 mg DB | Atorvastatin 80 mg DB | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe DB | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib Open-Label (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 5/123 | 4/54 | 1/62 | 3/127 | 4/247 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/123 | 1/54 | 4/62 | 2/127 | 5/247 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 63.2 ± 8.7 | 62.7 ± 9.3 | 61.7 ± 10.2 | 64.7 ± 8.9 | 63.4 ± 9.2 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 38 | 15 | 18 | 53 | 124 |
| Male | 85 | 39 | 44 | 74 | 242 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 13 | 3 | 9 | 13 | 38 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 110 | 51 | 53 | 114 | 328 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Asian | 4 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 6 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 19 | 8 | 15 | 14 | 56 |
| White | 97 | 44 | 46 | 110 | 297 |
| More than one race | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 5 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Atorvastatin + Evacetrapib | Atorvastatin 40 mg | Atorvastatin 80 mg | Atorvastatin + Ezetimibe | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 123 | 54 | 62 | 127 | 366 |
Plan to share: Yes — Anonymized individual patient level data will be provided in a secure access environment upon approval of a research proposal and a signed data sharing agreement.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Csr
This study is terminated, as verified in Sep 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eli Lilly and Company