CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02207062Updated Jan 7, 2025Results posted

Ibrutinib in Treating Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Transformed Indolent B-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Ibrutinib and Laboratory Biomarker Analysis in Recurrent Transformed B-Cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and Refractory Transformed B-Cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, sponsored by University of Washington. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-01-07.

Sponsored by University of Washington · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
20
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This pilot phase II trial studies ibrutinib in treating patients with transformed indolent (a type of cancer that grows slowly) B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma that have returned after a period of improvement (relapsed) or do not respond to treatment (refractory). Ibrutinib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes (proteins) needed for cell growth.

Read the detailed description

OUTLINE:

Patients receive ibrutinib orally (PO) once daily (QD) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for up to 5 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Recurrent Transformed B-Cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Refractory Transformed B-Cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Keywords

  • Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
03

In context

Lymphoma

5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 20 is below the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.

Browse Lymphoma studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Washington is the lead sponsor of 1,397 studies on the registry; 225 are open to participants now.

Of its 154 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 132 (86%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have histologically confirmed transformed indolent B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma that is relapsed or refractory to at least one line of therapy
  • Patients must have a computed tomography (CT) (preferred) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis within 28 days of enrollment
  • Patients must have measurable disease defined as lesions greater than 1.5 cm that can be accurately measured in two dimensions by CT (preferred), or MRI
  • Patients must have a positron emission tomography (PET) scan within 56 days of enrollment
  • Patients must have an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 2
  • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 1000/mm\^3 or >= 750/mm\^3 in the setting of marrow involvement by disease
  • Platelets >= 50,000/mm\^3 or >= 30,000/mm\^3 in the setting of marrow involvement by disease or splenomegaly due to disease
  • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and aspartate aminotransferase (AST) =\< 3 x upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x ULN unless bilirubin rise is due to Gilbert's syndrome or of non-hepatic origin
  • Creatinine clearance (Clcr) > 25 mL/min
  • Patients must be anticipated to complete 2 cycles of therapy in the opinion of the treating physician
  • Women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active must affirm they are practicing a highly effective method of birth control during and after the study consistent with local regulations regarding the use of birth control methods for subjects participating in clinical trials; men must agree to not donate sperm during or after the study; for females, these restrictions apply for 1 month after the last dose of study drug; for males, these restrictions apply for 3 months after the last dose of the study drug
  • Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum (beta-human chorionic gonadotropin [beta-hCG]) or urine pregnancy test at screening; women who are pregnant or breastfeeding are ineligible for this study
  • Sign (or their legally-acceptable representatives must sign) an informed consent document in accordance with institutional and federal guidelines indicating that they understand the investigational nature of and procedures required for the study, including biomarkers, and are willing to participate in and comply with the guidelines of the study

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Known history of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or active hepatitis C virus or active hepatitis B virus infection or any uncontrolled active systemic infection
  • Major surgery or a wound that has not fully healed within 4 weeks of initiation of therapy
  • Known central nervous system lymphoma
  • History of stroke or intracranial hemorrhage within 6 months of screening
  • Requires anticoagulation with warfarin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists (e.g., phenprocoumon)
  • Requires chronic treatment with strong cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A (CYP3A) inhibitors
  • Clinically significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or symptomatic arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of screening, or any class 3 (moderate) or class 4 (severe) cardiac disease as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification
  • Vaccinated with live, attenuated vaccines within 4 weeks of initiation of therapy
  • Any life-threatening illness, medical condition, or organ system dysfunction which, in the investigator's opinion, could compromise the subject's safety, interfere with the absorption or metabolism of ibrutinib capsules, or put the study outcomes at undue risk
  • Patients with other prior malignancies except for adequately treated basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, breast or cervical cancer in situ, or other cancer from which the patient has been disease-free for 5 years or greater, unless approved by the protocol sponsor-investigator/lead-sub-investigator
  • Patients that previously were treated with ibrutinib for > 7 days
  • Previous chemotherapy, immunotherapy, biologically targeted therapy, other investigational agent, or radiation therapy within 3 weeks of initiation of ibrutinib therapy or radio-immunotherapy within 12 weeks of initiation of ibrutinib therapy
  • Prior allogeneic transplant with graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) requiring immunosuppressive therapy
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
20 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (ibrutinib)

    Patients receive ibrutinib PO QD in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Drug: Ibrutinib · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis

Interventions

  • DrugIbrutinib

    Given PO

    Also known as: BTK Inhibitor PCI-32765, CRA-032765, PCI-32765

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Overall Response Rate (Combined Complete Response + Partial Response)

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Complete Response Rate

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  2. Disease Control Rate

    Time frame: >12 months

  3. Overall Survival

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  4. Progression-free Survival

    Progression-free survival will be calculated using assessments by investigators. Kaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves and corresponding quartiles (including the median).

    Time frame: Time from first study drug administration to the first occurrence of disease progression or death from any cause, assessed up to 5 years

  5. Response Rate Relative to the Underlying B-cell Histology

    Participants with a histology of follicular lymphoma at diagnosis achieving at least a partial response to treatment.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  6. Tolerability of Chronic Ibrutinib Therapy

    The National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 4.0 will be used to classify and grade toxicities. Count of participants who stopped ibrutinib due to toxicities.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

07

Results

Posted Jan 7, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Started20
Completed20
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryOverall Response Rate (Combined Complete Response + Partial Response)
Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response Rate (Combined Complete Response + Partial Response)
ParticipantsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Overall Response Rate (Combined Complete Response + Partial Response)6
SecondaryComplete Response Rate
Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Response Rate
ParticipantsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Complete Response Rate2
SecondaryDisease Control Rate
Time frame:
>12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Disease Control Rate
ParticipantsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Disease Control Rate4
SecondaryOverall Survival
Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival
monthsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Overall Survival22.4 (7.5 to 36.4)
SecondaryProgression-free Survival

Progression-free survival will be calculated using assessments by investigators. Kaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves and corresponding quartiles (including the median).

Time frame:
Time from first study drug administration to the first occurrence of disease progression or death from any cause, assessed up to 5 years
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival
monthsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Progression-free Survival4.1 (2.4 to 6.2)
SecondaryResponse Rate Relative to the Underlying B-cell Histology

Participants with a histology of follicular lymphoma at diagnosis achieving at least a partial response to treatment.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Response Rate Relative to the Underlying B-cell Histology
ParticipantsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Response Rate Relative to the Underlying B-cell Histology4
SecondaryTolerability of Chronic Ibrutinib Therapy

The National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 4.0 will be used to classify and grade toxicities. Count of participants who stopped ibrutinib due to toxicities.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tolerability of Chronic Ibrutinib Therapy
ParticipantsTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Tolerability of Chronic Ibrutinib Therapy1

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events will be collected from the time the consent is signed until 30 days following the last dose of study drug, an average of 18 months. All-Cause Mortality assessed up to 5 years.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment (Ibrutinib)14/20 (70%)7/20 (35%)20/20 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 18
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment (Ibrutinib)
Atrial FibrillationCardiac disorders2/20
Acute Myocardial InfarctionCardiac disorders2/20
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/20
PericarditisCardiac disorders1/20
Groin PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/20
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/20
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/20
MucositisGastrointestinal disorders1/20
EsophagitisGastrointestinal disorders1/20
PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/20
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 35
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment (Ibrutinib)
BruisingInjury, poisoning and procedural complications12/20
FatigueGeneral disorders11/20
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders6/20
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders4/20
Edema LimbsGeneral disorders4/20
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/20
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders4/20
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations3/20
Atrial FibrillationCardiac disorders3/20
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders3/20

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment (Ibrutinib)
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years8
>=65 years12
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment (Ibrutinib)
Female11
Male9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Ibrutinib)
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino18
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Ibrutinib)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White18
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment (Ibrutinib)
United States20
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jun 28, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 7, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02207062
Lead sponsor
University of Washington
Collaborators
Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Ajay Gopal (Professor, University of Washington) — Principal investigator
First posted
Aug 1, 2014
Start date
Oct 2014
Primary completion
Nov 1, 2023
Completion
Nov 1, 2023
Results posted
Jan 7, 2025
Last update
Jan 7, 2025

Study contacts

Ajay K. Gopal
principal investigator · Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion