An interventional study of Transurethral Resection of the Bladder Tumor & Cystoscopy and Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy in Bladder Cancer, Bladder Carcinoma and Transition Cell Cancer, sponsored by University of Miami. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-08-28.
Sponsored by University of Miami · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
Bladder preservation in patients with complete response after neoadjuvant chemotherapy will lead to equivalent or superior relapse free rates compared to cystectomy rates from historical controls.
Transurethral Resection of the Bladder Tumor (TURBT) and Cystoscopy performed by participating urologist:
Post-Neoadjuvant Evaluation: This evaluation will take place ≤ 6 weeks following the completion of the neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Evaluation will include:
1,649 studies on the registry are indexed under Urinary Bladder Neoplasms; 427 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 60 across 1,183 interventional studies indexed under Urinary Bladder Neoplasms.
Browse Urinary Bladder Neoplasms studies →University of Miami is the lead sponsor of 838 studies on the registry; 164 are open to participants now.
Of its 114 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 96 (84%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Complete Blood Count (CBC)/differential obtained no more than 8 weeks prior to enrollment on study, with adequate bone marrow function defined as follows:
Serum creatinine of 1.5mg or less; creatinine clearance of 60ml/min or greater no more than 8 weeks prior to enrollment (Note: calculated creatinine clearance is permissible, using Cockcroft-Gault formula. If the creatinine clearance is greater than 60ml/min, then a serum creatinine of up to 1.8mg is allowable at the discretion of the principal investigator.)
Note: Prechemotherapy laboratory investigations and Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) evaluation must meet inclusion criteria irrespective of where they were drawn, retroactive, prior to cycle 1 of cisplatin/gemcitabine. Inclusion criteria from these initial investigations will be used for evaluation of enrollment eligibility.
Exclusion Criteria:
Severe active co-morbidity:
* Transurethral Resection of the Bladder Tumor \& Cystoscopy (TURBT); * Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy (NAC), per standard of care: Cisplatin and Gemcitabine therapy, within 8 weeks following the TURBT and cystoscopic evaluation; * For subjects with complete response (CR): Chemoradiation within 6 weeks after post-neoadjuvant evaluation. Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT/VMAT); Cisplatin therapy per standard of care; * For subjects who have pT1 or worse tumor response: Radical Cystectomy, per standard of care, within 12 weeks post-neoadjuvant chemotherapy evaluation; * Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite Short Form 12 (EPIC SF-12); * International Prostate Symptom Score (IPSS).
Procedure: Transurethral Resection of the Bladder Tumor & Cystoscopy · Radiation: Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy · Behavioral: Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite Short Form 12 · Behavioral: International Prostate Symptom Score
TURBT and Cystoscopy will be performed by the participating urologist prior to start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy, per the study protocol: * Cystoscopic evaluation * Bimanual examination under anesthesia, * Transurethral resection of the bladder tumor, * Biopsy of the prostatic urethra including both mucosa and stroma using a resection loop.
Also known as: TURBT
For subjects with complete response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Subjects will receive 25 daily fractions (5 weeks) of radiation therapy for 5 days a week (Monday to Friday) except on weekends or holidays, when remaining fractions will be added to the end of treatment. The overall schema is for IMRT based radiation to the entire bladder, prostate (in men) and the pelvic lymph nodes: * Pelvic lymph nodes: 45 Gy in 25 fractions at 1.8 Gy per fraction. * Whole bladder and prostate: 50 Gy in 25 fractions at 2.0 Gy per fraction. * Tumor boost area: 60-65 Gy in 25 fractions at 2.4-2.6 Gy per day * Final boost dose will be determined at the discretion of the treating physician based on normal tissue exposure and volume.
Also known as: IMRT, VMAT
Quality of life questionnaire to be administered to subjects at intervals defined by the study protocol.
Also known as: EPIC SF-12
Quality of life questionnaire to be administered to subjects at intervals defined by the study protocol.
Also known as: IPSS
Rate of Failure-Free Survival With Intact Bladder (FFSIB) in Study Participants
Rate of failure free survival with intact bladder (FFSIB) at two years in subjects undergoing bladder preservation. FFSIB is defined by the absence of any failures (locoregional, distant metastasis, and death) and bladder preservation (no radical cystectomy for any causes) after definitive chemoradiation. FFSIB is defined as the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy to the date of documented failure events or radical cystectomy. For failure-free patients (without failure events and no radical cystectomy), FFSIB will be censored at the last date of documented failure-free bladder preservation (FFBP) status.
Time frame: 2 years
Rate of Failure-Free Survival (FFS) at Two Years
The two year rate of failure free survival (FFS) in study participants. This will include locoregional recurrence, and distant metastases. FFS is defined as absence of any failures (locoregional, distant metastasis, and death) during the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy to the date of documented failure events or radical cystectomy.
Time frame: 2 Years
Rate of Acute and Late Grade 2 or Higher Treatment-Related GU, GI and Hematologic Toxicity.
The rate of acute and late grade 2 or higher (CTCAE v4.0) treatment-related genitourinary (GU), gastrointestinal (GI) and hematologic toxicity of bladder preservation in study participants.
Time frame: Up to 2 years Post-Treatment
Rate of Overall Survival in Study Participants
Rate of Overall Survival in Study Participants. Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy until death. Surviving patients (including patients lost to follow up) will be censored at the date of last contact.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Evaluation of Known Predictive and Prognostics Biomarkers for Complete Response to Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy and Bladder Preservation.
To evaluate known predictive and prognostic biomarkers for complete response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy and bladder preservation. Blood, urine and tumor tissue will be collected pre- and post-neoadjuvant chemotherapy, post-cystectomy or chemoradiation, and at any time point of distant metastases.
Time frame: Up to 1 year Post-Treatment, About 2 years
Identification of New Predictive and Prognostic Biomarkers for Response to Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy, and Bladder Preservation.
To perform exploratory molecular analysis to identify new predictive and prognostic biomarkers for response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy, and bladder preservation. Blood, urine and tumor tissue for muscle invasive bladder cancer. Blood, urine and tumor tissue will be collected pre and post-neoadjuvant chemotherapy, post-cystectomy or chemoradiation, and at any time point of distant metastases.
Time frame: Up to 1 year Post-Treatment, About 2 years
| Milestone | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| Started | 1 |
| Completed | 0 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
Rate of failure free survival with intact bladder (FFSIB) at two years in subjects undergoing bladder preservation. FFSIB is defined by the absence of any failures (locoregional, distant metastasis, and death) and bladder preservation (no radical cystectomy for any causes) after definitive chemoradiation. FFSIB is defined as the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy to the date of documented failure events or radical cystectomy. For failure-free patients (without failure events and no radical cystectomy), FFSIB will be censored at the last date of documented failure-free bladder preservation (FFBP) status.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The two year rate of failure free survival (FFS) in study participants. This will include locoregional recurrence, and distant metastases. FFS is defined as absence of any failures (locoregional, distant metastasis, and death) during the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy to the date of documented failure events or radical cystectomy.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The rate of acute and late grade 2 or higher (CTCAE v4.0) treatment-related genitourinary (GU), gastrointestinal (GI) and hematologic toxicity of bladder preservation in study participants.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Rate of Overall Survival in Study Participants. Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time elapsed from the start of neoadjuvant chemotherapy until death. Surviving patients (including patients lost to follow up) will be censored at the date of last contact.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
To evaluate known predictive and prognostic biomarkers for complete response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy and bladder preservation. Blood, urine and tumor tissue will be collected pre- and post-neoadjuvant chemotherapy, post-cystectomy or chemoradiation, and at any time point of distant metastases.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
To perform exploratory molecular analysis to identify new predictive and prognostic biomarkers for response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy, and bladder preservation. Blood, urine and tumor tissue for muscle invasive bladder cancer. Blood, urine and tumor tissue will be collected pre and post-neoadjuvant chemotherapy, post-cystectomy or chemoradiation, and at any time point of distant metastases.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Collected over Up to 2 years Post-Treatment. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation | 0/1 (0%) | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| Event | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| BloatingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| PainGeneral disorders | 1/1 |
| White blood cell decreasedInvestigations | 1/1 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 1/1 |
| Mucositis/stomatitis (functional/symptomatic)Gastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 1 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| Female | 0 |
| Male | 1 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 1 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | TURBT, NAC and Chemoradiation |
|---|---|
| United States | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Ran from Jan 2016 to primary completion in Apr 2017, 15 months.
Results were first posted in Aug 2018, 1 year 4 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Aug 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.