CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02121418Updated Apr 13, 2018Results posted

Decitabine and Cytarabine in Treating Older Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia, High Risk Myelodysplastic Syndrome, or Myeloproliferative Neoplasm

An interventional study of Cytarabine and Decitabine in Chronic Myelomonocytic Leukemia-2, Myelodysplastic Syndrome and Myeloproliferative Neoplasm, sponsored by University of Washington. Completed at 9 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 60 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-04-13.

Sponsored by University of Washington · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
12
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
60 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This clinical trial studies decitabine and cytarabine in treating older patients with newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia, myelodysplastic syndrome that is likely to come back or spread to other places in the body, or myeloproliferative neoplasm. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as decitabine and cytarabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving decitabine and cytarabine may work better than standard therapies in treating cancers of the bone marrow and blood cells, such as acute myeloid leukemia, myelodysplastic syndrome, or myeloproliferative neoplasm.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Examine whether a combination of decitabine given for 10 days (days 1-10), rather than the usual 5 days, plus "standard dose cytarabine (ara-C) (100 mg/m\^2 daily days 1-7) might improve 6-month survival probability from the historical 65% to 80% in patients age >= 60 with newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia (AML).

II. Test whether this combination might maintain complete response (CR) rate at our historic 45% in these patients.

III. Study factors that lead physicians to escalate or maintain ara-C doses in those patients who have had an "intermediate response" short of CR to the first 2 cycles of the combination.

IV. While maintaining awareness of confounding covariates, examine the effect of such dose escalation on CR rate.

OUTLINE:

Patients receive decitabine intravenously (IV) daily on days 1-10 and cytarabine IV once daily (QD) on days 1-7. Treatment repeats every 28-35 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After course 3, patients achieving remission will receive 1-2 more courses of therapy at the same dose. Patients in remission with significant side effects will receive decitabine and cytarabine at decreased doses. Patients not achieving remission will not receive any more treatment.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up for 6 months and then periodically.

02

Conditions studied

  • Chronic Myelomonocytic Leukemia-2
  • Myelodysplastic Syndrome
  • Myeloproliferative Neoplasm
  • Untreated Adult Acute Myeloid Leukemia
03

In context

Leukemia

5,441 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia; 636 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 12 is below the median of 38 across 4,247 interventional studies indexed under Leukemia.

Browse Leukemia studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Washington is the lead sponsor of 1,397 studies on the registry; 225 are open to participants now.

Of its 154 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 132 (86%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
60 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Newly-diagnosed AML by World Health Organization (WHO) criteria (>= 20% myeloid blasts by morphology in either blood or marrow)
  • High-risk myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or myeloproliferative neoplasm (MPN) including chronic myelomonocytic leukemia 2 (CMML2) as defined by 10-19% myeloid blasts in either blood or marrow
  • Patients may have received azacitidine, decitabine, or lenalidomide but no "cytotoxic therapy" such as ara-C or anthracyclines; data suggest that failure to respond to azacitidine reduces probability of response to 3+7; hence in the interest of having a relatively homogeneous population, while patients who have received and failed azacitidine or decitabine will be eligible for this study, they will be analyzed separately from patients who have not received these drugs
  • Treatment related mortality (TRM) score \< 22.9; patients with TRM scores > 13.1, in whom the risk of death within 28 days of beginning induction therapy has averaged 41%, will preferentially be placed on protocol 2642
  • Provision of written informed consent
  • Note, unlike pharmaceutical company sponsored protocols eligibility is not conditioned on bilirubin, creatinine, or absence of other malignancy within the past 2-3 years; the TRM score incorporates creatinine and thus a high creatinine can in principle be offset by favorable values for the other covariates in the TRM score; bilirubin was not a covariate in the TRM; furthermore, in the doses we are using, dose adjustment of decitabine or ara-C is not indicated in the presence of renal or hepatic abnormalities; our broad eligibility criteria may increase the likelihood that our results will be generalizable; the inability to reproduce results of early phase AML studies has been a problem in the past
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
12 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (decitabine, cytarabine)

    Patients receive decitabine IV daily on days 1-10 and cytarabine IV QD on days 1-7. Treatment repeats every 28-35 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After course 3, patients achieving remission will receive 1-2 more courses of therapy at the same dose. Patients in remission with significant side effects will receive decitabine and cytarabine at decreased doses. Patients not achieving remission will not receive any more treatment.

    Drug: Cytarabine · Drug: Decitabine · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis

Interventions

  • DrugCytarabine

    Given IV

    Also known as: .beta.-Cytosine arabinoside, 1-.beta.-D-Arabinofuranosyl-4-amino-2(1H)pyrimidinone, 1-.beta.-D-Arabinofuranosylcytosine, 1-Beta-D-arabinofuranosyl-4-amino-2(1H)pyrimidinone, 1-Beta-D-arabinofuranosylcytosine, 1.beta.-D-Arabinofuranosylcytosine, 2(1H)-Pyrimidinone, 4-Amino-1-beta-D-arabinofuranosyl-, 2(1H)-Pyrimidinone, 4-amino-1.beta.-D-arabinofuranosyl-, Alexan, Ara-C, ARA-cell, Arabine, Arabinofuranosylcytosine, Arabinosylcytosine, Aracytidine, Aracytin, Aracytine, Beta-Cytosine Arabinoside, CHX-3311, Cytarabinum, Cytarbel, Cytosar, Cytosar-U, Cytosine Arabinoside, Cytosine-.beta.-arabinoside, Cytosine-beta-arabinoside, Erpalfa, Starasid, Tarabine PFS, U 19920, U-19920, Udicil, WR-28453

  • DrugDecitabine

    Given IV

    Also known as: 5-Aza-2'-deoxycytidine, Dacogen, Decitabine for Injection, Deoxyazacytidine, Dezocitidine

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Overall Survival of Patients Over Age 60 With Newly Diagnosed AML/High Risk MDS

    Compared to historical data of a completed Southwestern Oncology Group (SWOG) trial of azacitidine and gemtuzumab ozogamicin.

    Time frame: At 6 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Response Rate

    Rate of Complete Response or Complete Response with Incomplete Count Recovery

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

07

Results

Posted Apr 13, 2018

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
Started12
Completed12
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryOverall Survival of Patients Over Age 60 With Newly Diagnosed AML/High Risk MDS

Compared to historical data of a completed Southwestern Oncology Group (SWOG) trial of azacitidine and gemtuzumab ozogamicin.

Time frame:
At 6 months
Reported as:
Number · participants
Overall Survival of Patients Over Age 60 With Newly Diagnosed AML/High Risk MDS
participantsTreatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
Overall Survival of Patients Over Age 60 With Newly Diagnosed AML/High Risk MDS7
SecondaryResponse Rate

Rate of Complete Response or Complete Response with Incomplete Count Recovery

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Number · participants
Response Rate
participantsTreatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
Complete Respnose4
Complete Response with Incomplete Count Recovery3

Adverse events

Collected over 2 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)9/12 (75%)11/12 (91.7%)—
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 25
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
PneumoniaInfections and infestations6/12
Febrile NeutropeniaInfections and infestations4/12
Staph BacteremiaInfections and infestations2/12
Muscle WeaknessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/12
MRSA BacteremiaInfections and infestations1/12
HyponatremiaInvestigations1/12
HypertensionBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/12
HypokalemiaInvestigations1/12
Right cheek cellulitisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/12
Bacterial Liver AbscessHepatobiliary disorders1/12

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years0
>=65 years12
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
Female3
Male9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino9
Unknown or Not Reported2
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White8
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment (Decitabine, Cytarabine)
United States12
08

Study locations

9 sites
  • Bozeman Deaconess Hospital
    Bozeman, Montana 59715, United States
  • Kadlec Clinic Hematology and Oncology
    Kennewick, Washington 99336, United States
  • EvergreenHealth Medical Center
    Kirkland, Washington 98033, United States
  • Skagit Valley Hospital
    Mount Vernon, Washington 98274, United States
  • Olympic Medical Center
    Port Angeles, Washington 98362, United States
  • Group Health Cooperative
    Redmond, Washington 98052, United States
  • Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
  • Multicare Health System
    Tacoma, Washington 98415, United States
  • Wenatchee Valley Hospital and Clinics
    Wenatchee, Washington 98801, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 22, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 13, 2018, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02121418
Lead sponsor
University of Washington
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Pamela S Becker (Principal Investigator, University of Washington) — Principal investigator
First posted
Apr 23, 2014
Start date
Jun 2014
Primary completion
Feb 8, 2017
Completion
Feb 14, 2018
Results posted
Apr 13, 2018
Last update
Apr 13, 2018

Study contacts

Pamela Becker
principal investigator · Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion