A Phase 3 interventional study of Gonadorelin acetate subcutaneous (SC) 10 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump and Gonadorelin acetate SC 15 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump in Primary Amenorrhea With Hypogonadotropic Hypogonadism, sponsored by Ferring Pharmaceuticals. Completed at 35 sites in 2 countries. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 40 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-03-03.
Sponsored by Ferring Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
To compare the ovulation rate in women with primary amenorrhea with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism following pulsatile gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) treatment using the OmniPod pump versus placebo
345 studies on the registry are indexed under Hypogonadism; 43 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 39 is below the median of 56 across 260 interventional studies indexed under Hypogonadism.
Browse Hypogonadism studies →Ferring Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 244 studies on the registry; 4 are open to participants now.
Of its 14 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 13 (93%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Gonadorelin acetate 10 µg/pulse
Drug: Gonadorelin acetate subcutaneous (SC) 10 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump
Gonadorelin acetate 15 µg/pulse
Drug: Gonadorelin acetate SC 15 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump
Gonadorelin acetate 20 µg/pulse
Drug: Gonadorelin acetate SC 20 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump
Placebo
Drug: Placebo (SC 10, 15, or 20 μg/pulse as a fixed dose, administered via. OmniPod pump)
Also known as: LutrePulse
Also known as: LutrePulse
Also known as: LutrePulse
Ovulation Rate
Calculated as a proportion of subjects with at least 1 post-baseline progesterone level ≥ 6 ng/mL or subjects with confirmed positive serum β-human chorionic gonadotropin (β-hCG) (i.e., 2 positive results) or subjects with a gestational sac documented by transvaginal ultrasound (TVUS).
Time frame: From treatment Day 1 up to 4 weeks after second positive β-hCG test, approximately 9 weeks
Progesterone (P4) Levels
Proportion of participants with at least 1 post-baseline P4 level ≥ 10 ng/mL.
Time frame: Treatment Days 19, 21, 23, 25, and 27
Clinical Pregnancy Rate
Proportion of subjects with presence of gestational sac and fetal heart movement on TVUS after a second positive serum β-hCG test.
Time frame: 2 to 4 weeks after a second positive serum β-hCG test
Biochemical Pregnancy Rate
Proportion of subjects with a confirmed positive serum β-hCG test after luteinizing hormone (LH) surge.
Time frame: Approximately 14 days after LH surge
LH Surge Detection
Proportion of subjects with a positive detection of LH surge, based on a Clearblue test which began when follicles with a mean diameter ≥14 mm were documented on TVUS.
Time frame: Daily from Day 11 until first positive LH surge or until Day 39
Ovarian Follicular Development: Number of Follicles With a Mean Diameter Greater Than or Equal to (≥)14 mm
Number of follicles with a mean diameter ≥14 mm collected from Days 10 or 11, until LH surge or Day 21.
Time frame: From treatment Day 10 to treatment Day 21
Ovarian Follicular Development: Number of Dominant Follicles With a Mean Diameter of ≥18 mm
Number of dominant follicles with a mean diameter ≥18 mm collected from Days 10 or 11, until LH surge or Day 21.
Time frame: From treatment Day 10 to treatment Day 21
Luteal Phase Support: Maximum P4 Levels
Maximum of post-dose P4 levels collected on treatment Days 19 to 27 are presented.
Time frame: Treatment Days 19, 21, 23, 25, and 27
Luteal Phase Support: Mean P4 Levels
Mean of post-dose P4 levels collected on treatment Days 19 to 27 are presented.
Time frame: Median post-dose P4 values across Treatment Days 19, 21, 23, 25, and 27
Change From Baseline in Follicle-stimulating Hormone (FSH)
FSH change from baseline in relation to the first dose (pulse) on Day 1 and Day 10
Time frame: Baseline (pre-dose), Treatment Day 1, Treatment Day 10
Change From Baseline in LH
LH change from baseline in relation to first dose (pulse) on Day 1 and Day 10
Time frame: Baseline (pre-dose), Treatment Day 1, Treatment Day 10
Mean Serum FSH and LH Levels
Mean FSH and LH levels on Day 1 and Day 10.
Time frame: Treatment Days 1 and Day 10
Estradiol (E2) Serum Levels
E2 serum levels on Day 1 and Day 10.
Time frame: At treatment Day 1 and Day 10
Type, Intensity, and Frequency of Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a subject taking part in a clinical trial. Proportion of subjects with any AE (serious or non-serious) and intensity of AEs (classified as mild, moderate or severe) are presented.
Time frame: From treatment Day 1 to end-of-trial, approximately 10 weeks
Hematology, Clinical Chemistry, and Urinalysis
Proportion of subjects with markedly abnormal changes in hematology, clinical chemistry, and urinalysis.
Time frame: From treatment Day 1 to end-of-trial, approximately 10 weeks
Frequency and Severity of Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS)
Proportion of subjects reporting OHSS classified as mild, moderate, or severe.
Time frame: From treatment Day 1 to end-of-trial, approximately 10 weeks
A total of 24 sites randomized subjects to the trial between April 2014 and February 2018. The trial sites that randomized subjects to the trial were: 22 in the United States of America and 2 in Canada.
| Milestone | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 9 | 10 | 10 |
| Dosed | 10 | 9 | 10 | 10 |
| Completed | 9 | 9 | 10 | 10 |
| Not completed | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Subject missed multiple doses of imp | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Calculated as a proportion of subjects with at least 1 post-baseline progesterone level ≥ 6 ng/mL or subjects with confirmed positive serum β-human chorionic gonadotropin (β-hCG) (i.e., 2 positive results) or subjects with a gestational sac documented by transvaginal ultrasound (TVUS).
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Lutrepulse 15 μg/Pulse and 20 μg/Pulse Pooled | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ovulation Rate | 1 | 4 | 5 | 9 | 0 |
Proportion of participants with at least 1 post-baseline P4 level ≥ 10 ng/mL.
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Lutrepulse 15 μg/Pulse and 20 μg/Pulse Pooled | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Progesterone (P4) Levels | 1 | 4 | 3 | 7 | 0 |
Proportion of subjects with presence of gestational sac and fetal heart movement on TVUS after a second positive serum β-hCG test.
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Lutrepulse 15 μg/Pulse and 20 μg/Pulse Pooled | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical Pregnancy Rate | 0 | 2 | 5 | 7 | 0 |
Proportion of subjects with a confirmed positive serum β-hCG test after luteinizing hormone (LH) surge.
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Lutrepulse 15 μg/Pulse and 20 μg/Pulse Pooled | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemical Pregnancy Rate | 0 | 3 | 5 | 8 | 0 |
Proportion of subjects with a positive detection of LH surge, based on a Clearblue test which began when follicles with a mean diameter ≥14 mm were documented on TVUS.
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Lutrepulse 15 μg/Pulse and 20 μg/Pulse Pooled | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LH Surge Detection | 3 | 7 | 6 | 13 | 0 |
Number of follicles with a mean diameter ≥14 mm collected from Days 10 or 11, until LH surge or Day 21.
| follicles | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day 10 | 0.0 (0 to 2) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 12 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.5 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 15 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 18 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 1.0 (0 to 1) | 1.0 (0 to 2) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 21 | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
Number of dominant follicles with a mean diameter ≥18 mm collected from Days 10 or 11, until LH surge or Day 21.
| follicles | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day 10 | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 12 | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 15 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 18 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
| Day 21 | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 1) | 0.0 (0 to 0) | 0.0 (0 to 0) |
Maximum of post-dose P4 levels collected on treatment Days 19 to 27 are presented.
| ng/mL | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luteal Phase Support: Maximum P4 Levels | 0.40 (0.1 to 12.9) | 2.40 (0.4 to 18.5) | 8.00 (0.1 to 21.7) | 0.30 (0.1 to 0.4) |
Mean of post-dose P4 levels collected on treatment Days 19 to 27 are presented.
| ng/mL | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luteal Phase Support: Mean P4 Levels | 0.313 (0.10 to 8.06) | 1.440 (0.26 to 8.50) | 3.920 (0.10 to 14.80) | 0.233 (0.10 to 0.40) |
FSH change from baseline in relation to the first dose (pulse) on Day 1 and Day 10
| IU/L | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FSH (Day 1) | 1.30 (0.0 to 7.7) | 5.40 (0.0 to 9.9) | 2.70 (0.0 to 5.7) | 0.10 (0.0 to 0.6) |
| FSH (Day 10) | 0.04 (-0.8 to 0.8) | -0.04 (-0.3 to 0.4) | 0.04 (-0.7 to 0.6) | -0.01 (-0.1 to 0.1) |
LH change from baseline in relation to first dose (pulse) on Day 1 and Day 10
| IU/L | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day 1 | 1.85 (0.2 to 22.6) | 7.90 (0.4 to 23.6) | 5.15 (0.6 to 12.4) | 0.05 (-0.2 to 0.3) |
| Day 10 | 0.00 (-2.9 to 1.6) | 0.58 (-1.7 to 1.9) | 0.03 (-0.9 to 1.7) | 0.00 (-1.0 to 0.0) |
Mean FSH and LH levels on Day 1 and Day 10.
| IU/L | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FSH (Baseline) | 1.59 ± 1.793 | 1.47 ± 1.112 | 2.48 ± 2.235 | 1.35 ± 1.520 |
| FSH (Day 1) | 3.64 ± 4.010 | 6.20 ± 3.929 | 5.38 ± 2.565 | 1.52 ± 1.673 |
| FSH (Day 10) | 4.00 ± 1.495 | 5.07 ± 2.530 | 5.24 ± 1.124 | 1.67 ± 1.796 |
| LH (Baseline) | 0.54 ± 0.669 | 0.27 ± 0.179 | 0.93 ± 0.954 | 0.73 ± 1.063 |
| LH (Day 1) | 6.27 ± 9.507 | 8.82 ± 7.348 | 6.12 ± 3.745 | 0.79 ± 1.026 |
| LH (Day 10) | 4.12 ± 3.931 | 4.69 ± 2.692 | 4.07 ± 2.335 | 0.82 ± 1.037 |
E2 serum levels on Day 1 and Day 10.
| pmol/L | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day 1 (pre-dose) | 36.50 (36.5 to 169.0) | 88.00 (36.5 to 147.0) | 81.00 (36.5 to 92.0) | 122.50 (36.5 to 198.0) |
| Day 10 (pre-dose) | 106.00 (36.5 to 697.0) | 202.00 (84.0 to 499.0) | 136.00 (36.5 to 323.0) | 128.00 (36.5 to 224.0) |
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a subject taking part in a clinical trial. Proportion of subjects with any AE (serious or non-serious) and intensity of AEs (classified as mild, moderate or severe) are presented.
| Participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any AE | 5 | 3 | 4 | 4 |
| Non-serious AE | 5 | 3 | 4 | 4 |
| Serious AE | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intensity (Mild) | 5 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Intensity (Moderate) | 0 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Intensity (Severe) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
Proportion of subjects with markedly abnormal changes in hematology, clinical chemistry, and urinalysis.
| participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hematology | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Serum chemistry (Sodium, <=130 mmol/L) | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Urinalysis (Protein,mg/dL, -ve to +ve [post-dose]) | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Urinalysis (Specific Gravity <=1.005) | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
Proportion of subjects reporting OHSS classified as mild, moderate, or severe.
| participants | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frequency and Severity of Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Collected over Treatment-emergent AEs (TEAEs) occurred after the start of IMP administration and within 5 days after the last dose, or a pre-treatment AE or pre-existing medical conditioning the worsened in intensity after the start of IMP and within 5 days after the last dose. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 5/10 (50%) |
| LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | 0/8 (0%) | 0/8 (0%) | 3/8 (37.5%) |
| LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 4/10 (40%) |
| Placebo | 0/11 (0%) | 0/11 (0%) | 4/11 (36.4%) |
| Event | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breast tendernessReproductive system and breast disorders | 0/10 | 2/8 | 2/10 | 0/11 |
| Hot flushesVascular disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 2/10 | 0/11 |
| Abdominal pain lowerGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 0/10 | 0/11 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 1/10 | 0/11 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 1/10 | 1/8 | 0/10 | 0/11 |
| Mood swingsPsychiatric disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 1/10 | 0/11 |
| Adnexa uteri painReproductive system and breast disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 0/10 | 0/11 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/10 | 1/8 | 0/10 | 0/11 |
| Abdominal discomfortGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/8 | 1/10 | 0/11 |
| Abdominal distesionGastrointestinal disorders | 0/10 | 0/8 | 1/10 | 1/11 |
The intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set comprised all randomized subjects.
| Age, Continuous(years) | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 30.9 ± 4.20 | 29.6 ± 6.02 | 30.9 ± 5.67 | 29.5 ± 2.55 | 30.2 ± 4.63 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 10 | 9 | 10 | 10 | 39 |
| Male | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 9 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 7 | 7 | 9 | 7 | 30 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 4 |
| White | 9 | 7 | 7 | 8 | 31 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| BMI(kg/m^2) | LutrePulse 10 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 15 µg/Pulse | LutrePulse 20 µg/Pulse | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 29.41 ± 6.065 | 23.70 ± 4.567 | 26.53 ± 4.218 | 23.85 ± 3.953 | 25.93 ± 5.159 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Ferring Pharmaceuticals