A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Brentuximab Vedotin and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride in Recurrent Adult Hodgkin Lymphoma, Recurrent Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma and Refractory Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Completed at 116 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 13 Months to 30 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-10-28.
Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
This phase I/II trial studies the side effects and the best dose of brentuximab vedotin when given together with gemcitabine hydrochloride and to see how well they work in treating younger patients with Hodgkin lymphoma that has returned or does not respond to treatment. Monoclonal antibodies, such as brentuximab vedotin, may find cancer cells and help kill them. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine hydrochloride, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving brentuximab vedotin together with gemcitabine hydrochloride may kill more cancer cells.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To estimate the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and/or recommended Phase 2 dose of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine administered every three weeks to children with relapsed or primary refractory Hodgkin lymphoma (HL).
II. To define and describe the toxicities of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine administered on this schedule.
III. To determine the complete response (CR) rate after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin among patients with relapsed or refractory HL.
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To preliminarily define the antitumor activity of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine within the confines of a Phase 1 study.
II. To describe the overall response rate (ORR) after 4 cycles of therapy among patients with relapsed or refractory HL.
III. To describe the proportion of patients with HL able to mobilize an adequate yield of cluster of differentiation (CD) 34+ stem cells after gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin.
IV. To describe the relationship between disease response among patients with HL and changes in thymus and activation-regulated chemokine (TARC) during treatment, and to determine if specific micro ribonucleic acid (miRNA) profiles correlate with response to treatment.
V. To describe the frequency of the Fc gamma receptor IIIa (FcγRIIIa)-158 valine (V)/phenylalanine (F) polymorphism among patients who experience pulmonary toxicity on this protocol.
OUTLINE: This is a phase I, dose-escalation study of brentuximab vedotin followed by a phase II study. (Phase I completed as of amendment 4)
Patients receive brentuximab vedotin intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on day 1 and gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 100 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 more courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR after any course may go off protocol therapy for stem cell transplant.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months.
5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 46 is above the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.
Browse Lymphoma studies →National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.
Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
PARTS A AND B: Patients with Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) are eligible for both the phase 1 and 2 portions, if they are in one of the following categories:
Patients must have fully recovered from the acute toxic effects of all prior anti-cancer chemotherapy
A serum creatinine based on age/gender as follows:
Exclusion Criteria:
Concomitant medications
Prior therapy
Patients receive brentuximab vedotin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 100 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 more courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR after any course may go off protocol therapy for stem cell transplant.
Drug: Brentuximab Vedotin · Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride
Given IV
Also known as: ADC SGN-35, Adcetris, Anti-CD30 Antibody-Drug Conjugate SGN-35, Anti-CD30 Monoclonal Antibody-MMAE SGN-35, Anti-CD30 Monoclonal Antibody-Monomethylauristatin E SGN-35, cAC10-vcMMAE, SGN-35
Given IV
Also known as: dFdCyd, Difluorodeoxycytidine Hydrochloride, FF 10832, FF-10832, FF10832, Gemcitabine HCI, Gemzar, LY-188011, LY188011
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) for Brentuximab Vedotin
MTD was determined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) as assessed by National Cancer Institute (NCI) CTCAE v 4.0 during Cycle 1 of therapy. Gemcitabine was administered on days 1 and 8 of a 21 day cycle at a fixed dose. Brentuximab vedotin was investigated at a starting dose of 1.4 mg/kg administered on day 1 and escalated if tolerated.
Time frame: During cycle 1 of protocol therapy (21 days)
Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0
The number of eligible patients assigned to receive brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine that experienced CTC Version 4, grade 3 or higher adverse events during Phase 1 and Phase 2.
Time frame: 13 months from first dose
The Number of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory HL Who Achieved Complete Response (CR)
The number of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles. By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.
Time frame: After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapy
The Number of Patients Who Had Disease Response Assessed by Deauville Scales Among Those in Phase I With Dose Level 2.
The Deauville five-point scale was used to assess the number of participants with complete response (CR) and partial response (PR). A lower score indicates a better outcome. Scores of 1-3 represent CR and 4-5 represent PR.
Time frame: Up to 13 months from first dose
Percentage of Patients Who Achieved Overall Response (OR) as Measured by Complete Response (CR) and Partial Response (PR)
The percentage of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles.By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.
Time frame: After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapy
The Number of Patients Who Had Successful Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Collection
Successful PBSC collection was defined as a collection of more than 2x10\^6 CD34 positive cells.
Time frame: From 1 to 5 cycles
Plasma Level of Thymus and Activation-Regulated Chemokine (TARC)
Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
Time frame: From baseline to time prior to cycle 2
Correlation Between Micro Ribonucleic Acid (miRNA) and Disease Response to Protocol Treatment
Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
Time frame: From the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)
Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) Polymorphism
Among patients who received 1.8mg/kg dose, the frequency of the FcγRIIIa-158 V/F polymorphism are described.
Time frame: From the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)
| Milestone | Phase I, 1.4mg/kg | Phase I, 1.8mg/kg | Phase II, 1.8mg/kg |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 3 | 13 | 30 |
| Completed | 2 | 7 | 20 |
| Not completed | 1 | 6 | 10 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 0 | 5 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Ineligible | 0 | 0 | 1 |
MTD was determined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) as assessed by National Cancer Institute (NCI) CTCAE v 4.0 during Cycle 1 of therapy. Gemcitabine was administered on days 1 and 8 of a 21 day cycle at a fixed dose. Brentuximab vedotin was investigated at a starting dose of 1.4 mg/kg administered on day 1 and escalated if tolerated.
| mg/kg | Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride) |
|---|---|
| Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) for Brentuximab Vedotin | 1.8 |
The number of eligible patients assigned to receive brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine that experienced CTC Version 4, grade 3 or higher adverse events during Phase 1 and Phase 2.
| Participants | Dose 1.4mg/kg (Phase I) | Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II) |
|---|---|---|
| Abdominal pain | 0 | 1 |
| Adrenal insufficiency | 0 | 1 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increased | 1 | 13 |
| Anemia | 1 | 4 |
| Anorexia | 0 | 1 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increased | 1 | 10 |
| Dehydration | 0 | 1 |
| Dental caries | 0 | 1 |
| Diarrhea | 0 | 3 |
| Febrile neutropenia | 0 | 2 |
| GGT increased | 0 | 1 |
| Hemolytic uremic syndrome | 0 | 1 |
| Hypophosphatemia | 0 | 2 |
| Hypotension | 0 | 4 |
| Infections and infestations - Other- Specify | 0 | 1 |
| Investigations - Other- Specify | 0 | 1 |
| Lung infection | 0 | 2 |
| Lymphocyte count decreased | 3 | 8 |
| Myositis | 0 | 1 |
| Nausea | 0 | 2 |
| Neutrophil count decreased | 3 | 28 |
| Non-cardiac chest pain | 0 | 1 |
| Pain in extremity | 0 | 1 |
| Pericardial effusion | 0 | 1 |
| Platelet count decreased | 0 | 13 |
| Pneumonitis | 1 | 0 |
| Pruritus | 1 | 0 |
| Rash maculo-papular | 0 | 3 |
| Skin infection | 0 | 1 |
| Urinary tract infection | 0 | 1 |
| White blood cell decreased | 3 | 15 |
The number of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles. By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.
| Participants | Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride) |
|---|---|
| The Number of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory HL Who Achieved Complete Response (CR) | 28 |
The Deauville five-point scale was used to assess the number of participants with complete response (CR) and partial response (PR). A lower score indicates a better outcome. Scores of 1-3 represent CR and 4-5 represent PR.
| Participants | Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride) |
|---|---|
| The Number of Patients Who Had Disease Response Assessed by Deauville Scales Among Those in Phase I With Dose Level 2. | 8 |
The percentage of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles.By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.
| percentage of participants | Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride) |
|---|---|
| Percentage of Patients Who Achieved Overall Response (OR) as Measured by Complete Response (CR) and Partial Response (PR) | 74 (58 to 86) |
Successful PBSC collection was defined as a collection of more than 2x10\^6 CD34 positive cells.
| Participants | Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride) |
|---|---|
| The Number of Patients Who Had Successful Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Collection | 24 |
Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
| pg/ml | Dose 1.8mg/kg |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 5700 (389 to 18,667) |
| Prior to Cycle 2 | 668 (6 to 9,718) |
Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Among patients who received 1.8mg/kg dose, the frequency of the FcγRIIIa-158 V/F polymorphism are described.
| Participants | Dose 1.8mg/kg |
|---|---|
| Homozygous FF- Phenylalanine | 22 |
| Heterozygous FV- Valine/Phenylalanine | 14 |
| Homozygous VV- Valine | 5 |
Collected over From first dose up to 13 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dose1.4mg/kg | 2/3 (66.7%) | 3/3 (100%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Dose 1.8mg/kg | 2/42 (4.8%) | 37/42 (88.1%) | 28/42 (66.7%) |
| Event | Dose1.4mg/kg | Dose 1.8mg/kg |
|---|---|---|
| Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations | 3/3 | 8/42 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 3/3 | 28/42 |
| White blood cell decreasedInvestigations | 3/3 | 15/42 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/3 | 4/42 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/3 | 13/42 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/3 | 10/42 |
| PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/3 | 0/42 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/3 | 0/42 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 0/3 | 13/42 |
| HypotensionVascular disorders | 0/3 | 4/42 |
| Event | Dose1.4mg/kg | Dose 1.8mg/kg |
|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/3 | 9/42 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 3/3 | 5/42 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 2/3 | 8/42 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 2/3 | 8/42 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 2/3 | 9/42 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 2/3 | 10/42 |
| Weight gainInvestigations | 2/3 | 0/42 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/3 | 1/42 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 2/3 | 7/42 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/3 | 3/42 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg | Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 3 | 10 | 24 | 37 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 0 | 3 | 6 | 9 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg | Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 8 | 16 | 25 |
| Male | 2 | 5 | 14 | 21 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg | Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 2 | 9 | 11 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 11 | 20 | 34 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg | Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 2 | 6 | 8 |
| White | 3 | 10 | 19 | 32 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg | Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 3 | 13 | 28 | 44 |
| Canada | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
Showing the first 100 of 116 sites across 2 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
National Cancer Institute (NCI)