A Phase 4 interventional study of VIVITROL 380mg in Opioid Dependence, sponsored by Alkermes, Inc.. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2015-07-13.
Sponsored by Alkermes, Inc. · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment
This phase 4 study will evaluate the feasibility of initiating subjects on VIVITROL in prison and continuing VIVITROL upon release into the community.
This is an open-label study with a pre-post design. Pre-release opioid-dependent subjects from 4 Baltimore, MD area prisons (three for men and one for women) will receive 1 injection of VIVITROL prior to release from prison and will be offered 6 monthly injections of VIVITROL for 6 months post release. Subjects will complete follow-up visits 1 and 2 months after the last VIVITROL injection. Subjects will be assessed at 10 time points, and adherence to VIVITROL, both in prison and in the community, will be assessed.
1,411 studies on the registry are indexed under Opioid-Related Disorders; 290 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 27 is below the median of 63 across 1,123 interventional studies indexed under Opioid-Related Disorders.
Browse Opioid-Related Disorders studies →Alkermes, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 82 studies on the registry; 8 are open to participants now.
Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (56%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
380 mg IM injection
Drug: VIVITROL 380mg
380 mg IM injection given once monthly
Incidence of Subject Re-arrest
Subjects were considered to have had a re-arrest for any new crime or probation/parole violation if the subject had re-arrest records in the official criminal justice records and/or via self-report.
Time frame: 7 months
Incidence of Subject Re-incarceration
Subjects were considered to have had a re-incarceration, a sentence to jail and/or prison, if the subject had re-incarceration records in the official criminal justice records and/or via self-report.
Time frame: 7 months
Opioid Use
Opioid use was obtained via self-report on the Addiction Severity Index (ASI) or via a urine drug test.
Time frame: 7 months
Opioid Overdose
Number of subjects who overdosed during the study; measured through reported AEs of "overdose" and Opiate Overdose Form. The Form asks subjects if subjects overdosed during the past 30 days and, if so, how many times.
Time frame: 7 months
Drug Abuse Treatment Program Entry
Number of subjects who participated in a drug treatment program during the study; assessed by review of Treatment Services Form.
Time frame: 7 months
Retention in the Community
Number of subjects who received all 6 post-release VIVITROL injections
Time frame: 6 months
Opioid Craving
Change from baseline in peak craving score 30 days post last injection; assessed using a 100 mm visual analog scale (VAS). Subjects are asked to make 1 slash mark through a point on a 100 mm line that best describes their greatest craving for opioids, whereby 0 represents no craving and 100 is more than ever.
Time frame: 8 months
Opioid Dependence
Meeting Diagnostic Statistical Manual, version IV, text revision (DSM-IV-TR) criteria for opioid dependence
Time frame: 7 months
Cocaine Use
Number of subjects who used cocaine during the study; assessed using the Addiction Severity Index (ASI) and urine drug tests
Time frame: 6 months
Criminal Activity
Number of subjects who conducted any criminal activity during the study; assessed by review of criminal justice records and completion of the ASI and supplemental questionnaires
Time frame: 6 months
Pre-release opioid-dependent subjects from 4 Baltimore, MD area prisons (3 for men and 1 for women) received 1 injection of VIVITROL prior to release from prison and were offered 6 monthly injections of VIVITROL after release from prison, for a total of 7 injections.
| Milestone | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Started | 27 |
| Completed | 9 |
| Not completed | 18 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 7 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 3 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 5 |
| Withdrew: Incarcerated | 2 |
Subjects were considered to have had a re-arrest for any new crime or probation/parole violation if the subject had re-arrest records in the official criminal justice records and/or via self-report.
| participants re-arrested | <7 Injections | All 7 Injections |
|---|---|---|
| Incidence of Subject Re-arrest | 6 | 2 |
Subjects were considered to have had a re-incarceration, a sentence to jail and/or prison, if the subject had re-incarceration records in the official criminal justice records and/or via self-report.
| participants re-incarcerated | <7 Injections | All 7 Injections |
|---|---|---|
| Incidence of Subject Re-incarceration | 5 | 2 |
Opioid use was obtained via self-report on the Addiction Severity Index (ASI) or via a urine drug test.
| participants with positive opioid use | <7 Injections | All 7 Injections |
|---|---|---|
| Opioid Use | 11 | 2 |
Number of subjects who overdosed during the study; measured through reported AEs of "overdose" and Opiate Overdose Form. The Form asks subjects if subjects overdosed during the past 30 days and, if so, how many times.
| participants who overdosed | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Opioid Overdose | 1 |
Number of subjects who participated in a drug treatment program during the study; assessed by review of Treatment Services Form.
| participants who entered drug treatment | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Drug Abuse Treatment Program Entry | 24 |
Number of subjects who received all 6 post-release VIVITROL injections
| participants received all 7 injections | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Retention in the Community | 10 |
Change from baseline in peak craving score 30 days post last injection; assessed using a 100 mm visual analog scale (VAS). Subjects are asked to make 1 slash mark through a point on a 100 mm line that best describes their greatest craving for opioids, whereby 0 represents no craving and 100 is more than ever.
| units on a scale | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Actual Value | 21.0 ± 33.4 |
| Change from Baseline | -11.0 ± 47.4 |
Meeting Diagnostic Statistical Manual, version IV, text revision (DSM-IV-TR) criteria for opioid dependence
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Number of subjects who used cocaine during the study; assessed using the Addiction Severity Index (ASI) and urine drug tests
| participants who used cocaine | <7 Injections | All 7 Injections |
|---|---|---|
| Cocaine Use | 5 | 0 |
Number of subjects who conducted any criminal activity during the study; assessed by review of criminal justice records and completion of the ASI and supplemental questionnaires
| participants with criminal activity | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Criminal Activity | 18 |
Collected over Data were collected during a 9-month time frame. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| VIVITROL | — | 6/27 (22.2%) | 26/27 (96.3%) |
| Event | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Anaphylactic reactionImmune system disorders | 1/27 |
| HypersensitivityImmune system disorders | 1/27 |
| Abscess limbInfections and infestations | 1/27 |
| DepressionPsychiatric disorders | 1/27 |
| Psychotic disorderPsychiatric disorders | 1/27 |
| Schizophrenia, paranoid typePsychiatric disorders | 1/27 |
| CellulitisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/27 |
| Event | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| NasopharyngitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 12/27 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 11/27 |
| DepressionPsychiatric disorders | 8/27 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 7/27 |
| Blood glucose increasedInvestigations | 5/27 |
| Platelet count increasedInvestigations | 5/27 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 5/27 |
| LymphadenopathyBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 4/27 |
| Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders | 4/27 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 4/27 |
All subjects who received at least 1 injection of VIVITROL
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 27 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Mean | 39.9 ± 8.3 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Female | 11 |
| Male | 16 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 27 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 23 |
| White | 4 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | VIVITROL |
|---|---|
| United States | 27 |
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2015. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Alkermes, Inc.