A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Mifepristone and Placebo in Endocrine Disease and Diabetes, sponsored by Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 35 Years to 70 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-04-14.
Sponsored by Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
Background:
Objectives:
Eligibility:
Design:
The hormone cortisol is a key regulator of metabolism that influences the use of glucose (sugar) and fat as fuels. Persistently increased cortisol levels, as in Cushing s syndrome, lead to obesity, type 2 diabetes mellitus and lipid abnormalities including elevated triglyceride levels and low high-density lipoprotein (HDL) levels. These same disorders are also present in patients without Cushing s syndrome, suggesting that cortisol may be involved in their pathogenesis. Mifepristone is a cortisol-like drug that blocks cortisol action in the body. It can reverse lipid abnormalities, diabetes and obesity in Cushing s syndrome patients but its effects on these conditions have not been tested in patients without the syndrome.
The long-term aim of this clinical trial is to evaluate the ability of mifepristone to reverse or improve glucose intolerance, dyslipidemia, hypertension and weight gain. An initial 7-day prospective, randomized, placebo-controlled, crossover study is proposed here to look at the effect of short-term administration of oral mifepristone or placebo on glucose intolerance. Given that there are no human data available on the effect of mifepristone on insulin sensitivity, this will be a pilot study of 15 subjects. Data from this study will then be used to design a larger trial to evaluate long-term effects on blood pressure and weight, as well as glucose and triglyceride control.
Overweight or obese subjects with abnormal glucose tolerance will undergo each of the two treatments in a randomized order, including mifepristone by mouth and a look-alike inert tablet by mouth. Each treatment study will include two or three days of baseline tests that will be repeated after seven days of treatment. Treatments will be separated by at least six and no more than eight weeks. The tests will include blood drawing, urine collection, administration of glucose and insulin by vein, and a cortisol-like material to evaluate the metabolism of cortisol and a related hormone, corticosterone.
3,670 studies on the registry are indexed under Overweight; 849 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 19 is below the median of 73 across 3,175 interventional studies indexed under Overweight.
Browse Overweight studies →Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) is the lead sponsor of 416 studies on the registry; 25 are open to participants now.
Of its 13 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 10 (77%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Men and women 35 - 70 years of age
Subjects will have either impaired fasting glucose (greater than or equal to 100 mg/dL) or a 2-hour glucose value greater than or equal to 140 mg/dl during an oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT).
OR
Mild diabetes defined as patients with a Hemoglobin A1C (HbA1C) less than or equal to 7% on no medications (diet-controlled) or on a stable dose of metformin and no other hypoglycemic agents for greater than or equal to 3 months before study entry.
EXCLUSION CRITERIA:
Participants first received Mifepristone 50mg tablet every six hours for nine days. After a washout period of no fewer than 6 but no more than 8 weeks, they then received Placebo tablet (matching mifepristone 50 mg) every six hours for nine days.
Drug: Mifepristone · Drug: Placebo
Participants first received Placebo tablet (matching mifepristone 50 mg) every six hours for nine days. After a washout period of no fewer than 6 but no more than 8 weeks, they then received Mifepristone 50 mg tablet every six hours for nine days.
Drug: Mifepristone · Drug: Placebo
Mifepristone 50mg tablet by mouth every six hours for nine days.
Also known as: 55245, 11β-[p-(Dimethylamino)phenyl]-17α-(1-propynyl)estra-4,9-dien-17β-ol-3-one
Placebo (matching mifepristone 50mg tablet) by mouth every six hours for nine days.
Also known as: inert look-alike tablet
Change in Insulin Sensitivity Index
insulin sensitivity index based on the effect of insulin on glucose during frequently sampled intravenous glucose tolerance test (FSIVGTT)
Time frame: Nine days
Change in Fasting Plasma Glucose
fasting plasma glucose after study agent compared to baseline
Time frame: Nine days
Change in Fasting Insulin Levels
Fasting insulin after study agent administration compared to baseline
Time frame: 9 days
Homeostatic Model Assessment of Insulin Resistance (HOMA-IR)
HOMA-IR is an index of insulin resistance, measured as glucose in mmol/L x insulin in mIU/mL)/22.5. HOMA-IR \> 2.5 indicates insulin resistance.
Time frame: 9 days
Adipose-tissue Insulin Resistance Index (Adipo-IR)
The adipose tissue insulin resistance index (Adipo-IR), a surrogate measure for fasting adipose-tissue insulin resistance, was calculated as the product of fasting insulin and fasting free fatty acids (FFA)
Time frame: 9 days
Adipose-tissue Insulin Sensitivity Index (Adipo-SI)
The Adipo-SI was calculated as ratio of the slope of the linear decrease in natural log transformed FFA \[Ln (FFA) slope\] during the first 90 minutes of the FSIVGTT and the area under the curve (AUC) of insulin during that 90-minute period (AUC Insulin 0-90 min).
Time frame: 9 days
Subjects were recruited to the study by advertisements and fliers. Sixty-three adults were evaluated at the single study site (the NIH Clinical Center) after providing informed consent. The first subject consented on November 11, 2011 and the final subject consented on April 16, 2015.
| Milestone | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 9 | 10 |
| Completed | 8 | 8 |
| Not completed | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Could not maintain iv line | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 1 |
insulin sensitivity index based on the effect of insulin on glucose during frequently sampled intravenous glucose tolerance test (FSIVGTT)
| min-1·μU·ml-1 | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Insulin Sensitivity Index | 1.49 ± 1.17 | 1.41 ± 0.87 |
fasting plasma glucose after study agent compared to baseline
| mg/dL | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Fasting Plasma Glucose | 100.4 ± 5.3 | 107.8 ± 15.7 |
Fasting insulin after study agent administration compared to baseline
| pmol/L | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Fasting Insulin Levels | 95.6 ± 76.1 | 142.8 ± 102.2 |
HOMA-IR is an index of insulin resistance, measured as glucose in mmol/L x insulin in mIU/mL)/22.5. HOMA-IR \> 2.5 indicates insulin resistance.
| units on a scale | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Homeostatic Model Assessment of Insulin Resistance (HOMA-IR) | 3.58 ± 3.27 | 5.78 ± 4.92 |
The adipose tissue insulin resistance index (Adipo-IR), a surrogate measure for fasting adipose-tissue insulin resistance, was calculated as the product of fasting insulin and fasting free fatty acids (FFA)
| mmol/l·μU/l | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Adipose-tissue Insulin Resistance Index (Adipo-IR) | 49.9 ± 45.9 | 65.5 ± 43.8 |
The Adipo-SI was calculated as ratio of the slope of the linear decrease in natural log transformed FFA \[Ln (FFA) slope\] during the first 90 minutes of the FSIVGTT and the area under the curve (AUC) of insulin during that 90-minute period (AUC Insulin 0-90 min).
| ln(mmol /uU/mL*min)*10^8 | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Adipose-tissue Insulin Sensitivity Index (Adipo-SI) | 61.7 ± 32.9 | 42.8 ± 23.9 |
Collected over Subjects returned for safety labs and discussion of any adverse events on approximately day 19 and day 33 after discontinuation of study agents.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Post-mifepristone | 0/16 (0%) | 0/16 (0%) | 0/16 (0%) |
| Post-placebo | 0/16 (0%) | 0/16 (0%) | 2/16 (12.5%) |
| Event | Post-mifepristone | Post-placebo |
|---|---|---|
| abnormal blood chemistryHepatobiliary disorders | 0/16 | 2/16 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 56.6 ± 6.5 | 52.8 ± 8.9 | 54.7 ± 7.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| Male | 4 | 5 | 9 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 7 | 8 | 15 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 3 | 4 | 7 |
| White | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 8 | 8 | 16 |
| Weight(kg) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 92.8 ± 15.8 | 102 ± 15.9 | 97.2 ± 16.0 |
| Body mass index(kg/M^2) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 30.8 ± 4.12 | 34.0 ± 2.37 | 32.4 ± 4.12 |
| systolic blood pressure(mmHg) | Mifepristone, Then Placebo | Placebo, Then Mifepristone | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 124 ± 16.1 | 133 ± 10.5 | 128 ± 13.9 |
10 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Upon reasonable request, individual participant data will be shared with other investigators
Supporting information: Csr
This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)