A Phase 3 interventional study of Bevacizumab and Carboplatin in Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma, Fallopian Tube Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma and Fallopian Tube Endometrioid Adenocarcinoma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Active, not recruiting at 709 sites in 3 countries. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-12-30.
Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This randomized phase III trial studies carboplatin, paclitaxel and gemcitabine hydrochloride when given together with or without bevacizumab after surgery to see how well it works in treating patients with ovarian, epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer that has come back. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, paclitaxel and gemcitabine hydrochloride work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as bevacizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective when given with or without bevacizumab after surgery in treating patients with ovarian, epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To determine if surgical secondary cytoreduction in addition to adjuvant chemotherapy increases the duration of overall survival in patients with recurrent platinum sensitive epithelial ovarian cancer, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube cancer.
II. To determine if the addition of bevacizumab to the second-line and maintenance phases of treatment increases the duration of overall survival relative to second-line paclitaxel and carboplatin alone in patients with recurrent platinum sensitive epithelial ovarian cancer, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube cancer.
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To determine if the addition of bevacizumab to the second-line and maintenance phase of treatment increases the duration of progression-free survival relative to second-line paclitaxel and carboplatin alone in patients with recurrent platinum sensitive epithelial ovarian cancer, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube cancer.
II. To prospectively determine the incidence of carboplatin and paclitaxel hypersensitivity in these patients undergoing retreatment with both agents as first recurrence therapy.
III. To determine if surgical secondary cytoreduction in addition to adjuvant chemotherapy increases quality of life (QOL) in patients with recurrent platinum-sensitive epithelial ovarian cancer, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube cancer, as measured by the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Ovarian (FACT-O) trial outcome index and Rand Short Form (SF)-36 physical functioning scale.
IV. To determine if the addition of bevacizumab to the second-line and maintenance phases of treatment increases QOL relative to second-line paclitaxel and carboplatin alone in patients with recurrent platinum-sensitive epithelial ovarian, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube cancer.
TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH OBJECTIVES:
I. To define molecular and biochemical profiles associated with the duration of progression-free survival in platinum-sensitive recurrent ovarian, peritoneal primary or fallopian tube carcinoma treated with combination chemotherapy with or without bevacizumab followed with or without maintenance bevacizumab therapy in the presence or absence of secondary surgical cytoreduction.
II. To identify molecular determinants that predict sensitivity or resistance to carboplatin and paclitaxel with or without bevacizumab followed with or without maintenance bevacizumab therapy.
III. To bank deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) from whole blood for research and evaluate the association between single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) and measures of clinical outcome including overall survival, progression-free survival and adverse events.
OUTLINE: Patients are assigned to 1 of 4 treatment groups. Patients who are not candidates for surgical cytoreduction (i.e., those for whom complete cytoreduction in the estimation of the investigator is impossible or a medical infirmity precludes exploration and debulking) are eligible to receive chemotherapy after randomization.
Patients who are eligible for surgery undergo abdominal exploration with cytoreduction. Patients are then randomized to 1 of 4 treatment arms.
ARM I: Patients receive paclitaxel intravenously (IV) over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 60 minutes on day 1.
ARM II: Patients receive chemotherapy as in Arm I and bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1.
ARM III: Patients receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 60 minutes on days 1 and 8 and carboplatin as in Arm I.
ARM IV: Patients receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV as in Arm III, bevacizumab IV and carboplatin IV as in Arm II.
In all arms, courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients with measurable disease achieving a clinical response (CR) receive 6-8 courses of therapy. Patients with stable disease or partial regression receive a maximum of 8 courses.
Patients without measurable lesions as determined by a computed tomography (CT) scan prior to initiating study treatment continue therapy for 6 courses or, if cancer antigen (CA)-125 normalizes, for 2 courses beyond CA-125 normalization, whichever is greater. Patients in Arm II then receive a maintenance regimen comprising bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes. Treatment with bevacizumab alone repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then yearly for 5 years.
83 studies on the registry are indexed under Adenocarcinoma, Clear Cell; 12 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1,052 is above the median of 44 across 74 interventional studies indexed under Adenocarcinoma, Clear Cell.
Browse Adenocarcinoma, Clear Cell studies →National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.
Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
This criterion applies only to the patients enrolled before August 29, 2011 and those enrolled after this date electing to receive bevacizumab; patients with clinically significant cardiovascular disease; this includes:
Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days.
Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Docetaxel · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Paclitaxel · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment
Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I and bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days.
Biological: Bevacizumab · Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Docetaxel · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Paclitaxel · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment
Patients receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 60 minutes on days 1 and 8 and carboplatin as in Arm I.
Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment
Patients receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV as in Arm III, bevacizumab IV and carboplatin IV as in Arm II.
Biological: Bevacizumab · Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment
Given IV
Also known as: ABP 215, ABP-215, ABP215, Alymsys, Anti-VEGF, Anti-VEGF Humanized Monoclonal Antibody, Anti-VEGF Monoclonal Antibody SIBP04, Anti-VEGF rhuMAb, Avastin, Avzivi, Aybintio, BAT 1706, BAT-1706, BAT1706, BAT1706 Biosimilar, Bevacizumab awwb, Bevacizumab Biosimilar ABP 215, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BAT1706, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BEVZ92, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BI 695502, Bevacizumab Biosimilar CBT 124, Bevacizumab Biosimilar CT-P16, Bevacizumab Biosimilar FKB238, Bevacizumab Biosimilar GB-222, Bevacizumab Biosimilar HD204, Bevacizumab Biosimilar HLX04, Bevacizumab Biosimilar IBI305, Bevacizumab Biosimilar LY01008, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MB02, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MIL60, Bevacizumab Biosimilar Mvasi, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MYL-1402O, Bevacizumab Biosimilar QL 1101, Bevacizumab Biosimilar QL1101, Bevacizumab Biosimilar RPH-001, Bevacizumab Biosimilar SCT501, Bevacizumab Biosimilar Zirabev, Bevacizumab-adcd, Bevacizumab-awwb, Bevacizumab-aybi, Bevacizumab-bvzr, Bevacizumab-equi, Bevacizumab-maly, Bevacizumab-onbe, Bevacizumab-tnjn, BP102, BP102 Biosimilar, CT P16, CT-P16, CTP16, Equidacent, FKB 238, FKB-238, FKB238, HD204, Immunoglobulin G1 (Human-Mouse Monoclonal rhuMab-VEGF Gamma-Chain Anti-Human Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor), Disulfide With Human-Mouse Monoclonal rhuMab-VEGF Light Chain, Dimer, MB 02, MB-02, MB02, Mvasi, MYL-1402O, Onbevzi, Oyavas, PF 06439535, PF-06439535, PF06439535, QL1101, Recombinant Humanized Anti-VEGF Monoclonal Antibody, rhuMab-VEGF, SCT501, SIBP 04, SIBP-04, SIBP04, Vegzelma, Zirabev
Given IV
Also known as: Blastocarb, Carboplat, Carboplatin Hexal, Carboplatino, Carboplatinum, Carbosin, Carbosol, Carbotec, CBDCA, Displata, Ercar, JM-8, JM8, Nealorin, Novoplatinum, Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ, Paraplatine, Platinwas, Ribocarbo
Given IV
Also known as: Docecad, RP 56976, RP-56976, RP56976, Taxotere, Taxotere Injection Concentrate
Given IV
Also known as: dFdCyd, Difluorodeoxycytidine Hydrochloride, Gemcitabine HCI, Gemzar, LY 188011, LY-188011, LY188011
Correlative studies
Given IV
Also known as: Anzatax, Asotax, Bristaxol, Praxel, Taxol, Taxol Konzentrat
Ancillary studies
Also known as: Quality of Life Assessment
To Determine if Surgical Secondary Cytoreduction in Addition to Adjuvant Chemotherapy Increases the Duration of Overall Survival in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up)
To Determine if the Addition of Bevacizumab Increases the Duration of Overall Survival Relative to Second-line Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Alone in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up).
Progression-free Survival (Chemotherapy Analysis)
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
Time frame: Radiographic assessment of disease was conducted during chemotherapy and then every 6 months during the maintenance / surveillance phase
Progression Free Survival (Surgery Analysis)
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
Time frame: Radiographic assessment of disease (in patients with measurable and non-measurable disease) was conducted Every three months for two years and then every 6 months after completion of chemotherapy during the maintenance/surveillance phase.
Summary of Adverse Events (CTCAE Version 4.0)
Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))
Time frame: During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months
Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
Time frame: 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
Time frame: 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
Time frame: 1. Prior to surgery, 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery, 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery.
Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
Time frame: 1. Prior to surgery (baseline), 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery
At the beginning of the study participants could be randomized to chemotherapy. On August 29, 2011 randomization to chemotherapy ended and participants could only be randomized to surgery.
| Milestone | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 316 | 456 | 33 | 165 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 37 |
| Randomized - yes surgery | 0 | 0 | 33 | 165 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 37 |
| Randomized - no surgery | 33 | 172 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 34 | 0 | 0 |
| Not surgical candidate | 283 | 284 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 313 | 454 | 31 | 154 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 35 |
| Not completed | 3 | 2 | 2 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Milestone | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 316 | 456 | 33 | 165 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 37 |
| Randomized to chemo | 310 | 311 | 27 | 26 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Pre-specified chemo | 6 | 145 | 6 | 139 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 37 |
| Completed | 307 | 433 | 30 | 129 | 6 | 31 | 5 | 34 |
| Not completed | 9 | 23 | 3 | 36 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Never initiated chemotherapy | 9 | 9 | 3 | 18 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Still on chemotherapy | 0 | 14 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
| Months | No Cytoreductive Surgery | Cytoreductive Surgery |
|---|---|---|
| To Determine if Surgical Secondary Cytoreduction in Addition to Adjuvant Chemotherapy Increases the Duration of Overall Survival in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer | 64.7 (54.5 to 73.9) | 50.6 (44.2 to 59.7) |
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
| Months | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab |
|---|---|---|
| To Determine if the Addition of Bevacizumab Increases the Duration of Overall Survival Relative to Second-line Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Alone in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer | 37.3 (32.6 to 39.7) | 42.2 (37.7 to 46.2) |
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
| Months | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (Chemotherapy Analysis) | 10.4 (9.7 to 11.0) | 13.8 (13.0 to 14.7) |
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
| Months | No Cytoreductive Surgery | Cytoreductive Surgery |
|---|---|---|
| Progression Free Survival (Surgery Analysis) | 16.2 (14.2 to 19.6) | 18.9 (16.8 to 21.0) |
Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))
| Participants | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summary of Adverse Events (CTCAE Version 4.0) | 304 | 376 | 29 | 77 | 3 | 9 | 3 | 9 |
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
| score on a scale | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab |
|---|---|---|
| Prior to cycle 1 (baseline) | 75.8 ± 0.8 | 75.3 ± 0.9 |
| Prior to cycle 3 | 74.2 ± 1.0 | 73.4 ± 0.9 |
| Prior to cycle 6 | 73.3 ± 1.0 | 72.3 ± 1.0 |
| 6 months post cycle 1 | 77.1 ± 1.0 | 77.2 ± 1.0 |
| 12 months post cycle 1 | 77.0 ± 1.1 | 77.8 ± 1.0 |
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
| score on a scale | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy | Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab |
|---|---|---|
| Prior to cycle 1 (baseline) | 71.5 ± 1.6 | 69.4 ± 1.7 |
| Prior to cycle 3 | 73.2 ± 2.1 | 69.8 ± 2.1 |
| Prior to cycle 6 | 71.5 ± 2.2 | 64.6 ± 2.2 |
| 6 months post cycle 1 | 71.6 ± 2.2 | 70.2 ± 2.1 |
| 12 months post cycle 1 | 71.8 ± 2.2 | 70.7 ± 2.2 |
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
| score on a scale | No Cytoreductive Surgery | Cytoreductive Surgery |
|---|---|---|
| Prior to surgery | 74.5 ± 1.0 | 74.2 ± 1.0 |
| 6 weeks post-surgery | 69.3 ± 1.3 | 68.4 ± 1.3 |
| 15 weeks post-surgery | 68.7 ± 1.3 | 68.8 ± 1.3 |
| 6 months post-surgery | 72.6 ± 1.3 | 73.5 ± 1.3 |
| 12 months post-surgery | 74.0 ± 1.4 | 75.6 ± 1.3 |
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
| score on a scale | No Cytoreductive Surgery | Cytoreductive Surgery |
|---|---|---|
| Prior to surgery (baseline) | 73.4 ± 2.3 | 71.7 ± 2.3 |
| 6 weeks post-surgery | 73.2 ± 2.1 | 69.8 ± 2.1 |
| 15 weeks post-surgery | 71.5 ± 2.2 | 64.6 ± 2.2 |
| 6 months post-surgery | 71.6 ± 2.2 | 70.2 ± 2.1 |
| 12 months post-surgery | 71.8 ± 2.2 | 70.7 ± 2.2 |
Collected over During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | 253/316 (80.1%) | 37/316 (11.7%) | 304/316 (96.2%) |
| Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | 299/456 (65.6%) | 104/456 (22.8%) | 376/456 (82.5%) |
| Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | 28/33 (84.8%) | 1/33 (3%) | 29/33 (87.9%) |
| Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | 56/165 (33.9%) | 24/165 (14.5%) | 77/165 (46.7%) |
| Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | 4/6 (66.7%) | 0/6 (0%) | 3/6 (50%) |
| Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | 14/34 (41.2%) | 1/34 (2.9%) | 9/34 (26.5%) |
| Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | 4/5 (80%) | 2/5 (40%) | 3/5 (60%) |
| Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | 21/37 (56.8%) | 2/37 (5.4%) | 9/37 (24.3%) |
| Event | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allergic Reaction/HypersensitivityImmune system disorders | 1/316 | 8/456 | 0/33 | 2/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 1/5 | 0/37 |
| Obstruction, Gi - ColonGastrointestinal disorders | 0/316 | 0/456 | 0/33 | 1/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 1/5 | 0/37 |
| Febrile NeutropeniaInfections and infestations | 7/316 | 14/456 | 0/33 | 3/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| Infection - OtherInfections and infestations | 0/316 | 1/456 | 1/33 | 0/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| Thrombosis/Thrombus/EmbolismVascular disorders | 4/316 | 6/456 | 0/33 | 1/165 | 0/6 | 1/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| Perforation, Gi - ColonGastrointestinal disorders | 0/316 | 1/456 | 0/33 | 0/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 1/37 |
| Inf Unknown Anc: Catheter-RelatedInfections and infestations | 0/316 | 1/456 | 0/33 | 0/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 1/37 |
| Obstruction, Gi - Small Bowel NosGastrointestinal disorders | 1/316 | 6/456 | 0/33 | 1/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| Pain: Abdominal Pain NosGeneral disorders | 0/316 | 5/456 | 0/33 | 0/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| NeutrophilsBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 3/316 | 4/456 | 0/33 | 1/165 | 0/6 | 0/34 | 0/5 | 0/37 |
| Event | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NeutrophilsBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 282/316 | 363/456 | 28/33 | 72/165 | 3/6 | 7/34 | 3/5 | 8/37 |
| HemoglobinBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 279/316 | 316/456 | 29/33 | 67/165 | 3/6 | 9/34 | 3/5 | 9/37 |
| LeukocytesBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 276/316 | 350/456 | 28/33 | 67/165 | 3/6 | 9/34 | 3/5 | 9/37 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 245/316 | 297/456 | 25/33 | 48/165 | 2/6 | 5/34 | 3/5 | 5/37 |
| Hair Loss/Alopecia (Scalp Or Body)Skin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 245/316 | 289/456 | 21/33 | 47/165 | 2/6 | 3/34 | 1/5 | 2/37 |
| Neuropathy-SensoryNervous system disorders | 237/316 | 272/456 | 18/33 | 55/165 | 3/6 | 4/34 | 1/5 | 5/37 |
| PlateletsBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 173/316 | 264/456 | 22/33 | 52/165 | 3/6 | 7/34 | 3/5 | 8/37 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 167/316 | 193/456 | 20/33 | 39/165 | 2/6 | 2/34 | 1/5 | 3/37 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 182/316 | 223/456 | 19/33 | 42/165 | 1/6 | 3/34 | 1/5 | 6/37 |
| Pain: Abdominal Pain NosGeneral disorders | 84/316 | 127/456 | 16/33 | 36/165 | 2/6 | 2/34 | 1/5 | 4/37 |
All patients enrolled
| Age, Continuous(years) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 60.9 ± 10.0 | 59.0 ± 10.3 | 58.7 ± 10.0 | 57.1 ± 10.5 | 72.1 ± 7.4 | 58.7 ± 8.2 | 60.7 ± 9.3 | 61.1 ± 9.5 | 59.4 ± 10.2 |
| Age, Customized(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| < 40 years | 4 | 14 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 25 |
| 40 - 49 years | 40 | 68 | 6 | 37 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 6 | 164 |
| 50 - 59 years | 102 | 170 | 11 | 57 | 1 | 14 | 1 | 9 | 365 |
| 60 - 69 years | 111 | 143 | 10 | 44 | 0 | 12 | 2 | 13 | 335 |
| 70 - 79 years | 52 | 54 | 6 | 19 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 9 | 148 |
| ≥ 80 years | 7 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 316 | 456 | 33 | 165 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 37 | 1052 |
| Male | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 14 | 22 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 46 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 272 | 409 | 30 | 155 | 6 | 34 | 5 | 32 | 943 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 30 | 25 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 63 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| Asian | 39 | 136 | 6 | 101 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 10 | 307 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 15 | 17 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 44 |
| White | 255 | 294 | 26 | 57 | 5 | 17 | 3 | 25 | 682 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 6 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Korea | 20 | 108 | 4 | 90 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 9 | 242 |
| United States | 284 | 324 | 29 | 67 | 6 | 23 | 5 | 28 | 766 |
| Japan | 12 | 24 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 43 |
| Russia | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Histology(Participants) | Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) | Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab) | Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine) | Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serous | 252 | 383 | 30 | 142 | 5 | 30 | 4 | 35 | 881 |
| Endometrioid | 25 | 24 | 0 | 9 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 63 |
| Clear Cell | 13 | 14 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 33 |
| Mucinous | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Other | 24 | 33 | 2 | 9 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 71 |
Showing the first 100 of 709 sites across 3 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
National Cancer Institute (NCI)