CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00496587Updated Jul 19, 2017Results posted

Capecitabine, Gemcitabine, and Bevacizumab in Combination for Patients With Sarcomatoid Renal Cell Carcinoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Capecitabine and Gemcitabine in Renal Cell Carcinoma and Kidney Cancer, sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-07-19.

Sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
34
Allocation
Not applicable
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The goal of this clinical research study is to learn if the combination of 3 drugs (gemcitabine, capecitabine, and bevacizumab) can help to control metastatic or unresectable renal cell carcinoma. The safety of this drug combination will also be tested.

Read the detailed description

Gemcitabine and capecitabine are designed to disrupt the growth of cancer cells, which may cause cancer cells to start to die. Bevacizumab is a drug that binds to and inhibits Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF), a blood-vessel stimulating agent with unusually high levels in kidney cancer.

If you are found to be eligible to take part in this study, you will receive gemcitabine, capecitabine, and bevacizumab on a 28 day cycle. Capecitabine will be taken by mouth (with food), twice daily, on Days 1-21. Gemcitabine will be given through a needle in your vein in your arm over 30 minutes on Days 1 and 15. Bevacizumab will be given through a needle in your vein in your arm on Days 1 and 15. It will be given over 120 minutes for Cycle 1 and over 60 minutes for all other cycles. Your doctor may decided to give you bevacizumab over 30 minutes if you tolerate the treatment well.

On the first day of each cycle, blood (about 2 teaspoons) and a urine will be collected before treatment for routine tests. You will also have blood drawn on Day 15 (about 2 teaspoons) for routine tests.

Every 8 weeks, you will have a CT scan of your chest, abdomen, and pelvis and a chest x-ray. You will be asked about any drugs that you are currently taking and you will have a complete physical exam. You will be asked about any side effects that you might have experienced since the last visit and your ability to perform daily activities will be evaluated. Repeat bone scans and MRI of the brain may be done if your doctor thinks it is necessary.

You will continue receiving treatment for a maximum of 12 months. However, if you are benefitting from treatment, you may be able to continue receiving it off study. You will be taken off study if the disease gets worse, if the side effects are intolerable, or if you develop another illness that prevents you from receiving the treatment.

This is an investigational study. Gemcitabine, capecitabine, and bevacizumab are all FDA approved and commercially available. Up to 40 participants may take part in this study. All will be enrolled at MD Anderson.

02

Conditions studied

  • Renal Cell Carcinoma
  • Kidney Cancer

Keywords

  • Genitourinary
  • Kidney Cancer
  • Sarcomatoid Renal Cell Carcinoma
  • Renal Cell Carcinoma
  • RCC
  • Sarcomatoid Carcinoma of the Kidney
  • Unresectable renal cell carcinoma
  • Capecitabine
  • Xeloda
  • Gemcitabine
  • Gemzar
  • Bevacizumab
  • Anti-VEGF monoclonal antibody
  • rhuMAb-VEGF
  • Avastin
  • Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor
  • VEGF
03

In context

Carcinoma

6,741 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma; 1,161 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 34 is below the median of 45 across 5,170 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma.

Browse Carcinoma studies →

Lead sponsor

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 2,999 studies on the registry; 581 are open to participants now.

Of its 599 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 402 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Child (0–17), Adult (18–64), Older adult (65+)
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Histologically demonstrated, metastatic or unresectable sarcomatoid carcinoma of the kidney, defined as the following: • A tumor biopsy (primary or metastasis) must show at least one focus of RCC (one of the recognized types); and, • A tumor biopsy (primary or metastasis) must have at least 10% of the sample showing sarcomatoid histology.
  2. (# 1 cont'd) • Patients with primary tumor in place are eligible if there is any percentage of sarcomatoid dedifferentiation on a needle biopsy (primary or metastasis), and the radiographic appearance of the primary tumor on CT scan is typical of RCC. For these patients, due to the small tumor sample, it is not required to identify an area of typical RCC histology as long as the morphologic and immunostaining characteristics are consistent with RCC.
  3. At least one site of measurable disease (may include primary tumor).
  4. No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy. Any prior immunotherapy is permitted.
  5. No prior bevacizumab treatment. Prior sorafenib or sunitinib is permitted.
  6. Zubrod performance status 2 or better
  7. Adequate organ and bone marrow function: • Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) >/= 1,500 • Platelets >/=100,000 • Total bilirubin \</= 1.5 mg/dl • AST and ALT \</= 3x upper limit normal • Creatinine clearance > 50 cc/min (measured or calculated by Cockcroft formula: Creatinine Clearance = [(140 - age) x wt (kg)]/[72 x creat (mg/dl)], for females x 0.85. Patients with creatinine clearance of 30-50 ml/min are eligible with an initial dose-reduction of capecitabine to the (-1) dose level.
  8. Female patients of childbearing potential (last menses \< 2 years) must have a negative blood pregnancy test within 7 days prior to starting treatment.
  9. All patients must agree to practice adequate contraception if sexually active for the duration of the trial and for 2 months after discontinuation of the study drugs
  10. Written informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Patients with history of myocardial infarction, transient ischemic attack (TIA), stroke, pulmonary embolism, or history of deep vein thrombosis within the preceding 12 months.
  2. Patients with major risk of bleeding, such as active brain metastases. Patients with controlled or small brain metastases will be eligible based on clinical assessment of the actual bleeding risk.
  3. Patients with history of any major surgical procedure within the preceding 28 days.
  4. Patients with baseline blood pressure >/= 140 systolic or >/= 90 diastolic.
  5. Patients with nephrotic syndrome (proteinuria > 2 grams per 24 hours)
  6. History of other malignancy, unless it is clinically non-threatening (such as non-melanoma skin cancer) or controlled for 2 years prior to study entry.
  7. Prior treatment with gemcitabine, capecitabine, or any fluoropyrimidine.
  8. Prior unanticipated severe reaction to fluoropyrimidine therapy or known hypersensitivity to 5-FU.
  9. Any concurrent chemotherapy or radiotherapy.
  10. Lack of physical integrity of the upper gastrointestinal tract, inability to swallow tablets or those who have malabsorption syndrome.
  11. Clinically significant cardiac disease not well controlled with medication, such as symptomatic coronary artery disease, congestive heart failure, and cardiac arrhythmias.
  12. Serious concurrent infections or other serious medical conditions, including uncontrolled diabetes.
  13. Any serious non-healing wound, ulcer, or active bone fracture.
  14. Any concurrent coumadin therapy. Patients who were previously on coumadin maintenance may switch to aspirin or low-molecular-weight heparin.
  15. Patients who have had an organ allograft.
  16. Unwillingness to give written informed consent.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
34 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab

    Capecitabine 800 mg/m\^2 By Mouth Twice Daily On Days 1-21. Gemcitabine 900 mg/m\^2 By Vein Over 30 Minutes on Days 1 and 15. Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg By Vein On Days 1 and 15.

    Drug: Capecitabine · Drug: Gemcitabine · Drug: Bevacizumab

Interventions

  • DrugCapecitabine

    800 mg/m\^2 By Mouth Twice Daily On Days 1-21.

    Also known as: Xeloda

  • DrugGemcitabine

    900 mg/m\^2 By Vein Over 30 Minutes on Days 1 and 15.

    Also known as: Gemzar, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride

  • DrugBevacizumab

    10 mg/kg By Vein On Days 1 and 15.

    Also known as: Avastin, Anti-VEGF monoclonal antibody, rhuMAb-VEGF

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    Event or disease-free survival given as progression free survival (PFS) which was defined as the length of time after primary treatment that the participant survives without disease progression. Evaluation of response will follow the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) where progression is defined per RECIST criteria as an increase in disease of 20% or more in the sum of longest tumor diameters compared to baseline.

    Time frame: 12 months or until progression of disease

  2. Time to Treatment Failure (TTF)

    Time to treatment failure, TTF, with failure defined as death or disease progression where progression is defined per RECIST criteria as an increase in disease of 20% or more in the sum of longest tumor diameters compared to baseline.

    Time frame: 12 months or until progression of disease

Secondary outcomes

  1. Objective Response Rate (ORR)

    Objective response defined as Complete Response + Partial Response, with response recorded from the start of treatment until disease progression/recurrence (taking as reference for progressive disease the smallest measurements recorded since the treatment started). Complete Response: The disappearance of all target lesions. Partial Response: \>30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, reference baseline sum longest diameter. Progressive Disease: At least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter recorded since the treatment started, or the appearance of one or more new lesions. Stable Disease: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for partial response nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease, reference smallest sum longest diameter since the treatment started.

    Time frame: 12 months or until progression of disease

07

Results

Posted Jun 22, 2017

Participant flow

Recruitment Period: July 2, 2007 to February 24, 2012. All recruitment done at The University of Texas Cancer Center.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Started34
Completed3
Not completed31
Withdrew: Adverse event2
Withdrew: Progressive disease24
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject2
Withdrew: Death1
Withdrew: Complications unrelated2

Outcome measures

PrimaryProgression Free Survival (PFS)

Event or disease-free survival given as progression free survival (PFS) which was defined as the length of time after primary treatment that the participant survives without disease progression. Evaluation of response will follow the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) where progression is defined per RECIST criteria as an increase in disease of 20% or more in the sum of longest tumor diameters compared to baseline.

Time frame:
12 months or until progression of disease
Reported as:
Median · Months
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
MonthsCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Progression Free Survival (PFS)5.5 (3.4 to 7.7)
PrimaryTime to Treatment Failure (TTF)

Time to treatment failure, TTF, with failure defined as death or disease progression where progression is defined per RECIST criteria as an increase in disease of 20% or more in the sum of longest tumor diameters compared to baseline.

Time frame:
12 months or until progression of disease
Reported as:
Median · Months
Time to Treatment Failure (TTF)
MonthsCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Time to Treatment Failure (TTF)4.2 (2.4 to 6.0)
SecondaryObjective Response Rate (ORR)

Objective response defined as Complete Response + Partial Response, with response recorded from the start of treatment until disease progression/recurrence (taking as reference for progressive disease the smallest measurements recorded since the treatment started). Complete Response: The disappearance of all target lesions. Partial Response: \>30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, reference baseline sum longest diameter. Progressive Disease: At least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter recorded since the treatment started, or the appearance of one or more new lesions. Stable Disease: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for partial response nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease, reference smallest sum longest diameter since the treatment started.

Time frame:
12 months or until progression of disease
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
percentage of participantsCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Objective Response Rate (ORR)20

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected over 28 day cycle up to one year with 12 cycles administered.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab—3/34 (8.8%)31/34 (91.2%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Bilirubin (hyperbilirubinemia)Investigations1/34
Thrombosis/embolism (vascular access-related)Vascular disorders1/34
Thrombosis/thrombus/embolismVascular disorders1/34
HypotensionVascular disorders1/34
Abdominal PainGeneral disorders1/34
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 127
Most frequent other events
EventCapecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
HemoglobinBlood and lymphatic system disorders28/34
PainGeneral disorders25/34
Fatigue (asthenia, lethargy, malaise)General disorders24/34
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders19/34
Rash: hand-foot skin reactionSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders19/34
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders18/34
Glucose, serum-high (hyperglycemia)Metabolism and nutrition disorders17/34
ProteinuriaRenal and urinary disorders16/34
Dyspnea (shortness of breath)Cardiac disorders14/34
Dry skinSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders13/34

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Median54 (38 to 77)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Female8
Male26
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino32
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American2
White32
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Capecitabine + Gemcitabine + Bevacizumab
United States34
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

References and documents

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 19, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00496587
Lead sponsor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborators
Eli Lilly and Company
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 4, 2007
Start date
Jul 2007
Primary completion
May 2016
Completion
May 2016
Results posted
Jun 22, 2017
Last update
Jul 19, 2017

Study contacts

Nizar M. Tannir, MD
principal investigator · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion