CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00114153Updated Nov 26, 2009

Carboplatin, Capecitabine, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Head and Neck Cancer

A Phase 1 interventional study of capecitabine and carboplatin in Head and Neck Cancer, sponsored by University of Virginia. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2009-11-26.

Sponsored by University of Virginia · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
48
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy together with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of capecitabine when given together with carboplatin followed by radiation therapy in treating patients with stage III or stage IV head and neck cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of capecitabine when administered with carboplatin as induction chemotherapy in patients with stage III-IVB squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck.
  • Determine the MTD of capecitabine when administered with concurrent carboplatin and intensity-modulated radiotherapy in these patients.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine, preliminarily, tumor response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of capecitabine.

  • Induction chemotherapy: Patients receive carboplatin IV on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36 and oral capecitabine twice daily on days 1-14 and 22-35.
  • Concurrent chemoradiotherapy: Beginning 2 weeks after completion of induction chemotherapy, patients receive carboplatin and capecitabine as in induction chemotherapy. Patients also undergo intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) once daily on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, and 29-33 and non-IMRT boost once daily on days 36-40 and 43-47.

Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Within 4-8 weeks after completion of concurrent chemoradiotherapy, patients who achieve a clinical complete response or who are medically operable with resectable persistent or recurrent disease undergo neck dissection (salvage surgery).

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of capecitabine (during both induction chemotherapy and concurrent chemoradiotherapy) until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, after completion of induction chemotherapy, and then at 1 week and 3, 6, and 12 months after completion of concurrent chemoradiotherapy.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed monthly for 3 months and then every 3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 6-48 patients will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Head and Neck Cancer

Keywords

  • stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx
  • stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity
  • stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx
  • stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx
  • stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity
  • stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx
03

In context

Head and Neck Neoplasms

2,344 studies on the registry are indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms; 551 are open to participants now.

This study's planned enrollment of 48 is close to the median of 47 across 1,751 interventional studies indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms.

Browse Head and Neck Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Virginia is the lead sponsor of 653 studies on the registry; 134 are open to participants now.

Of its 60 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 41 (68%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck, including 1 of the following types:

    • Oral cavity
    • Oropharynx
    • Hypopharynx
  • Clinical stage III-IVB (T2-T4, N0-N3, M0) disease
  • Measurable disease by physical exam, endoscopy, and/or CT scan or MRI

    • Residual measurable disease after fine needle aspiration, core needle biopsy, or incisional or excisional biopsy of the primary tumor
  • No evidence of distant metastases (M1)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count > 1,500/mm\^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm\^3
  • Hemoglobin > 9 g/dL
  • No uncontrolled coagulopathy

Hepatic

  • AST \< 2 times normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase \< 2 times normal
  • Bilirubin normal

Renal

  • Creatinine \< 2.0 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • No congestive heart failure
  • No symptomatic coronary artery disease
  • No uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmias
  • No myocardial infarction within the past year
  • No other clinically significant cardiac disease

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 30 days after completion of study treatment
  • Nutritional and general physical condition must be compatible with proposed study treatment
  • Mentally reliable
  • No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy > grade 1
  • No history of hypersensitivity to fluorouracil, capecitabine, or carboplatin
  • No active infection
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No major medical, psychiatric, or neurologic illness that would preclude study participation or giving informed consent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • More than 5 years since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for head and neck tumor
  • No prior radiotherapy to the region of planned study radiotherapy fields

Surgery

  • Recovered from prior surgery

    • No unhealed surgical wounds

Other

  • More than 4 weeks since prior investigational drugs
  • No concurrent warfarin, diphenylhydantoin, or fluconazole unless willing to undergo careful monitoring and appropriate dose adjustments
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrollment
48 participants (estimated)

Interventions

  • Drugcapecitabine
  • Drugcarboplatin
  • Procedureconventional surgery
  • Radiationradiation therapy
06

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Virginia Cancer Center at UV Health System
    Charlottesville, Virginia 22908, United States
07

References and documents

Publications

  • Thomas CY, Read P, Petroni G, Reibel J, Levine PA. Phase I study of capecitabine, carboplatin and intensity-modulated radiation therapy for head and neck cancer. Anticancer Res. 2009 Jul;29(7):2869-73. PubMed 19596976 ↗
08

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 26, 2009, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00114153
Lead sponsor
University of Virginia
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
First posted
Jun 14, 2005
Start date
Jun 2003
Last update
Nov 26, 2009

Study contacts

Christopher Y. Thomas, MD
principal investigator · University of Virginia
Paul W. Read, MD, PhD
principal investigator · University of Virginia
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2007. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion